2015 Toyota Prius c facelift – upgraded inside and out

2015_Toyota_Prius_c_01

No, that’s not a Proton Iriz. It’s the 2015 Toyota Prius c facelift that has just been unveiled at the ongoing 2014 Los Angeles Motor Show. Toyota’s most affordable hybrid in the US (starting at US$19,080 or about RM64,000 – a far cry from our RM153,170 pricetag) gets a dollop of refreshing both inside and out.

New up front are single-projector LED headlamps and a redesigned bumper that is, dare we say it, similar to that of the Toyota 86 sportscar. Updated LED taillamps with new graphics and a shark-fin antenna complete the visual makeover.

Toyota has refreshed the interior with “premium materials” too. Or so it says, as it looks very much the same in the pictures provided, apart from the circular side air-con vents, which now have directional rings instead of rotary flaps. Improvements to the NVH are also claimed.

In North America, the equipment list includes a 6.1-inch multimedia touchscreen system, moonroof (both optional), electronic stability control and no less than nine airbags (driver and front passenger, front seat-mounted side airbags, front seat cushion airbags, driver knee airbag and front and rear side curtains).

Not surprisingly, no mechanical changes have been introduced in this round of updates. The same hybridised 1.5 litre Atkinson cycle engine with 73 PS and 111 Nm of torque (total combined output of 99 PS) combined to Toyota’s own eCVT transmission combo is retained. Claimed economy for the US is 21.2 km/l.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ken Young on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Even if this car comes to Malaysia, knowing UMW, they’ll probably remove the electronic stability control and the airbags (maybe only 2 airbags) from the car. UMW doesn’t care about your lives as they only care about profits.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 22
    • mythbuster on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

If I’m not mistaken,,the current Prius C in Malaysia equipped with 7 airbags and ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
      • Savvi on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:05 pm

“No, that’s not a Proton Iriz.”

Statement full of Syok sendiri and perasan betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • irate on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm

And what’s wrong in comparing looks with an Iriz? take a chill pill dude, they both are just cheap econobox.

• Toyota Moving Coffin on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

This car, it is true, got VSC. But now, nobody is touching hybrids, especially Toyota Hybrids because the price is like yo yo. Pity UMW. Hybrids, just like their Camry, Altis and Vios, nobody is going near.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis despite being launched 1 year plus already.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Get the Altis for example, for US8000 (of even cheaper since its CKD) and yet take out the VSC??
          All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
          Our lives not important UMW?

Then the Vios. Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got honour to recall. But honour or no honour, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
          • No more Value on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:54 pm

One thing u are wrong is that…
            Malaysian still buying Toyota and Toyota still the best selling foreign car in Malaysia. Well, maybe the design is why they buy Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • The US Corolla and Camry is made in the US though so I’ll have to dislike your comment. Facts also not true :/

• mythbuster on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

If I’m not mistaken,,the current Prius C in Malaysia equipped with 7 airbags and ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • Same L0rrr on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:48 pm

No need to talkok sendiri syok if you know nothing. All Prius/ Prius C sold in Malaysia comes with VSC 7 airbags TRC ABS EBD HA you name it. Even the tires are Japan made.

86 in Japan also cost RM 66k, but sold RM 249k (you can buy 4 units) in Malaysia. Why? Thanks to almighty Proton and its PROTECTION!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 64
      • t.i.t on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:09 pm

o rly?

• あきな on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:36 pm

86 66k in jpn? that one secondhand bro. brand new 86 you will not find under 200 man yen! but indeed still cheap compared to 86 in malaysia. がんばてね

• Same L0rrr on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:25 am

Go look for Toyota Japan website!

In Singapore, 86 also SG10k more expensive than the Prius C only.

86 never meant to be expensive, it is designed for mod.

• sam art on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:36 pm

it’s look more sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • KaoPehKaoBu on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:33 pm

walao…front copy feista S…still ugly dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • Same L0rrr on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Outlook is quite subjective. Just like some think Iriz is hot some do not.

