Tesla Model S spotted in Malaysia – grey import?

TESLA-MODEL-S-MALAYSIA-004

Looks like a grey importer has brought in a Tesla Model S. Reader Syamil Hisham saw this example parked by the side of the road at the old LCCT. It’s unregistered with no road tax sticker, and if you look closely you can see a trade plate sitting on the dashboard.

This particular right hand drive model is the P85+, as can be seen by the badging on the rear. The P85+ has been discontinued, replaced by the more powerful P85D (D for dual, as in dual motors) which uses one motor on each axle, effectively providing all-wheel drive.

The P85+ single motor does 416 hp and 600 Nm of torque, with all of that torque coming in from zero rpm. The super wide torque band allows the Model S to run on just one gear – equivalent to the first gear of a regular car’s gearbox. That’s just mind-blowing. The 100 km/h sprint is reached in 4 seconds.

TESLA-MODEL-S-MALAYSIA-003

There are special cars and then there are special cars. The Model S isn’t low slung, wide and bestowed by wildly eye catching bodywork like a limited edition Lamborghini but looking at one in person is like like looking at the future of motoring right here in the present. You know that if you ever had a chance to get behind the wheel of one, it’s going to be a drive unlike any other that you’ve had before.

If you can somehow lay your hands on one, you’ll be on your own in terms of maintenance. There’s no Tesla representative here, not even in Singapore, where the company packed up and closed shop a few years ago. This right hand drive Tesla was probably sourced from the UK, Hong Kong or Australia.

We’re not sure if an official representative will ever come here, since they’re not likely to bother with this market on their own, yet have a direct sales only policy that won’t allow an end user to buy one through a dealer who might want to bring the car in. But who knows, this policy might change.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:17 am

Even 3rd party specialised mechanics will not want to touch this car that came from the future. But this is one damn cool car. Had a chance to get up close and personal with one in Japan and I’m very impressed with it. The response of the touch screen whereby you can customise even your car door handles is astonishing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • kzm fan boys on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:16 am

This car our mechanics cannot handle lah. Only kzm can fix this car. Budak UiTM banyak pandai dalam hal engineering. That is why our country first world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:16 am

u buy this car u supporting gray import aka Open AP car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
        • kzm (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

am i wrong? if u but Open AP car u oni support those holder..better dont buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Who cares? Looks and drive better than Accordana. Our G should use this as it’s good for the environment rather than making stupid mixed-breed rebadged car which can only jaguh kampung and do nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • johari on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:13 pm

You sound so naive, nahhhhh, budak UITM can’t even fix this, i’d rather go to someone who has certifications more than UITM boys. Even if its not a tesla certification.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • Goh Jeng on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:19 pm

No la! budak UTAR lagi pandai tau, can skipping Mandarin summore. I really admire our one of a kind education system, from SRJKC till tertiary education. All use ‘other’ language than their own national language. Special! Just look at their mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
        • Don’t need to use Chinese name. Other language is widely accepted world wide than ur national language. So get it shit together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
          • Goh Jeng on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Hahahah see, they can say all they want. But when people question them, wanna bark like mad dog. Haiyah! Why arrr so butthurt porky? Kiasu much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • watchman on Nov 24, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Goh Jeng,

it is obvious you are a Malay pretending to be Chinese with a non-valid Chinese name “Goh Jeng” which is perfectly fine on the Internet. but it is also obvious your comment is made out of total ignorance and you have never been inside UTAR or know what it is. UTAR is not related to any Chinese school SRJKC or does not use Chinese as medium of instruction. UTAR is also not related to the TAR College in Setapak. UTAR is a fully private profit-orientated institution that accept ANY students who can pay the fees and meet the minimum qualifications just like Monash University in Sunway and any other private universities in Malaysia. it is fine to reply racist comment with another racist comment but you still need to learn to be smart and not make a fool of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • MITI and MAI Monkeys on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:23 am

Need to curb these pariah AP importers. This is an example where there is abuse. The car is unable to be repaired in Malaysia. It will bring problems to the buyer. So why bring it in? AP importers just interested in $$$$$$$

All the pariahs from MITI and MAI, please, if you cannot abolish the AP pencuri, at least control the cars they bring in. The least you MAI and MITI monkeys can do is to protect the consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
    • The Future on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:56 am

Contact TNB, they should have electrical engineers to look into this (tongue in cheek. Or they could add a new subject in their Univ.

