GALLERY: 2014 Honda Civic 1.8S facelift in showroom

CivicFL_Ext_02

Late last night, Honda Malaysia updated its website to include the facelifted 2014 Honda Civic, with added levels of equipment despite a marginal drop in price. With the car already in showrooms, we headed out to give you a comprehensive first look at the refreshed C-segment fighter from the house that Soichiro built.

You’re going to be really hard-pressed to tell the latest Civic from the outgoing model at a glance, the only discernible external revisions being a new honeycomb grille with the chrome highlight routed below the Honda logo instead of above it, as well as a chrome bar across the lower air intake. Interior changes are similarly minor, limited to chrome surrounds on the driver’s side air vents.

CivicFL_Ext_03

Mechanicals have been left well alone – buyers still get a choice between 141 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre or 155 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre SOHC VTEC four-cylinder engines, with all models getting a five-speed automatic transmission as well as all-wheel independent suspension and disc brakes.

Of more interest is the amount of new kit on board. The 1.8S model in the pictures is the entry-level variant, but it now gets keyless entry, push button start, cruise control and automatic headlights, all while being RM2,180 cheaper at RM115,980 on-the-road including insurance. As before, items like automatic climate control, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) and dual airbags are fitted as standard.

The 2.0S model continues to offer auto-levelling HID headlights, 17-inch alloy wheels (as opposed to 16-inchers on the 1.8), side indicators on the door mirrors, an eight-way powered driver’s seat, leather upholstery, steering wheel shift paddles and side airbags, but now also adds curtain airbags to make it six in total. You’d now have to fork out a whopping RM6,180 less for this model, which now sits at RM125,800.

CivicFL_Int_02

Range-topping 2.0 Navi models get a new 7.0-inch touchscreen (up from 6.1 inches) infotainment system with navigation, Bluetooth connectivity, MirrorLink smartphone interoperability, Personal Media Access and a reverse camera. There’s also two USB ports (the rest get just one) as well as a HDMI port similar to that found on the Jazz and City 1.5V models. The price has dropped by RM4,180 to RM132,800.

A new colour – Twilight Blue from the CR-V – joins four previously-available colours of Modern Steel Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl, Taffeta White and Alabaster Silver Metallic. As usual, there are Modulo and Mugen accessories to dress up your Civic, available in packages – costing RM7,600 and RM8,500 respectively – or a la carte.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Stanley Free Makan on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Who gives a shit about the current generation civic? No matter what cosmetic changes they introduce, it’s a still a shit model. The entire team of Honda designers should be sacked for producing such a piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 58
    • Toyota Salesman Dengki on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:46 am

I see so many Toyota salesman here. All so jealous. All bitter. Now Toyota sales are ZERO cause everybody know about VSC and Toyota. And still the Toyota salesman and Toyota fanboys have not learnt their lesson. All still coming online and playing dirty back again and bad mouthing all other car brands.

Hello Toyota fanboys and Toyota salesman. Nobody is buying your cars because of your bad and evil attitude of coming online and spreading false rumours about your competitors. Thought you would have learned a hard lesson. But you all are back again.

Now somemore people will boycott Toyota. Somemore people won’t buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
      • on the inside worse than proton iriz…omg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Anonymous on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:42 pm

The ONLY facelift I expected from this model is the tail light. Well.. still ugly.

• Albert on Nov 15, 2014 at 5:34 pm

The Civic foglamp is really resembling an ugly shithole.
      At least Protong’s foglamp is much much better looking.
      At 120K and 40k of pure taxes,this shit hole design spoils Honda’s image.The City looks more presentable,alto it is a cheaper car.

• policeman on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:43 pm

What a fugly interior. Look at that CD player!
    Entire dash is covered in cheap looking plastics.
    A big piece of kaka.

