DBKL renames eight roads, including Jalan Duta, Jalan Khidmat Usaha, Mahameru, Jalan Ipoh stretch

dbkl

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has confirmed to us the renaming of eight roads in the city:

• Jalan Duta to Jalan Tuanku Abdul Halim
  • Jalan Khidmat Usaha to Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah
  • Jalan Ipoh (from Jalan Segambut junction to Jalan Pahang junction) to Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah
  • Persiaran Duta to Persiaran Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin
  • Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah to Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin
  • Lebuhraya Mahameru to Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar
  • Persiaran Mahameru to Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar
  • Jalan Semarak to Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra

UPDATE: KL mayor Ahmad Phesal has clarified that the correct new name for Jalan Duta is Jalan Tuanku Abdul Halim and not Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim as stated in the press release.

These roads are now named after the current and past Yang di-Pertuan Agong. Work on the installation of new signboards will begin tomorrow (November 26), DBKL says.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Gunigugu on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:23 am

What’s the rationale behind this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 516 Thumb down 47
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:44 am

Shiok Sendiry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 534 Thumb down 21
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:33 am

From a short road name to a “Longer” road name.

Making people suffer?!!!

Who make the decision to change?? A total “idi**”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 340 Thumb down 12
        • Kontrak For Phesal on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:59 am

DBKL instead of doing silly things like this, please clean up your officers. Your officers are so dirty and all of them are asking money money money in pasar malams.

Your enforcement officers are dirty to the core. They are heavy on the take. Always pressing gerai owners for payments to close an eye.

And your renovation department is also so dirty to the core. Nearly every building in KL or house got illegal unapproved extensions. Your officer do go to apprehend these offenders but after angpau is given, everything close on eye.

So many of us suffer with neighbour walls right on our faces. My neighbour house alone is 2 feet from my house. Even when he kentut also I can hear. Every nigh when he main his wife, I can hear is wife screaming.
          When I complain to the officers about his illegal extension that goes 2 feet from my house, my neighbour gives them a couple of thousand ringgit ang pau. Kes tutup.

So, DBKL, concentrate on more important things. Your departments are so so so corrupted to the CORE and yet you got time to change names of roads.

Bagus lah UMNO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 511 Thumb down 22
          • Same L0rrr on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Who can remember such names? How can you expect someone to differentiate Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah and Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah?

What’s next? Lebuhraya Utara Selatan changed to Lebuhraya Datin Seri Hajah Rosmah binti Mansor??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 445 Thumb down 11
          • Tong Kosong on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Sad, we have *tupid leader here in Malaysia. No progress on facilities but probably planting tree replace Pokok Bunga (& cutting tree again when they grow bigger), Billion for Signboard, and next whole Building demolish to build new one after few month renovate.

What is the rational?
            1. New road with those new name – is Good.
            2. Avoid big tree for divider- is good.
            3. Maintain the renoveted building – use ICT to send message/communication is good.

Not cost billion.
            & you can build new road w/o tax, pay local labour extra with high tech tool (no need burma/bangla/crime), modern toilet facilities with CCTV & auto alarm for no flush.

No bombastic PEOPLE here.
            Stupid VIP to proud got tender for Change Signboard & making others difficult. “Arrogant VIP” thinks same level as the real inventor like Jobs, gates or Ramli burger.

Idea too stupid for common people to judge as Intelligent level never increase. Lower than stupid rated low than Condo for Cows (the most stupid benchmark last 5 years).

Finally tax will increase to pay the stupid VIPs luxury living.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
          • latex on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

any proof eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
          • Kontractor on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Main his wife also want proof kah?

• RM1 billion to Upgrade on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:00 am

This move alone will cost the Gomen RM$1 billion or more. Gomen ask us to tighten our belts. Tanam kangkung. Makan jagung. Ayam RM1 per bird.

Everything needs to be upgraded. The RMAF and PDRM Aerial surveillance equippment in all their helicopters and planes that scan KL need to be upgraded. The software alone cost so a bomb.

The company upgrading the software will charge the government maximum. I wonder who owns the software company?

Even KLIA and all the airports need to upgrade their software and maps on their systems to update their radar system. I wonder who owns the company to upgrade this software?

Remember many years ago got glitch in the Radar software, nothing happened to the company at all. Nearly caused massive plane crashes. This what happens when you get a RM1 company that was set up last month.

The same with MAS. MAS is being bought over by a small company set up last month.

It is time Government stop giving jobs, contracts and business to RM1 companies that we set up yesterday as this encourages cronyism and corruption.

• So MUCH of ANGER on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:11 am

The Sultan of Selangor or the King should strip all the Datukships of all the heads in DBKL for promoting such wastage and using their names in vain without consultation with the public.

Each head in DBKL is a Datuk and the Datukship need to be withdrawn with such public protest. News has gone viral on the Internet. Everyone is talking about it. So much anger in the public now. Infact this news alone has made a record 36,000 postings on Facebook, a record for Paultan. No news has ever made such number of postings.

There is so much of anger in the public now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • wisdom on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:08 am

Federal Territory Land Office has only ten car parks for us good paymaster Rakyat to pay Cukai Tanah Taksiran . No LRT ,no bus stop,no money for elevated carparks also ; open air roads ; Tq so much from concern Citizens or those who do it themselves allocation of budget or those who rather have their own lands title in their hands. Oh ? Sorry , any other suggestion which not take from your collection from budget ? Hmmmm, FT may have a service for security guard for hire in event we have our original land titles FT Land Office to present for transfer ,charge , collection after discharge ?have money for SMS and also guard ? Or offer insurance for titles in transit ! Perhaps tie up with Insurance company for Rakyat to purchase ? Sir FT ,try carry land titles in name of Govt of Msia and Khazanah from Merdeka carpark basement (dark oh) and count your blessing true motorcyclist on the road who are not snatch thieves . For Rakyat wisdom is when you have original land titles ,make sure look as if you are a maid from Soup kitchen with a bag of not land titles but soup .

• Kontrak For Phesal on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:54 am

This is so typical. what they want is contracts. You see, the person making the new road signs and sign boards will charge DBKL say RM1 million per signboard.

And of course, you will see, DBKL will be glad to pay it.

Dig further and you will see its Phesal’s wife’s sister’s son who has got the contract.

This is BN style. This is UMNO style. Everybody knows how it works.
        Mark my words, just to upgrade all the road signs and sign boards as well as national maps and peta will cost RM100 million.

