Subaru Forester tS by STI unveiled for JDM market

FOTP2_Run

Now this is what we would call a proper performance SUV. Subaru, or rather Subaru Tecnica International (STI), has just unveiled the Forester tS. Now before we can announce we have a legitimate reason to buy a SUV, let it be known that the Subaru Forester tS is only available for the Japanese domestic market (JDM).

Set to go on sale at Subaru dealerships in Nippon-land on November 25, the limited edition Forester tS will only be available in a total production run of 300 units. Looking very much like a Forester on steroids, it features a bold, blackened grille complete with STI badging and signature cherry red striping.

FOTP4_run

Further aesthetic enhancements include silver highlights around the fog light surrounds and a redesigned rear bumper. A black roof spoiler, door mirrors and window frames further provide a tasteful contrast. Wheels are BBS-sourced, 19-inch forged aluminium wheels wrapped in 245/45 Bridgestone Turanza ER33 tyres.

A turbocharged, 2.0 litre flat-four with a custom engine control unit (ECU) by STI ensures a healthy output of 280 hp and 350 Nm of torque. Transferring all that power is a Lineartronic CVT transmission with an exclusively-tuned transmission control unit (TCU) to Subaru’s trademark all-wheel drive system.

Retardation comes courtesy of STI-badged four-pot calipers in front and two-pot calipers at the rear, clamping on ventilated discs at all four corners. The suspension layout is an inverted-strut format with a 15 mm reduction in height. A tower bar and draw stiffeners – front and back – increases chassis rigidity.

Stepping inside, one is greeted by a set of sport seats which feature a combination of leather and Ultrasuede. A new instrument cluster along with a redesigned multifunction display and STI-themed gear knob are presented. An STI-specific steering wheel, ignition button and side sills complete the upgrades inside.

Additional safety measures include Subaru’s EyeSight technology which packs adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning and an autonomous braking system via cameras mounted in the rear-view mirror. A retuned vehicle dynamics control (VDC) system further expands the Forester’s safety net.

The Subaru Forester tS is available in four colours – WR Blue Mica, Crystal White Pearl, Ice Silver Metallic and Crystal Black Silica. It costs 4,350,000 yen (RM123,792.67) and is available for order up until April 5 2015 for all colours except WR Blue Mica, which has to be ordered prior to February 8 2015.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• naim mabuk on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm

wow look better than Iriz

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:48 pm

No joke, this SUV looks much better in real flesh than picture, especially in black colour.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:45 pm

The Japanese answer to the German sports SUV. Seriously if we had that kind of price I think our roads will be filled with better and nicer cars to look at.

• Doubt so… The Cayenne or Macan will makan (pun intended) it for breakfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Alex259 on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Ugly like SHIT!! So outdated design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Rover (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Compared to what? Cayenne ahhh.

Don’t make me laugh.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:10 pm

cvt….wtf subaru?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:21 pm

What makes it cool is that it looks old school…

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Damnnn, the blue one is hottt. But doesn’t seem to be any performance improvement. 280hp & 350NM sounds like the standard JDM Forester XT (FXT).

Inside, looks like they touched up the dash a bit (now there’s some chrome surrounds on the AC vents & “carbon fibre” bits here and there).

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:24 pm

this is why it is ts and not STI……bring on the real STI subaru…with a manual

• SUV kaki on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:26 am

You wanna drive a SUV on a manual gearbox ??? hahahahahaha dont make me laugh la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:06 pm

why not….porsche cayenne GTS came with a manual…

• Kak Timah on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I always considering a replacement for my trusted CRV with Forester XT. Now this model appear.
    Any possibility for grey import?

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:14 pm

My understanding is (correct me if i’m wrong) that JDM Foresters need high RON rating petrol to realise their full power in Japan. Sadly, such fuel is not sold here.

• Ken Young on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I like the active safety features in this Subaru.

• keane on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

Those who can easily afford this suv can afford a cayenne. Just depend on what kind of life style and attention they want.