RON 97 petrol price drops 20 sen to RM2.55 per litre

ron-97-petrol-price-rm2-55-november-19-2014 702

The price of RON 97 petrol has dropped 20 sen to RM2.55 per litre at the stroke of midnight on November 19. The last price change for the premium fuel happened in early September, when the price was cut by 10 sen to RM2.75 per litre.

Prices of RON 95 petrol and diesel remain at RM2.30 per litre and RM2.20 per litre respectively. Unlike these two fuels, the pricing of RON 97 is minimally subsidised and claimed to be derived by market forces, so price changes happen more often.

This is the cheapest RON 97 petrol has been in a long time – it cost RM2.60 per litre in July 2012. At RM2.55 per litre, it’s only 12 sen more expensive than RON 95’s unsubsidised price of RM2.43 per litre, according to the subsidy notices that’s found on every pump.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• najibrazak on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:15 pm

harga kangkung dan harga petrol sudah turun. cepat la puji kerajaan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 27
    • KangKungKing on Nov 19, 2014 at 1:51 am

Pandainya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • RON 95 is cheaper without subsidy? Why the less subsidised fuel(RON 97) becomes cheaper? Rakyat diperbodohkan!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
      • Govt never spin here & there… RON97 price excluded SALE TAX Rm0.58.. RON95 RM2.43 included SALE TAX RM0.58.. This is the 1st time Govt show off RON95 price with tax.. NEVER HAPPEN BEFORE, even in era Tun Abdullah.. haa haa..

This how the true color of BN Govt nowdays.. Govt know RON95 RM2.30 price is higher than market now even without subsidy.. Rm2.43 – Rm0.58 (sale tax) = RM1.85.. RM1.85 actually without 1 cents subsidy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • One more, Fuel Sales Tax never been Classified as Subsidy before.. Not in Era Tun Abdullah & not even in Era Tun Mahathir… Just lately, after BN Govt increased Rm0.20 + crude oil price drop in world market… Haa haa .. Good Job to our spin Minister Ahmad Mazlan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • buatitubuatini on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:43 am

go to singapore, see how high the fuel tax is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • lpost on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:03 am

show prove plz

• Haa haa Macai always be Macai… Regarding price listing you can check in this blog history.. Since when we heard “DIKECUALIKAN CUKAI” as Subsidy.. Simple example to you, Smartphone price right now “DIKECUALIKAN CUKAI”, Did you think that also Subsidy? or Govt “Youth Communication Package” last year? … Which one is classified as Govt Subsidy?

• “DIKECUALIKAN CUKAI” we got…

1) Smartphone
            2) Hybrid Car
            3) Computer & etc
            4) & Etc
            Are those Classified as SUBSIDY… Tax – Govt Income Vs Subsidy – Govt Paid.. Petroleum Sale Tax, Govt paid to who?

• JB_KIA on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:14 am

kan bodo kalo isi 95?

• The price is /liter…if full tank still different a lot!

• scott on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:49 pm

nope not really… normally i would spend around rm80-83 to refuel my persona from almost empty till it overflows… just this afternoon i refuel ron97 (v-power) and it costs rm90 for 35 litres, and it doesnt stop there, the acceleration is much much smoother, add to that.. there’s less engine noise and its quite fuel saving (i have travelled 60km on highway today and my fuel needle didnt move at all! whoaaaa…

• buatitubuatini on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

buat itu salah, buat ini pun salah. kamu buat sendiri lah…………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • good job..hahaha

• hellhole on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Yeay aku boleh lenjan aku punya BMW sepuas puasnya buahahaha

• F30S-line on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Yeayyyy…. (‘:

• gary gary on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:22 pm

“Unlike these two fuels, the pricing of RON 97 is minimally subsidised and claimed to be derived by market forces, so price changes happen more often than the other two fuels.”

Biggest joke ever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:12 pm

I think they’re actually quite serious about that. RON97 is minimally subsidised…while RON95 price is heavily regulated.