Oh yeah, the company printing the new peta and maps also will be some Ministers relative or proxy or Phesals proxy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 329 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Do you know how much it would cost to change the road signboard, road names?

It is all about money. Didn’t know changing road name also can do business.

DBKL I salute you. Better work there than selling cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
        • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Morons at work. Rest assured, when the bastard govt is dethroned, PR will restore the roads back to their original names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • First is Penang bridge, now all the Jalans are renamed to Sultan’s name?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:04 pm

1. Too free, must show something, to be presented as hard work, and perceived as pandai.
        or
        2. No projeck, no economi. Occuring too often and everywhere.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Usavich on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

Taxi, Taxi..

“Taxi driver, I want to go Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah through Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar then into Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, after that circle around Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 861 Thumb down 12
      • annnnnnn on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:05 am

really shiok sendiri, i don’t know what they want to do,
        change to even weird name without any reason, no point!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 14
        • Where is kzm and tng and Maserati(Official)? on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Don’t worry. These 3 UMNO crony supporters will come in now and tell you that all the names are old and not appropriate for Malaysia. They will tell you UMNO is the bestest and that we must listen to UMNO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrr on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

The taxi driver will pissed and send you to Istana negara straight.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • Bobby (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:58 am

Only Banana Republics in the world will change names of country and road. This is another one the country does not want. It shows that those in this position is only good for changing names. What is the end result? Chaos!!!! And some a$$hole will be shamelessly laughing and enjoying the suffering of the masses in KL. WTF!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 11
      • Bapa borek anak rintik…like proton lah….from perdana >> accord >> accordana…just change name only mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • tunjukkan bukti proton keluarkan accordana…

kalau nak main kutuk tu, sedap2 hati kau ja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • thoutmosis on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:10 am

The rational is very clear!!!
      The cousin of a cousin of BN member has a company that provide sign board

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 8
    • Time to make some money for relevant parties, change the new signboards which cost few hundred thousands each. More signboards changed, more money in pocket.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
    • MoFaz (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

I would understand if they’re trying to avoid confusion between Jalan Duta, Pesiaran Duta, and Lebuhraya Mahameru, Pesiaran Mahameru… but why with longer and even more confusing names? I’ve heard that Mahathir do not want any road to be named with his name… better to avoid a person name or that person might think the road are his / her road.

person 1: woii.. kenapa kau tukar lorong sesuka hati? ko ingat ini jalan bapak ko ke?
      person 2: yes, nama jalan ni nama bapak aku!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 7
    • yukon jakun on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:57 pm

to update

• Aaron on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Clear evidence our government agencies, are creating work to make themselves look busy. When there is more apparent task at hand to be taken care off.

• Adam K on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Their should tar the road instead. There’s so much pothole in KL street/highway. Such important task never put in priority instead rename the street and rebuilding the DBKL 2 building. Corruption!

• WTF!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 13
  • wtf?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loois on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:27 am

new name is too long i guess?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 8
    • Exactly, no point changing ths name . It’s even more confusing and troublesome. Jalan Duta to Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim? Jalan Semarak to Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Shaekey on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:18 pm

People will find the short form, just like Jalan TAR is actually Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman.

• mr. Logic on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

meanwhile, a driver trying to read a street name as this is his 1st time through this street.. “jalan tunku abduuuu…..” suddenly BOOOM!!!… he just collide with the front car because he trying to focus reading the long street name.. the end.. seems legit right..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 3
  • oil_worker on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:31 am

what’s wrong with the old names? Do they soooo much time and money to do this? Better spend to fix all the potholes instead…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 357 Thumb down 10
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:33 am

Why do they insist on keeping renaming road names. All your GPS and maps would be suddenly out of date.

The original names are part of our heritage.

KL is constantly expanding, if someone wants to have a road named after them, there would be plenty of new roads to name.

The same thing happened to Ipoh some 20 odd years ago when they renamed all the old “heritage” names. Until now, I still don’t know what the “new” names are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 284 Thumb down 5
    • Critique (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:09 am

Good question!

Though I am sure the ‘new’ are nice, but what are the benefits of this exercise to the people of KL?

Are there any benefits at all?

Cheers :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
      • Critique (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:10 am

*’new’ road names

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • tagline on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:14 am

As usual to all Malaysian – u tak suka u keluar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 81
          • thomasNOTmyname on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:37 am

tagline you also not origin from this land. SoHigh Hater!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
          • Critique (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Haahaha… Am surprised there are ppl who still use this phrase… Fyi, sudah lapuk larr (it was never that fresh to begin with) :)

Conceived by dim-witted individuals with no imagination. Kalau nak menyindir pun, biarlah kreatif sikit.

• Syukri Lajin on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:49 am

I’m sure this will reduce traffic jam by 90% and accidents by 60%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
        • Critique (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:09 pm

hahahaha… If reduce means, then I will change my taman road name myself!

:)

• adam mana pulak ni on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

could be worse guys. it couldve been Jalan Ibrahim Ali or Jalan Bunkface.

did i just compare Bunkface to Ibrahim Ali? yeah i did

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • At the time when you squeezing $$$ from people, you want to spend more $$$ on this? What is the benefit for us? Suka-suka can change? Are you gonna change country name also?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 9
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:40 am

Cost us a lot to. If your business is at the affected roads, think of the things you need to change. Addresses of all your stationary, and you have to deal with clients who no longer know where you are.

I wonder if POS Malaysia would have a grand time loosing our mail. Even now, my mail is still getting lost.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 6
    • BeeBee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:18 am

Malaysia disappear on the map! Bolehland now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
    • How great suggestions. Tomorrow malaysia will name it Barisan mational

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • DBKL got nothing better to do izit?
    Now ppl need to re-familiarize the road name.. All the name so damn long..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
  • stupidgvmt on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:37 am

Why do useless things like renaming all roads to the names of these people? Why not fix your useless pedestrian lights in the city? Why not fix the bottle-neck roads causing jams? I think we need to rename out govt from BN to PR soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 12
    • BeeBee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:21 am

Just change the party name is useless. We must change the seats name in the parliament!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Justin on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

To me BN UMNO is ok though I am a chinese.. The prob is those moron in the hot seats. Thats all. If a peace loving Muslim leader that practices tolerance and corruption free. I will support UMNO. Their hak melayu agenda is their prob. I dont qs their rights because they are TUAN but they dont simply qs or take our rights away. Respect works 2 ways. =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 33
  • haiekal on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 142
  • Babak on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:38 am

