VIDEO: Proton Satria Neo EV with 134 hp, 220 Nm Punch Powertrain switched reluctance motor

First of all, watch the video above. Look at how that Proton Satria Neo goes, and with nary a sound too, other than the front tyres struggling to grip the ground and that subtle electric motor whine as it puts its power to the ground through a single speed gearbox.

This is an experimental vehicle done up by Punch Powertrain, the company that supplies Proton its CVT transmissions. This particular car wasn’t commissioned by Proton as part of any project. According to a Punch representative, they picked the Satria Neo because they liked how it looked.

Under the hood is an electric motor that does 100 kW (about 134 hp) and 220 Nm of torque – the best part of all is that like all electric motors, peak torque is achieved at all rev ranges, so you get the full shove the moment you put your foot down on the throttle.

SATRIA-NEO-EV-PUNCH-2

The 660V electric motor is of the switched reluctance type, which is one of various types of electric motors such as induction type and permanent magnet synchronous motors. SR motors are apparently cheaper to manufacture, and are also simpler in construction.

Like most EVs, it uses a single speed gearbox, because of the electric motor’s torque spread. However, Punch also has a two-speed gearbox for car manufacturers who want to maximise both efficiency and performance. The whole system is designed to be very compact and Punch says the electric powertrain is ready to be developed if a customer is interested.

We earlier saw a prototype electric car based on the Proton Iriz showcased in South Korea, but that was developed by LG.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Enough on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 318
    • X baca ka? dalam artikel dah tulis ni R&D oleh Punch Powertrain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:45 pm

lol..this Punch using p1 car..not other way around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • Lord of the seven kingdom, king of the first man and the andals on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:46 pm

bodo tak baca. Proton have no part on the above project. It is done by punch

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 5
    • Offense on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

I’m a Neo driver and I found this offensive :D.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
    • Random on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Did you read the article? It says “Punch Powertrain picked the Satria Neo because they liked how it looked.”
      Proton didn’t ask for it. Blame Punch Powertrain la..
      Im a neutral doesn’t side any car manufacturer. But you sir are just talk out loud looking stupid..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 5
    • Walao A on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Tukar teh tak tukar tea bag lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • You may want to read the article again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • zamzama on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:56 pm

abang enough… tak baca komen dari awal ke? bukannya proton yg suruh punch buat kereta elektrik pada satria neo, sebenarnya punch yg letak prototype tu di satria neo sebab diorang suka akan reka bentuknya… proton takde kene mengena pon dgn projek ni…. wrote in malay by assuming u cannot brain english language.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • DrCooper on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:25 am

You really need to go back to school and learn to read…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • PreveLover on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

tido kaa? pegi buat cermin mata dulu laa, baru komplen….nmpk sgt sel2 otak kau tu tak berhubung…

• aaron on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:27 am

a proton basher with no brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • thedarkside on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:41 am

how about a PUNCH in the face?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Sudah sudah la jd bodo on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:39 am

kami memerlukan komen dr org bodo mcm anda…. br bnyk komen dan bole jd viral. ini dunia sekarang

• Eeh…Tak boleh jalan ni

• weeee on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:39 pm

C’mon proton hire them already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • danedz on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

implement for proton exora first hopefully..

• DrCooper on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:27 am

I second that…but hoping for second gen all new Exora not the current one

• rogaz on Nov 27, 2014 at 7:49 am

Impliment kat Alphard first because it so low power Toyota always like that lol

• najis on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Failure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 67
  • drMpower on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Where is the one developed by nash electric or something? U know this electric thing is easy to be researched on, particularly by a tertiary student doing master or phd

It seems proton r&d failed to take the level playing field when the world switched from combustion engine to electric motor. Last time company like proton can argue on its infancy years vs others who been producing vehicles 50-60 years before. Now with the playing field is even, because of the electric thing, rnd still cant put it right.

In this new millenia of automotive u got to have electrical engineers, and u got to see that years before it actually happen!

I am readily give proton two ideas – put two separate electric motors on the two wheels on the same axis. Or each one on all four wheels. And with a very good torque distributors, u get to spin each of the wheels at desired speed. Its like boating – the faster u want to move to the side, the speed at the wheel must be made faster. This way u can corner faster and get great lap time.

The second is speed retarder. Instead of getting the gear up, u slow down the motor by retarding the speed. And the wasted energy is fed to a electric turbo charger

Find me proton. I make u great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • I doubt you are in engineering line.
      As a student you can copy design from any journal as u like but in industry, you need to take care of technology and patents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Observer on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

oh great idea! where u get it from? Wikipedia?

• ayooo on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:23 am

Why dont u start by making a small RC car with four independent motors first? Prove the concept first then someone will buy you idea.

• darkermarker on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:14 pm

PUNCH just love the LOOK. NOT love the performance or handling. Read carefully.

Anyway, it’s not a product of Malaysia. The heart of the car isn’t malaysia. It’s just a mule car for testing.

