Non-reg number plate enforcement necessary – JPJ

licence plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has explained that the enforcement against the use of non-regulation licence plates is to make it easier for the department to identify motorists who commit traffic offences, and not because they are responsible for accidents.

Prompted by the need to address what it says is a misinterpreted view of this, the department issued a press release yesterday, in which it said that a vehicle’s registration number provided the necessary means for control measures to be taken upon seven major traffic infringements that cause accidents and injury, something that can only be implemented if the identity of the vehicle can be ascertained from a registration number that is legible and compliant with specifications.

The seven major traffic offences are not wearing a seat belt or helmet, using a mobile phone while driving or riding, overtaking on a double line, beating traffic lights, jumping the queue, driving in the emergency lane and driving over the legal speed limit.

As an example, the department said that in many hit-and-run cases, the offender could not be detected because the victim or the complainant could not state the registration number of the vehicle due to a licence plate that was illegible.

“Size specifications exist for vehicle registration number plates. They are not meant to ‘punish’ road users, but to avoid confusion in terms of legibility when viewed from a certain distance,” its Corporate and Research director Wan Ramli Wan Daud was quoted in a report by Sinar Harian.

jpj-strobe

Of course, some motorists will no doubt feel ‘punished’ in the latest scheme of things. Now, regulations regarding vehicle number plates state clear and stringent requirements for the size of lettering on them, including height, width and distance measurements between letters.

The strict adherence to this interpretation has of course led to cases of overzealous policing of requirements during the current enforcement rounds, with summonses being reportedly issued in cases of plates with correct lettering but with letters spaced closer than the necessary one centimetre width as specified in the rules.

In an earlier commentary, Sin Chew Daily had said that while there was a need to regulate things, it should not be that rigid in adhering to the established specifications, with a plate being acceptable as long as it meets certain criteria.

Will a less parochial view come about? Reports of a circular issued yesterday by the department, in which it informs all its state branches of a suspension of operations involving non-regulation plates, have been floating about on the social media rounds (the action against the use of high-intensity discharge (HID) and strobe lights will however continue). How much of a truth to it then? Since this is unsubstantiated, speculative it remains. Expect more on the subject in due course.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• weeee on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:01 pm

the only real reason is because their speed cameras can’t id the number so cannot saman

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • Chris (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:18 pm

True that. It’s easier to come out with an automated system that tracks and identify cars based on plate number when you have a standardized car plate design.

Same sort of reason you don’t wear a fancy hat, heavy make-up, or expensive designer sunglasses while taking your ID photo, so you can be identified.

Some people will complain while others will not even bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • The Truth About JPJ on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm

The JPJ is so corrupted to the core. Instead of wasting time with number plates, I hope the JPJ can sort out their corruption. 90% of lorry drivers in Malaysia are foreign nationals with no licence or they have licence but come in as gardeners but masquerade as lorry drivers for big companies who want to pay little for local talent.

Most road accidents are caused by drivers who have no licence or are supposed to be gardeners. When they are stopped by our JPJ crooks, they all give money for the JPJ officer to close one eye.

I dare whoever in JPJ to come out with the statement that our lorry drivers are legitimate and have licence to drive or are on a visa to drive a lorry.

Most deaths on the road are caused by there lorry drivers. They are reckless. they have no clue how to operate a 18 wheeler. But yet, they drive a big long lorry.

Remember, driving a lorry in Indonesia, Bangladesh or Pakistan is completely different from driving a lorry in Malaysia. Malaysia has laws. There countries have cowboy laws. So, these drivers come here and do their cowboy laws stunts in Malaysia which results in many deaths.

Also, a man who comes into Malaysia to cut grass or has skills to be a gardener, how the hell do you know how to drive a lorry?

Most JPJ road blocks, you see officers targetting lorry drivers. Here is where they make the money. I appeal to the transport monistry to have an independant body who can oversee the JPJ. The JPJ is too corrupted at every level to be left on its own to carry on matters dealing with transport matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 45
      • JPJ - Priorities Upside Down on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:10 pm

JPJ should focus on motorbikes. Still everyday in KL, got daily many snatch thieves. They cause injury and deaths.

Most victims are old aunties and makcik. They snatch handbag and make the makcik fall down and either break their head or die.

Just my road alone, I live in good neighbourhood in PJ SS3, every mak cik or aunty got snatch by motorbike.

JPJ should be checking all this. This is critical. Licence plates are small matter. Got 2 old 70 year old aunties in my road got collar bone broken and wheel chair bound because of the snatch thieves.

JPJ got no priority at all in what they do. Focus on crime. Matters like number plates don’t hurt anyone.