Jalan Bapak Engkau!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 7
  • nubians on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:41 am

Err… Why with the sudden change tough?
    Is Google Maps and Waze will be updated with the new name scheme?
    It will kinda confusing if road and GPS have different name scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Daniel Chew on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:31 am

Waze will follow suit once the signboards are up, with alternative name as the current ones but will not be shown but still searchable

• I Can’t imagine what DUKE will be called now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • PreveLover on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

TAHUKE ? what a joke…PBTs’ in Malaysia are useless…core job never done properly, now got time to rename roads ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • MyviLoverz2013 on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

will be called PUKE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:44 am

First they aim to spend 300 mil to demolish a newly renovated office and replace it with new one, now this nonsense? How many addresses, gps maps, printed maps have to be updated? From all the beneficial things they could actually do they went on with this, these people in the higher ups, are they born out of incestuous relationships? Cuz they damn well behave like effing retards

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
  • Steven YONG on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:44 am

Ok… DBKL can rename the road …. But please keep the old name at below the new name..
    Example…
    Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim
    ( jalan duta)
    Better right..
    Agree with the bro….
    DBKL should maintain all the Kuala Lumpur roads…
    Such like street lights… Traffic lights… Roads conditions…
    Roads line faded…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 3
    • That’s what they’re doing. The old names will be written below the new ones

• applegreen on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:46 am

Looks like their cronies wanna make $$ on new signage along the road

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
  • drchan on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

Huh!! As if our roads not confusing enough , now with the names changes, expect more confused commuters especially foreigners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • drchan on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:29 am

Solaris Dutamas —> SoLaris Tunku Abdul Halim Mas??
      Ewwwwww!~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • Sparcov on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:49 am

This is why Malaysia lacked of history, all history being replaced one by one.

My grandparents used to say the name of the road at their era’s, up to my time, name has been changed…

This is for local’s, what about tourists revisted Malaysia?
    I’m looking for Jalan Mahameru, is it Mahameru? no it is lebuhraya sultan iskandar, where the heck is this ? Johor?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 2
  • Adrian on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:52 am

wtf for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • DBKL are too free nothing take thing to do……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Hafeez3103 on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:55 am

So will these road be traffic flowy during peak hours with the name change? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • thedarkside on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:55 am

all these are very famous road lah in KL….why need to change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • BeeBee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:29 am

Now they change the road name, later they change the building name, state name, country name… till one day they change your surname.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • adullah on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:01 am

I will never vote for Umno again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 8
  • Paul Wee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:02 am

Jalan Duta is such a prestige name for a prestige area in KL. Sad to see such a brand go to waste. I question DBKL’s agenda and the fact that there is no public consultation involved. What can i do to stop this from happening???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • When BN fall you get back the old name
      just dont vote for BN you should able to get back the old name in 3 years time

• 03188lee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

All these popular roads… If change to shorter name I won’t mind… But changed to damn long names~!!! Worst from Duta(4 characters) to Tunku Abdul Halim(15 characters) =.=”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • economic boost on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:06 am

this is to boost the oil price. Sesak jalan guna lebih petro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • pejal on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

Dear Datuk Bandar.. Nowadays Malay people always said ‘Simpan kebodohan tu untuk anak cucu kamu’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
  • Nicholas on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

Sometimesi think DBKL have TOO MUCH TIME ON THEIR HANDS!. Do repair works on the roads more that change name lah !

What a waste of public funds to change all the signboards!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • hahahah on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:08 am

Tak habis2 kerja nak menjilat!! Dato bandar nak kejar tansri ke nk tukar semua ni? DBKL has always been the municipal run by donkeys but still PJC holds the top position in being a donkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Nothing wrong on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

actually this has been going on for quite a while. Like Brickfields has been rename to Jalan Tun Sambatan. After a while people will get use to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
    • ah boi on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

er i still call brickfields as brickfields as well as everyone i know

• Kiwigal on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:04 pm

20 yrs down the road, my parents and their own parents still call and recognise those old colonial-named roads as their original roads. As it should be since they had been thus named for decades, and carries a wealth of history and significance with their very names. It is a sad thing indeed, changing these well-known road names to something else indeed. And for what purpose???

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:00 pm

And thats a piece of lost culture. Nothing wrogn it seems. Maybe its not your history or you don’t view it as history worth keeping.

Do you even know the historical importance of Brickfields? And how it got its name?

• stupid malaysian on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

Maybe I am stupid and not good in memorising name. What is the rationale behind this action? and What do you expect to remember all this similar name? Yes to you it is unique, but to us it is just S I M I L A R N A M E .. I guess they are too free to do all this is it !?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • BeeBee on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

In the year end report you can see why.
      “10 Billion use in renaming…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • noreasonwhy on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:12 am

Road name should be shorter the better. Not to disrespect, are we going to take sejarah class on the road?

Then 5 years later, all change to past PM names. And it repeats again every 5 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • lucifer on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:12 am

Actually, they already named our roads to past PM names. Jln TAR, tun razak, etc.

• Status Quo on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:12 am

If weeeeeee have nothing better to do…do the simplest things. That’s it!!!.
    What used to be Tiger Lane in Ipoh became something else. The same think tank maybe being move to KL!!. All about to pay due respect to ancient, forgotten culture…to always remember them….to maintain their status quo…..blah…blah…blah..

• spongewai on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:16 am

APESAL NAK TUKAR? ADUI, CONFUSED LEH

• DonkeyKong on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:19 am

Brainless idiots doing useless nonsense. If these syiok-sendiri uneducated bumpkins want to know why Malaysia is still a third-world country, they just have to look at themselves. These “leaders” and “authorities” are the ones dragging this country down the drain.

But of course, it’s a tall order to expect them to realize what a bunch of pathetic, inefficient, insecure, history-revising, rent-seeking idiots they are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • the driver on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:20 am

Years ago they replaced the name of Jln Mountbatten and the rakyat correctly complained because Mountbatten was really worthy to have a road named after him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • kneegrow on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:20 am

Why the fuck do they need to change the names of the road in 2014 where everything about the roads are already as fucked up as it could be.

And them names are longer than the lifespan of a hamster. stupidest decision ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • joanna on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:21 am

Ini bodoh. Mentaliti dunia ke-3. Negara maju mmg x tukar name jln2 yg dah mmg orang knal dr dulu ni? Mnghabiskan duit je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

Hi All..

