Toyota Camry recalled, other models affected as well in worldwide recall exercise – 361,800 units involved

2015-Toyota-Camry-0

Toyota Motor Corp has announced a recall that involves a total of 361,800 vehicles globally for three separate defects. Models such as the Camry, Hiace, Regius Ace, Dyna, Crown and Crown Majesta are among the vehicles affected in the exercise.

In the case of the first glitch, a faulty ball joint on the Toyota Camry (made between March 2011 and August 2014) could lead to a loss of control of the vehicle. A total of 170,000 Camrys – 120,000 units in Europe, 40,000 units in Japan and around 60 in the US – are affected. Camry models sold in Cambodia, India, Myanmar, Pakistan and the Philippines are also involved.

The second defect involves a faulty fuel pipe on the Hiace, Dyna and Regius Ace models, with the vast majority of cases being in Japan. A total of 105,800 units of all three models are involved in the recall – the Toyota Hiace units sold in the Asia-Pacific region are not affected.

crown majesta 01

The third issue involves the Crown and Crown Majesta (pictured above) sold in Japan, totalling 86,000 units, with the outer seat belt assemblies of these cars requiring a replacement. Toyota has stated that no injuries or deaths have been reported as a result of all three defects.

On the local front, the last recall to affect UMW Toyota involved the Lexus IS and LS models. A check with UMW Malaysia has confirmed that none of the Camry and Hiace models sold locally are affected by the aforementioned defects.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• TROLL on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:29 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:47 pm

This will kill Toyota in Malaysia. Nobody is touching their cars already, now this. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis despite being launched 1 year plus already.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to youand your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Get the car for US8000 (of even cheaper since its CKD) and yet take out the VSC??
      All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
      Our lives not important UMW?

Then the Vios. Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. they will come in here and say Toyota got honour to recall. But honour or no honour, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 27
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:50 pm

lol u r wrong some of indo/phi/viet camry variant oso no vsc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:51 am

Why people mad with KZM when we talk true? Kiasu people like to putar belit the facts..

• Same L0rrr on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:15 am

When Vios (B segment) has no VSC, people complain, when Saga (B segment) has no VSC, semua senyap.

It is fine also, because high quality car for high demand owners. If you are not happy for non VSC car, please go for higher end Altis and Camry, even Prius/Prius C/86 have VSC. But you can’t afford them? Might as well go for Iriz, for the sake of VSC only.

Some Toyota models do not have VSC. But Proton models generally do not have:
            1. Build quality
            2. Comfort
            3. Fuel consumption
            4. Resale Value
            5. After sales services

Lastly, why Toyota/Honda/Hyundai/Kia/BMW etc etc so expensive? Thanks for RM1.6bil beggar Proton and its poorly built models.

For a car maker to survive, whole nation has to suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:06 am

Better u compare with Saga Magma Same L0rrr…no airbag sumore.
            Why need u to compare outdated car with latest car Same L0rrr?

• Brunei Expat on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:49 pm

So indon eat shit we also must eat shit is it? Why compare Indon? Indon boleh makan babi mana mana tak ada hal.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:15 am

Please refer to comment that I reply to..

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:24 am

Do you read those long comment by those guy above? I do read that comment above that’s why I reply..

• kzm (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Thai who is main Camry producer in ASEAN oso not price RM60k..thai cheapest camry is about RM129k or Bt1279k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 9:22 am

When Toyota got problem till recall, kiasu bashers said “Ok meh, Toyota very responsible!!”

But when Proton got issue, “Sack of those Engineers and Top Management, govt crony la..”

• Same L0rrr on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:21 am

Toyota is willing to recall all cars even there is only few cases in the world. Proton still do not dare to recall their power window till everyone is fed up changing their power windows (including Iriz also). See the difference?

When Proton got issue, “biasalah bang, ni Proton mah!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • pelty on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Power window story sudah basi. Where got problematic now? Even comes with lifetime warranty. Even Toyolol dun dare to give such warranty.

The ride and handling of Proton are light years above cimmon Japs cars. Swaying shaky cabin when at high cruising are legendary, lol.

• Brunei Expat on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I live in Brunei now, working here. I am Malaysian. Brunei people earn 5x more than us Malaysians in Malaysia. Go and see how much they earn and go and see how strong the Brunei currency is. Currency alone is 2.7 to Malaysian RM

you really got nothing up your head. Cars are more affordable to the Bruneian or Singaporean because they earn a lot.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:02 am

Please refer comment that i reply to…

• kzm (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:08 pm

thai oso make altis im pretty sure price is not RM39k more like RM85k~Bt839k(1.8L)..RM78k~Bt769k(1.6L not available in boleh)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Brunei Expat on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Rm85k is still cheaper than our RM139k. So what is your point?