The electrical system can be applied to any car…
    Nothing much to be too excited about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • RicoT on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:38 pm

EV cars are not suitable for Malaysia, especially in areas prone to floods. Would the occupants be zapped to death if they were to “accidentally” drive into a knee-deep flood?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:51 pm

No. You probably underestimate the lengths to which they go to ensure the system’s reliability. Electrical connections can be made to be waterproof with proper sealants and connectors.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:54 pm

by “they” I mean makers of electric vehicles in general.

• RicoT on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:22 am

Through time, connectors and sealant will deteriorate and electrical leakage will occur if submerged underwater in a flood. Another way the leakage could occur is by manufacturer’s defects or underestimation in design.

• Heng Lee on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:33 am

Are submarine sailors zapped to death when they dive and start their electric motors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • RicoT on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:25 am

Battery and motor unit in a submarine are located within the submarine. On the other hand, a car is not waterproof by design.

• DrCooper on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:30 am

You talk like Eletrical appliance in motorized vehicle just started yesterday…while it’s has been innovated long before even you grandfather was born..

• RicoT on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:41 am

Electrical appliances need an energy source, alternators and 12V/24V DC batteries in normal passenger cars. At these voltage, no harm is done to a normal human body.

In EV, we are looking at more than 600V of electricity, as quoted above “660V electric motor”, and the battery has equally rated supply voltage. When come into contact with 660V wires (or leakage through water in case of flood if not waterproof properly), it will leave a nasty burn, or cardiac arrest.

• donno on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:45 pm

I am really proud to read that a foreign entity says the elderly Satria Neo “looks good”

To me its design is evergreen, similar to a porsche 911. So please Proton, do some refreshments on its design, and please put the CFE turbo engine in it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • thedarkside on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

hopefully they wont scrap the model and build a new 3rd gen

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Punch is just pulling a selling pitch to Proton. Why they choose Neo, to show that their system can fit even a small car. Of course they needed to select one that was build to handle speed given the powerful torques from the motor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:19 pm

More likely they can just come up with a control unit for the motors to regulate the torque at low speeds rather than just building a new platform altogether.

• Basis on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:58 pm

The power of 240NM is available to pugeout /Mini/Citreon with little lag, from 1300 rpm all the way to 5000 rpm,

The twin scroll turbo perform flawlessly on 1.6 Turbo engine, and is 165BHP… thru 6 speeder.

Which is much better then this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • weeee on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:32 pm

The feel of an electric car is way different from a gasoline car. almost all EV has only a one speed gearbox which makes power delivery instantaneous.

• JustForThoughts on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:43 am

Being a fan of turbos myself, what i can tell you is. Yes, modern turbos have very little lag and a lower turbo threshold. But here’s the thing, an electric motor dishes out power INSTANTLY. Reason why the P1 or the 918 is electric powered down low and fuel powered up high. Think about it. If you’re still not convinced about what i have said, go to youtube and search EV West E36 M3. Compare oranges with oranges not oranges with apples.

• DrCooper on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:42 pm

No doubt, broad rpm band torque monster from tiny but complex 1.6l ‘suckers’ are impressive. but it’s more impressive if it come at literally at any rpm from a ‘melon’ that basically a stator and rotor (one of them don’t even move)

• Albert on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Is this satria neo promotion meant to distract from sales of Iriz which has stalled,due to the bad reports on the Punch gearboxes?
    If the children of Punch Gunalan can make gearboxes,I think there is more hope for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
  • Wildtrak on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Potong forever is potong.

No matter how paultan.org promote after being paid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 61
    • RoadRage (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Well too bad PUNCH didn’t pick cars from your beloved china

• Aero (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Punch chose the Satria Neo simply because the like how it looks ? ….

….

…. Dua tangan thumbs up !

Anyone here still remember when CUSCO chose the Satria Neo and modified them for use as rally cars in Japan ? That was in 2010, and it had to be one of the proudest moments ever for Proton, and Malaysians too. Here’s a really nice video of the CUSCO-tuned Satria Neo at the 33rd JAIA event in 2013 ( hopefully, my comment won’t be accidentally marked as spam because of this link ! ) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Je_m5LIYEc4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:10 pm

If I want to be reaaallyyy honest, I like how the Neo looks too. The face has aggression without being over the top. It’s really such a shame that the Neo didn’t spawn a proper successor to the original Satria GTi.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Same here ! I drove a Satria Neo R3 on Proton’s Shah Alam oval test track, and it was a pleasant surprise ! Managed 130 km/h on the 40-something degree bends, and it remained planted 24/7. Only did 3 laps because it was almost out of fuel, but I knew instantly from those few minutes that it was the enthusiast’s Proton. Pretty sure it will eat corners too, and the CPS versions have pretty decent power to weight ratio.

Sadly, the interior of the Satria Neo is its biggest letdown. Everything except the leather seats and head unit looked and felt cheap. The ergonomics were poor too, even for a car of this class. Compared to the brilliant Satria GTi, the Satria Neo, CPS or otherwise is just the former’s empty shell. But still, not a half-bad effort from Proton, but these days, the Satria Neo is damn near 9 years old and it really feels its age.

