New police patrol cars approved – report

revolo-dssz

New sets of wheels for the cops soon, as federal police logistics department director Datuk Zulkifli Abdullah has told the New Straits Times that the government has OK-ed the purchase of 250 patrol sedans and 220 four-wheel drive vehicles, since 90% of the force’s vehicles have reached their eight-year threshold period of “economic usefulness.”

“Most of the vehicles approved for purchase will be used in Sabah and Sarawak as well as highlands in the peninsula. We hope the government will approve the force’s application to privatise maintenance so that such issues will not recur,” the NST quoted Zulkifli as saying.

According to the third series of the 2013 Auditor General’s report that was released on Monday, nearly 70% of police vehicles were over eight years old in 2013 – specifically, 15,626 of the 22,726 vehicles owned were beyond “economic usefulness.” Out of 3,635 patrol cars, 1,530 had reached the eight-year threshold at the end of 2013, it said.

PDRM-Volvo-S80-Large

“We appreciate the fact that the report has highlighted the problems faced by the force. However, the allocation approved by the government for the maintenance of these vehicles is inadequate. This is why we are proposing the privatisation concept,” said Zulkifli.

To replace the Royal Malaysian Police’s (PDRM) aged vehicles, the ministry has applied for RM180 million to be allocated for 2014 and a further RM150 million for 2015, the report stated.

It added that out of five district police headquarters visited, 72 patrol cars were out of service for one to four weeks, 81 for five to 24 weeks and four for more than 45 weeks, due to the shortage of mechanics at police workshops and a lack of spare parts.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Littlebear on Nov 16, 2014 at 1:49 pm

The police are so lucky to have a fleet of police cars with 8 years lifespan. Average Malaysians might have to use their daily drive more than 10 years thanks to the price of the vehicle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 259 Thumb down 25
    • shade on Nov 16, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Patrol cars easily reached 10,000km in a month, which most of us will achieve in 3 months. So 8 years for patrol cars equivalent to more than 20 years of family cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 40
      • alldisc on Nov 16, 2014 at 11:38 pm

but the cars are tax free…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • rogaz on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:12 am

Can you produce a better car. Not a Toyota please because it never been used as police car in the world. See Avanza or Vios so low power.

• Policeman on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:51 am

Err…Not proton again?

• KangKungKing on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:14 am

Wow!
        New car for me to set up table for my PASAR MALAM.TICKET PROMOTION.
        No rental required, can be set up everywhere,
        24 hr/days…
        Free new car, free petrol, free table, free clothes, free TEH TARIK! Zero investment + Extra Pocket money!

Where and how to get this good job in Malaysia?

• According to Police sources, they are having problems allocating the vehicles for officers, most have to use their own cars and bikes and claim for mileage and fuel used.

Therefore, even with the new vehicles coming in, I’m really sure that those old ones will still continue to be used as long as they can be used.

• ben yap on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:13 pm

How do you know 10,000km a month? You’ve monitored it or it is based on your own assumption?

Own assumption with facts is not counted.

Thumbs down for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Bobby (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:36 am

What a waste of taxpayers money! These vehicles are provided for their personal cruises than anything else. Worse of all, the taxpayers do not see them around when called upon in times of emergencies. Anyone sees any police patrol cars patrolling in or near your area lately? Even when they are behind a red light beater, they just sit still and do nothing. We only see them after the disasters, not before. And yet the nation rewards these luxury and comfort to them. Barmy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
      • patrolcar on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:06 am

that’s why they need replacement. so that you can see patrol car in your area in future. currently most of the patrol car in workshops @ not in operational condition for various reasons. read the article please…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • albag on Nov 16, 2014 at 1:55 pm

get more new police cars, summon more unnecessary peasant cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 31
  • Jules on Nov 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

So what are the patrol cars? Saga Sv? since they indicated that they are using sedan model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • RavenAii on Nov 16, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Probably Inspira or Preve if they choose local.

• policeman on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Tiba-tiba keluar Civic last gen as new police car.

• R Design on Nov 16, 2014 at 10:17 pm

They should add more Volvos. They already have S80, S60 and XC90 patrol and VIP cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Great Hocus on Nov 16, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Should patrol cars have airconditioning ? When windows are up unable to hear outside call for help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 75
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 16, 2014 at 2:29 pm

money well spent, our crime is decreasing at a fast rate and we should be grateful to our policeman, who today is still stuck in old cars, motorcycles come rain or shine.

i fully endorse the purchase of these patrol cars, syabas Government !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 157
  • Simon on Nov 16, 2014 at 2:53 pm

yes….more tax payers money to fund and get new cars for the “efficient” police force.

8 years is considered ECONOMICALLY USELESS for them.

while the rakyat still stuck with cars older than 8 years and still using them daily.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 37
  • A police patrol car should be the most basic and cheapest model, without any airbags installed. Why need airbags when policemen never even use seatbelts?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 36
    • You want to chase criminal’s V12 twin turbo car with Saga SV? Are you serious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
      • Das Auto on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:43 am

So you are saying they should get Bugatti veyron, Lamborghini aventador, La Ferrari and Mclaren P1?

