Volkswagen shows new 2.0 litre diesel engine with electric turbo, 10-speed DSG can handle 550 Nm

volkswagen-new-diesel-engine

At the Vienna Motor Symposium in May, Volkswagen announced, amongst others, a new 240 PS 2.0 litre twin-turbo diesel engine and a 10-speed DSG. That engine will be found under the bonnet of the new Passat, but VW has now unveiled a version of that motor equipped with electric turbocharging.

Thanks to the addition of a two-stage electrically-driven turbo and a new variable valve timing system, the four-cylinder BiTDI now makes 272 PS, and we suppose, more than the 500 Nm the Passat is blessed with. No word yet on which VW model will get it first.

The principle behind electrically-driven forced induction is that the turbines can be spooled up quickly, minimising turbo lag. All known efforts (Audi, Kia, Volvo) so far concentrate on diesel engines.

Audi has done it to its 3.0 BiTDI V6, replacing one of the conventional turbos with a electrically-driven one. Kia’s Optima T-Hybrid concept has a 1.7 litre diesel engine that features a conventional turbo and an electric supercharger. Volvo’s “High Performance Drive-E Powertrain Concept,” however, sees two parallel turbos fed by an electrically-driven compressor to result in “no less than 450 hp”!

Volkswagen has also said that its upcoming 10-speed DSG, code-named DQ551, will be able to handle up to 550 Nm of torque. An evolution of the six-speed DQ250 wet-clutch unit, the gearbox will feature a coasting function and a new regenerative braking system.

Other new technologies mentioned include Stop-start 2.0 (engine shuts off below 7 km/h), infrared-reflecting dashboard, infrared-rejecting sunroof glass, a range manager for electric vehicles, need-based air-conditioning and Predictive Navigation (learns the driver’s routes and commutes).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 10 speed DSG with 10 times the problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
    • Stop Bitching about DSG on Nov 12, 2014 at 7:42 pm

When the Auto tranny cars came to market in the 70s, everyone bitching that auto unrealiable.

The uncles then, die die must buy manual

Today more than 90% of cars sold are Auto

Same for DSG, give it some time and it will be the defacto tranny. DSG reliability issue will be a thing of the past.

The Germans always mean what they say and do what they say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
      • Agreed on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Volkswagen owns Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Porsche, SEAT and Skoda.

DSG is here to stay

Now go back to work everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • Manual Masterace on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Bobian Msians got money 2 pay 4 towing den let them pay lor

• Wayangkulit on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:20 pm

That’s true about autos back then

And the wisdom gleaned from those uncles back then remains true today
        Buy any latest tech be prepare to deal with a bit of quirkiness and reliability issues
        Buy tech with a generation older and be rewarded with stability and perhaps cheaper too

However the problem with buyers today is that they want the greatest tech and expect reliability while wanting to pay cheaper

The dumbest of all kinds of buyers are those who buys the latest so that they can brag about only to have the car sit in workshop while they sit at home mashing on keyboard about their car reliability/problems
        Meanwhile those they deemed uncle or stupid to buy older techs are busy driving and not mashing their keyboard at home complaining about their car ;)

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:52 am

Those uncles probably don’t even know how to on their PC let alone mashing on keyboard meh that’s why they can’t brag. I myself are among those so called ‘uncle’ – just a year to retirement – but I fancy on new latest stuff cause technology move forward.

• 7-speed also always masuk workshop and they are making 10-speed DSG now??

• it clearly means that they are doing their research to give better drive experience on the road..

• jumanji on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:38 pm

you have to change your perception towards VW..they are trying to give better technology to customers..

• policeman on Nov 12, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Any manufacturer can make 10 speed or 20 speed gearbox, but can they make one that is reliable?

The answer is no. Definitely not the Germs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • DSG stands for Drivetrain Selalu Gagal…hahahahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • zamer on Nov 12, 2014 at 7:14 pm

the saga with 3 speeder is the bestest among all..

drive 110kmh with almost 4000rpm. but funny thing is,
      full tank RM70 can run 350km identical with current modern engine.sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Suskotak on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Tested, 8th gen 1.8l civic RM70 can do 450km in city & highway & 600km on highway only.110km/h with just over 2000rpm. Hurmmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Manual Masterace on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:32 pm

If not the Germans then no one can make those things work

• cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Not DSG again…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • pondan on Nov 12, 2014 at 6:47 pm

“Volkswagen shows new 2.0 litre diesel engine with electric turbo, 10-speed DSG can handle 550 Nm” and drive 200m from show room then broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • it is not out yet, so stop assuming that all VW will break down..when the engine is installed, then test drive and give your feedback..