Pls be bold in what u all wants to say. Of course the main reason why they change all the famous and main roads in KL is to make Malaysia sound and look more like *ehem.

Those who said i am racist are d*** freaks..

it is sooooo sooo obvious. Clearing off all our history to make way for fake history.

Pls GOD. Save Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
    • It might have been better if the British never left. People can say Malaysia as an independent country has achieved lots of achievements but behind those achievements lies all the dirty truth. Just my 2 cents.

• Pororo on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

Tukar nama jalan, jalan tetap jem jugak… jalan lubang sana sini, line pun tenggelam timbul traffic light kejap cepat, kejap lambat, lampu jalan kejap nyala, kejap xnyala… xdemaknenye laa DBKL and the name also quite confusing laa to people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Crying Woman on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:26 am

Syukurlah, Malaysia aman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
  • squall_shinoda on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:26 am

DBKL is now making life miserable not only to KLites but also to outsiders and tourists. Do they think that KLites can find their ways easier with the new road name changes…? Do they expect outsiders and non-KLites to navigate through the city easier without getting lost…? Do they expect all our letters arrive at the correct address without ending up being unsent…? And does DBKL expect that taxi drivers are able to send passengers to the newly-renamed roads without extra charges…? They should instead come up with a proper municipal route numbering system so that motorists won’t get lost even if certain roads are renamed. Bodoh punya DBKL, buat malu je, even Shah Alam can do a lot better as the first (and only) city to have its own municipal route code system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • WRONGINFO! on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:27 am

Hey Jonathan, Jalan Duta new name is EXISTING Agong, not past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Daniel Chew on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:28 am

hmm…. dbkl made a blunder here… should be TUANKU Abdul Halim, not Tunku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:30 am

renamed with even worst name which is long n difficult to remember.. idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Sandeep on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:32 am

What the hell…Stop trying to rename the roads as it will hel to reduce the traffic konon!!! Bloody dumbass DBKL that has nothing better to do….. Give those names to the new roads ..not rename them !!!
    DBKL, have a talk with the City folks & see if your ideas makes any sense….

• Rosmah on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

I want sg.besi road to change to my name!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • normal_user on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:36 am

Suka-suka hati tukar nama. Pardon me, its not that I’m disrespecting the Sultans. But then, GPS and courier service will have major headache in locating those addresses.

Imagine this, let say u want to go to Jln Sultan Yahya Petra (Jln Semarak) or Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah (Jalan Khidmat Usaha), Waze will tell you to go to Kota Bharu or Kuantan airport. If u totally rely on GPS, u won’t realize that mistake until u found yourself queuing at the Gombak-Karak toll..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • you think your father’s road ah? change without asking rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • tagak on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:41 am

It’s make the rakyat more confuse and DBKL is changing the history of certain area. it’s more appopriate that new township be name as the SULTAN name and the rakyat can remember.

• B.LIFE on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:41 am

haiyo….why la???
    buttock icthy izzit!!!
    don’t change it when its not broken!!!

• what a waste of time. more confusions and eventually revert to the old name…. Bunch of jokers running DBKL

• While I don’t really mind the renaming (Jalan Sultan Ismail was Treacher Road after all, as Jon Tan mentioned), the question is…why now? I though we are working to reducing deficits? Need to spend the budget surplus, eh DBKL?

• William on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:43 am

Imagine A saying:” oh, we will go to certain place by using Jalan Sultan.” B: “Which Sultan are you talking about?” LAME…

• Alberto on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:43 am

KL eh.. once you trapped, there’s no way to dig out no matter how fancy the name is… pusing2 tak jumpa jalan keluar.. haiyaa..

• Visitor on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

I have sugggestion of my own, if DBKL insist on name change:

Jalan Duta to Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim – Jalan Abdul Halim
    Jalan Khidmat Usaha to Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah – Jalan Ahmad Shah
    Jalan Ipoh (from Jalan Segambut junction to Jalan Pahang junction) to Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah – Jalan Azlan Shah
    Persiaran Duta to Persiaran Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin – Jalan Syed Sirajuddin
    Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah to Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin – Jalan Mizan
    Lebuhraya Mahameru to Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar – Jalan Iskandar
    Persiaran Mahameru to Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar – Jalan Tuanku Ja’far
    Jalan Semarak to Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra – Jalan Yahya Petra

Drop the ‘Sultan’ or any other gelaran (except when it is very appropriate such as Tuanku Ja’afar)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Jalan Duta to Jalan AH
      Jalan Khidmat Usaha to Jalan AS
      Jalan Ipoh (from Jalan Segambut junction to Jalan Pahang junction) to Jalan SAS
      Persiaran Duta to Persiaran SS
      Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah to Jalan MAZ
      Lebuhraya Mahameru to Lebuhraya Jalan Iskandar
      Persiaran Mahameru to Persiaran Ja’afar
      Jalan Semarak to Jalan YP

• Johnny on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

So this is what DBKL has been working on a daily basis rather than FIXING ALL THE POTHOLES!!!!

• Adrian on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:45 am

Protest la apa lagi…

• Pandai on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

Ini sajalah dungu dungu di DBKL boleh buat.
    Makan gaji buta … kerja macam celaka!

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

If i wanna go jalan ipoh in the future using GPS.. i’ll never be able to find it.. coz I wont be able to remember the new name, which i will need to key in to go to jalan ipoh… just great!

• slowly abolishing and replacing it with malay/islamic names, just like they remove any part of history books that involves chinese or indians during the early days of malaysia history. ain’t it obvious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • car_enthu on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Nope, don’t be racist. Indian and Chinese who really contributed to the country has a road named after them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • starlord on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:37 pm

lol don’t be ridiculous and played the race card. are you blind there’s a bunch of road named after chinese and indian or even british colonial names. don’t go to that part dude

• AVH (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:52 am

There is no justification or benefits with the name change. The change of signs itself is a huge waste of money and add to the fact most businesses have to change their addresses and map ASAP.

Jalan Duta and Jalan Ipoh itself are big and well-known names, is like changing the name of Nurburgring or Abbey road. And as an added opinion, not to insult the malay way of naming but the road names are now longer, try remembering that!

• Stupid, gonna be nightmare for tourists.

• Winston on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:54 am

Waste time and confusing.

