Volkswagen Malaysia launches courtesy car service

volkswagen-malaysia-courtesy-car-service-2

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has launched its courtesy car service, part of its mobility guarantee programme. In line with several transformation actions revealed earlier, more than 200 Volkswagen vehicles will be available on the road to offer mobility support to customers.

“Volkswagen is the first OEM in Malaysia to embark on a fully sponsored mobility guarantee programme. We now have a complete mobility service to complement our comprehensive dealer network,” said VGM MD Armin Keller.

Customers are now entitled to collect a courtesy vehicle from Volkswagen authorised service centres when they send their vehicles for repair or service, should the duration exceed 24 hours.

“Customer satisfaction is our utmost priority, and we will continue to invest in efforts which will help bring an enriched ownership and brand experience for our customers,” added Keller.

UPDATE: In a follow-up statement, VGM has clarified that the courtesy cars are available to customers only in case of a vehicle breakdown and should the repair duration exceed 24 hours. Regular checks and vehicle accident repairs are not included in this mobility guarantee programme.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• VW DSG on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:39 pm

SC will tell the customer that all vehicle has been taken…so no courtesy car….sorry…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 10
    • Lousy VW SC on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:07 am

Yes! I face same problems on last week.
      All courtesy car has been loan out!!!!!!
      Suddenly say yes can loan, after 30 mins, suddenly said “Oh, there is another customer already reserve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Photo above “volkswagen-malaysia-courtesy-car-service-2.jpg” –

Gal : Sudah repair DSG kah?????
      SA : Hahahaha……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • JB_KIA on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Gal: maksud I keta courtesy tu…keta I bila plak?
        SA: [collapsed]

• harry d on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:59 pm

the girl looks cute. I dont mind to offer my car if she doesnt get one :D

• If each service centre have 10 courtesy car also will not be able to cater to customer needs. Cos there’s just too many problem with the car and I bet most of it will take more than 24 hours to fix

• _xXx_ on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:59 am

can’t believe this is something new to them…

• Dr Mamak on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:10 am

Too little too late.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

200 units is an ackonwledgement to how big a serious problem VGM is facing. something that could have been handled well since 5 years ago.

only when they realised, thy had lost potential customers and retention rate has gone low only they are willing to take actions in order not to humiliate VGM in front of VAG HQ.

this is too bad VW. and not to forget, where are you on 2013 JD power CSI?

DEAD LAST!

• suelee on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Had several problems with GTI 3+ years old till had to change 2 shock absorbers costing RM 4K, when workshop could not detect knocking noise. Lately still 3 + years old, ànother trip to change 1 ignition coil, and can only change 1 coz insurance warranty says so, 3 others on queue to be changed as when problem hits. More visits expected, and in Nov 2014, I am no.5 on queue to get a courtesy car. All cars are loaned out, sorry. Convince me with real action to buy my next VW. Contact me if VW is serious, I still hv the old shock absorber part for the German specialist to study, if they interested. One heck of an experience, please take my car for study purposes.

• lolol on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Hahahahahahhahahahha
    hahahahaahahahahahah
    hahahhahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Just saw a Passat with the Mobility Guarantee sticker at the back running around in Selangor. Pretty good move by VW though, but they must make sure they can meet the demand.

VW makes some really good cars, its just such a pity there is a big question mark on the reliability and after sales. Been very tempted to get a Golf TSI now, feels like a pretty nice hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 14
    • Bro sudonano,

stay away bro, i have a golf mk6….worse mistake of my life…clutch pack/mecha/ recently gearbox overheated. yeah, its nice to drive …nope, very nice to drive BUT A BIG QUESTION MARK on its reliability & horrible after sales…my advice, just stay away for the moment & wait within 1-2 years whether VW Msia managed to solve all this reliability/after sales issues then only decide….anyway, BIG KUDOS to VW for making improvement in the right direction, hopefully its not just a publicity stun, anyway, current owner will watch u Vee dUD!!! make sure this is for REAL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 7
      • max007 on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:41 pm

it is TRUE…as I am driving one of the “mobility guaranteed” cars for the past two weeks!
        The car that I get was brand new(JETTA) with less than 30km on the clock..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:56 am

wanna know something?