Ask anybody in Malaysia, they will tell you, they personally know someone who has been snatched by a motorbike. If Malaysia has 30 million people, it looks like there are already millions of victims.

yet JPJ don’t do anything. They set up tents and big umbrellas, sit down chit chat, minum teh tarik and catch one of two cars with number plate problems. Each road block got at least 20 staff sitting under umbrellas minum teh tarik.

Go and spot check motor bikes. JPJ shoudl be checking motor bikes everyday, so snatch thieves will be scared to change their number plates when they do crime.

Go to neighbourhoods. Set up road blocks in lonely lanes. Set up officers in alleys. Randomly apprehend motorbikes.

Nothing is done. All sit under umbrella minum teh tarik whilst our mohter or fathers get snatched even in their own garden.

Hello JPJ, most senior citizens now so scared even to come out of their own house lah to walk in their porch. Do something before it is too late. Whilst you all are earning thousands a day, your father and mother are so scared to even walk to the gate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 23
        • Takashi Hibi on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Maybe your common sense is upside down, writing long comments with stupid logic.

Snatch theft is under POLICE jurisdiction. JPJ how to charge people with snatch theft?

Or if you’re implying JPJ giving them summons coz snatching aunties using illegally tuned motorcycle, then ok, I understand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
          • Thomas on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Stupid logic. Do you even know how to read? If JPJ checked motorcycles randomly, snatch crooks will think 10 times before they change their plates when before they commit the crime.

Tak tahu baca ke bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • wow, what a dumbo. Who said JPJ to charge people with snatch theft?

Prevention la brother!! JPJ can do prevention la. This is the kind of graduates coming out today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • Hussein on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:58 pm

aiyoo, bodoh belaka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Takashi Hibi on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:27 pm

All of you are stupid. Snatch theft is Police case, FACT! Kindly show me evidence JPJ catch people due to snatch theft.

Please brush up your comprehension skills. My point is it is stupid for JPJ to focus on reducing snatch theft; the objective is wrong.

To the ones saying its about prevention, your point is invalid. Using your logic, EVERYONE should chip in to prevent snatch theft! What’s stopping MAI, MAA, RELA, and so many other agency to join in your ‘Prevention’ mission.

Stupid, waste of resources.

Each person do their own job properly and efficiently, JPJ enforce road regulation, Police prevent crime. can we do that??

• What type of stupid u r.typical idiot results of eating excessive fish head curry.there is no such thing in Malaysia. And same u pple try to do when go Australia n put shame to Malaysia. FYI Malaysia drivers r worsts in Dis world. C on daily basis

• Sure, all agencies are corrupted in one way or another. But there is nothing wrong about getting their basics right first. It’s much easier to enforce this illegal license plate issue. Unless you have an illegal spec-ed license plate and you don’t wanna get caught so you divert attention to this ‘bigger’ issues. Sorting out both big and small issues can take place at the same time.

I agree with your points, but no reason to let them lose focus on the basics and just solely focus on these bigger issues. I’d say get the foundation right first before tackling bigger issues. Once your foundation is strong, the bigger issues can or may be much easier to handle in the future.

• My plate no is very closed to each other and yet the AES camera can detect it perfectly in the middle of the night. To be exact..at 4:30am. So I believe it is a non issue.

• Blaze (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Okay, it’s the law and we should comply. While i agreed on the “crackdown” of strobe lights by the VVIP wannabe, they should enforce more or at least the same amount of resources to nab overweight lorries, smokey vehicles and also the “kowtim-ness” of public vehicle inspection by PUSPAKOM. Ask any taxy or lorry drivers and they will confirm that its easy to pass the routine inspection even without their vehicles being there physically…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Join JPJ to be KAYA on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm

You want to be rich, just join JPJ. Average JPJ officer on the field can earn more than RM1000 per day, clean profit, no income tax, no socso nor EPF to be paid.

Work 30 days non stop, can make RM30,000 minimum per month. Even doctor, lawyer, engineer also kalah in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • yeah riiiighhtt…as if all the ministers, VVIPs never stood a chance to commit a hit and run or other trafic offences. Please…if JPJ wants to enforce something, make sure it covers all rakyat regardless of their status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • It all starts from JPJ itself… I believe most of us have seen the plate number JPJ11 on Toyota Fortuner which belongs to the Ketua Pengarah Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan which does not meet the requirement. If you want the rakyat to follow… starts with your own people first.
    Kalau nak rakyat ikut, jadilah teladan yang baik.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • They cant even do something simple correctly. Is is so easy to spot the non regulation plates. As mentioned, cannot be 100% strict on spacing…..no common sense at all.

On a different note, if they want to collect funds, put cameras at major junctions, now traffic light color meaningless, everywhere people running red lights, this so easy to enforce.