What a moron.

So rakyat have to ikat perut and pay subsidy to the G so they can splash money on new fancy rides? They should only be changing to Axia basic spec and saga SV while highway patrol can use Preve Turbo at most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • nickel on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Kid next time ask your fathwr to keep up crusing behing carthat moving 230kmh on highway. Even 2.0l car has to scream shiat out of it. Cant you see why those evos and volvos are there?

A helly? Lol you think they have enough unit to chase many ones? They might lose the track while waiting for air support

• chopper on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:06 am

Smart pulis use helicopter to chae v12 car. Not as smart as you buying a ferrari to chase a criminal.

• Old dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:37 am

But the fastest car in nkve will be
        1) trucks
        2) buses
        3) Myvi or Persona turbo
        4) mat rampit motorbike

• Bobby (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:41 am

Have you ever seen them or even heard from someone chasing one? It would be Guiness Book of Record if they do. Most of the chases have their own agenda not known to the public, mostly. WTF!

• rogaz on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:16 am

Twin Turbo but but cut off at 180 that Japanese not to worry ha ha. With Twin Turbo you dont have to be criminal, your money is enough. Understand just go Genting make money.

• polis EVO 10 on Nov 16, 2014 at 3:26 pm

make me remind how many evo10 been crashed by policeman… and more policeman action action if they drive new patrol car.. like go to mamak store.. blow blow the engine to 7000rpm then put to D..TYRE SCREAMING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
    • policeman on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:46 pm

True. The government should get some cheap cars for the police. Then allocate the rest of the budget for some English language classes for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • rogaz on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:19 am

So you can do crime. Is that what you want ? Are you so clever go do your business and be rich dont be stupid here.

• rogaz on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:23 am

Why jealous, If you want be the police. If you so good you dont bother about that because so busy minding other business.

• proton want to rush masuk tender or not? like last time when they rushed to rebadge accordana instead of government buying the latest accord model from honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • Taufik on Nov 16, 2014 at 3:58 pm

What is wrong with Proton? Unreliable? Not safe? Economically unviable after a year or so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 3:59 pm

There goes my tax money.
    I should consider myself lucky still driving 5 year old car with 2 more years loan to go.
    Pity those who take 9 years loan for a car, I know it’s not your fault.
    I feel you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • policeman on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Your tax money was used to pay my uncle’s one month pension and maybe half month bonus. So how can it be used to buy a police car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Our police cars are in bad shape actually. Most of the Waja and*gasp* Wira patrol cars are in bad shape but I think some of the fault lies in the PDRM not taking good care of the cars they were given to use.

I think its a given fact that Proton will be the choice for PDRM so will we be seeing some CFE Preves as cop cars? If they use that then we’ll know if the engine can stand the stress and time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Macai on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Preve that looks like a pervert car does not do their image any good

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 16, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Wow, the cops will need to have a few extra tow trucks now

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 5:53 pm

You know what would help lower maintenance cost of the police force’s fleet of vehicles? Lower vehicle prices. Price of spare parts would also be lowered. Rakyat will also be happy. Win-win-lose, though. Because g won’t be happy.

• vspace on Nov 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

at sarawak i can see this year police use full spec n.navara for patrol….

• Aero (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Why so many 4WD units ? 220 is not right, not against 250 4-door saloon units. I’m assuming that most of these 4WD units are for Sabah and Sarawak, where the roads are few and far between, and those few roads that exist are nowhere near our Peninsular Standard, which isn’t saying much really.

I’m also hoping that the PDRM will use our Proton Prevé as their bread & butter police cruiser (hey, that rhymes ! lol). In the past, our PDRM used the Saga, then the Wira, then the Waja, later the Inspira… it would only make sense if the Prevé joined the service too. The Prevé Turbo has more power and torque than the Waja CPS and Inspira 1.8, and it’s also far more spacious. As with every Proton, the Prevé handles very well, perfect for police pursuits. I can think of no better candidate than the Prevé. I’ve seen a few unmarked PDRM Prevé police cars, but so far, no marked ones. If the PDRM uses something non-Malaysian and expensive, like the Lancer Evolution and Volvo S80 in the past, they’d better have a damn good reason to back their choice, because us rakyat have the right to know. We are the taxpayers after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • y u no read?

“Most of the vehicles approved for purchase will be used in Sabah and Sarawak as well as highlands in the peninsula.”

• Aero (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 11:37 pm

My bad man, I actually realized it after I posted my comment. Next time, I’ll read the whole article before commenting. :]

• policeman on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Kalau pakai Proton Preve, nanti breakdown. Nanti kau bising apasal polis tak patrol.

Nak beli kereta reliablelah sekarang!