Ini kalah Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 14
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Honda has responded to the competition with a better package which is good. Now to slowly make all models have 6 airbags as standard next round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • BeemerFreak on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Still no rear air conditioning?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • sohai…still look the same.Better buy Altis.Meh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 80
  • AR Yusof on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:00 pm

i love this car..bought 2.0 Navi last year. a bit plasticky inside but the ride is smooth enough for a 5 speed auto gearbox. this new price is just a little bit high tho but still cheaper than when i 1st bought it. i have no regrets. cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • no toyota on Nov 15, 2014 at 4:49 pm

beside the good handling and 1.8L engine, honda city 1.5 full spec is better than 1.8 low spec civic coz city got all d accessories plus traction control. n d price is cheaper by almost 33k.

• Ferio on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Considering how significant changes were done by Honda America within a year in response to the poor received from the pre-facelift, Honda Malaysia thinks we all still live in the jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Policeman on Nov 14, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Honda salesman spotted

• Lich King on Nov 14, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Yup, I just drove this rental car model yesterday in Dubai, very responsive, light steering but lack of tech & reverse camera. Overall still nice car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Ong Chee Boon on Nov 14, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Since it is a facelift,
    Since the front grille could be changed,
    Why the heck they still keep the ugly rear?
    One of the major turnoff for current generation civic is not because of front and interior, but its ugly rear design.

Just my two cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • maXref (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Bought the 8th gen civic and loved it till today despite not using it as much as i used to. It was the yardstick for other brands in that price range at that time.
    These newer models have been nothing but disappointing, both looks wise and specs wise as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Honda still haven’t improve the quality of plastics on the dashboard. Looking at the interior pictures alone is enough to deduce so. Just look at the hard and shiny plastics!

On a more positive note, at least Honda acknowledges they are not so invincible anymore in the C segment by lowering the prices across the range. Good news for the buyers.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Nissan sylphy still the best choice for C segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • Takata liar on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Nowadays I’m very skeptical of the Japanese products. Their airbag manufacturer takata willing to take humans life for granted…

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:54 pm

The interior is so plastic fantastic! I guess we’re just paying for the RV, then.

• At this point of time, If u love this model for some added features and lower price, can buy it. OR Just wait a few more years for next gen model. Who knows? Honda Malaysia might improve their cars.

• Bigmouse on Nov 15, 2014 at 9:55 am

Pls chg the teribble ugly rear lights back to the old model, and fix the stupid square looking center console, thanks

• mesinrumput on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:12 am

year-end stock clearance sale.

• Jamal on Nov 15, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Went to the Honda glenmarie showroom to look at the jazz but was totally ignored by the sales ppl even though they were not with other customers. Left after about 5mins

• Sam Boo on Nov 15, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Honda salesman are at this kida of manner. You need to dress very nicely then only they able to open their eyes widely n come over you. I’ve the same experience as u.

• Same thing happened to me last year at Toyota Kulim showroom. Headed to Nissan showroom next and the salesman En. Roduan there showed me what a good salesman looked like. He was one factor in me booking a Nissan there three days later.

• kenny chin on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Same like you, roc. Very rude reply from this Toyota Rawang salesman on the Altis car. After being pushed by me on reducing price, the guy artificially playing pocker game with me by saying” if you can’t sign order today, leave this door and we wounldn’t entertain you again if you come back…”
        I know the offer is marginally cheaper by $200 compare to Toyota some where else, but with that kind of “shown exit ” gesture hurled at you, i feel pretty much annoy and signed up a Nissan Sylphy the next day. Here just to tell you guys, i even got the Nissan salesman sending their test cars ( Teana and Slyphy ) straight to my house / office for test drive..

• Same L0rr on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:11 am

Same with Proton

• AR Yusof on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:07 am

had a 2.0 civic previously, sold it coz of going oversea to study..gonna be back 3 years from now hopefully new gen is about to come out.. praying hard the looks would be better from current gen.

p/s: unless those certain conti car’s reliability issues solved, i’m sticking with the japs’

• ZM Bakry on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:42 pm

I just bought this car civic 1.8 new face lift on 18/12/14 .25/12/14 suddenly the engine off while driving. Now SC still trouble shoot the problem.