• so, with these powerful names of our kings, the traffic shall be smoother than ever…LOL…
    buatlah apa yg patut dibuat…isshhh..bodoh betul

• with all due respect, these names are so mouthful, it is very impractical.

example: many still refer the 2nd Penang bridge as 2nd Penang Bridge, what is the full name again? erm…. wait let me google.

imagine this:
    Hey Taxi, I need to go to Jalan Du… oh no wait, let me google.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Mat Kamus on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:01 am

yer, pakai nama Raja dan Sultan dan Yang Di-pertuan Agung…hakikatnta kita xda identiti….myusahkan…xda kerja lain ker..jalan dalam bandar buruk, jam sana sini…bodoh bedengung

• How’s this for a conspiracy theory. Almost all roads lead up to PWTC and it so happened that today is the start of the UMNO General Assembly. Coincidence?

• A road name should be limited to maximum two words for easy to remember.

• There’s no use of renaming. I see more inconvenience and wasting of public funds to change signages.

• There’s no benefit in changing except inconvenience and wasting of public funds.

• sohaibn on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:12 am

For fu*k sake!! (that’s all i can say)

• satish on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:15 am

Fengshui maaa… after dis jamm tarak…

• Low Budget on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:15 am

Blady Shiit!
    My Papago GPS map device can’t find the new road names.
    Some people need to reprint latter heads, name cards, change address, FCxK lah.

• xtau lah.. penat dah on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:18 am

DBKL buat keje apa kat ofis? kasi susah rakyat atau kasi senang rakyat.. benda x rosak buat apa pi kcau.. elok elok jln mahameru, semua pun tau.. jalan duta, taxi driver tau camne nak pigi.. ini kasi tukar sultan sana, tuanku sini.. ooi, masa byk ke? naik taxi cakap pun susah.. keje jilat menjilat nie kurang kan la.. kita pun nak cari makan.. jgn kasi susah kat kite.. nanti turun padang demo, cakap kite tak sayang negara walhal yg buat susah dulu, dbkl start jugak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Demo kat Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim….say what? Where is it? Nak buat demo pun confuse tak tahu kat mana? Hahaha

• Esmond on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:21 am

I’m opposed to modify road name !

• aiyoooo also want to complaint about this? come on.. chill ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Lawrence on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:25 am

Complete waste of taxpayers money. Also completely brainless suggestion, wasting time and making things far more inefficient.

Typing the road name on an address, GPS navi is gonna be so much more hassle as it’s new and confusing as well as much longer.

Where and what in any way possible is this beneficial???

• MrPoppyplants on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:25 am

I guess it has been a productive year for them. Made so many changes.

• takashi on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:25 am

stupid….like nothing to do…..can i ask u (DBKL)…wat the point rename????can deduce JAM??can Make economics better???it jz make UR DBKL pocket MOney Only

• abahko on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:26 am

wtfisthisshat?! is dbkl too free and has nothing better to do?

why renaming it while it had been used for a long time ago? dbkl you’re making the people confusing with those names where its not necessary and meaningless.

• Alan Lee on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:28 am

very knn wasting time and our money!

• Naomi on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:28 am

Another scheme to make money. Every time they change the road name, dunno how much money being dumped into making new road signs. Of course, citizens will complain so they will change back to the original names. New road signs had to be done again since the old ones had been turned into scraps. One more time to make $$ for the cronies. Remember Jalan Alor turning into Jalan Kejora and then turned back to Alor? Exactly what is happening now la!

• may be dbkl should changes these names to Jalan Kit Siang, Jalan Karpal Singh, Jalan Theressa Kok; then all of those moron here will shout ” Yes! You’ve done a great job DBKL!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • do not make this about race please

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I would think twice of having my name put in to replace these long standing historical names.

The public outcry and repercussions is alone enough to warrant a a request for my name to be withdrawn.

I wonder how would the Malay rulers feel if their names are being mired in such controversies.

• Peasant on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:31 am

ISA…Don’t mess with them.
    P.s. Migrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Think I would have to keep a note in my car just in case I forgot the names. Damn bloody long and confusing.

• toyotafan on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

Funny, Wilayah Persekutuan is a Federal State and names like these are out of place.

• bmpower on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:37 am

They rename the name with Agong’s name.

To claim they are the best ever rakyat’s for Tuankus
    To bodeks and claim they are superloyal and the only care about Royals.
    To claim they are heroes for palace.

But yeah… that’s only the best thing they can do.

By renaming the road name, logically for them, the affect are :
    1 – Can reduce traffic jam.
    2 – Can avoid road flood.
    3 – Can whatever..

• Jalan Jangan Main Main la UMNO

• zhafran on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

do u guys know we can do bangkangan on this? i’m trying to get hold of the Corporate Planning department DBKL to see the bangkangan procedure. lets exercise our rights! we are the bosses.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:46 am

Good move by DBKL

Many of you have forgotten the culture and history and Malaysia, hence criticizing non-stop on the policies driven out by the government

This move will bring back Malaysians to their fundamentals and remember, reminisce and appreciate the good work done by all these great leaders, and instill a sense of patriotism every time they use these roads, and hopefully will be supportive of the government instead of planning to overthrow them or leave the country

My fellow dear Malaysians, its time to bersyukur and not buat kacau and be a good citizen

Syabas DBKL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 97
    • Where is kzm and tng and Maserati(Official)? on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Typical comment from Maserati(Official) aka BN Cybertrooper. Bro, you not fed up ah spreading lies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • yourMothersName on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm

How about i change your mother’s name now ? I have a pet name for my left ball, it’s called itchy. I also have a pet name for my right ball, it’s called scratchy. Let’s change your mother’s name to itchy. Since you’re so good, buy one free one, change your father’s name as well to scratchy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Terry Zern on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:50 am

The nation speaks so much about culture, heritage and history. However, they just changed the very basis of history.
    You don’t see this happening in developed nations, where heritage and history is maintained and not altered or changed
    What hypocrite

• True…Oxford street is still Oxford street. I can’t imagine if they change it to Queen Elizabeth Street or Picaddily Street to King Philip Street. Who did approved such an absurd move?

• Kiwigal on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Heck yeah!!! Do you see the Indians changing the Taj Mahal name to one of their emperors?? The Angkor Wat to Cambodia Wat or some other weird name? Obviously NOT..! Those ARE their histories – and so are our original street and road names!

• LandoCar on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:56 am

One day when I become the Mayor of KL, I am gonna change back the names of these roads! Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Janice on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:57 am

This only prove themselves as stupid and ‘lebih’ . -end of story –

• google map update d?