• goulg on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:07 pm

So what. It’s because of tax

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:01 am

What my point? Please refer to the comment I’m reply to..RM39k US price n I debunked the arguement by saying thai oso built same car but price ain’t RM39k..I don’t put Brunei coz they don’t built car still the price is not RM39k..ade paham.

• LeJohn on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Well , all I can say is , serves UMW right. Ripping off so many customers . Thinking that the people are non educated and they can simply just take the entire market like how Toyota is doing in Indonesia. However, thanks the advancement of technology, they have finally been put to their rightful punishment

• wayangkulit on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:57 pm

all the population of car drivers and passengers prior to 1987 must have died in cars
        since cars without vsc is considered moving coffin, each driver and passengers who entered a car back then must have died a horrible death

earth overpopulation must have started after 1987 when VSC was invented because by having VSC its so safe that nobody dies in car accidents fueling our over population problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Azure on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Haha, I wouldn’t predict up to that far personally.
        Every car manufacturers makes recall.
        Let’s not lie to ourselves about that.

Therefore lets not exaggerate, the recall was done before harm was done (compared to the one aunty killed by airbag in City), so this is good job for Toyota.

• Padan Muka! on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:56 pm

UMW can literaaly close shop in Malaysia. This what happens when you and your staff become too arrogant.
      This what happens when you guys come online and bad mouth Koreans just necause Koreans eating your sales. Play fair and everyone can win. No. You guys play dirty and condemn others online.

Padan muka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • CKD Better Quality kah? on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Cannot trust UMW lah. Use Malaysian parts, which is lower quality from CBU Japan and yet got no problems.

If Toyota Japan can be caught lying by the US government for years, I am sure UMW Malaysia must be lying through their nose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • kzm (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:54 pm

better no CKD operation plant rite?..CBU better? this proof wat i said before nobody like CKD car..so no need to butt hurt if thai/indo get plant expansion..n dont say there goes investment to ______ (ASEAN country)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 9:27 am

Who is the one controlling design and quality specification? UMW or Toyota Japan? Do you is that simple UMW to alter/change Toyota car spec? Toyota solely HAVE TO RESPONSIBLE for the poor quality and less safety feature cars in the road nowadays!!

• Same L0rrr on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:26 am

Toyota poor quality and less safety? hahaha…

Typical Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

What are the most car on the road now: Wira, Iswara, Persona. Do they have VSC? NO!

• Brunei Expat on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:50 pm

what you talking kzm? Talking rots as usual? We all love CKD in Malaysia

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:10 am

Love CKD car? Just look at number of like to that agree with his/her comment..more thumb up than thumb down

• karam singh on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:40 pm

This problem worldwide, not caused by UMW
          Its from Toyota itself
          U can complain for overpriced and lower spec for UMW cars, but this major recall from big Toyota Corp.
          Dont matter CKD or CBU, this recall are worldwide n also involve 40k units in Japan.
          U trying to say our CKD exported worldwide by UMW include Japan ? HA HA HA

• Azure on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:55 pm

But… why blame UMW Malaysia?
        I though Toyota recall is global, and some SEA region.
        Shouldn’t Toyota Japan be blamed?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:52 am

The point is, this is a global recall affecting a broad range of Toyota models including best-sellers in Malaysia i.e. the Camry and yet, magically, UMW declares that the Malaysian models are not affected by the global recall…

• kzm (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:40 pm

ouch. there goes sam loo RV into drain..

• Koh Yee King on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Can anyone even trust UMW Malaysia confirmation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Tell Everybody! on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Please spread the word around. Tell all your friends about UMW and how they compromise on VSC. And now this. Tell everybody

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Proton no recall must be good?

• ayooo on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:04 pm

proton recall oso but mostly on small things like power window, gps etc. Like my preve last month got recall to install new electrical cable. I don’t mind recall as long as I dont have to pay for anything.

• I cannot trust UMW la. they took out VSC to kill Malaysians. U trust them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • wayangkulit on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:44 pm

ya cant trust them
        have vsc in a car means no people will die in accident ever
        toyota so cheap, take out vsc and everyone suddenly dies in cars without vsc

• Same L0rrr on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:29 am

Lack of VSC won’t kill you. Your driving style kill you instead.

Typical Proton style like smoke this smoke that or double smoking (smoke cigarettes while try to smoke Civic) will definitely make the Proton moving coffin.