Motorbikes just go regardless of light color….clowns

• Vineeth Menon on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:56 pm

They should becatching the motorbikes and not big vehicles.Most of the crimes are done using bikes where we cant even read the Numbers. laso should clamp down on the illegal lights which blinds the driver in front and also the drivers in opposite direction. Clamping down on the 4 wheelers with slightly different fonts but in readable format is stupidity. Fix other issues first and go down on this as last option. JPJ need to get real. Dont go for some fast bucks. Use the brains and common sense.

• gaviny on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:56 pm

simple, just mandate all cars have same type of plate euro style, metal embossed, nothing else, no plastic letterings, different fonts, spacings bla bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Sparcov on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm

This number plate issue is repeated every year. Operasi every year for the past ? 10,15 or 20 years?

Why can’t the government implement the standardized steel number plate?
    Many or most or all of them using a standardized number plate issued by MOT. Why Malaysia refuse to follow?

ASEAN country implemented – Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam and so on.
    European union
    America
    Middle east
    Nearly all country using number plate issued by MOT.

Only malaysia still using glue and paste plastic number plate that flexible enough for the user to modified, carbon fiber, ala-ala european lettering with the sticker EU or KL, KEL, PG and so on. What are the reason ???

I understand this is one of the business for the car accessories shop as everytime the number plate flies away, we can pay rm 20-30 to get the number plate done. It happened to me, it flies away after 2 weeks i get the car. due to low quality double sided tapes and some of the car wash blow the water jet directly to the number plate cause it to crack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Alex Thong on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Please enforce the exact same rules to each and every officer of yours before enforcing it on public! Don’t always say the public are wrong for not adhering to the rules when your officer are not adhering to it. This is what we called “Bagai ketam mengajar anaknya berjalan”.

• lloire on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:25 pm

I wonder how many meetings they have to do to come out with this reasoning. Previously mentioned that fancy number plates is direct cause of road accidents. Really bravo to them for finally coming out with some sensible reason that they probably saw at Facebook

• nabill (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Numbers plates should be produced by jpj not by accessories shop…i feel thats the only legit way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • gtmaniac on Nov 13, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Strongly agree.

• The right way on Nov 14, 2014 at 1:36 am

Most countries’ number plates are issued by the Govn. That is the best way to standardise the plate numbers.

Don’t simply penalise the public for such petty issues.

Can’t our authorities look at the bigger picture and focus on more important issues?

• as long as the no plates meets certain criterial such as size, height, font, then it should pass. Spacing between characters is taking it a bit too far. At least one finger width between each character should be accepted. In fact the no plate would look a little odd with a 10mm spacing between characters. JPJ should be rational.

• Fredo on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:09 pm

JPJ SUCKS!

• farhan on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Jpj officers are doing orders. Punish their brain, not the officers.
    As the director said;
    We WANT <5000 roadkills…"WANT"!

Director bodoh, officers trrpaksa ikut bodoh.
    Meanwhile they need to fulfill specific number of fines every month to show that they are doing their job.
    Every type of enforcers do.

• “The seven major traffic offences are … jumping the queue…”
    I’m just curious, where in the Road Transport Act does it say jumping q not allowed? Which provision does it come under? Or is it under some general provision like driving dangerously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • I’m not sure if it’s an offence to the law. If you’re a queue jumper, you’re just being an enormous impatient idiot that can’t be bothered to wait in line like everyone else.

• like that just let JPJ sell number plate…they can do whatever standard they want

• enforce now no problems can but make sure the vips dont use it, not available in the accesories shop raid it all then standardize it. but raid also depend on mood then raid .

• roxas on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:26 am

its good, please make it standardize, and stop all shop selling illegal plates if you wan to stop people using. i just got a hit n run case and my recorder could not see the number plate clearly at night due to fancy number plates.

• blahblah on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:23 am

Stupic logic.. Like that, all motorbikes needs to use bigger plate number, since they are smaller than those on cars..

Also, what about those cars with special plate numbers such as those using Putrajaya, Perodua, Naza, proton, BamBee? Are they excluded from the ruling?

• jaboo on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Guys i jst wanna know what to do if the hits u and nobody took his number plate n’if u go to da policestation they tell u they can help u without number plate

• RASUAH PUNCA SEGALA on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:03 am

RHAT’S ALL,MAN.

• RASUAH PUNCA SEGALA on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:05 am

THAT’S… aiyaaa.. Sudah silap maaa…Soli…

• Citizen on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:22 pm

I agree that usage of fancy number plates is illegal. But other offences that may cause danger to motorists should be given higher priority..As per one of the comment above, lorry drivers without license should be arrested. JPJ or any government body, should consider comments from public.. Remember your role as government body is to serve people…