• Rulered on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

A sure way of getting at least datukship from sultans of the involved state for the bosses in dbkl. No further comment lah, sendiri faham-faham je lah.

• Drust on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Not agreed with DBKL moved. The name Jalan Duta and Jalan Ipoh are iconic name and part of KL history/legacy. It should be maintain. If really there is a need to change, I will support if we change to more iconic names like P.Ramlee, Left. Adnan, Sudirman and etc. There is no wrong to honour our Sultan but we can do it in a different way maybe a Building and Museum that can dedicate to their achievements.

• Lost In Malaysia Forever on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Changing the name of the road,

Advantage;
    – More confusing road user, more petrol sales
    – Lost tourist, more earning for taxi driver
    – New name, new project to replace all road sign (ripple effects to those sign board supplier company who might be their cronies, million to billion ringgit is ringing here)
    – Offices and Company affected on that road need to change address name, increase SSM revenue
    – Residential affected on that road need change IC and Driving license address, increase JPN and JPJ revenue (ripple effect, to those ID card supplier company which might be their cronies)

DBKL done such a good move with many ripples effect. 1 Stone 5 Birds.

:) just my two cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • fraidycat on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:31 pm

i hope the people who rage about changing the name of the roads are not the same people who was previously supporting the changing of malaysian flag, national anthem etc otherwise they are the mother of hypocrites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Hottuna on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

DBKL’s brain full of shits!! Got time please go and clean the drainage as not to cause the city floods.

• Ken Young on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Dumb move by the BN government that allow DBKL to change the names of those roads.

• Designer View on Nov 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Keep Calm and Read The Roooooooooooooooad Signnnnnnnnnnnn *WT….*

• Why fix something that is not broken?
    This new names are long and hard to read.
    If they are so bloody free to change the names, why not spend their times on fixing the potholes on the road?
    Oh gawd this country`s G is really imbecile!

• i can’t imagine during rush hour when they want to announce the traffic jam on the radio! Confirm chaos!!! Really shiok sendiri exercise which involve millions to implement.

• megamind on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:23 pm

undilah lagi BN. hidup Bn! jangan lawan. nnt derhaka kepada bonda yg paling gampang. roSEMAK mansur

jom layan citer v for vendetta. kebangkitan rakyat. hapuskan kezaliman BN. tumbangkan kerajaan korupsi.

penjilat umno BODOH DULU KINI SELAMANYA

• really wtf…for what? they are just too free..since got nothing to do, so create this shit…why don’t their change their own name first before do this..really stupid.. all are simple n easy to remember n now…those guys who gv this idea is really the most stupid ppl. in the world..

• Calvin Teoh on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Efficient government improve traffic condition; brainless government don’t care about traffic congestion and troublesome public transportation, they care more about renaming roads.

• Joker on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Some people just want to watch the world burn

• David Anthonysamy on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Being respectful to the rulers, possibly can consider the british system… eg Victoria Institution. ie to drop the salutations so that the street names wont be long & similar. Also i remember there was an old decision not to name streets after persons still living .

• smokey on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

so they raised our Quit Rent for all these nonsense???

• smokey on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

so they raised our Quit Rent for all these???

• emoqwin on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

In his pencen days..

Cucu: Apa kebanggaan atuk masa jadik Datuk Bandar KL dulu?

Ex-Datuk Bandar KL: Atuk tukar nama jalan2 utama Kuala Lumpur kepada nama Raja2 Melayu!

Cucu: Apa nama jalan2 tu Tuk?

Ex-Datuk Bandar : Entah, Atuk pun tak ingat! Kejap je pun Atuk jadik Datuk Bandar. 3 tahun je. Apa boleh sapu, sapuuuuuuuuuuuuuu…!

Cucu : Eh…Atuk Datuk Bandar KL ke ‘Tukang Sapu’?

Ex-Datuk Bandar : Erk…

————
    Tamat Episod 2,014

Drama rantaian bersambung ke episod lain, Datuk Bandar KL lain pulak….

• Aaron on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

I suppose zombie is real. You know why? Cause brains are missing!

• Ripcord on Nov 25, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Well, I suppose our great-great grandfathers and grandmothers didn’t make a big fuss either when the powers that be 100 years ago changed their road names to Jalan Yap Kwan Seng, Jalan Chow Kit, or Lorong Haji Taib.

• Info Traffic this morning.

If you are headed from Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim to Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar, there are slight congestion there as the traffic is building up. And it was reported that there is an accident at Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra which cause slow crawl up to 2km. Motorists are advise to avoid this road and try to use other alternative. Meanwhile, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah is still clear.
    This info traffic is brought to you by DBKL, your trusted council.

What the fish!!!

• historian on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:04 pm

do you think that they care of history ?.. I think not…they never bother about history…history will drive this nation forward…we have new highways and elevated roads coming…just name this new highways/roads after those names…

• Ariffin on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:23 pm

DBKL should make good the road first, cover all potholes and make sure repair works are correctly done.

• Fuel Cell Phone on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Seriously, while there are still many issues faced daily by fellow citizens and still unattended, yet they got the brain to do this ‘renaming the roads’ project !!!!
    Definitely due to cronies screaming for project…

• I rather prefer the old name to guide people since easy to remember or to recall, lets the new name for the next generation

• Rakyat Prihatin on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

I was practically born and raise near one of those street my whole life. When they decide to change the name to the name of the Sultan ,I was a bit surprise, also a bit disappointed and definitely it will cause lot of hassle for our GPS system,address changing, Waste Tax payers money, blablabla and many more..but when i Look back at the name of the road, it was name one of the Sultan who recently passed away and his Contribution towards the administration of Justice is just…Magnificent. So i gave some thought about it, its not the name is the problem its the ‘non creative self centred saman king control’ of the local authority who got nothing better to do. So i have no problem with the name, but please seek opinion and mandate from the people before doing it. In fact sebagai rakyat berperintahkan Raja, adakah kebenaran telah didapatkan untuk menamakan jalan tersebut atas nama Tuanku? Did HRH agreed to such act? I believe HRH will know such hassle, we want don’t to remember them as someone causing us trouble just because we can’t access to our GPS System :/

Daulat Tuanku.

• Redline on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

An unnecessary move.

• I think even the dbkl officers will take longer months to clock into their brain for the new roads

• Neutral on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

How come when someone agrees with the government they are accused or pro-BN?

“Government is not always right and opposition is not always wrong.”

Pity, you have a great country, failure to understand this concept makes M’sians bunch brainless morons.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Hey Neutral.