I doubt Proton will make a 3rd generation Satria anytime soon, they just can’t justify the return-on-investment.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:41 am

Interesting experience you’ve got at the Iriz launch carnival, was it? I agree with the interior being crap, so to speak. It can’t be helped as it was born in a time when Proton couldn’t care less about how people perceived the car’s interior. I remember Top Gear having an episode involving cheap and cheerful cars after the Wall Street financial crisis. They trashed its ergonomics, too.

A purpose-made enthusiast’s car is for more affluent times, agreed. The most Proton can do now is produce a warmer variant of one of their newer cars like how the Fiesta has an ST version. Heck, even the Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost is already a big upgrade over the standard Fiesta, so I don’t think they need to abandon enthusiasts entirely.

Iriz R3, 1.6 CFE, 6 speed Getrag MT, revised suspensions, strengthened chassis, yellow and black paint motif.

• well to be honest totally agree with you on the interior part. Infact it was scheduled to actually come out with the ghastly beige trim that was on the Gen 2 but a managerial change just before the launch of this car manage to change what they could.

However, I have to disagree that the Neo is a pale comprasion to the GTI. The Gti had the advantage of a stonking engine courtesy of Mitsubishi but chassis and suspension set up wise, the neo is light years ahead from the crude set up the donor car of the gti had. Though i agree it was havily reworked, it still cannot match even a plain vanilla Neo in chasis sophistication and suspension compliance. (note, i didnt say ultimate grip)

Mind you. unlike the older satria, a neo and a neo r3 arent all that different because the donor car is already good. With a little tinkering, it truly can transform itself into a giant killer as the chassis is good enough to take a lot more power without fuss and even the stock brakes are rated for 2.0 capacity engines(as if proton knew nobody would keep it stock) This are probably one of the reasons why the Japanese were impressed.

Despite having upgraded to a another car, I still keep my neo around as i beleive it still the best chassis in production today among all Malaysian cars and even many foreign makes. It is clear where most of the budget went during development whish is why is has shockingly bad ergonomics and interior But hey, it puts a bigger smile on my face then my German daily driver and that in itself is worth it.

• normal_user on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:11 am

wow a Satria Neo alongside fleet of Lambos, Land Rovers & Jags? That’s a huge achievement for a small carmaker. But sadly, the video didnt give enough shots of the Neo.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Yes, that was the point I was trying to iterate. A Proton among the world’s best supercars, and no one was laughing. Only in Japan. haha

There’s a lot of CUSCO Satria Neo videos on YouTube, but many are in Japanese. There’s even an actual Japanese review of it too; http://response.jp/article/2013/02/13/191154.html

• What the hell? Satria Neo now baru boleh wheel spin?! hahhaa…… too late already. My Nissan Sunny can do better than that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 39
    • Power Rangers on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:34 am

haha.. both are crap. ur Nissan Sunny and the Neo. Talk kok and syiok sendiri onli

• Farhan on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:11 am

What a disgusting piece of crap!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • danedz on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:02 am

organize one satria neo cup race similar to formula e to promote this technology..could be exciting..

• dingdong on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:37 am

this is the reason gov ceased its petrol subsidies.

• Neo Kaki on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:43 am

can engine swap with my neo ? always been waiting for this. for those who never drove a neo before. you would not understand how great feeling it is when you have a good handling car. oh this is nothing to do with politics , just pure enjoy driving. ;)

• SamKL on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:45 am

Many people still read the headline & post comment without reading & digest it to the last line.

Sorry to say majority Malaysian are still in the dark age – malas membaca!

• Observer on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:56 am

no dark age n middle age ppl read and learn from experience… hence all the technologies we have today… this is a problem with current population….totally spoiled, wanting to be spoon-fed, expecting everything to automatically drop on the lap, lazy and dreamy age generation…

• afiqms on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:04 am

and that is why they still vote for stewpid leaders in the GE~

• JoeRadzif on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:08 am

Real Wheel Drive ka tu?

• ProsNCons on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:17 am

I’m not sure why all of you arguing each other. Look at the other side Bros. ELECTRICAL! means NO FUEL! Wasn’t that enough for you guys? Regardless to any kind of model they’re using. As long as you don’t have to make your pocket rabak with the fuel price nowadays

• nabill (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:56 pm

they might say they choose the Neo bcos it looks good , and it does..but i also think thy choose the Neo bcos of the packaging…the neo has the least space efficient chassis and the least room interior wise , so the challenge is to make all those battries fit in the car and package it in a way that they can engineer something small and efficient that can fit other small cars..

• This is a good move & even better if they can make smaller motor with same power + performance.. I think Proton should took a part in this project & make it even smaller.. Current Irish Engine (make it Dual VVTi} + >75/<90kw motor + <3 liter per 100km = Price <RM70k… Dammed is good oledi & everybody don't care much on Fuel price anymore….

• KancilOniWor on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Move the electric motor at the back, Make it rear wheel drive. Tukar engine bay jadi bonnet!

• syahmi faiz on Apr 23, 2015 at 7:53 pm

wow i like the EV heart.