VGM has a lot of new cars in stocks. this is a good move to them – register those for a good use. later sell as pre-owned units. customers complaint kept at bay.

as the cost of those cars are not that much (in 2012 a Golf TSI landed price was 47K, GTI 49K – to quote a few) VW Malaysia did not lose that much either. other than paying the excise custom duties, import tax and sales tax to the govt.

• letstorque on Nov 27, 2014 at 7:36 pm

My friend that work in Pekan told me, there are almost 1000 ready CKD cars at stock yard in Pekan.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Bro vw,

Is it that bad? Thing is, I have been on a really long journey looking for the ultimate family car, C segment, about 200 ish thousand or so, my requirements were:

1. No CVT
        2. Hatch preferred over sedan unless the sedan is real good
        3. Must be very safe: ESC, 6-7 airbags, IIHS Top Safety Pick and EURO NCAP 5*
        4. Must be good to drive.
        5. Practical and comfortable
        6. Reliable
        7. Decent specs

I pretty much ended up with a Focus or Golf (both with question marks on the reliability), a Clio RS (not very practical due to size), a BMW 118i (specs a bit err…), and potentially the new 308 Turbo (still waiting…). I was looking at the A class but found it too small in the back seat (low roof), MINI 5 door, too expensive and absolutely tiny still, MINI Countryman S (drives like meh, got rid of it), BMW 316i (pretty kosong), Audi A3 1.4 (empty and not as nice as the sportback), and finally the Giuletta (no longer on sale)…

I’m really confused too, can’t commit to a Golf for the fear of the DSG going nuts. If the Focus Powershit worked on the test drive I’d not have hesitated, but sadly the Focus transmission had trouble written all over it too.

(I had a MK2 Focus and loved it)

• Volvo V40?? Citroen DS??

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:19 am

It doesn’t satisfy number 4 lol.

But if Clio is a bit small then the Megane RS should fit the bill.

Even for the A3..if the 1.4 is empty then just top up RM20k+ from the 316i to get the 1.8 with the excellent Quattro.

I was in your position a year ago but I wanted a sedan so I ended up with the 316i due to its space which is more than the A4 (trust me it is) and decent power for town driving and boy when you settle for one, you just want more oomph lol. I didn’t bother looking the C200 back in 2013 because the W205 was around the corner.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:45 am

Volvo V40 is another one too, it is a nice car, well made well finished, the T5 goes nicely fast (though not as fast as the TSI Golf for some reason) but the transmission in the T5 is slow. And it’s not a driver’s car. Very comfy but not a nice drive.

Megane RS, hehehe no manuals for now bro. Planning to use this car mainly in the city…. my left leg will not be too pleased :P

Only thing was the 316i was the top end of my budget, if I was ok with about 230k, I’d have done the 320i Sport or maybe wait to see what MB’s C class CKD will shape to.

Ah I see, yeah the A4 is not as spacious as the 3 series in the current form, the next generation should match the F30. The only fear I have is the lack of power in the 316i, cause I’ve been playing with the 20 and 28i engine mostly and notice how effortless it is…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:58 am

He mention its the mk6 which is well known for DSG issues but its now in mk7 and I haven’t heard any problems with it so far.

Since u have a budget of around RM200k, better to top a bit and get the GTI with Tech Pack?

But if you can wait for a couple of years more for the mk8 with 10 gears…mwahahahaha

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:47 am

I was looking at the GTI, the GTI is not too bad of a deal, I was getting a deal where the GTI would be pushing the top end of the budget (not a good idea), but there were no test drive units on the day I went in… Would be going back to take a look again.

Mk8 with 10 gears….? Sorry bro not becoming a guinea pig for them LOL.

• If i were u, i’ll wait for a while (give it another year) until VW really resolves all the issue…u can look at comments from FB group “Vw Dsg 7 Defects Community” for info…if these guys (the real owners) says everything are good than only starts thinking abt purchasing a Veedud…and another opinion, just stay away from all this dual clutches stuffs if u intends to drive thru kl’s hot/humid traffic jam.