• Heskey on Nov 23, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Parked at old LCCT? must be Tony Fernández’ car.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:26 am

Man..this is awesome on so many level….i guarentee the driver probably run out of battry juice thats why he jus parked it thr…!!
    Having these rare cars here is great…all we need is to spot a koenigsegg agera R n we wd have the full range…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Wow, you must be like 12. Because you clearly have not a single clue the fck you’re talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • Astonishing. Your blatant rudeness to Nabill and lack of substance means you must be 6.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:37 am

The Model S doesn’t need maintenance. The electric motor doesn’t, the brakes last longer cause the the engine does most of the braking… It’s really adding wiper fluid once in a while, and that’s it. Updates come OTA, like on a smartphone. No need to send to workshop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Chong Yew on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:37 am

What about the drivetrain issues plaguing Tesla owners after a year or so .. and that’s in temperate-climate countries?

• Kangkung Ayam RM1 on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:33 am

Tesla only single speed …… drivetrain is single speed…
        astonish torque u get in any range of RPM.
        Full batt charged around 4 hrs in 220V.
        Less maintainance on hardware, as mentioned no engine/drivetrain maintainance, less brake pad use(power regeneration brake recharge system)
        Probably need absorber change due to our road condition.

Battery itself is very safe, using Panasonic (Sanyo) multi cells battery. Underneath your seat which sandwich between chassis and underpinning.

It cost start from USD 70K.
        Full charge 60kwh battery gives 335++km range
        with higher grade 85kwh battery gives 475++km range.

Full charge, only JPY1000, around RM30-40 per charging. RM40(Max)/335km (Min) = RM0.11/km
        Such efficient sport car, century spin 5++Secs
        One hour charging using “supercharger” !

Such a great product, when come to Malaysia?
        low cruise cost, high tech, high performance,
        Peak torque on full range of rev.
        When can we get in in Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
        • M 007 on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:09 pm

It actually takes 2 days to charge via 240V 13Amp socket outlet and must use ICCB (In car control box). Set the charging current limit to 10Amp via the touchscreen so that it will not trip your breaker in fusebox and melt the socket. with 10amp supply it charges this tesla S P85+ = 85kWh in 8km/hour so u guys divide 475km with 8km/hour = total hours needed to charge. Tesla uses km instead of battery percentage for charging capacity visible via the meter cluster unlike other EVs so very forward real-life solution there by Tesla engineers

To make it charging faster via what the truly local charging infrastructure is installing right now which is 240V , 32Amp..it will take 10 to 11 hours. So some education or different way of ‘refueling’ the car must be understood by Malaysians. U cannot wait until ‘E’ then only you ‘fill’ it up then complain EVs are useless. Hence the need to populate Malaysia with lots of charging stations probably ratio of 1:4. Another big obstacle why Malaysia is slow in EV adoption.

Another big obstacle is the ever slow JPJ in endorsing Tesla to be legal on Malaysia road.

Oh yeah forgot one major obstacle …Our slowest of the bunch TNB in seriously looking into supporting EVs.

After fiddling around with a Tesla S, I do now know why Tesla insist in selling their cars directly to customers instead via dealers. It is because the salesman of car dealers will have a very very miserable headache to explain to the customers who only knows to complaint in handling their new Tesla S. This car is very technical in order to really enjoy every technology in it. Furthermore Tesla S would probably costs almost RM 700k here OTR but the best part the roadtax might be cheaper compared to its’ equivalent –> M5 or panamera

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:17 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Model_S

Supercharging hardware is included with the 85 kWh battery pack. Supercharging the 60 kWh battery is optional and is software-controlled.[62][67][68]

• Same L0rrr on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm

It is already sold at USD70k (RM210k) in US.

How much it would be priced here, due to Proton’s awesome PROTECTION?

You willing to pay RM800k for a model S?

• Tesla > Proton

• Nuff said

• drMpower on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:24 am

it does not quite right. the motor does need maintenance. calibrations. and all the mechanical stuffs there are all in need of maintenance on due time. the rotors and stators, main and other small motors, magnetism strength dielectric strength, bushes, contacts, those electrical/ machine technical stuffs all them do have life cycles.

it just that tesla guys doing repair breaking it down easy to users when they say the car doesnt need maintenance. quite hard to explain these technical stuffs to people bought these car and most of them are very abstract in terms of education/engineering background.

but yes, this is one rotating motor and thats about it.

• spacex on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:55 pm

It is certainly not maintenance-free. However the maintenance is indeed very minimal and only mechanical. The car does require periodic maintenance but it’s all software/firmware updates which happens ‘over the air’.

The motors are brushless by the way.

A Tesla SC will be quite a lonely place :)

• Same L0rrr on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:57 pm

That’s why the car is expensive. Tesla can’t earn much from the after sales service.

Not like the local brand, car price sounds cheap, build quality even cheaper. After 3 years need to change this change that, SC and part suppliers happy. The car is a dead trap for your wallet indeed.

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Bro…
        Many motor are label “brushless” maintainance free.
        Above quoted as 99% no need maintainance.
        Tesla S’ moto is one of them.

If you talk about Manufaturing defect,
        there is nothing in the world need no maintainance.
        For calibration, it’s done in the factory.
        pls dont scope it down narrowly.

technically, these no need maintainance are being tested by certain lifetime reliability test.
        “No maintainance” are quoted by mechanical background people with terms and condition.
        Its no meaning for us to “pick the bone from egg”

Maintainance free battery dont have life time?
        ask mechanical engineer…. :)

• Marty mc Fly on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:43 am

‘There are special cars and then there are special cars’…Dis one from the future but already updated by the even more distance future P85D.
    P1 & P1 share n buy one of dis special from the future, tear it down to parts for all r n d staff.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:48 am

Proton or Naza please rebadge this car. Worth while rebadging cause its totally new & not from mainstream producers. You can even uses a 50% lower hp motor, that’s ok cause its still more powerful than most street going cars. With lower power motor, the driving range could be extended.

• Henry on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:05 am

Wow! it is gorgeous.

• FAUZI on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:16 am

macam mana nak charge kereta ni? takde kat kl ni..

• megat on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:17 am

nahh. i dont think elon musk will let tesla motors set foot in malaysia. production is slow in california. they cannot meet demand. maybe in 10 years time after model 3 is launched.

• greatlander on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:03 am

I think you are wrong… I ordered the car in July, now they had delay from November delivery to December 2014 delivery in HK via ocean freight, also they had upgraded my car with the auto pilot system.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:49 am

Whoa!

Side note, it is likely this unit is from UK rather than Australia. The issue is that the Australian deliveries have been relatively slow compared to the UK ones, since the Australian ones have to be “Australian approved” so they need to inspected and provided with the ADR (Australian Design Rules) sticker to say it is approved for use in Australia. And shipping a car over from AU is not that easy either….

But the even bigger giveaway is the number plate holder in the rear. Australian numberplate are significantly smaller, they are about the size of the iPad Mini/ Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0, compared to the much larger plate size available in the UK and Hong Kong. Though I am pretty sure if you are really desperate for it, you can get it from the Tesla dealer in AU too…

• greatlander on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:01 am

I just ordered the Tesla in HK, they are pending delivery. It is all make to order online even in HK.
    JIT production is how Tesla manage they production of their cars. The car I had ordered does not come with Auto Pilot… and Tesla team sent me an email and had upgraded my car with Auto Pilot system…for the same price I have pay for. This is what I call great American way of managing business. Tesla not only revolutionize the car platform but it is also changing the way how business is done and how production can be efficient. HK government gave the tax free beak so I took the opportunity to order a unit of it.

• Zlanu on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:21 am

@Paul. Hi Paul, I think direct sales is only for the US because there’s a law there that prohibits Tesla from selling through dealers. If they wanted to open a dealer network elsewhere, I think it would work? Not sure.

That being said, we don’t really have charging capacity for this car but this car is damn damn sexy, one of my dream cars for sure.

• Paul Tan on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

Is it not the other way around? They only want to sell direct, so they can’t sell in certain states that require you to sell through a third party dealer.

Dealer as in a physical dealership owned by Tesla (which we normally call branch not dealer) and dealer as in a third party company appointed to sell your products mean two different things.

