Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk8 to receive 10-speed DSG

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_022

According to an exclusive report by Auto Express, performance variants of the Mk8 Volkswagen Golf are set to feature the company’s revolutionary new 10-speed DSG gearbox along with a raft of technological upgrades. The gearbox itself was showcased earlier this year at the Vienna Motor Symposium.

The transmission has been designed to accompany Volkswagen’s MQB platform and is to be made available on the GTI, GTD and R variants while the more vanilla models get the seven-speed gearbox. As expected, the new transmission will help to improve fuel consumption and lower CO2 emissions.

Designed to handle up to 550 Nm of torque, the 10-speed DSG transmission is said to be the same size as the current seven-speed DSG. The future Golf GTD is also tipped to receive a more powerful version of Volkswagen’s new BiTDI engine – a twin-turbo diesel engine – which made its debut in the new B8 Passat.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_075

As for updates on the current variant, a facelift of the Mk7 Golf is due very soon, now that the company has adopted a new five-year life cycle. With this implemented, the public will get a completely new model every five years as opposed to the industry-standard seven-year cycle.

As such, the Mk8 Golf could make its appearance as early as 2017, with a facelift due only three years into the model’s life cycle as a result of the shortened life span.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ben yap on Nov 24, 2014 at 3:00 pm

more problems coming soon for future VW cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 30
    • trololo on Nov 24, 2014 at 3:13 pm

engage 1st gear, exhaust “fart” wow !
      2nd gear, exhaust “pop”
      3rd gear, exhaust “ploop”
      4th gear, “plarkkk”
      5th gear, “claaaarkk”
      6th gear, “craaaackk”
      7th gear, “clooonggg”
      8th gear, “clinggggg”
      9th gear, “riiinnngg”
      10th gear, harlloww VW !! my car dsg break down lahh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 32
      • belumcubabelumtahu on Nov 24, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Just because you are using a car with a gearbox from the stoneage era, doesn’t mean you can mock VW next step in gearbox technology…#sampaibilenakpakaitorqueconverter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 62
        • Aaron on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Torque converter and gearbox tu tak sama. TCs work the same as clutches and VW specifically uses auto clutches. DSG is a 1980s tech with its brothers S-Tronic and PDK, same concept. Why these other marquees so few complaints? This is proven that VWs in Malaysia comes from VWs faultiest and cheapest assembly line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • ccomot on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:28 pm

DCT with torque converter like acura

• Heng Lee on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:36 am

Acura has mild 201hp out of a 2.4l petrol engine.

The Golf GTD is a biturbo diesel with 240hp out of 2.0l

• DonkeyKong on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:03 am

Kalau tak tahu kejuruteraan di sebalik torque converter, tak payah cuba tunjuk pandai.. buat malu je..

• VGM Biggest Liars on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:05 pm

DSG sure to break down. VGM has been lying to Malaysians now for 5 years. VW Germany already said that even 2014 DSG cannot be used in hot countries and countries with traffic jams.

See VGM facebook comments. Until today got so many DSG breakdowns.

Bodoh, spend RM200,000 for problem after problem

• OpenMinded on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Hey bro, I’ve owned a Polo 1.4 TSI for nearly 2 years and I’ve sent my car to the VW SC last few months ago. They had changed the gearbox oil and update the software as well, so far my car got no problem. Personally,I’m very satisfied with their customer service. So i don’t really care about what people said in the VGM FB page.

• JAFPresident on Nov 24, 2014 at 3:57 pm

You make my day dude! :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • laksamana hang tu ah on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Go to engineering school bruder. Study first about gearbox technology, then only post here.

In future, all cars will be DSG, not just VW. Even Toyota’s, Honda’s and Nissan’s will be DSG. Why? Ok, go study first, then u will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 39
        • kancil type r hatchback 0.66v on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Hmm…I do think the future cars will only have 1 gear! Just like the TESLA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Macromedia on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Still in stone age is you la. Heard of tesla?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:04 am

LOL study first then you know?? Get real. Other gearbox tech like plain old torque converter auto and various CVT techs will be here for a long time to come. You are obviously not from an engineering school but just trying to sound smart.