• yes, get the 316 instead…140hp/220nm from way below 1,500rpm is good enough & not underpowered…just look at those civic 1.8/2.0 peak torque of 180-200nm starts only at 4,000rpm above…the torque is more important for daily drive

again…just stay away from vw, u’ll regret it…go to the FB group i’ve mentioned earlier and looks at the comments by owners..

• FreakOBoost on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Check out the Ford Fusion Ecoboost, it meet all your requirement…. Coming to MY in 2015.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Another thing was the deal I was getting at FA Wagen Glenmarie on the Golf. 5 years free maintenance, mobility and (2+3) warranty. Also 5 years road tax too and I think insurance also… Which meant it was a pretty much buy and drive and fill with petrol car…. :/

• Sudonano,
          I’ve both VW & BMW. I say stay away from VW. Get the 316i. It’s a sedan but an excellent drive.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:48 am

Guess that’s 2 votes for the 316i. Is it underpowered when passing/overtaking on the highway?

• wkaka on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:47 am

Get the BMW, I’ve posted previously in other news here about my VW, no amount of “very nice to drive” can make up for the gearbox failure and stalling. The BMW may have only 2 years warranty but so far, touch wood no issues. Except that f**king rust under the seat.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:05 pm

sudonano,

the 316i has twin turbocharger engine, mated to an 8 speed gearbox.

the 168bhp it has on tap.. is similar to a Toyota Camry 2.4/2.5. underpower is not a word u can associate with. this is better than a 320i E46 10 years ago.

not to mention, as big as an E39 5 series.

• http://www.carbase.my/bmw/3-series/f30/316i-2014

wrong. 136hp only, and its single turbo

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

:)
            oops, my fault. dont buy the 316i. not worth. it. go for VW golf TSI then.

original quote from Paultan’s Driven on F30 316i

“The sixth locally-assembled model in the current BMW range is equipped with the lower output tune form of the N13B16 – there’s a higher output 168 hp form of the type, but the 1.6 litre TwinPower Turbo four-pot in this case offers 134 hp at 4,350 rpm and 220 Nm at 1,350 rpm. Paired to an eight-speed ZF auto transmission, performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds and a 210 km/h top speed.”

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/01/06/driven-2013-bmw-316i-new-level-entry/#ixzz3KJqCC11e

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Hmm, that is true, so many upvotes for the 316i over the Golf, very interesting, since I have never considered a base BMW…

I guess I have to seriously consider the BMW 316i now, really seriously, or wait for the F20 facelift which should be soon…

• RazifGti on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:08 am

Maybe you shuold Drop by Cergaz Autohaus in TTDI. Got my car from them, they had a good deal, similiar to FA in Shah Alam but got free Holiday in Melaka + RM 500 cash vouchers. I even managed to get a VW limited edition car care kit from them

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:58 am

kena already. heh heh heh..

that is how desperate VW is – to give as many freebies to prospect buyer as bait. cant believe u fell for that. good luck any way.

• lithium on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:04 pm

how can you say VW makes some really good cars and then go on to say questionable reliability and after sales?

To me an unreliable car is a badly designed car – certainly not a “really good cars”.

The loan car is a good move by VW but the real problem is the service center that takes too long to resolve problems by car owners. if they can improve in that front most of the complains will go away. Courtesy car nice gesture but the root problem need to be resolve first.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Really good car in the sense that it drives well, safe, somewhat efficient and so on, and for the most part, most of the DSG issues are limited to the ones with the DQ200 DSG, and things like the Toureg are essentially Porsche Cayennes.

Aftersales is not done by VW, but rather Volkswagen Group Malaysia (which from what I notice, is going down to the dumps), VGM while being a tiny division of VW AG, it is mostly owned by DRB Hicom….

• huehuehue on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:06 pm

reputasi sudah buruk, skarang baru mau bikin baik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • zamer on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:50 pm

and then? no need to give courtesy car?
      what you want actually?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • tongsan on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Eh you asked what? VW must give 10 years warranty to ALL PARTS and free service fee. VW build quality is very lousy especially to bolehland weather. Even p1ismuch reliable. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • zamer on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:05 am

things dont change in 1 day mah..
          at least they are improving.. it is a good news for VW owners..

most of the comments are negatives..in then end, you will ask for the courtesy car when you are in need..be grateful for this.

say thank you is better than spitting to them for giving courtesy car.