• Proton cars nowadays no need to smoke this and that lor. Turbocharged engine is powerful enough to give relaxing pickup and crusing unlike outdated Japs cars.

• zuchie on Nov 13, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Oh man, what happens to you Toyota?

• sore Loser on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Ha Ha Ha Ha ha Ha. God punishes those who come online and bitch about other car brands. Sore losers

• Henry on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

2014 is the Year of Recalls.

• Low Budget on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Most of the car manufacturers source their parts from common supplier now adays, if the parts supplier screwed up, then there will be recalls of hundred of thousands of cars from diffrent marques such as Honda/Toyota etc,.
      Seems like the most reliable cars are those without much sophisticated features and of the old models.

• Toyota said we produced few thousand cars a day, no time inspect for each unit, don’t blame us

• sampan on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Obviously, UMW not here reading this, too busy counting money in bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Roger Tan on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Just a ponder

In the recent few recalls (covering multiple brands), our local distributors have so far stated that cars in Malaysia are not affected.

Is it because our cars are so different parts wise that we do not suffer from potential defects? Or different safety and/or quality standards applied here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • The “best” (proclaimed by …) QCed Toyota cars are all in Malaysia. Hence no recall.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:53 am

Malaysia-spec Toyotas are the best in the world. None of our Toyotas are ever a part of any global recall, ever. The only country in the world with perfect quality defect-free Toyotas built with alien technology

• Alex (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 6:27 pm

UMW mia Camry… superb quality… mana mungkin kena recall? impossibru… better than Lexus LS, better than any Mercedes… it is a modern tank! Thank you UMW!

• Toyota, Moving Backward.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:10 pm

UMW Toyota, why is it mysteriously always all your Toyota models are not affected except the CBU units? After all, many of the parts still say Made in Japan, or at least that was what I saw on my ex ASEAN built Toyota….

• RavenAii on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:23 pm

When you say that, makes me wonder too. Kinda weird isn’t?

• Sohai Law on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Mane Sohai Same Lorr

• Better than Korean cars.
    Look online, see how Korean cars suddenly automatically accelerates.

You will glad that Malaysia has not much Korean cars. Otherwise you will be killed next morning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • BeemerFreak on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:45 pm

However you try to defend and bitch slap yourself, at the end of the day there is only one truth……Toyota sucks……..nuff said.

• now UMW gonna reply to their consumer:”Look! more airbag, percentage of mati tinggi, and that’s why we give you 2 airbags” haha

• darkermarker on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:04 pm

This year, toyota salesmen and salewomen won’t be taking any big bonus…probably looking for new job elsewhere….becoz car sales drop to zero….

They can play sudoku all day long….

For cheating so many customers…
    Serve them right!!

• wayangkulit on Nov 14, 2014 at 1:22 am

no lar, they have to work part time

see ah, first they sell cars without VSC
      by driving an unsafe car their customer confirm 100% sure die liao what

so they work part time as funeral managers, undertakers, coffin seller and etc

business sure good what since so many people driving such unsafe cars are dieing by the truckloads, want to play sudoku also no time le.
      morning unsafe car saleman and at night work in funeral line

commission from selling unsafe cars + part time in funeral line enable them to earn millions in a year’s time

• spongewai on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:31 pm

adui, Toyota & UMW

big failure

ps: i got my own 2nd gen Toyota Vios but not me to buy, it’s my parent who gave me

• Now this is surprising n disturbing…how come whenever there is recall it will never apply to Malaysia? is it bcos the car build in Malaysia are using low quality components or the quality is over the spec? Sam Loo, where r u? in the Loo?

• gaviny on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:36 pm

always malaysia not affected, we must have some of the best cars in the world

• My vios lower arm always faulty and engine still got picking noise although few time repair, no recall for that?!

• mesin rumput on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:35 pm

ASNB invests millions in UMW. Impossible to tutup kedai. Boycott ASNB!

• 15 months old, brake disc toasted. Calibre shaft some kind that push the apply brakes got toasted too…..

• DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:57 am

My ex-boss’ Camry is always in and out of the Toyota service center every 3-4 months. Front disc rotors are always warping, and always gets replaced. Never-ending problem.. All of us are puzzled.. But somehow such CKD spec components are always above and beyond the global standard, never needs to be rectified or recalled.

• Normal Driver on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:34 am

Wah god car kena recall

• vroom vroom on Nov 14, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Sam Loo no longer online to answer forumers. Sudah tapau-ed in one of the toyota he was driving in. LOL.

• my golden advice . got money buy bmw/merc , no money but proton/perodua . just avoid those japan/Korean car .(invaluable)

• @same lor
    what use of all that if you die in toyoda?