Pos Malaysia submits fuel subsidy plan proposal

pos-malaysia-logo

Pos Malaysia Bhd has submitted a request for proposal to the government to manage the country’s fuel subsidy rationalisation programme, group CEO Datuk Iskandar Mizal Mahmood has said, according to a Bernama report.

“We are awaiting the answer from the government. They are evaluating it right now,” Iskandar told reporters yesterday, although he did not elaborate on the details of the proposal.

“We are hoping that the government will come back to us sooner. I can’t comment further on the proposal because of the confidentiality agreement that we have with the Malaysian government and the consortium partners,” he said.

Pos Malaysia has joined forces with Datasonic Group Bhd (involved in the MyKad programme) to bid for the concession. This joint-venture and Fuelsubs House Sdn Bhd are among seven parties that have submitted such proposals.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Greedy Pos Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Pos Malaysia is greedy. Already they doubled their stamp rates from 30 sen to 60 sen. No other country in the world just doubles the postal rates. All their rates became double overnight.

This what happens when you are a crony company and you can get approval for anything.

Pos Malaysia, please improve your basic service. You were set up to post letters but now you want to poke your nose into everything.

Your postman is still sending letters to the wrong house. Everybody kena this. In a year, posman sends my neighbours confidential statements and credit card bill to my house at least 10 times.

That you Pos Malaysia cannot sort.

Then you want to go into all sorts of ventures.

Basic pun tak boleh how?

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where you send a letter from KL to KL, it takes 7 days. Most countries, it arrives the next day and sometimes, on that day itself.

In Malaysia, KL to KL can arrive in 7 days.

So Pos Malaysia, please sort your basic first. Sort your basic business first. There are still postmen who throw letters in the bin, that not sorted also. This is why so many letters hilang and even Pos Laju can hilang things

Sort your basic first, then venture into bigger things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 47
    • Syed Mokhtar Again? on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

DRB Hicom is one of the largest shareholders (or largest).

Syed Mokhtar also want to control the fuel in Malaysia?

Everything he want to control?

Beras also he control. Our rice can get 1/4 the price from Thailand but it goes through Bernas and 30 million people pay overpriced rice price in Malaysia

Now Syed Mokhtar also want to control our minyak?

He already owns everything and is berpuluh puluh billion in debt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 34
      • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Don’t worry, just like letters and mail that go missing, there will be tankers going missing too. That is Malaysia. Soon you will see Postman driving S class.

Morning ride motor deliver letters. Malam drive S400 with family and go Mid Valley lepak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Thumbs Down, Thumbs Down! on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:50 am

I have been commenting in PT for about 6 years now. I can see any trend and suspicious behaviour. the comments here all have very fast and quick thumbs down.

It is so obvious, people at Pos Malaysia and people at DRB Hicom want this deal to go through. I think there was a memo to all the Pos Man to use their smartphones to Thumbs down any negative comments.

Come on Pos Malaysia, how can you stoop so low?

• Look who’s behind him. Everyrhing he wants to control especially the basic needs of the people.

• Sapu Songlap Sdn Bhd on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Malaysia has the largest Civil Service in the world. 5X larger than Australia. Why get an external company like Pos Malaysia?

Just set up a department in Putrajaya to manage it.

Why give it to a 3rd party who may screw it up? Remember the netbooks and notebook by EPF that was given to a 3rd party company to distribute to EPF holders?

Saw what happened?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • The Real Post Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Every 2 weeks once I got to give my neighbour his mail. When I give him, 2 doors away, my neighbour will ring my bell. Then he passes me my letters.

If letter cannot deliver properly, how Pos Malaysia want to deliver fuel?

Datuk Iskandar Mizal macam mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • insaneur on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

why deduct our subsidies just to pay another third party company to manage data services on the eligibility for fuel subsidies. This is crapola

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Curi Curi Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Pos Laju also can lose barang. They charge a lot and refuse to give insurance. In a day, so many handphones and valuable items get lost.

Hantar barang pun tak boleh, mau handle fuel for government ah?

that is why online business in Malaysia fail. All ask to do COD. Cause, everytime barang send by Pos Malaysia, mesti hilang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Wow, even a POST company wants to meddle with the fuel sunsidy? What has this country become now?

Please do us the rakyat a favor by abolishing the subsidy. There was never a point in having these ‘subsidies’ in the first place and its making us more poor instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • sompua on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:38 pm

DRB HI CON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • nckeat on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

With availability of email, snail mail demand dropped 90% and the doubling of postage fee is justified otherwise they will be out of business. Pos Malaysia is probably the best for giving out the subsidy considering their network BUT is there a need to have such system jus to ensure the 20-30% population which do not need the subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Pos Malaysia PR department at work. Brother, all over the world got email lah. Royal Mail in the UK also face email lah but yet they are so cekap and they dont venture into other business.

• nckeat on Nov 15, 2014 at 2:19 am

Royal mail increased their first class mail by 400% from 14p to 60p in 2013.

• Royal Mail User on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:32 am

I used to live in UK. At least you send from London to Scotland, the letter reaches in 1 day by first class. I don’t mind paying whatever. London to Scotland is so so far.

Malaysia prices can go up. Send surat from KL to Penang, 1 minggu pun tak sampai. That oso if sampai. Half the time hilang.

• Hi,

If snail mail demand dropped by 90% why dont you drop your manpower resource to adjust to 10% of the workload?
      Instead doubling the stamp price.

Again, do what you best (hopefully) by improving your postal service.

