Indonesia fuel prices up by 30% – petrol RM2.35 a litre

gst-petrol-diesel

Newly-sworn in president of Indonesia, Joko Widodo (popularly known as Jokowi), has announced a hike in the republic’s subsidised fuel prices effective today. Petrol is now priced at 8,500 rupiah (RM2.35) a litre, and diesel at 7,500 rupiah (RM2.07) a litre, Antara reports.

The original prices were 6,500 rupiah (RM1.80) for petrol and 5,500 rupiah (RM1.52) for diesel, so this represents a significant 30% hike. Kerosene maintains status quo at 2,500 rupiah (69 sen) a litre.

In Indonesia, only RON 88 petrol is subsidised, and it’s sold only through Pertamina, the national oil and gas company. Premium RON 92 and super-premium RON 95 petrol are also available, but they are not subsidised. The price of unsubsidised RON 92 petrol is currently 11,800 rupiah (RM3.26) a litre.

SONY DSC

The Indonesian government will compensate the low-income groups by providing them with Prosperous Family Cards, Indonesia Health Cards, and Indonesia Smart Cards, Antara reports.

“The move is aimed at maintaining the purchasing power of the people and encouraging them to carry out business undertakings in productive sectors,” Jokowi said, adding that a significant amount of funds that could benefit infrastructure, education and health services went instead to subsidising fuel.

“The decision to divert fuel subsidy to productive sectors (from consumptive sectors) is aimed at creating funds that are used more effectively for all of Indonesia,” he said.

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 001

The fuel price jump is expected to save the government around 100 trillion rupiah (RM276 billion), as well as contribute 2% to inflation, possibly pushing it up to 7.3% this year, Jokowi said. He added that he hoped the 2015 budget deficit target, set at 2.2% of the GDP, can be lowered following the hike.

The new minority coalition government is dealing with a US$23 billion (RM75.48 billion) fuel subsidy bill – Indonesia’s biggest fiscal problem.

According to Reuters, petrol prices in the republic went up by 44% in 2013, but despite a weakening fiscal position, outgoing president Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono avoided ordering another hike this year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Wow…RON88 RM2.35

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 120
      • Fly me to the moon on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Indonesia hasn’t been a member of OPEC for at least 10 years, their national finances are in a shambles because almost 20% of their budget is used on fuel subsidies alone

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
      • Hang keje aper? jaga counter tandas ka. student spm kot..Indonesia dah leave OPEC for good since 2008, Fuel dia untuk consumption domestic ..BACA laaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
      • ayamitik on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:39 pm

“malaysia bukan ahli OPEC, minyak tak byk macam indonesia… tu pun gomen BN tak nak subsidize? giler ape?? macam mane nak cari makan?”

what kind of logik is that? Sebab minyak tak byk mcm indonesia, maksudnya kurang lah duit dr minyak utk malaysia. so..sebab kurang duit hasil jualan minyak sepatutnya gomen lebihkan subsidy berbanding indonesia?

I failed to understand this. What kind of logic is that? Biar lah miskin, tu pun tak nak belanja duit lagi utk subsidy.

I really hope that is a high level sarcasm which i still failed to understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • What kind of idiotic statement is this. Lain kali baca fakta dulu sebelum kasi komen. Get your simple facts right.

• Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:16 am

memang bodoh….
        indonesia got more petroleum than malaysia?
        Silly !

• kzm (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Lol indo produce 970k barrel crude oil n boleh produce 640k barrel..(honorable mention thai 570k)…

• BN supporters will be here to tell us we should be grateful in 3…2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 73
  • LatukBandar on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:40 pm

With this move, Malaysia gov have no choice but to follow. By not following, this will create a very lucrative petrol smuggling business for both Malaysians and Indonesians, thus there will be a massive outflow of petrol to Indonesia illegally.

seeing that global oil price have fallen, i think this is an opportunity to stop subsidizing and introduce the floating price to stop cross border smuggling.

having said that, what will putrajaya do with the extra cash? i doubt they will reduce car price or improve the public transport. zero sum game for us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • JB_KIA on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:37 pm

frankly, RM0.13 subsidy. Dun give betta…else I’d have to listen all kind nonsense and non-stop news related to subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:23 am

Remove subsidy
        Remove ridiculous car tax!
        We can save 40-100K++ instantly!
        Buy a normal sedan such as corolla /civic.
        without tax, it cost around 30-40K!
        Means u save 60K to pump the unsubsidized fuel!
        1 liter = 16km = RM2.3
        RM 60,000 can give u 26,086 liter of petrol!
        26,086 liters X 16km = 417,376 km!
        which enough for you to run your car until scrap!