• Aero (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Of course, our PDRM can use Toyota Corollas like Singapore, but at what cost ? It would be better if our PDRM uses our own Proton cars, they will bring the best and worst out of the Protons. And if any problem occurs, who knows, the PDRM may just find those crony vendors and put them out of business. Proton wins (more reliable cars), PDRM wins (less corruption), we win (less taxpayer money spent on cheaper Protons).

• nabill (Member) on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:18 pm

thing is , this is actually a very normal exercise , renewing police fleet of cars as they are very high mileage and happens every few yrs , usually in other countries ,its an open tender , whoever gives the most affordable price and the most affordable service and maintainance ,
    but problem is , here everything has a bad name and stinky reputation and rightly so , be it the police , the G whos paying for it , whoever is wining the contract,how much the middle man makes,whoever is marking up the price and so on.. ..its all corrupted , sad but true…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • KangKungKing on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:52 am

Agree high mileage on patrol car.
      But, these mileage use on “set up” pasar malam roadside or really patrol for public safety?

• darkermarker on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

more joyrides for cops, while crime rates soar all time high in Malaysia……..duh??????

The way I see with my own eyes, patrol cars are often seen to escort some VIPs (god know who is in the dark tint cars).

Dissapointingly, very little patrol cars are seen patrolling the neighborhood.

So how???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • cobra on Nov 16, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Missed the days when Alfas and the Volvo 850T5’s were used. It was really nice to look at and it commands some form of authority, knowing they were powerful cars. Those were the glorious days. Anyway, personally I think they should use the Proton Inspira as it looks pretty bold for a patrol car.

• Faridz on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:30 am

Missed those days when PDRM is well-respected and also professional. Hence, those were also the glory days of PDRM that is well-mannered and highly respected by rakyat. Instead of getting better like other nations, ours are getting poorer. Likewise for the patrol fleet and also their attitude towards crime.

• roxas on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:33 am

why cant just replace with asian brand c-seg? dont tell me volvo is cheaper to maintain thn a japanese or korean. not a rich country and with high debts, but wan use premium brand for patrol cars. again G money is our money !

• mat la ju eh on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:57 am

Wah..up to 45 weeks waiting for parts…thats for sure the custom made components or maybe hand built parts such as the car emblem. Or that is because some of the engine parts made by bugatti or koenigsegg.so the waiting period is acceptable.

• azrai on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:16 am

Privitased? All the cars under SPANCO from Pak Lah’s years before.

• Old dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:33 am

That “privatization” of the maintenance is always the key for the cronies to loot money..

• KangKungKing on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:56 am

if work efficient, public will not mind that all petrol car using benz, volvo, bmw, evo, porsche,ferrari, lamboghini rite?

• Albert on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:09 am

Just give them a Saga FLX SV ,send to the accessories shop to modify kau kau for power,in order to overtake criminals.
    Until the public perception towards them improve to an acceptable level,it is a pure waste of funds to give them anything more than a Saga.
    For decades,public confidence in them has been eroding unlike the Hong Kong Police Force which has a very low corruption index now,due to the ICAC.

• No VSC later skid how?

• Albert on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:39 pm

If they are clean and not on the take,the cars wont skid cos someone up there is pure and just and wont let skidding occur.
        Anyway,the driver has undergone serious emergency driving skills cos they need to go after criminals.
        First we have to cross the HONESTY and TRANSPARENCY TEST first.

• sleman on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:38 am

funny nobody comments about privatise maintenance part. wonder who will get the tender…

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:11 am

I don’t have a problem with the police force getting new cars. They are cheap when tax excempt anyway. Its cheaper to get new ones than getting stuck with high (ahem) contracted repair bills.

However, what I don’t want to see is when they are used primarily for VIP escort , afternoon tea and a personal chauffered car for senior officers.

• RegularReader on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:38 am

Why dont drive those car with our Malaysia brand such as Proton Inspira. I dont think this car will be slow which equip with 2.0 liter engine. Rather keep promoting foreigner car.

• Inspira is a rebadge of Lancer, not local car. Why promote rebadge car? Makes criminal laugh when don’t have own built car to chase them lol

• max million on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:42 am

What happened to the high powered Mitsubishi Evo X? Did they crashed all of them?

• Mahathir work so hard to make proton, improve it, ask govm to fund more, criticizing Malaysian not supporting it even with superb quality car offer at “low” price.

But his own gang actually not interested in his superb car

• mabel32 on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Agreed, PPS do more effective work at Penang right? Crime rate down.They should get new vehicle i think.

• Another Concept on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Perhaps they should privatise the Polis force so that they receive income only from Saman/Court therefore they can purchase whatever cars, trucks, bikes, guns and etc as they please. Perhaps that way they will be more efficient and the country can finally get out of TripAdvisors top 10 most dangerous cities in the world. Heck, make a few Private Polis forces and have them compete for annual government allowance/compensation packages.