Global NCAP spurs for standard worldwide fitment of ESP – advises automakers to include ESP by 2020

With electronic stability programme (ESP) being made a mandatory feature in all newly registered European passenger cars from November 1 onwards, Global NCAP – the umbrella body for New Car Assessment Programmes (NCAP) – is urging for similar measures to be implemented.

At the Global NCAP annual meeting, UN Member States – especially automobile-producing nations – were strongly advised to implement ESP as a compulsory feature on all new cars by 2018 and on all vehicles by 2020 at the latest.

“The current ESP global fitment rate of approximately 59% of new passenger and light duty vehicles is too low, action is needed to raise this to 100%, at the latest by the close of the UN Decade of Action for Road Safety in 2020,” says Max Mosley, chairman of Global NCAP.

In line with efforts to implement the move, Global NCAP is urging automobile manufacturers to include ESP as standard fitment on all new cars. Car rental companies as well as fleet managers are urged to only purchase vehicles equipped with ESP.

A quick rundown of what ESP is capable of can be summarised as such. The system is capable of reducing engine torque and braking individual wheels in the event the vehicle begins to skid – be it from a rear-end collision or a loss of traction – via sensors on board, allowing the driver to regain control.

Nations that have made ESP an obligatory safety feature include Australia, Canada, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Russia, Turkey and the United States of America, along with New Zealand and Argentina set to follow on the same path in 2015 and 2018, respectively.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• 2020? It should’ve been a standard on all cars in this day and age.

• Same ass l0rr on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Would you gladly pay for it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Bravo on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:10 pm

No he won’t. He’ll be those who keep bashing and say that it should be a mandatory thing, bla bla bla. But then again, he’s paying monthly security fees for his neighbourhood guard. EH? Should’nt THAT safety be even more mandatory? Who no one/HE comes out shouting in the media?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Bashing? Lol, do i sound like i am bashing any manufacturer? IT was an opinion you knucleheads, if you can’t accept people’s opinion on an internet, please don’t ever come on the internet. Technology is now growing at a rate faster than ever, ESP is not an expensive thing to implement in cars, YES it will raise the production costs, but so does ABS, so does EBD, so does crumple zones, and airbags, and pretensioners. Even cheap hatchbacks have ESP nowadays, EVEN proton of all manufacturers is now starting to have it in their cars. Read this article, if you actually know how to read that is.
          http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• wayangkulit on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:22 pm

No need to take it so personally, the same can be said to you, if you cant take criticism don’t come on the internet.

I do agree that technology is growing at a rate faster than ever however I’m not sure if its cheaper tho.
            One owner of a hybrid car that i came across told me the quotation came back for flood damage repair for his technological advance car came to be about 60-70k.
            And he has no flood insurance and has to fork out cold hard cash if he wants it repair ;)
            Now the question is would technology be a burden when such occasion arises?

Are we ready to pay a further premium if the insurance companies decides that there’s just was too much parts and too costly to repair a car should it get into an accident?

Knowing Malaysians, how many of us are willing to have our cars serviced at the manufacturer’s workshop?
            Most would service outside
            I was told that cars fitted with ABS needs to be careful not to damage it sensors while changing brakes and areas surrounding it and the sensors may need cleaning and certain parts needs calibration.
            Does the workshops outside have knowledge and competency to service such cars?

Im a technological geek myself and would hate to see good technology not being implemented.
            However years of experience in the tech industry taught me that your theory/technology is only perfect in textbook and controlled environment
            Come to real world implementation, a 1001 things can go from bad to worst in seconds.
            The main culprit, human ;)

Speaking about humans, I’d wager a 100 bucks that Malaysians wants VSC to be implemented at the manufacturer’s cost since its a safety equipment and the responsibilities rest at the manufacturer and not the buyer.

Or you can start a car safety society/club and push for such feature to be implemented and in return all members are willing to purchase models fitted with VSC at say RM3000-4000 on top of the car’s price list.
            Im sure alot of manufacturer are willing to accomodate.
            Money drives ;)

• Also a neighbourhood guard vs an active safety feature in a car.
          Possibly the dumbest analogy i’ve heard this year.

• wayangkulit on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:41 pm

credit where credit’s due
            i think bravo’s analogy is dumb ;)

• ben. You go tell Toyota that as to how come Proton and Honda has ESP but not Toyota Vios?

• Protiga on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:59 pm

More people are becoming aware of the ESP and its benefit and would choose to buy cars with these function. Down the road, the resale value of cars without ESP would be affected badly.

• Protiga. If what you said is true, how come Toyota is still selling Vios without ESP? Or may be Toyota think all Malaysian are stupid and ignorant.

• Thai boy on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:39 pm

I had the specsheet for Honda HRV no ESP and it’s a global model can see in Honda Automobles showroom Bangkok now only the 1.8 other versions got specsheet and price full of features and safety seats much better than city can’t find an angle to fault the design beutiful but cannot test drive yet have to wait till next monday when all dealer nationwide gets it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Thai boy on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Is VSA and ESP the same? Cos The Hrv got VSA

• JPJ what are your stand on this? At least a statement on this makes you look smart in the eyes of road users lor…

Not like how JPJ Director claims number plate designs can make the road a safer place for motorist…

• RavenAii on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:03 am

I’ve been in the situation when suddenly a slow truck go into the lane. I did push the brake hard and can hear the ABS trying to slow my vehicle down but its too late and I have to do a sudden over take. Then I had to return back quickly to the lane because there was on-coming car ahead. I really scared whether the Navara will slide or tilt over because it’s raining and it is on rwd mode but luckily it didn’t. I’m not sure whether the Malaysian Navara is equipped with ESC.

Well at least they already test the Hilux. I know Hilux is not doing good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCzPEBclQ9k

• VSA and VSC same???

• Leonardo on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:30 am

Yes, very similar programs. Different manufacturers used different ‘names’
      http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au/Electronic-Stability-Control/

• bubbaonsteroids on Nov 18, 2014 at 1:07 pm

it’s really funny when the good things are always late to be implemented..Gomen are too busy buying cars for the police department which doesn’t exist & JPJ is fiercely serious in stucking the yard stick up in average m;sian’s ass rather than the safe & better environment in all aspects.