Scion iM Concept – Euro Auris heading Stateside?

scion_im_front

Toyota’s American sub-brand Scion is bringing the Scion iM Concept car to the Los Angeles Auto Show next week. Described as a “five-door compact hatchback with sporty looks inspired by those seen on the European touring car racing circuit,” it’s based on the European-spec Toyota Auris.

The beefy concept gets “edgy, geometric” grille inserts, deep air intakes and fog lights. There’s also the custom-blended “Incrediblue” paint complemented by matte silver and gunmetal accents.

scion_im_rear

To create a grounded appearance, the Scion iM Concept receives a wide body and a lower ride height. The touring car inspiration carries through into the 19-inch forged alloy wheels and high performance rubber. Vented front rotors and four-piston calipers work with the adjustable height racing suspension to complete the package. No mention of what’s under the hood.

“The iM Concept combines sleek styling with the versatility of a modern hatchback to catch the eye of Scion customers. Stay tuned for more on how we will bring this vision to the road,” said Scion VP Doug Murtha, hinting at a Scion-badged Auris for North America.

GALLERY: Toyota Auris

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kzm super fan on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:35 am

kzm, since you work for MITI in disguise, can you ask your bosses to bring this car down. Boleh?

• Anti-Toyota on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:13 pm

When will be the day Toyota brings hatchback like this to Malaysia!.

• greddy on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Keep dreaming. UMW dont even have the ball to bring in the Yaris.

• kington on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:24 am

Knowing UMW, they might charge you RM200K for this, and for a sports or kitted up unit like this, probably just below the 86.

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:24 pm

auris is corolla altis with a hatch.

• Heng Lee on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:15 pm

As they cannot sell the Auris in Europe, they have plenty left to sell under the ‘Scion’ brand in the US… ;)

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 7:56 pm

the auris is the hatchback variant of corolla, a history which traces its root some time in the 80s (when corolla had a sedan version, a wagon, a coupe and a 3dr/5dr hatchback lineup)

it is not only sold in europe but japan and australia – to say a few. it is quite international rather than domestic.

• Heng Lee on Nov 16, 2014 at 6:54 am

Toyota currently has a market share in Europe of 2 percent all models combined. So they have plenty left to sell under the ‘Scion’ brand in the US… ;)

• This model has been selling in down under for a while already.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/237867/toyota-corolla-levin-zr-review/

Levin is top of the line whereas the base model is known as Ascent.