Nothing WORST than being a fence sitter. Time has long passed to choose your side.

• BrainlessMoron on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:35 pm

“How come when someone agrees with the government they are accused or pro-BN?”

Because, and assuming that you knew this fact since you have the interest to dish out this comment, or in case you don’t know this for whatever reason : Since this country was born, government is BN, BN is government.

So, since Day 1 till now, if someone agrees with the government, it’s right to say that they are pro-BN. Failure to understand this concept makes you a hypocritical brainless moron.

Secondly, there is nothing wrong with anyone understanding this, regardless which party is sitting as majority in the parliament/cabinet : “Government is not always right and opposition is not always wrong.” . We understood that, just like how you know as much about your ABCs. Sorry to disappoint you that Malaysians don’t qualify to be your “bunch of brainless morons”.

• blacktoprolling on Nov 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

And then then roads remained in bad condition.

• Daulat Tuanku!

• azhar on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:05 pm

wasting public money..better use it to upgrade roads

• Viva Vavo on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Plans are underway to change Malaysia’s name to Darussunnah or Dawlah Asshafi-eyah. No jokes. My uncle who works for Putrajaya has confirmed it.

• Viva Vavo on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm

The name of Georgetown in Penang will be changed to Jalan Tan Sri Datuk Haji Ahmad Fahim. Kota Bharu will be re-named Kandahar Baru.

• german car loverr aka Jian on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:12 pm

The old names are much better than new names.Imagine asking a taxi driver for directions! The names are easily forgettable unlike the old names hence more confusing for tourist.

• petrol_subsidy on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:19 pm

They remove the petrol subsidy for these kind of “economy” development?

• We are going to do into genius book…oh..i mean guinness book of record for the longest road name signages. malayisia boleh….malaysia boleh…malaysia boleh…

• thedarkside on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Dear Datuk Phesal….APESALLL nak tukar nama ni????

• mrupai on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Tak payah tukar la, unless

better name with shorter name overall.

Why want to waste money to prefer longer name instead.

• Jacob on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Sad to see the road name change the citizen’s going through tough times. Now somebody going to make money for the change in the road signs. With respect to all the current and past Agongs, the name of the roads must be user friendly. Anyway god save Malaysia.

• Mizan on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm

1. Many will be affected especially those living along these roads. Yet, if once a regular road user; whether there is any change or not, you will still drive along the same roads when you need to, with a 90% possibility that you will still use the same old name.
    2. Remembering the route you take is easier than the road name, I think.
    3. When Jalan Pahang was changed to Jalan Tun Razak in the early 80’s, was the roundabout supposed to change too? I can’t recall, cos I still call it Bulatan Pahang or Pahang roundabout today. Do I care if there is a signboard? Obviously I didn’t ….
    4. Go ahead and change it to any sultan’s name; we’d probably be cursing their names when stuck in traffic jams
    5. Someone up there suggested to take out the ‘Sultan’ from the road names. Fine by me!
    At least when I go zig-zag slowly along that road, and another driver asks me, “Hello? Your father’s road aar?”, I can reply “Nope! It’s my road!!” cos my name is Mizan!

Lastly, I would like to request Jalan Belakang Mati to be changed to Jalan Ibrahim Ali because he f**ks everything and anything!

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Can we have Jalan Autobahn for this time?

• Hang Tuah on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:11 pm

mana “Jalan UMNO”, “Jalan Najis”, “Jalan MCA”, “Jalan Perkasa”???

• Sayang Ibu Ayah on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Whiners, whiners everywhere…

Drowining in a sea of whiners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • SureRock on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I wonder if anybody complain when Lebuh Sungai Pinang were changed to Persiaran Karpal Singh?

• No i believe… cause is ppl. gv it to him… no need for me to say much.. cause everybody know it what he had well done n sacrifice for the ppl…

• SureRock on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:15 pm

So our Kings of ol’ don’t deserved a road named after them eh? Not saying Karpal Singh don’t deserved a road named after him tho’. They can named even 2 road after him…..Oh wait…they did…..Persiaran karpal Singh 1 & 2.

I understand the anger if the road were change to current present BN leadears like Najib, Muhyiddin etc etc…or even old leadears Like Mahathir or Anwar even….

But its named after our Kings…..

Some say its a wastage. But when they did it in Penang its not…Same shit, different songs aja…
        BN = PR….dua dua sama saja….

• ayooo on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:49 am

Our HRH have more contribution to this country than Karpal Singh. If you know a royal family really close, you know their contributions towards taking care of orphans, hospitalized children etc. One of my kampung folk received help from a royal family for his son who had to undergo operation. They paid for everything but it never made the news because the royal family never intended to garner attention.

• huat liao on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:11 pm

all is about money only..
    change sign board…change everything…
    and yet.. ntg was complaint about the road name then suddenly change

• winwin on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:18 pm

driver will take additional to read the st*pid signboard.. chances of having accident increase by X percent…

traffice news reporter will take longer time to report news (related to accident)… efficiency drop by Y percent..

These seems counter productive…

• goulash girl on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Whats the big deal about changing names of roads? They can name it Jalan Anything You Want for all we care.
    The real problem is majority of the road signs are hidden by trees. Only in Malaysia boleh lah. The people who install the road signs either have no eyes or no brains or both. Or the workers who plant trees on roadsides and dividers. Mana ada akal.

• No brains on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

This is so stupid. People have been living here for decades and have all along used those names. How you expect everyone to remember new names?

Why not change KL to another name as well? Bandar Raja perhaps? Royal City. Sounds like a pretty good name.

• Anonymous on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:51 pm

I want to change DBKL name. Any suggestion?haha

• Wish I could laugh but thinking about the implications of this seemingly simple exercise just makes me furious.

• Wong Chee Meng on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Should someone ask what is the name of the road you are going to take, you are going to get it right at the beginning. It is Jalan Sultan something……..

• The citizens are asked – forced – to tighten the belt with all the new taxes and subsidy withdrawals to enable DBKL to do THIS at this time ? These people don’t lack the brains -they just do not have the ‘hati perut’ or fear of God.

• Saya masih suka menggunakan nama yg lama sebab diantaranya Jalan Gurney masih dibibir walaupun tukar ke Jln Semarak kini nama baru lagi. Kalau tukar nama jalan upgrade sekali struktur jalannya yang tidak melambangkan Kuala Lumpur sebagai Ibu Negara

• Lebih sesuai tukar nama2 jalan di Putrajaya.

