Scion iM Concept – production next year, under $20k

Scion iM Concept-01

Scion has revealed the iM Concept car at the 2014 Los Angeles Auto Show and announced that a production version of the five-door hatchback will be reaching US dealerships in 2015.

The iM Concept (“i” for individuality, “M” for modern, multifaceted and magnetic) is based on the European-spec Toyota Auris. The wide-hipped, low-slung showcaar is presented in “Incrediblue” paint with matte silver and gunmetal accents.

Geometric grille inserts, deep air intakes and fog lights, 19-inch forged alloys, brakes with vented rotors and four-piston front calipers, plus adjustable-height suspension gives it an overtly sporty flavour.

Scion iM Concept-08

Details on the production version’s transmission, engine and tech will be revealed in 2015, along with the price. Toyota’s youthful brand is hinting at sticker price of under $20,000 (RM67,314) to entice younger customers.

Scion’s Auris will make an appearance at the 2015 New York International Auto Show in April, along with another new model. “The two models we’re debuting in New York next spring are just the beginning for Scion. We plan to bring three new products in three years to our showrooms, offering a variety of exciting options for current and new Scion customers,” said Scion VP Doug Murtha.

GALLERY: Toyota Auris

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wicked Government on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Sell in the US for US$20,000. Average US wage earner earn US$4000. Even the McDonalds guy there earn around US$4000. So, outright, can buy the car with 5 months of savings if the buyer don’t eat or spend.

Come to Malaysia, car will be RM120,000 to RM160,000.
    78.6% of all EPF contributors earn RM3000 and below.
    To buy this car, one need to save for 9 years (not 5 months)

So, with our weak ringgit and weak earning capacity, the Government still want to screw us with high car prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 12
    • JoeRadzif on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

pun ada thumbdown?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:31 pm

KZM will say this is BS cause McD workers earn less than US$2000 there. Haha.. I don’t know why this guy mati2 want to backup our BS gov.

Just FYI,

U.S. real (inflation adjusted) median household income in 2013 was $51,939. Translated to 4k++ per month household income – wikipedia

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:44 pm

On average/median Malaysians earn a lot too. That doesn’t mean normal people have a lot of money, just that there are many really rich people.

McDonald’s employees tend to work several jobs besides just to survive… just to have enough food to eat and a roof.

Not trying to defend the Malaysian government, but America is a bad example. Poverty is very serious there. People can’t even afford to go to the doctor. And that’s not just jobless people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Car-Fans on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Apa lagi …. Super ‘Thank You’ to our GOV ! !@#$%@#$%@#%#$^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Jaybond on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:58 pm

In the looks department, this Auris-based Scion is definitely in a different league compared to the original Toyota Auris. Makes you wonder what will happen if Toyota decided to slap the Toyota badge on it and market it as the hot-hatch version of the Toyota Auris in Europe (equipped with a high performance engine of course).I would’nt be surprised it will gain positive or even rave reviews from the hot-hatch world..

• cendol (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:13 pm

USD20k car come to Malaysia add another ONE in front become RM120k

• cendol (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:14 pm

And Khazanah just did a study saying installment plans in Malaysia are leaving Malaysians high and dry with 7-9 years loan commitment.
    At the end of 7-9 years, end up paying 150-200% of product price

• super on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:26 pm

nice design compared to the original prius.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Seen this car (without) body kits in Europe. Looks quite nice actually. The interior has a hint of GT86, and that rear is nice, no matter if as hatchback or wagon. Pricing is rather attractive too, as long as you don’t need automatic braking and steering… competitors in the segment offer those features, Toyota doesn’t. Quite a bit cheaper than a comparably speced Golf… I’d say around RM 10k less at leadt

• Inspiralalalala on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Inspired by Iriz diffuser??

• lucky not designed by proton

• pautan on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:29 am

look better than proton :)