• cronyism no.1 on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Well I’m not surprised as DRB owns Pos Malaysia. Govt Money from left pocket to the right pocket to under table.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • 1 Man Control Whole Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:18 pm

He has about 50 billion in debt. He collapses, the whole Malaysia collapses. Now he wants to control Minyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • kangkungkingayam on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Everything UNDER CONTROL.
    is agent/runner.

• nasha on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

i don’t see the fuss regarding this news. ok, so pos malaysia is participating in this rfi/rfp tender process. based on this article, pos is just the fronting company. all the work & solution will be provided by datasonic. just becoz pos malaysia is always associated with snail mail, it does not mean that they cannot expand/venture in other field such as IT. It’s a normal practice la in bisnes world.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:37 pm

I urge everyone don’t be skeptical.

Syed and his team have a good record on managing his businesses, and I have full confidence in him as a fellow businessman. Pos Malaysia may not be perfect, but they have prove themselves to be one of the better managed companies in Malaysia compared to say, KTM. It’s financial record is clean and have year on year proven to be a gem for investors.

Give Syed’s team and Pos Malaysia a chance to implement something good for Malaysia, subsidy is clearly not sustainable and the only way is to remove them. Pos Malaysia should be commended for stepping up and make themselves counted to help Malaysia to be a better place, and a more sustainable economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
    • Debt Riden on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:05 pm

So many thumbs down despite the Pos Malaysia and DRB hicom staff thumbing down negative comments. How to give him a chance when he has berpuluh puluh billion in hutang?

How to praise Pos Malaysia when their service is so bad and they lose letters and parcels all the time? Is that what you call as sustainable economy?

So losing letters and parcels is sustainable economy?

Apa benda bang cakap ni?

A Person will have good record being a businessman if he keeps his debts low. Here one dude has about RM40 to RM50 billion in debt.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 15, 2014 at 9:19 pm

50B in debt does not a businessman make.

All the proper entrepreneurs I know are all cash rich. This one is a gambler.

He fails, malaysia fails. He’s just trying to be so big that the governmnent cannot let him fail.

• Got no problem with Pos Malaysia on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:49 pm

then, submit your own proposal lohhh..dun hide front ur pc screen..LMFAO!

• poddah!! on Nov 14, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Why do I see more ‘thumbs down’ than ‘thumbs up’ on the comments when I do believe that most of the readers here would agree that this is such a crap arrangement?
    if you really can’t manage a fully subsidized program, why bother a partly subsidized program instead? better abolish it altogether. we will suffer at first, but I would rather have that than some ‘clever’ people trying to find ways to cheat the system and others who try to gain from so-called ‘management of the subsidy’!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • faruq on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:18 pm

I can see that almost everyone is bashing POS Malaysia and DRB as a whole. One saying postal stamp increases from 30 cents to 60 cents (100% increase) and services that we think not justifying the increased.

Again we need to look at several angles, as we are moving towards IOT (Internet of Things), mailing business is almost no longer visible to a company where most businesses is moving towards other sort of information dissemination (email as such and portal). Taking this into account imagine POS Malaysia cost (Pros & Cons) in ensuring that everybody mails being delivered. One thing for sure it is not cheap.

Having said that, and the relevance of this thread, I believe that POS Malaysia is trying to diversify its’ businesses. Having more business will project more revenue streams. This stream of revenues will help them to improve their services (i.e Mailing, POS Laju etc). Lets give POS Malaysia benefits of the doubt. After all nobody if perfect…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:46 am

How about they improve their parcel delivery service and compete with other local delivery services? If even small players like GDEX can offer better services than them, shouldn’t they take a hard look at improving? What is the point in moving into other forms of business when the core business is doing worse than even local competitors? How is this ok if we consider it insane for POS Malaysia offer door to door car servicing/maintenance since Proton is in their group of companies too?

• BigPie on Nov 15, 2014 at 10:42 am

I find it hard to believe by doing business of providing a service that consumer not getting service paid for. Streams of complains of never ending of repeated mail lost, and delivery problems persist. This will problem will continue when POS has this contract. This is a benefits of doubt

• Angel on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:01 pm

faruq, even small letters also cannot deliver properly and can get lost, how to deliver expensive and precious petrol?

It is like asking Pos Malaysia to transport diamonds for DeBeers nationwide and globally.

• mastermind on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:36 pm

better Pos Malaysia than ytl or astro…lor the bloody service always increase fees lor

• nabei on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:12 pm

let selangor government or kaninachabo lim gang eng handle. they seems better manager’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • This is crap. Having a private company to manage subsidies.

• panjang on Nov 15, 2014 at 8:21 am

Typical Malaysian….only at submitting proposal level already kecoh2.Not even knowing the detail of the method.
    If u got a method then submit your own proposal.At least under drb,pos Malaysia is slowly turning the company around to start makes money.
    Last time alwasy loss,Malaysian bash.
    Now try to make money,Malaysian bash.

• MrDDR on Nov 15, 2014 at 9:09 am

Pos Laju is the best compare to others in Malaysia. Will send item at your doorstep compare to others that will call you to pickup at their agent office. When I do online shopping always ask seller to choose Pos Laju.

• latacc (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:04 am

Lalang dekat Pejabat Pos Besar Shah Alam pun tak boleh tebas, ada hati nak manage sabsidi minyak. Go home pos malaysia. You are drunk.

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 1:04 pm

poslaju (subsidiary of Pos Malaysia?) is hardly keeping up with competition (other courier companies). no doubt, many parcels delivered withitn 24 hours but there are cases when it take more than that.

pos laju once did mention it is capable to deliver parcels/letters in the same day (post morning, deliver evening) so long as it is within similar areas ie Klang Valley but it as just empty promise. no such thing. that just shows the level of efficiency of pos malaysia/pos laju.