• Raymond on Nov 12, 2014 at 7:39 pm

My passat 2012 so far ok no prob..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Germans will learn from mistake and improve, just like WW2. DSG will gets better and better through progressive improvement.

See our G and Purotong, what have they done other than sucking Rakyat’s blood?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
    • cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:13 pm

They get better and better at sucking Rakyat’s blood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
  • thanks but no thanks, i’ll stick to my jappo ride and save myself wasting time claiming warranty and stress.life is too short

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Keris Jawa on Nov 13, 2014 at 12:55 am

Life is too short to be driving cheapo Jappo crappo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • das auto on Nov 13, 2014 at 12:04 pm

But u wasted time working hard 12 hours a day to buy a 140k jap car that is specced and value like 80k only. Plus u work harder for bank to pay more interest to bank too. Life is too short.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Hmm…this electric compressor application is seeing more applications. It’s no surprise that VW is using it, to be sure, since Audi is VW’s premium brand and they do share technology somewhat but even Kia is in on it.

This shall need a new name. First, there was the supercharger. Then came the turbocharger. What should this be called? Electrocharger? Electroturbo? I don’t know, man…

• Turbobooster :D

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:31 pm

turbo actually refers to the turbine of the turbocharger which harnesses the energy of the exhaust flow. There is no turbine in an electric compressor…so I think the ‘turbo’ has to be changed to something else.

• darkermarker on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:34 pm

more moving parts, more chances for things to go wrong….

• NoMoreDSG on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:17 pm

10 speed DSG? Why not 10 years DSG warranty instead?

Good luck!

• Jimmy on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Gearbox technology I believed is not soley about the number of speeds, the smoothness, the speed it shifts and the fuel economy. It must comprise durability and reliability under all circumstances, hot/freezing climates, contiuous usage under high/low speeds for many hours and so on.
    It is absurd that one brab about a gearbox’s 25 speeds but it cannot last for even 25 months, daily usage or otherwise.
    Look around us, even lousy car makers’ conventional auto gearbox can probably last longer that some of these ‘top-tech’ gearboxes.
    Are your engineer focusing too much on certain aspects until they forgot about some important issues? If yes, they are not good enough.
    Even if you purposefully intentionally build a gearbox that can only last a certain length of time or km, it must be reasonable, for example, 200k km or 6 years.
    Many of us do not fully challenge our gearboxes of our good vehicles, basically because we have more than a few vehicles to use. How good these top gearboxes are in hot climate countries are unknown.

• Bro, you are self-contradicting.
      Do you understand why gearbox is needed? Or do you ever go and find out why 6 speed GB is better than 4 speed in term of smoothness and FC?

It all about gear ratio. The gear ratio determines how much power is being transmitted to the wheel on certain RPM range, and the torque amount of the driving wheel.

In the “ideal world application” a CVT will be the best, because it have infinite numbers of gear ratios, promising best smoothness. However, we only live in a real world that technology have it’s limits.

Thus for the sake of smoothness and FC, we should and must welcome more number of gears!

Last but not least, for the sake of argument, DSG problem lies in the dual clutch section, where VW decided to go with dry clutch system. Not how many gears it have. duh

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:17 am

That’s the thing, you know. The “lousy car makers” use old, proven technology. The gearbox design of conventional stepped ATs have already been refined to be almost bullet-proof, especially the 4-speed ones. As long as you change the AT fluid at the correct intervals, it’ll serve you a long time. As for the double clutch trannies, they’re still considered new tech in the production car world. They’ve been used in racing for a long time now but the demands of a race and the demands of every day life are very different and what can be tested in a race cannot really be tested in day to day living.

So those who opt to own cars equipped with DCTs like DSG and Powershift are helping to move technology forward by field testing these advanced gearboxes. Because someone has to.

Know what you’re getting into, guys.

• When Proton can sent Iriz to the west for Winter testing, why can’t VW sent theirs over here for durability test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • panjang on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:53 pm

10 speed sounds like an engineering show off only.

6 speed do the job just fine.Maybe next time car gb will have 20 speed and start competing with the likes of Scania and Volvo FM series.