• Buyback all customer car still in workshop for more than a month will be a good start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

and all the lemon cars will be made loan cars under the Mobility programme.

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Good move.

Baik cakap baik, buruk cakap buruk. Jangan improvement pun mau kutuk ya, taukeh saya.

No 3-minute heat ya.

• stranger on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:54 pm

meanwhile Proton,
      Reputasi memang buruk, tetap x payah bikin baik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • nasi sudah jadi bubur on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:13 pm

A little too late

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Uh huh on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Too late for what?

Malaysians all love to condemn.
      No matter about good stuff or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

it is bad stuff… so condemn…while telling everyone…go buy bmw or better….mercedes benz

• Too late to save VW’s previously vaunted reputation. Now everyone laugh at people driving VW. Nasi sudah menjadi taik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • ugakgedik on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I was seriously considering the Golf, but was put off by the feedback from friends and family members who owned Volkswagen cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

you are the genius one. many malaysians did not do their homework before making a car purchase.

• SunnyLow on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Why? What happened to your friends and family member’s car?

• screwu (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Kudos VW…heading in the right direction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Golf GTI on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm

I’ve been told for accident repair is not inclusive. Only for those breakdown and warranty awaiting parts.

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:24 pm

You are suppose to avoid accident yourself. But, if your vehicle is unfortunately hit by someone, then you claim his insurance and that ‘someone’ should pay you the rental for your hire vehicle for the entire duration of repair.
      In fact, victims should be allowed to claimed from insurance companies the money to hire replacement vehicles.

This is called fair. Is buying insurance ever a fair payment/expenditure? Or are you so naive to regard insurance as an investment?

• Golf GTI on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm

I’ve been told for accident repair is not inclusive. Only for those breakdown and warranty awaiting parts.

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:27 pm

First you need to prove that during that particular accident, it is due to faulty part(s) in the VW vehicle. In such case, I would say yes, you deserve a replacement vehicle.

• guess on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:57 pm

well done VW – taking steps forward to ensure customer satisfaction. will plan for new passat : )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • minicooper on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Better you prepare a VW badge. You will need to stick it on your bus because the courtesy car also breaks down!!!!!!

VW bus. Oh yeah LOLLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • intermilan on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:17 pm

But all the problems still remains unsolved.
      Dont lost sight of the root cause.

If yet to own a DSG 7 speed equipped cars, better stay away..

• TheRealMalaysian on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:54 am

VW has announced that all the DSG related issues have resolved already. You can find it on google. Furthermore, VW owners didn’t make noise about their DSG already so i think the DSG issue really has been solved.

• IGotGut on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Good choice!
      I will plan to get a Golf MK7 next year..
      I like this car very much especially the performance of this car, it has great handling and horsepower..
      BTW, i hope VW will keep on improving on their after sales service and quality.

• stevie on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Hope courtesy cars wont breakdown…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

So? Don’t give courtesy cars? Or you want Mercedes-Benz as a replacement car? Or you want money to hire replacement cars?
      Have you ever run business, first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • works on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:44 am

why butthurt? u are VW SC manager, right?

• Almera on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:41 am

VW is improving themselves with this action but the problem should not have occurred in the first place. VW cars are expensive but the reliability is seriously lacking. Thousands of people here did not pay good money to have a problematic car that can’t be driven when there are mechatronic/DSG problems. Even with Proton poor reliability at least when a problem occurs its not as serious and the car can usually still be driven.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:51 am

stevie was saying… if the loan car breaksdown, will he get another loan car or that is all he gets?

• MakeSense on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:27 am

Actually they have improved a lot already, at least they are trying to do their best to solve all the technical issues and provides courtesy cars for all their customers..
      I also know some people always like to condemn.. No matter it’s good news or bad news.. They just condemn with no reason..

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:05 pm

I’ll let VGM fix all the problems they themselves made over the years before I will even consider getting one here in Bolehland.

• I am not surprise with any exaggerated posts or comments here. Anyone can say he is driving bimmer or Audi or Merc or Lambo or Bentlet. And the list goes on. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:01 am

So what are you trying to say here? That people who post here have no cash to get any of those? If that’s correct then you’re insulting a lot of owners here.

