Volkswagen Golf R 400 confirmed for production?

volkswagen-golf-r-400-1

Earlier this year, Volkswagen rolled out a super-Golf – dubbed the R 400 – and blew everyone’s mind away. Before them was a Volkswagen Golf which possessed power levels completely unheard of in the hot-hatch circle. Just how much, you ask? Try 400 hp and 450 Nm of torque from a 2.0 litre TSI engine.

Unfortunately, Volkswagen had announced that the car was only a concept – perhaps an engineering exercise – and that there were no plans to put it into production. Until now. According to a report by Car magazine, the Volkswagen Golf R 400 has been given the go-ahead for production.

The production version will likely employ the 2.0 litre TFSI EA888 engine, seen earlier in the TT quattro sport concept. In this state of tune, the engine is said to develop 420 hp and 450 Nm of torque. All that power will be transferred to the road via a Haldex-based 4Motion AWD system and a six-speed DSG gearbox.

Performance figures are enough to give most supercars a headache with the concept recording just 3.9 seconds for the 0-100 km/h sprint while top speed is likely to be electronically limited to 250 km/h. Naturally, an uprated suspension and braking system will be drafted in to cope with the added power.

Though Volkswagen has yet to officially confirm the news, word on the street is that the finished article – rumoured to cost less than €50,000 (RM208,378) – is scheduled to make its public debut late next year, with deliveries set to commence in the year 2016.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• still no no for golf car although they are using TSI instead DSG. Thus courtesy to car service cannot be done due to whatsoeverproblemSfromC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
    • Hahaha. Bash without knowing the fak is TSI/ DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • DSG DSG DSG on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:57 am

Can have all the bhp and torgue, no pint. DSG is DSG. You will still be stuck by the roadside waiting for the tow truck to come and get your 400Bhp car.

VW is the only Mat Salleh continental car that is so unreliable and full of problems. All my office mates and family spend their whole annual leave in the SC fixing their cars up.

I can never understand Malaysians. Pay Rm200,000 and above for problem and problem. Even your low down Proton is better than VW problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • gtismoker on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:50 pm

This is sad car. In traffic jams even Axia cheapo can smoke it left right front back. No use thise 400 500 600 even 10000

Haha!!

• liniko on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:37 pm

we have to change our mentality in this..now u are comparing VW with proton saying proton is better..but people buying proton aso shouting at SC because of the problem they face..as I know VW are doing their best to solve the technical problems..

• policeman on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:45 pm

What if I said TSI and DSG can exist together in one car?

• stienthusiast on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:13 am

Go prepare yourself before making fool of yourself.You could forget it since you can’t afford a golf r.

• speedo on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:24 pm

I read in one of the article that VW start to give out courtesy car starting from 1 nov..btw do you have personal experience with VW?

• Sure can smoke Iriz owners

• Jaybond on Nov 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Actually 4WD, 400+bhp Hot Hatches already exist back in the 1980s, albeit in Group B rally monsters form : The MG Metro 6R4, Peugeot 205 T16 & Lancia Delta S4.

• dr.terror on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:04 pm

400 times go to SC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • trololol on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:27 pm

don’t be silly, 5 years warranty.
      1 year with fun the rest 4 years in sc.

• Stanley Free Makan on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:35 pm

What’s the use of producing more powerful models when they can’t even fix their DSG gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Michael on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:41 pm

as VW mentioned, the DSG issue is resolved..just need to wait for them to repair the models which were affected..new cars are not affected..sure they would have improved their technology..

• You’re forgetting that the volume of cars that they need to fix. They’ve solved it… they jst need the time to fix em’ all.

• policeman on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Let’s play fill in the blanks.

Q. What else is confirmed?
    A. G _ _ _ _ _x f_ _ _ _ _ e

• panjang on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:54 pm

You can never have too much.

• A new GTD with the new 240hp TDI diesel and a consumption of 4l/100km would be even more interesting…

• Sam's Best Friend on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:27 am

A car like this, needs a full rally spec roll cage or it would be pretty much a death trap tin can. Then again, still not safe to other road users.

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:45 pm

perhaps, someone can remember what VW did in 2007 – putting a W12 engine into a modified golf GTI. perhaps, just as to show what they are capable off in terms of engineering.

tht never went into production, for the 650bhp engine is just too powerful in a car so so light in weight.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=golf+w12

• TAXLOL on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:39 pm

wtf sub 210k? only if it was the same case in malaysia lol

• Why need to go that fast?
    All WV Service Centre don’t need speed because a lot of DSG problem car there.

• they are implementing new technology which can give better performance..who don’t like a fast fast car nowadays..this car looks very tempting for me..and to make things clear, only certain models were affected by DSG and it was the June 2008 and September 2011 batch..new models has no problem so far..