• Wayangkulit on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Wow great news for “Malaysian car enthusiast”
    10 speed 550nm of torque
    Every “car enthusiast” will buy one so that they can dice 4speed 5speed auto as dinosaur tech and other brands that offer those dinosaur tech will close shop soon
    And will be the first to complain and QQ about reliability later on

• Twinsturbo on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Japs NO solidness. But German Yes ! Driven japs for more than 10 years.. And japs still lacking of solid built quality ! Japs car too plastic and no premium feel and no character at all..regarding DSG, at least VW is trying to bring the automobile industry moving forward , they are trying very hard to improve and invent something new at the same time. Unlike japs or our national car still using very dated 4 speeder. By the way, not all Vw cars has DSG problem… The DSG on the recent mk7 has been improved a lot anyway. The shift for DSG is really fast and can say faster than most gearbox out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • probably u have been buying the cheap jap car and compare with a ‘premiun’ brands from europe. however few years down the road the ‘solid’ euro car will probably spend more time in a workshop then your ‘low quality’ jap car.

• BLT_Club on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:20 am

VW macai/salesman detected.VW low class German la. You want a proper German car get BMW/Merc. VW poser only.

• GodCar on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:44 am

Oh, not forgetting, with VW, you get to ride Tow Truck everyday and enjoy free caffeine at their workshop while waiting for your hard earned money car for 2 months.

• arise on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:42 pm

definitely VW will change this perception soon..they will improve and come up with better technologies..

• Gracke on Nov 13, 2014 at 12:11 am

Don’t be worry, this time is more hp and super more torque, sure Volkswagen uses wet clutch for this new hightech performance engine to make it fine. May be they borrow from the Porsche 918 Spider!!!!! :-)

• KangkungServiceCenter on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:44 am

No doubt, VW tech on edge.
    No doubt, service center tech on bottom.
    No doubt, reliability isn’t it’s forte.

I like the flat torque and milli secs DSG tech.
    Smooth and fast.

I like VW solid drive.

I hate, problematics with fuel pump, rattle dash, juddering DSG.

I hate, poor skill on dealership service,irresponsible, arrogant attitude.

I hate, long waiting spareparts, no recorded paper showing the warranty claim to give to customer.

I hate, not factory warranty for 5 years.

I hate, poor VW careline center. It existing like none of function. Even can not get chassis number. Unable to monitor or enforce dealer service center to do right job.

VW, VW, people buying you, probably for one time ownership. Poor after sales service makes ppl runaway from you. Perodua do better job than you. Shame on you..
    Pls improve your after sales quality instead of tok cok only. Bring up your quality and bring back your customer confident.

• I am sure that VW has been doing their best to solve all the current issue which has been going on..btw, do you have any personal experience with VW?

• VWForeman on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:36 am

Happy to say DSG problem is solved long time ago as reported by our new CEO. DSG is the most advance tranny in the world.

• GodCar on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:47 am

If so reliable, give 10 years warranty unlimited mileage lar. Why still hide behind and give miserable 3 years warranty and the other 2 years pakai insurance coverage ? Are VW so cheapskate that they have no confident with giving more warranty with regards to their DSG ?

Think about it….if the big ball angmoh says my DSG very kow reliable…then put where your big mouth is. Give 10 years warranty lar else go back fish and chip.

• Joker on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:45 am

for those ignorants out there this 10 speeder is an evolution from the current 6 wet clutch 6 speeder…
    dare i say it this 6 speeder is as reliable as aisin’s 4 speeder… hopefully this 10 speeder will live up to its expectation..

• never expect too much from VW . in Germany VW consider a very cheap brand .
    u want proper German car , go for merc or bmw

• jufon on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:26 pm

well if you ask me, VW has been doing a pretty good job in introducing some new technologies..which can bring the automotive industry to the next level..

• 10 speed gearbox makes perfect sense to me. Turbo diesels normally cant go very high RPM. They mostly rely on their lower RPM high torque to push the vehicle. (Yes, Higher RPM = more horsepower. But also higher fuel consumption). More gears means they can keep the engine at lower RPM (More efficient power band). Diesel cars are suppose to efficient. Petrol engine at high revs are more powerful than diesels, generally (Higher Horsepower). Furthermore, I think more overdrive gears means that they rely more on the Torque instead of the max RPM horsepower to push up the top speed, so you can get best of both worlds Acceleration & Top Speed.

As for DSG, Yes, it is not very reliable in our country. But for low displacement turbo engine, you need a very good and snappy gearbox to pair with it or else the ride will be very rough every gear shift due to the massive torque. There’s always a trade off. Well, they can always go for CVT, like the Nissan Juke. It’s less “Fun” they say.

• f0xtr0t on Nov 13, 2014 at 4:00 pm

oddly, VW group’s Audi RS6 & RS7 is using tiptronic gearbox… too much powaaah for the dsg to handle? LOL