Gotta keep it at RM2.30 no matter the cost (to citizens). :D

#sadsarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Thank You BN. But can you lower RON95 to RM1.90 pls?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 5
    • buatitubuatini on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

can, but then why indonesia increase the price when it is a fact the world price is dropping?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • JoeRadzif on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:39 pm

cybertrooper ke nih?
        bukan main jek lagi…

• hellhole on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Kalau cybertropper pun biar la. Takkan dalam blog ni penyokong DAP aje boleh komen

• 8i8i (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:24 pm

good news for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • blahblah on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Hmmm… Don’t see any comments so far as of 10:29pm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • intermilan on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Hooray!!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • BeFaire on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Time to pump ron97 again. Woohoo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Manual Masterace on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:39 pm

dafuq hu wanna pump ron 95 lol

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Another reason to abolish the subsidy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • iskandar on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:45 pm

do your math
    2012 – ron97 2.60; ron95 – 1.90
    2014 – ron97 2.55; ron95 – 2.30

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 5
    • Ananz on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:47 am

Don’t forget that in 2012 the subsidy was at 89 cents per liter while now the subsidy is only 13 cents. Currently we are definitely subsidizing our government not the other way round!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Low comment rate due speechless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • Shit, All Malaysian want Ron95 to drop 20 sen, not only Ron 97!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • Because they want the rich to stay rich and the poor to remain poor. Nobody want to put RON95 in their S400 mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Wah, now can use RON97 more regularly. Well, until RON95 price comes down further lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • low fuel on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Bring back rm1.10 per litre for ron97. My first bought car back in 1995, petrol only costs rm1.10 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 21
    • blahblah on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:30 pm

And the crude oil also cost about USD20 – USD30 @ RM2.50 per USD in 1995..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • TooSurprised! on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:43 pm

You are comparing the price from 2 decades ago? Wow… How much was a glass of Teh Tarik back then? 0.70 cents?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Are you sure you used RON97 by that time? Because that price actually for RON92 back then.

• Zackz on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Better still, bring back MYR1 = SGD1.

• TeacW7 on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I see more reason to pump RON97 now… The G just done something similar like Apple did. Abolish the 32GB, maintain the 16GB and make people feel compulsory to get the 64GB

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
  • wassini on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:19 pm

nanti bulan 4 kena GST 6% maka akan naik balik 20 sen. Sapa yang pandai dan sapa yang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • rakyat on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:30 pm

rakyat seems unhappy with this gov move or they are eating their words back now coz gov really drop ron97 price… 53% genius 47% idiots as PR macai claimed… so whr is PR macai now? i believed some will say if PR in charge, they will get free petrol… DSAI promised… period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 110
    • Farids on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:00 am

Dont talk cock. Everyone knows this is one of their tactics. To be a hero now. They dare to not reduce? Everyone is pissed at this G. They are not so dumb to ignore rakyat’s wish. This is rakyat’s power. Btw, where is the promised reduction on car tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Rover (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:39 pm

There’s not much advantage of using RON 97 petrol if you have cars that only requires RON 95 right…

I wonder if there are any statistics on how much percentage of petrol pumped is RON 97.

Maybe G is like:”Hey, since not many people pump RON97, not much income anyway. Let’s reduce the price, let the rakyat happy a bit, and continue rising the price of RON95.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • RON97 = RM2.55 (market price)
    RON95 = RM2.30 (after subsidy)
    Difference MR0.25 only

Go to any petrol station please take a look at the price list displayed at the pump see the real price of RON95 without subsidy? Without subsidy, price of RON95 is even closer to RON97!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • pighead on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:32 am

as u said, RON97 = RM2.55 (market price)
      RON95 = RM2.30 (after subsidy)Difference MR0.25 only, idiot G should subsudy RON97 instead, but contrary, really idiot compared to SG G

• That price list is for September. How much crude oil in September?

• The Joker on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:05 am

Ron 95 is what most ppl use, therefore it has been increased.

Not many people use Ron97, therefore the gov can afford to let it decrease in price.

