Chevrolet Chaparral 2X Vision Gran Turismo for GT6

Chevrolet Chaparral 2X VGT-02

Chevrolet has revealed the Chaparral 2X Vision Gran Turismo (VGT) concept, a revolutionary interpretation of the ultimate race car, developed for fans of PlayStation 3’s Gran Turismo 6. Gamers can race the wild-looking machine by downloading an online update for GT6.

Developed as part of the VGT project, which celebrates the future of automotive design and innovation, the Chaparral 2X VGT concept is inspired by the innovative race cars Chaparral Racing and Chevrolet partnered on more than 45 years ago.

Known for unconventional race cars that shook up the motorsports world, Texas-based Chaparral Racing partnered with Chevrolet more than 45 years ago, pioneering now-standard methods and materials used in racing and production vehicles, including the composite monocoque chassis, lightweight-alloy powertrain systems, automatic transmissions for racing and progressive, active aerodynamics.

Chevrolet Chaparral 2X VGT-01

The Chaparral 2X VGT’s concept propulsion system is inspired by technology derived from advanced work targeted at space travel and future aircraft design. It features a mid-mounted laser beamed-energy propulsion system, which pulses beams of light that focus in a shroud, creating shock waves that generate tremendous thrust in the lightweight race car.

With a 671 kW laser, powered by a pack of lithium-ion batteries, and an air-powered generator to provide 900 hp worth of thrust, the Chaparral 2X VGT will be capable of a 386 km/h (240 mph) top speed in the video game with 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) acceleration capability of 1.5 seconds.

The propulsion system’s position in the composite chassis complements an unconventional yet highly active prone driver configuration – face down with the driver’s arms and legs splayed toward the wheels.

Chevrolet Chaparral 2X VGT-05

“Think of it as adapting a wing suit to a racing car, where the driver’s movements control certain aspects of the aero package. In many ways, the Chaparral 2X VGT is like racing wing suit, with a protective fuselage for ‘flying’ very low to the ground,” said Frank Saucedo, the man who oversaw the team that worked on the Chaparral 2X concept.

Other manufacturers have developed concept race cars for the Vision Gran Turismo project, but Chevrolet is one of the few to have transfered it from the digital world to a physical concept vehicle. See VGT concepts from Toyota, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Volkswagen and Mitsubishi to see which one you like best.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SkullJuJu on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:39 am

Racer X.

• For me at first sight I thought it was Speed Racer. Close enough? =P

• DonkeyKong on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:26 am

671kW laser powered by lithium ion batteries, in a car that’s slightly larger than a human being and with thin surfaces all around? I bet it only has enough energy storage to run a single lap..

And no, an air-powered generator won’t be practical in this car because, just look at it, where can you find any space large enough for a proper high-output turbine?

Well, maybe it’s suitable to be made 20 years later when graphene-based supercapacitors are commonplace and we’re able to harness wind power from aeroelastic surfaces instead of spinning heavy armatures of neodymium magnets..

• Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:34 am

Those who so syok sendiri saying how great Proton has R&D this and that, please take this as example and LEARN.

No need to R&D something already becoming COMMON SENSE. You don’t invest mil ringgit to R&D wheel should be round or square shape.

• JoeRadzif on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:46 am

wish to have race that have the futuristic cars like this beside the F1

• junaidi on Nov 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

tamiya car coming to life

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 24, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Interesting driving position.

I wonder if that would be better beyond aerodynamics. I suppose they have thrown out driving by the “seat of your pants” out the window with this one.

I suppose prime driver candidates will be ex skeleton sled runners.

• wow…must download it