• A lot of the comments made in all VW post in this website are from owner feedback and the DSG problem still persists. If you want to get a VW better wait another year or two for them to iron out the problems and have more courtesy cars to meet the demand.

• Madness on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Since VW has announced it already which means they will meet their demand as well. It couldn’t be a fake statement.

• Derrick on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:10 pm

what if the courtesy cars also break down LOLOLOL

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Do you have evidence that they have not fixed the DSG or some other mechanical issues? Probably you are equally unclear like me.
      Don’t judge now. No prejudice.

Good move is good move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • SunnyLow on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

Hey, VW has claimed that all the DSG issues have been resolved.. They won’t give you a faulty car.. Don’t worry.. VW has its own reputation and they won’t break their owns brand..

• Lolol on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Bravo! What an excellent way to get rid of all the unsold cars at VW!!!! No no need to throw prices like 30K discount and spoil market for existing owners!!!!! LOLOLOLOL

• Boleh on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:36 pm

The courtesy car must be a Toyota. If it is a VW, it will breakdown too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Kah Chon on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:01 pm

at least VW is doing something and trying hard to improve the service quality so that they can restore the confidence of customer. This cannot happen or completely clean their shit over the night. Let give them a chance and don’t judge too soon. Time will tell. Hope VW is moving on the right track.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:32 am

actually, an important criteria for VGM to consider is that improve on parts supply. VW could have learn a thing or two on local Toyota parts from UMW. this is how to prevent a car from staying too long at the workshop, which is considered a work in progress status (WIP) – its like a patient lying on the table in operation theatre… no doctors around to finish operation since no blood supply.

stop ordering parts from germany thru singapore!!!

set-up your own warehouse in Malaysia. you would know the numbers of VW cars sold until now…i believe something between 80-100k units. which is A LOT!!

this exact similar scenario occured to Kia (15 years ago) and Hyundai (10 years ago). sales rose, but nothing done to after sales service support. where they are now?

lukeworm in terms of sales. too bad, since the cars are hot.

• darkermarker on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:05 pm

just go visit their FB, and you’ll be convinced not to buy VW anymore….

Nuff said….

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:37 pm

We all would want to learn from history. We all want to rectify our mistakes, and to correct our bad behaviours.

• TheAnonymous on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I’ve went through their FB page last few days ago and i found that the complains are getting lesser than before already.. Hope VW will keep on improving on their after sales service. I’m quite interested for the VW Polo Sedan..

• most msian vw still dont get it, contis has always been probematic only that they still think asian cars are inferior. conti good quality, high class..lolll

• Contis are generally safer than tin can jap cars. More airbags, stronger body metal and better safety records for the modern contis found in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • safest car in the us seems to be japanese,chk out the IIHS recommendation.

• Jojo,
          In Msia, Jap cars are not safe bcos they reduced the safety specs to make more profit fr loyal and blind sided supporters like u. Furthermore, most Jap cars (except for Mazda) look old fashioned… like uncle cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • kenny on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:58 am

Your statement is so bias on Japanese cars. Old fashion or not is very subjective. For me, the VW polo is so old fashion, looks like proton Saga. I has been driving Toyota for seven years and never give me any problems until I changed it to VW and nightmare starts.

• funny on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:03 am

Old Fashioned? Get a life please. I think outlook of City or Vios is better than the VW polo.

• Bro, i rather buy jap car even though i can afford contis car..I will have a good night sleep when going for a long trip without have to worry about it break down or overheated..plus if u drive safe and not speeding like mad man then u should reach destination safely..dont just think of class and style….jap car also improving now in term of safety n feature..peace guys

• Take a look at the IIHS 2014 top safety picks. Half of the cars listed there are Jap cars on par or doing better in terms of safety than conti cars. Check out the safety score of ANCAP and its the Jap cars that have some of the highest scores like Mazda 3 and Civic scoring higher than Golf or Focus.
            Your statement only applies to Toyota cars in Malaysia but if you look at Nissan, Honda, Mazda cars, they come with full safety kits and 6 airbags in their latest cars. ASEANCAP scores show Polo has a much lower score rating compared to Jazz or City so your statement is very outdated and bias.

• Pak, U owned/driving Skoda??