At the end of the day, The majority of Rakyat yang selalu susah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:06 am

i see some politician son complaining fuel too expensive for his bmw m3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
  • Twinsturbo on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:07 am

Year end stock clearance ?? It may not last very long I guess. Government is trying to help all petrol station to clear up their old storage which some petrol station may keep the old RON97 storage for more than 3 years ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Syukri Lajin on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:29 am

i have a (serious) question. will there be any benefit at all to use ron97 for my 14 years old satria?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Edward RainDen on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:19 am

Does it have Injection or a Carburetor? Older carbied engines (all old cars in general really) have a higher chance to knock so it makes more sense to fill up with 97.

But it would probably save you more money to just send your car to a mechachic who knows what they are doing (since 75% malaysian mechachics are just “I REPLACE YOUR AIRCOND GAS RM2000” scammers) and get your engine properly timed.

In short, time your engine, stick with Ron95, save your money, spend your savings on maggi or something. You wont be going 0-100 under 10s even with 97.

• Butt Dyno FTW on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:38 am

Real dyno: no increase in performance
      Butt dyno: increase in performance

• Littlebear on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:05 am

Yes you will.. Wira/Satria engine are actually designed to run on RON97.

• taboogen on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:27 am

if your are still using and old car.. just keep quiet lah.. work hard.. earn more then your car deserve ron97. or else use myk lintah for your crappy satria.. wakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 54
    • jusuchin85 on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:28 am

It all depends on your engine compression, mate. I’ve read somewhere before that having an engine compression of less than 10:0:0 would only require the Ron95 fuel octane. Anything above that, Ron97 is recommended (Ron95 would deteriorate the engine overtime).

Correct me if I’m wrong here, guys.

• panjang on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:31 am

Yes,u can brag abt it.
      Older engine with high carbon build up might knock on lower octane fuel.
      So,u might exp smoother engine amd said its powerful when its really returning to normal power.
      Bear in mind that the RON 95 is not really RON 95,Paultan did publish a test long time ago abt the actual RON rating according to brand.

Since the price between 95 and 97 is not much,i will go for 97 as i have tried it before and it improve driving.at very high speed,engine is a bit more relaxed and acceleration is smoother.fc is roughly the same.

• Fredo 4G93 with port-matched GSR intake & EVO TB on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:31 am

no!

• yes, regardless of how old your car is, your car will feel smoother to drive at higher speeds, your engine won’t need to rev as much to get up to speed, its not like nitrous in need for speed but you do feel the difference a little bit.

• why drop RON97 not RON95? BULLSHIT way…or inside RON97 actually same grade as RON95…and expected us to spend on RON97 so they can dig more money from us

• prevezto on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:20 am

try to fill up ron 97 then you will know immediately the impact.. whether ron 97 = ron 95.. if really as what you said, then government con us already…

• Garfield (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:22 am

I’m sorry but it was never a wise move to raise the RON95 price in the first place. What every business owner did was taking advantage and increase price disproportionately.

With RON97 price decrease, I suspect RON95 will follow suit, in a govt effort to appease most quarters and silence the protests a bit (from whatever drama the members of govt has got into).

BUT, business owners almost never follow suit by dropping their own price. Their price stay and they gleefully wait for the govt to later increase price to this current level and increase price, AGAIN!!!! Damage done and rakyat being doubly hit. The rich gets RICHER and the poor gets POORER. Last PM was half past six….. this PM, what do u call him then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Persona R on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:12 am

Malaysian are so lucky, our fuel price are already the cheapest in region compare to Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Singapore and now is getting even cheaper.
    Thank you sirs! you are the man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
    • lolGuest on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:35 am

of course Malaysia have cheapest oil in compare to other country around us due to our country are one of the country who export finest and quality crude oils.

• How many million barrel did we produce this year?

Talk kok sing song

• Zackz on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Of course our fuel is cheap. The high taxes on our cars are for subsidizing the fuel cost. Pay upfront 20 years. Problem is our cars are not CBU so they won’t last that long.