Lower car price, lower car loan, lower interest paid to bank! it could reduce Malaysian house debt. Malaysian deserve to have better education, living standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Faridz on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:47 pm

But BN would wan Malaysian to remain poor and closed minded. See those kampung folks? Thats the master piece of BN rules. If we all are smart, BN already tumbang during 2010 election.

• Just_Once on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:52 pm

In Malaysia unsubsidised RON95 RM 2.43.
    But in Indonesia unsubsidised RON92 RM 3.26.

Who is cheating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • Heskey on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Both cheating. Its only RM1.70 per litre. Indonesia is the biggest cheater here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysia and Indonesia both adik-beradik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysia govt exempt 58sen sales and give subsidy 13sen.
      Pump price RM2.30.
      Plus subsidy RM2.43.
      Plus exempted tax RM3.01 (Ron 95)

Indonesia included 10% VAT
      Pump price with VAT RM3.26 (Ron 92)
      Pump price without VAT RM2.96

So it’s about RM3.01 vs RM3.26. Closer but in fact Malaysia’s price should be higher due to better standard. Maybe distribution cost is much higher in Indonesia due to geographical and logistical reason.

• Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:34 am

+ Indonesia is not oil producer nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • kebodohan yang melampau on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:55 am

Nowonder you’re stupid 47%. Pity you.

Please check your fact with wikipedia.

• RON2020 on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:57 pm

This post wants to (kesian) giv B END supporter :) who has been hiding and clicking “thumbs down” diam diam in the previous posts , to “proudly” come out..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 64
  • kapchai on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Looks like M’sia and Indonesia have the same idea regarding petrol subsidy. Prosperous family cards sounds similar to BR1M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • Proton saga on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I feel very sorry for indonesian even their RON 92 price much higher than our RON 95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Takashi Hibi on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Indonesian feel very sorry for Malaysian, can price so much higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:35 am

Yes, CKD indonesian car are much more cheaper than malaysia!

• kebodohan yang melampau on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:02 am

ORY?? Have you ever check with uncle Google?

The cheapest Ayla 1.0 manual is RP100m/RM27k while Avanza 1.3 manual is RP170m/RM47k.

However the cheapest Vios 1.3 manual is RP260m/RM70k.

Again this show your own stupidity have no limit.

• kapchai on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:08 pm

RON88? The Indonesian cars must be specially (de)tuned to run on this grade of fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 6:31 pm

You misunderstand.

RON88 isn’t saying how good a fuel it is, but it is the fuel’s octane rating. RON stands for Research Octane Number. Basically, it just lets us compare which fuel is harder to detonate. High performance cars need fuels with higher octane rating because of the typically higher combustion ratio’s or forced induction of their engines would cause fuel to detonate/ignite before the spark plug fires (which is bad for several reasons. Look it up).

You can have RON88 fuel in Euro6 formulation which can be used in advanced, efficient engines while you can also have RON97 in Euro2 formulation (which is what we’re getting, sort of) that will totally wreck an advanced engine if it isn’t (de)tuned to handle the dirtier Euro2 fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:36 am

yup…. Even RON 87 are still selling in europe and US.

• kapchai on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:18 am

I am not an engineer but the Mazda website in Indonesia says “unleaded gasoline 91RON and above”. So can this car use RON88 or not?

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:16 pm

If the manufacturer says no, then no. Simple.

• kapchai on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:05 pm

So what is the “RON88 fuel in Euro6 formulation” for? For the kapchai I supposed, or the lawnmover?

• theking on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Pos ni mesti tak banyak komen sebab dah tau cerita sebenar hihihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:39 pm

wow, this shows how much the government is helping the Rakyat! to all doubters, this news proves everything about how caring the government is, living up to the 1 Malaysia slogan. Be grateful and i hope everyone here have good things to say about the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:38 am

1malaysia make hugh loss!
      Its a scam !
      It creates to bluff you.