• LokKee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

That’s why he said ‘ In future’..
            You will never know what are going to happen on the next day so please don’t just simply say without any evidence or prove.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Lol Damn

• Matthew on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:53 am

You never try ,you’ll never know..

• crywolf on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Why try if at the end I will cry?

• Matthew on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:00 pm

If you never try, you’ll never know the truth behind it. Perhaps, you’ll fall in love with VW in someday. :DD

• TeddyInTheHouse on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:15 pm

If you never try, you’ll never know the truth behind it. Perhaps, you’ll fall in love with VW in someday. :DD

• donkey on Nov 24, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Designed to handle up to 550 Nm of torque…
    But not designed to withstand daily air temperature of 33-35’c at traffic-jam of KL City Center, good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
  • Jerung on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Since when 5 gears is not enough? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • applegreen on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I dont care 10 gears or 20 gears but i wanna know is it dry clutch or wet clutch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Usavich on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:57 am

women prefer wet clutch? i think dry clutch handles better.

• MiniMee on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:10 pm

What my Chinese friends always tell me “Dont wear the big cap if you don’t have the big head”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • najib on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

old problem not resolved, another new problem coming, good luck buyers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Madness on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:32 am

Update yourself please..
      VW had claimed that all the DSG issues have been resolved..
      Even though old gearbox has problem, it doesn’t means new one also got problem.. Open your mind please..

• Update yourself please. Just because VW claim that DSG issues have been resolved does not mean its true. My Scirocco 1.4TSI had another mechatronic problem at 60000km where the gear cannot engage past 2nd gear. First case was at 30000km. 1 month in service center and parts still not yet arrive. No more VW for me ever again!
        Open your mind please…

• Peaceful on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Hello.. I’ve a friend who work at VGM.
          Do you mind to share more regarding to your car issue? I’d like to lend you a hand. Please provide me more information and if possible please provide me your car plate number as well. I’ll send all the information to my friend and he’ll help you to figure out a solution for this. Have a good day!

• FightAgainsttheLAW on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Hello Amen, I have a friend who work at VGM. I’d like to lend you a hand. Do you mind to provide me more information regarding to your car issues and if possible please provide me your car plate number as well. I’ll send the information to my friend and he’ll help you to figure out. Have a great day!

• sparcov on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:29 pm

You don’t need a 10 speed in town driving, highway yes.
    For extremely high speed like in Germany whereby it is common to drive up to 160 km/h and beyond on Autobahn, 10 speed helps a lot to reduce the fuel consumption and engine RPM.

In Malaysia, we travel mostly between 110 km/h to 130 km/h, i think 6 speed should be good enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • JB_KIA on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:40 pm

my 1976 3-speed Raleigh Chopper replica has never failed me till NOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:57 pm

the only 7 speed that never fails is the Shimano 7 speed gears on my bicycle…ultra reliable with a flick of a switch !!
    i honestly think all manufacturers should go to ZF headquarters n sign a contract for ZF to supple everyone with their wonderful realiable 8 speed auto..
    there must be a law against manufacturer using a DSG or a CVT….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • LOL.. Are you serious?
      Compared DSG and CVT with your Bicycle? -,-
      If your bicycle is more reliable, then you don’t have to buy a car anymore.. just take your bicycle..
      Everyone just take bicycle..if there is a law against DSG or CVT..

• Poloss on Dec 27, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Why you take sarcasm so seriously….you must be DSGian people…

• merc amg on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Fix your 7 speed first before shouting about 10 speed….

• DonkeyKong on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:07 am

43% more problems or 43% higher likelihood of a problem.. if it remains as dry clutch with crappy friction materials and mechatronic unit..

• Burden31 on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:07 am

VW has fixed all the DSG issue long time ago and had made announcement already.. what else u want? -,-
      Please google it first before posting at here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Afraid on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Go try buy a VW and see. Then you will know how VW owners feel instead of just talking crap.

• Burden31 on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Sounds like you know what their feel..
          Well.. Please share your personal experience if you have owned any VW before. Not just talking crap here.