• normang on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:40 am

the spread/difference between RON97 and RON95 prices is only by couple of cents.

and actual RON97 price (MOPS97 + APM fixed costs) is actually lower than RM2.55/liter.

as i have access to MOPS97 reference price from Oilgram Daily Report by McGraw Hill Platts this should be the calculation of actual RON97 price;

this month MOPS97 has been fluctuating between US$91/b to US$96/b which translate to RM1.93/l – RM 2.00/l [ 1 oil barrel = 158.99 liter; US$1 = RM3.31 – RM3.35 <— BNM exchange rate ]

so actual price of RON97 is actually RM2.21 – RM2.32 per liter, yes and sometimes it's cheaper than RON95. that means govt has been collecting at least 40 cents for every liter sold to us (RON97 users) in October-Mid November and at least 20 cents starting today.
    (ceteris paribus; assuming other costs are fixed according to APM; margin, tranportation cost, marketing cost etc which is RM0.32/l -same like RON95)

for RON95's unsubsidised price which is stated as RM2.43/liter; it was an average price of previous month, October. MOPS95 fluctuating between $94/b – $104/b in October.

as far as today in November, MOPS95 is fluctuating between $88/b – $94/b meaning that RM2.43 price in subsidy's notice posted on every pump is obsolete.

govt has been collecting taxes instead of subsidising RON95 since mid October (yes a week after it raised RON95 by 20 cents). actual prices were RM2.18/l – RM2.28/l.

from my fundamental and technical analysis pov, crude oil (brent) prices will stay below $85 for quite some time, maybe at least 3-4 months. as long as crude prices stay low, MOPS reference prices will follow suit.

enjoy paying tax whenever you fill your tank fella!

*Diesel (Gasoil) is still subsidised by 10-20 cents though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • rickyll (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:08 am

It intrigues me to read your comment, it’s really food for thought. Anyway, like I commented before, it’s payback time for the rakyat. I think the government is being dishonest by raising the price of Ron 95 when the world crude oil prices have dropped to its four year low. What sort of a self proclaimed “caring government” is this? If the G could not afford all the hand outs, just stop doing so, it’s the wrong way to fish for votes. It’s a wake up call for many but I am afraid the 47% of minority still sleep soundly in the cradle of BN.

• I think it’s just a way government to punish ‘majority rakyat’ who did not support them on previous PRU, heh.

• Does these prices you mention include refining and distribution cost? Need to know otherwise is still another guessing game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • normang on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:22 am

MOPS products are already refined, just have to add operating costs (distribution, marketing etc) and margin for oil companies + petrol station operator which totalling RM0.32 per liter fixed by the government (google Automatic Pricing Mechanism-APM).

the only cost that fluctuates everyday is MOPS which use as benchmark for refined products by Malaysia, Singapore, Indo and even Australia.

• normang. You should add in the distribution cost of 0.32/l before comparing them to present price sold to motorist. Otherwise it’s comparing apple and orange.

• normang on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:55 pm

did you not read my comment properly or did i miss something there?

it’s in the 5th para

“so actual price of RON97 is actually RM2.21 – RM2.32 per liter, yes and sometimes it’s cheaper than RON95. that means govt has been collecting at least 40 cents for every liter sold to us (RON97 users) in October-Mid November and at least 20 cents starting today.”

COMPARISON —> actual price of RON97 (without subsidy) is RM2.21-RM2.32. retail price sold to us is RM2.75 since early Sept and down 20cents last night.

MOPS97 (benchmark used by the G for refined products price) is fluctuating everyday + Automatic Pricing Mechanism costs (operating; distribution, marketing + margin for oil co & station dealer) set by the G and those are fixed costs = actual price of RON97 (WITHOUT TAX).

since actual prices throughout October-mid November RM2.21-RM2.32/liter versus retail prices of RM2.75/liter (before last night reduction) govt has been collecting tax around 40 cents for every liter bought by RON97 users.

you sound like a smart person, you can calculate for yourself can’t you?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:40 am

Why don’t you come up with your own numbers than just throwing question marks?

A while back, I drew parallel with US gasoline cost with actual percentage breakdown on costs and drew a conclusion that cost should be about 2.20-2.30 per litre INCLUDING distribution, refining and marketing costs.

You ended up saying the same thing back then…but no figures to disprove it. Back then you said our refining and distribution cost is higher but did not offer any numbers to back your point. (besides how can our refining cost be higher for lower quality fuel?)

