Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake unveiled

Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 4MATIC Shooting Brake (X117) 2014

Those who want a slinky, lithe Tristar but with a lot more practicality thrown in, here’s the ride you’ve been looking for. This is the Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake, which tacks on a roof extension to the four-door “coupé” to offer more load-lugging capacity for the style-conscious.

The little sibling to the CLS Shooting Brake appears pretty much as expected from the outside, with the curved, low-slung roofline and banana-shaped side glass area losing nothing of the regular CLA’s sex appeal. The CLA 45 AMG looks particularly delicious, with the usual hardened exterior addenda accentuated with a subtle roof spoiler. The drag coefficient figure is kept to an impressively low 0.26 Cd.

To add an extra edge, buyers of AMG Line models with the Night package can also opt for the “OrangeArt Edition,” which adds orange accents to the lower air intake, rings around the bi-xenon headlight projectors, wheels, rear diffuser, seat upholstery and interior stitching. A bit retina-searing, if you ask us, but it certainly gives the car a polarising look that suits its extrovert persona.

Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 Shooting Brake (X 117) 2014

The interior also closely resembles that of the sedan, but with the inclusion of the newer C-Class-style steering wheel design and reworked fascia buttons taken from the recently-facelifted B-Class. While the Shooting Brake is only three millimetres taller than the regular CLA at 1,435 mm, rear headroom has actually been increased by four centimetres to 94.7 cm.

Boot capacity has been upped from the standard car’s already-decent 470 litres to 495 litres, while putting the rear seats into the more upright “cargo” position boosts space to 595 litres. With those seats folded, the Shooting Brake can swallow 1,395 litres, loaded to the roof. Boot width is a class-leading 1,328 mm.

Longer items like skis to be slotted in through a magnetic load-through flap in the rear seat backrest. A power-operated Easy-Pack tailgate is available as an option, as is a Load Compartment package that includes a collapsible box, a 12-volt power socket and an extra stowage net on the side of the load bay. The boot floor can also be lined with aluminium strips with anti-slip inlays.

Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 4MATIC Shooting Brake (X117) 2014

The same turbocharged engine choices remain – a 1.6 litre petrol in both 122 hp/200 Nm CLA 180 and 156 hp/250 Nm CLA 200 guises, a 2.0 litre petrol in the 211 hp/350 Nm CLA 250 (also available with 4Matic all-wheel drive), as well as a 2.2 litre diesel in 136 hp/300 Nm CLA 200 CDI and 177 hp/350 Nm CLA 220 CDI forms. A choice between a six-speed manual or a seven-speed 7G-DCT dual-clutch transmission is available.

Of course, there’s also the CLA 45 AMG Shooting Brake, powered by a 2.0 litre turbo four that churns out 360 hp and 450 Nm, mated to a seven-speed AMG Speedshift DCT dual-clutch transmission and all-wheel drive. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 4.7 seconds, just 0.1 seconds slower than on the four-door, while top speed remains limited to 250 km/h.

The Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake will go on sale beginning in January next year, with deliveries scheduled to start in March. The CLA 45 AMG, on the other hand, will make its world debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March, before sales begin that month itself.

Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG Shooting Brake

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hello gorgeous! You look stunning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Another wonderful product by Mercedes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • AVH (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I know there are alot of CLA fans in Paultan, so saying something negative is going to be tough…. but I dont like the look of it. I have a long standing with overly organic oor fluidic design, and the CLA, is fine from the front but sort of mess up at the rear and the shooting brake sort of made it worst.

Having sat in both CLA and C-classes, personally the better money for me will go to the C class, yes its RM50k more, but thats how much better , in quality specs and even looks it is over the CLA…. which for the money, I will walk into either a BMW or Audi showroom. The CLA personally appeals only in the looks, and the looks dosen’t win me over a 320i or a A3 1.8 sedan…..That is if I have the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Kereta Itu Berbentuk Terung on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:00 pm

I tried to convince myself to believe that this car is sexy. I even tried to enter into an imaginary argument with my hypothetical wife on why we needed this and how this will save our failing marriage but honestly, I dont know how to feel when i saw this car.

But just like when the first photos of the f30 bonnet came out, maybe this looks nicer in the flesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • myeyes on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:54 am

F30 bonnet….what is seen can’t be unseen. now i have the itch on my fingers

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I agree 200% with this. I’m sorry but I am not one bit convinced with the CLA class. Yes it is bringing people in with the baby CLS look, but that’s it.

I’d take the 316i over the MB CLA, and probably over the A3 too (one reason why I can’t accept the A3 is cause the VW Golf is just so so good)

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:51 pm

I agree with your sentiment…the rear is where the looks fail with the whole sloping look reminding me of an elongated high forehead. The rear lamps that looked so good on the se-coupe (sedan/coupe/whatever) look kinda awkward here without a boot to adorn and more flat, blank space above it.

But I think you need not fear because after the episode of Driven where the CLA came in dead last with the label “all style, no substance” in the 3-way comparo, CLA fans seem to have largely become silent, perhaps with numbers dwindling.

• Roger Tan on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

I’m getting old, having difficulty keeping up with the myriad of variants these Europeans are churning out

• Merc H-Class on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Finally you can chauffeur yourself to the gates of hell in a good looking hearse with style.

• Jimmy on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:42 pm

CLA does not feel premium.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:49 pm

I like Mercedes, but I really don’t like the downward line on the side of its new generation cars. It gives an impression that the car’s front is higher than the back, like squatting.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:01 am

Dont like the rear… Should have been abit more vertical than slanting… This proves me wrong that NOT every shooting brake looks awesome…

• Really on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:41 am

The rear is not pretty, especially from the three quarters angle. Looks like the designers trying too hard to merge the CLA rear lights to the wagon roof.

• lolipop on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:49 am

ugly wagon.. Shooting Brake?? why not call it Banana Boat

• najib on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:38 am

cla need no wagon babe, you are just spoiling it!

• the rear just looks ugly, the slope line does not work at all…

• Personally I still prefer the A Class from this segment of Mercedes-Benz. Yes, A Class is lack of boot space, bumpy etc but that is the whole purpose of getting a car from this segment; you won’t want to get a ‘sedan’ Golf GTI. If I need more space, I will opt for C or E Class.

• truely malaysian on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Dear Santa, can I have this as my Christmas present,Thanks.

• Wow. A hearse on steroids!

• rizal on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:52 am

while cla 200/250 only fits small child at the back, this one the back is soooooo ugly

• Shanne on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I think this is too much of Mercedes trying hard to differentiate from the C-Class segment. Am sure the RM difference is quite large between CLA AMG to C63 Wagon but the C-Class Wagon or saloon has way better looks and styling. C-Class will bury BMW in this segment and I’m a BMW fan.