• Afraid on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:24 pm

I have my own experiences which was a nightmare. Luckily managed to sell off my 3 year of Golf 1.4. At 28000km suffered first mechatronic problem and unable to engage above third gear. Second time at 61000km where same problem happened but this time stuck at second gear. Both times without a car for a month as there were no parts available. Try that and see how do you feel instead of talking crap here. Obviously i know how it feels as i have experienced it first hand.
            So go ahead and tell me what have you experienced before other than talking crap.

• TheAnonymous on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:02 pm

@Afraid
          Wow.. Seems like you had a very bad experience with VW.
          BTW, which version of Golf is that? MK5 or MK6?

• RicoT on Nov 24, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Will it gives you the feeling of driving a lorry? 10 gears..

• Sam tow truck on Nov 24, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Nice. My revenue will increase 10 folds with 10 more possibles fault on dsg. Yay…look like I will be able to afford a private jet soon. Thank you VW.

• SunnyLow on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

Everything has its own risk.
      you can’t worry too much about it
      If no one dare to try something new then now we’re still living in the jungle.

• moneyisypours on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:08 pm

VW,
        Give me warranty for ALL PARTS for 5 years then the money is yours

• Rammy on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

What is the line about a facelift Mk7 about? Isn’t it barely a year old?

• Rammy on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:47 pm

What is the line about a facelift Mk7 about? Isn’t it barely a year old?

• bendspear on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Dumb Stupid Gearbox- DSG

From Das Auta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Absolutkev86 on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:42 am

I wonder how useful will the ratios be when it is that short? I believe the 10 speed dsg is just for the headlines and records.

• only 2 years bumper to bumper real warranty, bet allianz will chicken out due to excessive claims..

• Leong Sui on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

Dude annoucement already mentioned that allianz has chicken out and vgm is taking back all the warranty issue, with this all claims are directly to vgm lar!

• Bernard on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:54 pm

The Golf GTI is arguably the greatest car in the world in its segment.

However, its far too expensive in Bolehland!!

• hahaha on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:05 pm

engage 1st gear, exhaust “fart” wow !
      2nd gear, exhaust “pop”
      3rd gear, exhaust “ploop”
      4th gear, “plarkkk”
      5th gear, “claaaarkk”
      6th gear, “craaaackk”
      7th gear, “clooonggg”
      8th gear, “clinggggg”
      9th gear, “riiinnngg”
      10th gear, harlloww VW !! my car dsg break down lahh

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/11/24/volkswagen-10-speed-dsg-gearbox/#ixzz3K3U6dEsg

• Keris Jawa on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I am not sure about it being the best car in the world (in its class) coz I’ve not driven them all. But the one thing I can say for sure is that it is the best car I have ever had! Now I don’t earn that much but when I get into my car I expect her to do what I want her to do and this car is more than oblige. Don’t get me wrong, I am not here to brag or take side, in fact I honestly believe that the Golf (not necessarily the GTI) should be the basic standard of car for everybody on this planet! So that people will finally realize how does it feel to actually ‘drive’ a car.
      Current Drive: VW GTI Mk7.
      Previous Drive: Proton Iswara 1.3, Proton Wira 1.5, Proton Satria 1.6 (manual, UK model), Honda Jazz (Thailand CBU), Merc B Class (No offence but I found the build quality inferior to that of VW).

Cheers guys! Peace yo!

• sunnylow on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Well.. i agree with you as I’m a Golf MK7 owner too and so far I’m very satisfied with my car. I like the performance of this car especially the DSG as it can achieve faster shift times and i can even cut off those cars on highway just in a sec. That was great!

• Mandy Law on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Well.. I totally agree with you as I’m a Golf MK7 owner too and so far I’m very satisfied with my car. I like the performance of this car especially the DSG as it can achieve faster shift times so i can easily cut off those cars on highway just in a sec. That feeling was great!!

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:05 pm

10 speed is not enough? 30 speed then because Fast & Furious!!!!

• My polo sedan Tsi gearbox always spoil. Broken 4x in 1 month.

• Areyouserious on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Hey dude, Polo Sedan got no TSI and TSI wasn’t a gearbox.. Do some research first before making noise here.. BTW,are you really a polo sedan owner?

• Polo Sedan on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:02 pm

My Polo Sedan TSI gearbox always spoil. 4x in 1 week.

• Now I’ll know what it feels like to shift gears in 2 Fast 2 Furious