There is a general reluctance to reduce prices from the government, this is as lower crude prices (export) will yeild less government income. And lower pump prices will be a double whammy on income.

Due to lower crude prices and revenue, next quarter’s GDP numbers will drop but I’m sure the stats department will massage the numbers so it looks good.

• I did answer your question but you didn’t want to reply. The answer is, at that time of debate, subsidy is 12 sen/liter.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Who is even talking about subsidies?

You call to question that our hyphothesis that fuel costs are lower than the published rates but you do not put up your own numbers for scrutiny.

With cost of fuel already in the 2.20-2.30 range, there are no subsidies.

Next time PLEASE READ PROPERLY. Normang already INCLUDED APM cost…..which includes martketing and distribution.

Are you the same TNG that always gets massive thumbs down on Malaysianinsider?

• dreaming of maserati on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:36 am

Just Shut up tng. You are talking bullshit that no one wants to hear and pissing off all the readers here.

• Some people thought posting on forum is a popularity contest. So are you going to enter the beauty pageant next?

RON97 now without subsidy is 2.55.

A week ago, RON 95 is RM2.30 when true cost is probably 2.30+.12 = 2.42 per liter. Meaning, RON 95 sell selling below cost price.

So your hypothesis is wrong.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:34 am

what a load of bullshit

have u taken into account the transportation, distribution, licensing/franchising costs from the petrol station owners, manpower costs in the petrol station? these are just raw prices from the refinery and does not take into consideration the auxiliary costs associated with it.

typical malaysian mentality, like comparing UK and Malaysian car prices but little did they know the insurance costs for cars are much higher in UK compared to Malaysia. Our car ownership prices are also much lower than SG, much to the amazement of many uneducated Malaysians blindly bashing the government.

please la, next time nak argue pun buat betul betul, jgn make half ass assumption without painting the full picture to the readers here… it pains me that the government is subsidising ppl like you, sakit hati tau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
      • normang on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:08 am

uncle, all the said costs (operating + margin) have been included into that RM0.32 per liter and all those costs are fixed by the G. read up la, KPDNKK website ada, even this blog has covered how our subsidized/taxed petrol and diesel are calculated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Hafiz on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:26 pm

U sakit hati buat apa? Mental? Yes u sakit hati because deep inside ur sorry ass u can’t accept the fact that G is misleading us with petrol price calculation and u can’t express ur sakit hati towards the G because u support the G.

Baca la lebih sikit. Come out from ur comfort zone. Rather than sakit hati to the G, u channel ur sakit hati to Mr Normang without giving solid reason. Typical org-tua-support-G mentality.

• waters on Nov 19, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Good comment, Maserati

Why don’t you paint the full picture, then?

please la, next time nak argue pun buat betul betul, jgn make half ass assumption without painting the full picture to the readers here…

Wait, isn’t that what you said?

• Zackz on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Pls don’t bullshit. Check your facts properly before you post nonsense. Price of cars in SG is NOT higher than Msia. A new Toyota Harrier costs S$155K including COE. In Msia it will cost RM180K.

• haradanam on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:51 pm

ceteris paribus?

I had to google to understand whatever that meant! (id est your vocabulary is amazing)
      because of that, I believe all the points you listed.

• Even with subsidy, Indonesia’s petrol is RM2.58. Care to explain why you think real cost is RM2.32 or less?

In this report, it only said “reduced or cutting subsidy” so there is still some subsidy left.
      http://www.therakyatpost.com/business/2014/11/13/malaysia-asia-can-cut-costly-fuel-subsidies-following-oil-price-slump/

• normang on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:58 pm

duh, Indonesia is a net oil importer country (import more than export), they’re geographically large which make their distribution cost double than Malaysia’s, exchange rate IDR to USD play some role too (rupiah is relatively weaker than ringgit for the past few years). read up uncle, don’t malas-malas. also they charge VAT (GST) of 10% and motor vehicles fuel tax 5%. :-)

• Malaysia is now a net oil importer. Despite subsidy, Indonesia’s fuel is RM2.58 and even taking into consideration their larger geographical area, it would be pretty safe to say Malaysia’s fuel at RM2.20 is still receiving some subsidy. Last week, it was mentioned to be at 12 sen/liter.