However, can your “beautiful” car go 750km for a full tank of RM70 fuel? Even on 100% city drive, you still can get 650km.

When the fuel price increase another RM0.30, you will be damn regret you didn’t buy one years ago when it was cheap.

When the fuel price increase another RM1 (not so long from now), you will even be interested to buy one at its current RM150k price.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm

I do not need to drive a “beautiful” RM150K+ car, AXIA>All RM30K for a car..save RM120K i can pump petrol until my next next life. Pity you Toyota saleman only can watch this car eat grass in showroom.

• Evilone on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Do anyone feel it look like ford fiesta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
  • setsunaf on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Still continue with the legacy. Hodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Please CKD it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • FireAce on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:29 am

Bad idea… After CKD, all you left with will be 2 airbags + ABS, all other small little (but nasty) problems like what you found in all other Toyota CKDs (squeaking plastics, leaking absorbers, etc). And it will only be RM4000 cheaper.

Extra bad news for CBU owners too. When it’s time to get replacement parts (from Toyota), we will be getting “Made in Malaysia” instead of the real deal “Made in Japan” which the car the originally equipped with. And also probably cost the same. A real bummer….

• Prius c owner on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:01 pm

It’s a good economical car that’s meant to be on city roads. The passive and active safety equipments are comparable with Corolla Altis 2.0V satety package version. Glad to have bought one at RM97,000 and it’s a CBU from Japan! How much is it in US, Hafriz? Would you think that it can be sold at about RM64,000 in US without profit? What car can we buy at that price in Malaysia? If this facelift version is available here at the same price, more will be seen on our roads especialy when the fuel subsidy is removed. It’s a clear strategic move in NAP to discontinue the hybrid and EV incentive. Price range within reach for an average Malaysian will remain between the products from the two national car manufacturers. It makes me wonder how quick can they introduce a production hybrid or EV or even a hydrogen car. Matured manufacturer took years to test it and continuously improves it. Besides an affordable price tag, can our local manufacturer promise quality and safety of the products?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • Low Budget on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:29 pm

RM64K cannot even buy a low end Toyota Vios in Boleh Land, in US RM64K for a Toyota with all the bells and whistles built it, some more huh, the Gringos salary are many times more than the Boleh Land workers.

• PeterGriffin on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Clearly your comment is being downvoted by butthurt national car fans. I too drive a local car, but I wish I could’ve afford to buy the hybrids during the incentive period. Why did the govt discontinued the incentive? P1 & P2 still have years to go before rolling out a quality hybrid vehicle.

• Prius c owner 2 on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Bought one also when it was cheap. Very happy with that. Monthly mileage about 1500km only need to pump petrol twice total RM150 fuel.

40k km major service also RM400 ++ like Myvi. Comfortable and powerful. Drive like F1 driver also can get average 17km/l fuel consumption. Very good safety packages.

Only problem: space. Although it has best wheelbase at its class, it is still a B segment hatchback after all.

• Singapore Honda Jazz 1.3l Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC managed to produce 100ps and 119Nm… This 1.5l only 73ps? @@

• Prius c owner on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:58 pm

There is no doubt the Honda Jazz hybrid may have its technological advantage over other manufacturers. They could have bought a Prius c, took it apart and learn from there. It’s a fact in this industry and you can’t stop anyone from doing it. Well done to Honda engineers! If our local manufacturers can do the same and produce a better version at low cost with commendable built qualtiy, I will buy one.

• Lemonguy on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Affordable hybrid car but when come to Malaysia… the price tag become unreasonable. No wonder Malaysia ppl stuck with car loan…

• Prius c owner 2 on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Terima kasih to Proton!

You pay high tax so that they can keep on burning money.

• Jerry on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:11 pm

better get the new Altis with this price.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Feels like the took some inspiration from the Toyota 86. The headlights and creases on the bonnet.

• someguyonthenet on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Iriz is better. Wait a moment, i must check first…………..Yep, Iriz is better