Comon, study and analyze more.
      you will found all slogan are bullshit to bluff u.
      It’s only benefit to cronies!
      WAKE UP 47%

• Actman on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Please do not compare with Indon because do Indon have an oil field? Furthermore you going to compare between Malaysia with a lower standard country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • mmmmm on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:44 pm

do not compare on oil price? agree because indo and malaysia have different problems. Indo have large oil field and to call it lower standard is uncalled for. If the prime minister of indo can set their country straight(Good governance,corruption)…indo can lead SEA anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:41 am

indeed, Malaysia got more oil field than indo.
        and Malaysia oil is top graded.
        Unfortunately, we export top graded, higher margin. Import low grade fuel selling in Malaysia.
        Where those profit goes? Subsidize our fuel?

NO!!! see brunei , saudi, Iraq, etc country’s fuel price! cheaper than your mineral water.
        Jangan be a Katak bawah tempurung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Arcane on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:05 am

We have higher quality CRUDES. I repeat, CRUDES. We sell the Tapis Blend crude so we can get higher margin. We import ‘lower quality’ CRUDES.

At our refineries, the CRUDES will be processed into end-products, such as Mogas a.k.a. Petrol that is UP TO SPEC – regardless of the quality of the CRUDE.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:48 pm

jokowi has najib as sifu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • BMW 328i, Indonesia’s price are RM210k while Malaysia price at RM300K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • G…don’t compare fuel price in Indonesia IF YOU NOT compare car price too!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Thailand BMW328i RM317k

• Deh, Thai punya specs different. I think their equivalent spec is priced way higher. My fren bought his Porsche Macan base spec. Cost THB 8.5mil. Arround RM 830k.

• martinlongbow on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Then…go work as buruh binaan in indonesia laa..

• Kiki The Steering on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

@Hugo. Wait till year end sale la. 328i M Sport only RM260k.

• faridz on Nov 18, 2014 at 9:56 pm

But the sales volume in Indon is way lower because their purchasing power is low. besides, their tax just slightly lower than us. while Thailand is way higher on luxury car.

• Guest on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:32 pm

How come high performance cars in Malaysia “require” RON 97 when Indonesia has RON 95 and even the US has a maximum of RON 93 at their petrol stations?

• Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:43 am

car maker detuned the engine output according to each country available fuel.

Our CX5 engine detuned due to fuel grade.
      You donno?

• Roffle on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:11 am

I think the US uses AKI rating instead of RON, so AKI 90 is equivalent to RON 95 and AKI 93 = RON 97.

• Indon on Nov 18, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Like this Indonesia already increased price 30% despite world price falling, Malaysia should increase price to 2.50 per litre. Fight with Indonesia, see which government got stronger financial position

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Ananz on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:41 am

Malaysia will lose to Indonesia financially and economically. Indonesia now is the fastest growing market in SEA region. Even their vehicle sales has overtaken the leader Thailand last year. They are progressing forward while we regress backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • ananz on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:17 pm

that why so many indonesian looking for job in malaysia…..because of indonesia so strong in economy & financially…& so many PATI come to msia….& some party take advantage purposely import indonesia to make a riot in malaysia….

• darkermarker on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:17 pm

a sick country compared to another sick country….

How sick can it be??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Stupid 47% on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:54 am

all business man knows.
      Indonesia development is faster than Malaysia.

• Guys.. Please dont compare Indonesia and Malaysia thou they are controlled by same kind of ppl as our ministers’ ancestors were all from there. But Indon is a way poorer country with huge population. While Malaysia is rich to them and we have a lower population. Therefore, pity those Indon who have to pay something higher with lower PPP. Please dont compare car price either, their tax is lower than us but not by much. And compared Jakarta and KL. Our luxury car flood the street while motocycle flood their street. I do hope BN lower our car tax. May Allah grant wisdom and intelligent to BN leaders if they want to remain in Putrajaya. rakyat had enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:26 am

bro. i think u havent been to indo for a long time.

• “Our luxury car flood the street while motocycle flood their street.”

I dont think, u’ve been to Jakarta or Bali for a while.. yes true Indonesia are flooded with motorcycle.. but luxury cars?? cmon.. Indonesia uses Alphard, BMW, and Mercedes as a TAXI!!!! so basically Indon road also flooded with luxury cars. that clogged traffic everywhere….

• FYI, Indonesia’s oil production per-capita is much much lower than Malaysia, we produce 900 bpd oil but we consume 1.6 million oil, so we have to import the remaining, that is why we have higher oil price than Malaysia. And don’t forget Indonesia also has lower oil reserves than Malaysia.