• normang on Nov 23, 2014 at 6:04 am

lmao, malaysia is still an oil net exporter. please check your facts with DOSM and Matrade. idk who’s into beauty pageant contestant now lol

• To those and the beauty pageant contestant who insist government no longer subsidizing RON95 or making a profit, go see how much is subsidized fuel in Indonesia. They are a LOT higher at RM2.80 in Java. As for Malaysia, government seems to be saying unsubsidized petrol is around RM2.32 and selling at RM2.20

http://www.shell.co.id/en/products-services/on-the-road/fuels/our-price.html

• Henry on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:44 am

By all means, reduce the price of RON 97 but the price of RON 95 should also go down in tandem.

Stop bullying and robbing the people!

• Honestly, it’s time for government to abolish the subsidy for RON95. If RON95 price go down now it doesn’t give any significant impact on goods price anyway.

Since everyone already made adjustment to current oil price we can bear the cut of subsidy with current RON95 price. So that, we don’t have to get any shocking oil price increase for subsidy rationalization in near future, which for sure will increase good price again.

• HantuBukit on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:19 am

Let start a campaign, “Please rise up again the petrol price!” in support for our beloved government expenses. let shout loudly for it!!

• Petrol_98 on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:41 am

Funny, heran, xfaham… Bila harga minyak turun, dia kata harga paling rendah. Bila harga naik, dia juga kata harga paling rendah. Rendah tang mana pun tak tau.

Yang rendah adalah IQ dan akal mereka.

“Their IQ are low, their actions are slow, & their head are hollow.” What a blow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • A.Maslan Bodoh on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:03 am

When they hiked the prices of fuel, they hiked it with immediate effect. But when its time to lower the price, macam2 alasan diberi. Itu tak leh. Ini tak leh. Need to study and wait and wait and wait. Tunggu punya tunggu, only Ron97 yg kene price cut. Ron95 dan diesel how leh ?? Tak kan lah Ron97 aje kan ?? Bodoh lah this people in the government.

• C4 blew off..

• alizeeric on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:08 am

Minyak naik = Harga barang naik
    Minyak turun = Harga barang X turun
    Minyak naik = Harga barang naik lagi!

Macam ni baik jangan turun kan harga minyak lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:18 am

wow, this shows how much the government is helping the Rakyat! to all doubters, this news proves everything about how caring the government is, living up to the 1 Malaysia slogan. Be grateful and i hope everyone here have good things to say about the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • be grateful others are subsidizing and bringing up your smart ass kind and not taking it for granted. Gov is working for rakyat; not the other way around. Gov should be thankful to rakyat for putting them into power. Got it kid?

• slk3879 on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:25 am

What have you been smoking?

• slk3879 on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:31 am

You should refrain yourself from posting any comment here after smoking pot

• Aghanis on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:43 am

Haters will always be a hater! Sikit2 “rakyat di perbodoh kan” what a lame statement. This is the product of growing up in Malaysia that is heavily subsidized by the GOV.

We becoming weak, lazy and too dependable on the subsidy. Dari lampu kat rumah, the food that you eat and sampai la ke minyak that our can consume. Semua nak subsidi.

haish..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • They are not haters. In fact, they are more concern in regards with this country’s future than you. You should understand on why this country is highly dependent on subsidy in the first place. And moving on from there, how to rationalise through subsidy reduction based on criteria as not to jeapordise the people and rise in country’s inflation.
      Now people are highly educated. They know if they are being cheated by the government or not. They already grow up. How about the government?

• Aghanis on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:05 am

They are actually a pure haters that love to spin the fact. obviously the one that i talk to right now. :)

• semuasalahdalamdunianie on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:45 am

Minyak naik = complain….
    Minyak turun = complain…

go build your own oil refinery laa!

talk cock sing song je!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
  • The following comment is taken from PAT @yahoo.com.my

Why should you drop the price of Ron 97 instead of Ron 95? Foreigners are confined to using Ron 97 and by doing that you are not benefitting your own Malaysian citizens. You are favoring the foreigners and also foregoing additional foreign income. This is a stupid move,. The other reason for this stupid move is the need to maintain your additional income from Ron 95 as more people will be using Ron 95 and there would have been a higher loss of income should the drop comes from Ron 95. Whichever way you look at it, it is stupid to lose additional foreign income to benefit the foreigners. Makes no sense.