• ya saya setuju…tapi kat putrajaya x famous + dia org takut nanti tersilap panggil, malu i…tak baik kan..saya ni menteri tahu..

• Such a super idiot stupid thing done by the illegal BN govt.

• choha on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:02 pm

this and the hamid guy proposing to filter the internet go to show how incapable and irrelevant our government officers are.

• darkermarker on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:07 pm

No point naming the roads with grand names if the roads are in bad condition, full of pot holes, damaged, accident prone, etc.

I mean, no point calling your son HANDSOME, but his face is damn ugly.

Again, and as usual….the GOVT is always about “style” but zero substance.

Remember this?
    World class infrastructure, 3rd class mentality and maintenance…

• duanz on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:59 pm

It’s a bodek rebranding.

• Setapak on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:03 pm

A good excuse to spend money, help economic running

• fun wai hong on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:24 pm

i would rather see DBKL clean up the roads than renaming them. wonder what is the cost of renaming the roads. redirect the costs to cleaning the roads that would be a better thing to do.

i for one will use the old names as long as i use those roads.

• stupidgov on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Where is jalan najib or jalan rosmah

• Lebih

• M Hor on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:17 pm

WTF? Why can they spend money on things that REALLY matter?!?!?!?! There are so many new roads being constructed, go name those!! Changing an existing famous road name is completely not making sense!!

• happy on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Very brilliant! Bravo! malaysia boleh!

• Vivian on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:30 pm

ARE they trying to make themselves seems important by naming the road with their name? ridiculous lah

• Clive on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:43 am

This is disturbing and reminiscent of the Jalan Alor. We have to change letterheads, biz cards no to mention GPS.

• jason888888 on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:25 am

Let me put it this way.

The second penang bridge is not name Penang Bridge 2/Jambatan Kedua Pulau Pinang which would have been way much easier like the first Penang Bridge. They preferred to name it Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah Bridge.

So yea I am not surprised at all for the govt to change common names like Jalan Duta or Lebuhraya Mahameru into other names. Its just a matter of time really.

What I can tell you though is that locale language of using those names will never go away. If you ask a young Penangite of the location of Greenlane, they will know where it is even though it has been renamed Jalan Masjid Negeri since I was born.

So I am not so bothered. The only problem will arise is with the new people that will be staying over as well as the GPS like Waze and especially Google Maps. haiz…..

• FoundThisUseful on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:26 am

I don’t have any beef with the Sultans of this country or dare I say it a problem with DBKL changing the street names in honour of the Sultans. but was this really VITAL? Of course this is very obvious question and many Malaysians pose this question, but has anyone personally met or know a Malaysian that can that can name the Sultans of every state? Or even name the last 4 Yang di-Pertuan Agongs of this country? I personally haven’t. Is this some kind of hidden agenda to make Malaysians remember our fellow Sultans this time? :-/

• pascual dino herrera on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:06 am

this is ridiculous its gonna cost lots of money and inconvenience to the rakyaat……dont they bring this to parliament for debate before a decision is made to change the name of the roads….i smell a hidden agenda for this crazy move to change the name of the roads that we are so used to.

• Cindy on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:39 am

The longer the name, the harder it is to remember them. Subang Airport still sticks in my mind rather than the long sultan something something… Ridiculous!

• Adamzzz on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:10 am

Great! Maybe now or the next generation will be able to remember Sultans names…

• without changing the name how is DBKL gonna spend the money on changing the sign boards, then how are they gonna come out with ridiculous pricing of a few thousand or a few hundred thousand to changing the sign boards…

• Pening dizzy on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Tukar nama pon mau pening2 ke..? Adoilah

• bootupjoe on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Why don’t you consider changing highway name instead of changing road name in town. exp Seremban highway to Sultan of Negeri Sembilan Name highway ?

• Panthera Leo on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Better put JKR’s staff who ‘turap’ the road instead others name! What a waste of people money :(

• Panthera Leo on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Hey DBKL!! Dont change the name yet..Im still on the road!!

• Lim Chee Hiong on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:17 pm

SPR must come in to this issue.

• why spr got to come and check that out.. meh… got to give bribe me to have your name on the road.. then should check jln karpal then .. such an A**

• Ellese on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:17 am

The people here are really sick. Pr changes the road names to its leaders who have not served the country but the party. Theres no fuss. DBKL changes the road name to Agong’s name who have served us they make such a big hue and cry.

These people are pure and simple racists.

• heck.. like … LGE.. and kapal got a major thing that they have done..

• Syed Jeff on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:05 am

What a load of bollocks! Why are we governed by a bunch of cunts? Fact is you don’t need to be partisan to any party – they are all muppets.

Did we vote for them? Is it our fault? Not when democracy here is actually a thinly veiled attempt of vote rigging. At the very least, please attempt to not make it so blindingly obvious lah…..

One can only hope but it will take at least a generation for real change to happen….

• majority only butt hurt Chinese -nvely comment on this move… wonder if the road change to you lim guan eng.. or chin peng road.. hahahahah

• alan newman on Nov 29, 2014 at 11:04 am

In a country of 29 million, changing a road from the simple British Colony’s style of Green Rd to Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, you know how much your county loses a year? At least $5 million for that road, when you have millions of people suffering time & stress writing, typing, saying, remembering the stupid road names. And there are thousands and thousands of Malaysian roads like that, so the loss to your country probably in thousands of millions = billions. No simple, common sense and wisdom for efficiency, expediency & success!
    That’s why the world has very little respect and use for the Bahasa Language, it put the Country back by decades just for selfish ethnic pride and arrogance. Then you have all the Tuns, Tan Sris, Datuks, Datos, Pehin, Padukas……Bill Gates & Warren Buffet made $$ honestly and gave almost half their wealth in tens of US$ billions to charity, even Soros whom Dr MM disparaged gave hundreds of millions. They address each other as Bill, Warren, George. Not even a ‘Sir’. What a global laughing stock you are. How much money made with hard work and how much given to charity?

• fckthiscountry on Nov 30, 2014 at 2:19 am

Hear hear! That’s one of the best retorts yet mate. They might as well go back to living on trees and the other ethnic minorities can continue developing themselves in other places….

• Hush Truth on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:52 pm

It may be good to rename the roads in honor of the monarchs, except for the black sheep monarch whose criminal actions damaged the monarchy.

• Hush Truth on Dec 01, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah!