Mazda 2 Sedan – first photos out, full reveal next week

mazda-2-sedan-9

Here it is, the upcoming Mazda 2 Sedan! Set to make its world debut at the Thailand International Motor Expo 2014 next week with a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine, Mazda has just released these official photos of its answer to the Honda City and Toyota Vios. Do you like what you see?

A lot of people see the Mazda 3 as a smaller Mazda 6, and this 2 Sedan is very much a mini 3. Immediately you’d notice that the car’s proportions is a huge improvement over the outgoing model’s awkward stance. It’s no longer a hatchback with an afterthought boot extension.

In fact, the rear shoulder line flows very nicely into a short, yet pleasantly styled back end with a neatly integrated bootlid spoiler. While it looks more than decent in photos, we’ll defer our judgement until we see it in the flesh. We’ll have more info plus live photos from Thailand next week, so stay tuned.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Legend (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Bermaz! Take my money straight away! This really a gooding look car overall! Hope that Bermaz will bring all those tentative equipment that previewed to the public not too long ago and of course hope that airbags counts will not be just two only and i-Activsense technology!
    Poor Toyota! Sam Loo still giving like 3k discount on the Vios but no one care lol! Honda City still a not bad choice, but this will be my optimal choice overall! Mazda 2 quick quick come to Malaysia Please! 85k really worth the money,compare to E Spec City and the E Spec Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 26
    • Ananz on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Have to wait and see the car in the metal first and the pricing before deciding anything. Bermaz is known for removing lots of the specs once it reaches our shores and priced higher than other jap marques. Shall wait and see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
      • B-Segment cars on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:19 pm

The Mazda 2 still looks a bit out of proportion and for interior space alone it will never be Mazda’s forte. Also Bermaz will definitely strip down the specs to barebones and put a high price tag on it. Therefore the Honda City will still be the King of B-segment cars with its huge interior space and gadgets onboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • B-Segment cars on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:19 pm

The Mazda 2 still looks a bit out of proportion and for interior space alone it will never be Mazda’s forte. Also Bermaz will definitely strip down the specs to barebones and put a high price tag on it. Therefore the Honda City will still be the King of B-segment cars with its huge interior space and gadgets onboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Vincent on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Bermaz please price it at RM60K. MITI said they do not control car price, so no reason to be afraid of Proton anymore.

• Sam Looser on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Body profile in 1st pic overall looks like what Gen-3 ( New model for Gen-2) should have been.

• Hrv Honda on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Stupid car from Mazda,City is much better,84k is very worth the money.
      My City 4 months already haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Bermas screwed me on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:12 pm

If I were you I wait till the official launch! They screwed me over the Cbu mazda 3! The “tentative spec” they display at one utama is worlds apart from the one they launched locally. Terrible business ethic!

• Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Hi,

If i trade in my Honda City 2014 for this car..

How much would i get from my Honda City?

Thank you very much Mazda Salesman.

Sincerely,
    The Almighty Snack Bar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Bermaz Malaysia on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:26 pm

We will gladly take in the City V spec for RM70,000 and you can top up the remaining estimated price of RM20,000+ with a loan or by cash.

Thank you,
      Bermaz Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • what abaout polo sedan 2013 registered CBU?

• drMsohai on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:47 pm

What about kenari 1.0M 2004?

• Hrv Honda on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Yes trade in Honda City for this junk,is OK for me.If I see your stupid Mazda 2 junk,sure eat my smoke with City CVT haha.

• Hrv Honda on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Mazda 2 junk.
            Nobody will buy this car.
            Mazda 2 junk.
            Mazda 2 rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 22, 2014 at 6:58 pm

What?!?!?!?!?!?!? Only 70k for a car less than one year??? R u kidding me???? I know Honda BQ and QC are shit but cant be drop till so bad???

Pls give me a better offer.. thanks..

• broker on Nov 23, 2014 at 8:14 am

Cars where got good RV, if you scared low RV better buy house

• Usavich on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Design is okie, but due to the car shape proportion, i wouldn’t look good in real. Too narrow and tall.

• Matchy on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:08 pm

The boot looks small…

• Beautiful car, just like the rest of kodo family.

Downside is rear seat, too tight no space.

• i heard this sedan is lighter than mazda2 hatchback. That means this sedan has better FC and acceleration?

• Josh Ling on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:24 pm

wow….never expect Mazda 2 Sedan to be really good looking in Kodo language, since it is the smallest sedan in the company, but man, this is really good looking!

• Eddy Lee on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Tbh, it kind of looks a bit out of proportioned than, let say the city. Don’t get me wrong, this definitely has a better looking design but in the flesh, it might fall short. We just have to wait and see then.

• The 6 and the 3 always lose in term of size and space compare to Toyota or Honda or Nissan. Hope this one is comparable to City or Vios, especially the rear legroom.

• ben yap on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:38 pm

When is Mazda 3 CKD launching? take so long time…. sack those who cause the delays.

• Skyactive 1.5L diesel engine version will never land in Bolehland… perhaps in 5 years time…

• Don Juan De Marco on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Rear-end particualrly the Rear Lights looks too much like a Hyundai/Korean car (same case like the current Mazda 3) , which is definitely not to everyone’s taste. Mazda should have carry over a bit , some of the rear-end design cues from the last generation Mazda 3 or 6 into this car.

• sorry la…i admire it..but ur launch too late..ill buy other car instead..

• Copy paste on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Mazda is the Japanese Audi. Copy paste for all models. But at least Audi models have unique rear lights and slightly different interior designs for each model. Mazda just copy pastes everything from front to back to interior =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:48 pm

cramped and impractical if compared with the honda city

otherwise, looks the biz compare to its peers…

will find few homes but will not outdo the city

• Ibrahim on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Do you think everybody looks for interior space in a car? Get a lorry then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Almera on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:25 pm

You are right not everybody looks for that but normally its the minority or niche market that does not demand for larger interiors.
        Cars like mazda and ford are very good drivers car but you would hate being the rear passengers and you can’t fit large or long items into them. Try fitting a 54″x 36″ painting into your car and see if it fits into any of the B segments. I was surprised that it fits into the new City and can still have 2 adults in front at a comfortable seating position
        So its practicality and comfort versus driving pleasure.

• reflector headlamps ? Big No to me

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:12 pm

I still think Kodo works a lot better on Mazda’s bigger cars. The 3 isn’t as well executed as the 6, and likewise, the 2 isn’t as good as the 3.

But it does share a similar profile to the first generation 3 albeit with more curves on the flanks. Whatever it is, this looks a hell lot better than the current oddball 2 sedan.

• gary gary on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:38 pm

We can now officially kiss the LED lights goodbye

• gary gary on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:38 pm

We can now officially kiss the LED lights goodbye

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 22, 2014 at 3:03 am

same problem like last mazda 2…looks a bit frumpy

• SURESH on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

looks exactly like my Hyundai Avante