Honda Malaysia recalls 15,734 cars over faulty Takata driver airbag – 2003-2004 City and 2004 Jazz involved

honda-city-2003

Yesterday, Honda Motor Co disclosed that a Malaysian woman was killed on July 27 in an incident involving a defective driver’s airbag in her 2003 Honda City. Following a collision, the improperly-manufactured front driver airbag inflator ruptured, sending shrapnel flying inside the car – some of this hit the driver, resulting in the fatality.

The airbag was manufactured by Japanese parts maker Takata Corp, which has been at the centre of a series of massive recalls worldwide since the issue surfaced in 2008. Honda has now expanded its ongoing recall to another 170,000 units of the Jazz, City and Civic in Asia and Europe, raising the total number of its vehicles affected by the Takata airbag recall to nearly 10 million units.

Following this, Honda Malaysia is recalling 15,734 vehicles locally to replace the driver-side airbags – the models affected by the recall are 15,612 units of the Honda City sold in 2003 and 2004 as well as 122 units of the fully-imported Honda Jazz sold in 2004. No other models are involved in this latest airbag-related recall.

The company did not issue an official statement regarding the matter, but a Honda Malaysia source disclosed the figures – as well as the fact that a recall had been issued – via a phone conversation earlier last night.

honda-jazz-mk1-2

The source added that as of 1 pm yesterday, the company had begun calling owners of the affected cars informing them of the recall. There is no fixed time frame for the replacement period – Honda Malaysia will continue the exercise until all affected vehicles have had their airbags replaced, which may take some time, given that ownership of some vehicles might have changed since purchase. It will however undertake all repairs and replacement work to completion.

While involving Takata-made airbags yet again, this recall is different than that carried out in June this year, which the 2003 Honda City was also involved in. Then, Honda Malaysia recalled the City as well as the 2001-2003 Honda Stream, 2002-2003 Honda Jazz and 2003 Honda Accord to replace passenger side airbags.

The fatality in Malaysia is the fifth linked to defective airbags and, besides being the first to occur outside of the United States, is the first to involve the driver’s side airbag. Honda opened a casebook on the incident on August 27, and later called in Takata to investigate the matter. The findings were reported back to Japan’s transport ministry on September 10.

The culprit in this case has been traced to propellant tablets affected by moisture. This was brought about by a conveyor that malfunctioned at Takata’s now-defunct US plant in LaGrange, Georgia, which exposed the propellant tablets left on the belt to moisture – the automaker said that such moisture could cause the explosives to become unstable, detonating with excessive force during a collision.

Honda owners seeking clarification on the matter can call the Honda Malaysia hotline number at 1-800-88-2020 for information.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:00 am

So what is happening to cars that have changed ownership? After all these cars are 10-11 years old, I doubt many are still being driven by their original buyer… heck, what if the original buyer has moved and changed the phone number? Would Honda still have contact data?

• If your driving the affected year models, call the authorized Honda service centers & give them your Vin numbers. They will check if or not your vehicle is affected in the recall.

• Proton’s airbag don’t work so no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 5:22 am

P1 uses Autoliv Hirotako brand airbag

• Great Hocus on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:09 am

I am laughing so loudly… but at YOU … the AH BENG !

• Azure on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:02 pm

I know you’re hurt that Japanese Honda equipment failed and killed one Malaysian person, but that’s no reason to be sore and lie about other automaker.

• beng loser on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:35 pm

I guess Ah Beng is a Honda owner and a die hard fan of his non JDM Japanese car. He must feel really shamed by this incident that he had to pinpoint Proton just to put them down. What a low self esteemed fellow.

• sorro on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:38 am

typical AH BENG.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:31 am

The only way Honda can trace back where the cars are, is by going through the JPJ. In situations like this, JPJ should be willing to disclose contact details of the owners of the cars, because Honda Malaysia will definitely have the VIN numbers of the cars affected.

Run a full page ad in the papers, that will help too.

• What a terrible thing! A innocent life ended just like that, the car is like a ticking bomb waiting to explode !

• beng loser on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Now is the time for the family of the Malaysian woman killed in the accident to take action. I see a big civil suit looming. I know it will bring back horrible memories but now is the time to see those responsible for the incident to be duly punished. There should be a high chance of winning the case.

• Kuchivava on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

is that mean FREE to replace? include workmanship?

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 2:58 pm

in a recall process, especially involving safety aspects repairs will include inspection and/or replacement of defective parts (or suspect to cause defect) at no cost at all.

because this way is sure cheaper than a legal action taken against Honda (or any other car manufacturer in a similar incident, so to say)

• Tan Cheng Swee on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:29 pm

I am still owning a Honda Accord 2.0 liters model 2005. Can i bring n hve its airbag changed? I m residing in Ss18/, Subang Jaya n which workshop shall i send my car? Can i hve d workshop tel nos. Thks.

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 14, 2014 at 10:00 pm

I think the 3S centre at Glenmarie would be the right place for you to go to.

• your car not affected. so don’t worry la.

• Tan Cheng Swee on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

I have a 2005 Honda Accord 2 liters car. Can i hve my car send to the nearest Honda workdhop to hve dair bag replaced?

• Hi all sifus. Recently I am planning to get a used 3rd gen City type E with peddle shift, year made 2011. Please confirm if VSA is not available for this version? Also the airbag accident involved 2nd gen City last year really freak us out and shaken my confident towards Honda City now. Should I go ahead with the purchase?