• This is true. I remember reading about it in Jalopnik when the National Automobile Dealers Association tried to oppose the Tesla’s idea of selling the car directly. They even make a ridiculous animation about it http://jalopnik.com/anti-tesla-car-dealers-made-a-bullshit-animation-to-sca-1593249425

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hi paul, agree.
        Its direct sell trend.. streamline with total supply chain from manufacturing to sales.
        It generate benefit to buyers.

Tesla sales similar to Xiao Mi.
        Good trend! good product, lower cost, winwin for seller n buyer.

• faizal on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

wow, that is smart… who on earth can service this car here? let alone if it breaks down? the closest tesla repair facility is in China… GG

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:29 pm

most probably tesla breakdown caused by our Kangkung road..

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:58 am

Wow. Ive seen accelaration videos on Youtube, this car hauls ass with such drama free urgency it feels Rolls Royce smooth but at Ferrari speeds. Wonder wow will the owner/driver charge the car? There are a few at KLCC underground carpark, but might take a long wait. So, must have a charger kit at home.

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

With the super charger at home.
      Plug it after work daily.
      It’s more than enough for us to drive to work, tea, dating, spinning daily.

It’s only not allow you to drive from Singapore all the way up to Penang one shot.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:18 pm

People always said American cars are fat, slow, can’t take turns, full of cheap interior plastics and about as efficient as a potato (5.0 litre V8… but only 300hp.. really ?).

But it seems that Elon Musk has shown the world what America is really capable of with the Tesla Model S. Unlike the gimmick which is the Toyota Prius, the Tesla Model S genuinely feels like the next step in automotive evolution. The interior looks simple, but feels so damn futuristic. And the best part is how it goes; definitely a wolf in sheep’s clothing !

When Tesla brought out the Roadster a few years back, I didn’t think they’d develop to this level in such a short time. What an amazing, amazing company with so much potential. I’m sure they’ll go very far.

• Memeboy on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:33 pm

This is engineering to the next level…sadly to be driven in Malaysia…

• truely malaysian on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Too excited seeing a Tesla on tarmac, forget to clean the lens before taking the photos… also try to focus at the car or else the camera will focus on the brighter back ground…

• Marse9 on Nov 20, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Takde pulak org ckp pasal RV kan??

• formula e weekend perhaps?

• Lucky reader to see this car on the road. I believe it is in tran-shipment by air. Waiting to board another cargo plane.

Malaysia….slow slow wait lo.

• Fong Wei Tze on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Are you kidding me? I love this car so much!

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:34 pm

If you work as a engineer as 5-10k usd/ month..
      there is no problem to buy a USD 70K VIOS TESLA in US.It’s a very reasonable price super car.

But in bolehland..
      Our car price, house price, kangkung price is too ridiculous.

• Interlago on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:35 pm

The rims are looks like passat CC/ Scirocco ‘s Interlago RIM in black version..

• Leon Loke on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Elon Musk is from South Africa, not American. He is a visionary leader and willing to take up new challenge and think out of the box.

• Elon Musk on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Yes I was born and raised in South Africa.

However I am a naturalized American citizen!

I am also a Canadian citizen, thanks to my mother who was born there.

• Jeremytmd on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm

I’ve met an Malaysian owner of Tesla Model S P85+ in Singapore that bought the car with over SGD$12x,xxx+ (RM3xx,xxx+) include the COE & OMV, in Singapore there’s total duty exemption for environmental friendly vehicles or electric vehicles; the owner said that he had asked before through the grey importer in Malaysia the price would be over RM1,1xx,xxx – RM1,3xx,xxx+, no wonder most of Malaysian would bought new imported car through Brunei or Singapore because of the 200%-250% ridiculous taxation.

• I doubt your information on paying SGD120K+ (including COE & OMV) in Singapore is correct.
      The Tesla S is sold in the US around USD70K or SGD91K. This is term as the open market value (OMV). All cars are subjected to Additional Registration Fee (ARF) of 100% of OMV. In addition there is custom duty at 20% of OMV and COE.
      Excluding some small discount from clean emission scheme, the base price will be 91K(OMV)+91K(ARF)+18.2K(DUTY)+80K(COE)= SGD280K

• to say heritage to what is good. to standard not even ngv can afford.. /. disgusting