• What a load of crap? What is the percentage of people using the RON97? Surely it is less than 10%. Majority of us uses RON95. If the government is thinking to ease the burden of his people, then he will surely considering to reduce RON95 price instead. Not the other way around. They know, we know, everyone knows. Bolehland need money and this is one of many ways they can collect billions of ringgit from his people. Next is GST…thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Aghanis on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

This is Malaysia not “Bolehland”. please have some respect for your country. Unless its stated in your birth certificate that you are born in Bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • I do have certain respect for my country. Only the people who lead the country have no respect to the people. So, if you don’t like my critism for the benefit of this country and its people, you should stay away from politics. It comes with the package.

• Vivienne on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:31 am

Hey there,

I recently read an article that RON97 prices are NOT subsidized.

However in your post you wrote that RON97 is minimally subsidized.

Can you please assist to explain or clarify to me the difference between the both?

I’m abit confused.

Please find the below statement:

The analyst pointed out that although the international crude oil prices showed a downtrend over the past one month, the government did not make adjustment to the non-subsidised RON97 petrol price which is supposed to fluctuate according to market price.

Source: https://www.mysinchew.com/node/102629

• ben yap on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:00 pm

no point criticise the government.

as long as stupid east malaysians voting for BN, things will not change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • as*hole on Nov 19, 2014 at 3:41 pm

hey *ucker! you think you’re so utterly clever right? then tell me this, why cant you even write a sentnece without any grammatical errors and in a strcturised manner? how dare you even lamented to accuse us (east malaysians) as being stupid? without east malaysia, you wouldnt even live comfortably in west malaysia! do i need to clarify to you one by one of what our contributions are? you’re one bad apple who spoilt the bunch (west malaysians)

• ben yap on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:03 pm

“even write a sentnece without any grammatical errors and in a strcturised manner?”

an example of stupidity that cannot even spell correctly.

• Zackz on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Bro, don’t ketuk East Msians like that. All my frenz from there always vote against Bangsat Najis but in the end the assholes always win. Why? Bcos of instant IC for foreigners, polis and army fellas fly there to vote and blackmail of poor locals in ulu places. They just can’t get out of the torture chamber that evil BN has put them in. East Msians are not collaborators but victims of BN.

• Market For RON95, unsubsidised market price 2.58 previously, now 2.43 (-0.15), but for RON97, 2.75 previously, now 2.55 (-0.20). RON95 drop lesser? More expensive to produce?

Weird..

• michael on Nov 19, 2014 at 1:28 pm

As usual talk and expect us RAKYAT Malaysia to believe GOVT very poor. They are out to do a BIG CON job making us believe things .Their parents teach them never to tell lies but teach them how to become a CON MAN.

• AntiGST on Nov 19, 2014 at 2:01 pm

GOvt may like to see more ppl make noise on this matter.
    later on they just remove de Ron95 subsidised and said…its a wishlist received from rakyat!

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Orang kaya can save more. Orang miskin complaint lebih. Tak nak isi minyak go and naik beskel la. #AhmadMaslan4PM

• Actually Rich & Poor just “Govt Propaganda”, nothing more nothing less.. Why Govt never stated/mention all big/multi million Company also enjoyed Fuel Subsidy.. This shown/proof current Govt doesn’t know what they are doing right now..

What we complain here everything is about “FAIR TREAT”…..

Govt didn’t give a single cents subsidy to RON95 user & on top of that Govt charge Tax some more but Govt didn’t charge Tax on RON97 user? This is truely FxxxxCKKIINGGG IDIOOOTTTTT move leerrr..

• Pump RON97, more power. Previously a bit slow to reach 200km/h. Now acceleration is effortless and breached up to 210km/h in a split second.