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:43 pm

We want more competitions, we don’t want monopoly by one or two companies. That’s not good to all of us.

If Lexus is selling as successfully as Toyota, I am worried that, by then, all the Lexuses will have 2 airbags with no ESP in Malaysia. Are they reducing number from 10 to 8 recently? That is despite the fact that they are not No 1 yet in luxury market.

• John Smith on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:54 pm

my fren (whose VW had to be repaired) told me that the “exceed 24 hours” is actually 24 WORKING HOURS…. in other words, your car must need 3 days repair! I believe VW must be honest and spell out the REAL terms of the offer. Another fren told me her VW needed 3 days just to replace the battery! If you want to buy a VW, do yourself a great favor & read their FB pages & see for yourself what is the quality of this brand in malaysia…………

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:05 am

Top up and get the 3 major German premium brands and you can drive their courtesy car even if you’re sending it just for service or warranty claims…and if you treat them well you will have more access to what they have @ the dealership.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:38 am

and 7 working days is actually Monday to Wednesday a week after (since Saturday/Sunday is off day)?

• lelel on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:01 pm

As stupid samel poyorrr said , “as long as it is VW it will break down”

Lelelelelell

• dodgviper88 on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Dear VW, it has been said prevention is better than cure

• just me (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:38 pm

I like the idea. Make sure you ramp the engine until rpm reached red line

• gtimk7 on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:46 pm

My brand new CBU made in Germany Golf GTI mk7 2014 power window problem still not resolved until today. Damn VW.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

Proton power window vendor of the 90s now supplies to VW? greatt!!

• klguy on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:36 pm

what? that girl can afford ? u believe?

• sorry tak ada kereta lagi bro on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:02 am

This service has been offered by VW for quite some time.

Trust me, every time you ask for the courtesy car, your only reply is: Sorry, all taken and no more.

buy VW(except polo sedan and polo hatch 1.6) = suck big time

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:42 pm

How do you know? Do you have any bad experience with VW?
      My friend has sent his Golf 1.4 to the SC to repair clutch and the SC had provided him a courtesy for 3 days while his car was repairing in the SC.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:39 am

What is the probability that the courtesy car itself gets a blown dsg?! Its da classic tow truck towing a tow truck scenario !

• Been using golf Tsi for 2yrs. When in SC to repair more than normal service…
    More than 5times, every time need to urge at the SC for those repair job…
    Anyone want to sambung bayar my car??

• Chong Yew on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:05 am

Bullshit.

• another driver on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:16 am

wonder how would it be if your curtesy car breaks down….

• asage on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:59 am

vw service sucks. once the aircond ok, after the sevice kaput, really wasted my time wt repeat visit wt no sign of getting back to its original condition. and one more thing, better watch out wt yr regukar service under the warranty period, once you overshot the mileage, there goes yr warranty, void….

• Henry on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:35 am

My friend sold her two year old problematic Golf 1.4 TSI and got back only 50% of the value.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:44 am

used car market if subject to how strong a demand on such particular model.

a car with price tag of 150k, normally purchased by ppl with big buying power – they dont buy second hand cars. this is the rule of thumb. prepare to lose a hug percentage of value during the first several years. this is normal.

and used car ppl they know they cant sell that Golf TSI at 120k or 130k. ppl will walk away, buy new. so, they will open sale at 100-110k, offering up to 10-15k discounts with target of closing the deal at 90-95k.

this is absolute normal.

• ck_golftsi on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:37 am

Yes, this story is true..
    i got a courtesy car for a month till i got back my golf mk6 which has gone thru 2 major engine change & rebuilt..

just that i dont know how much longer the new set of rebuilt engine will last. the one before that (new engine) lasted about 18 month.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:46 am

if it is 3 times, ask VW to buy back??

buy back is an open secret practised quietly in Malaysia. from Toyota to Jaguar. not proton though, as far as i am concern.

• Roger on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:59 am

Eh apa ni! First to introduce MOBILITY service? Wei! Renault was the first to introduce with their Renault Fluence… no wonder VW all over the place… they dont even know what’s happening in the market.

• who cares first come out mobility??!!! Renault is also another conti junk that piled up after 6 years without sufficient parts/service!!!

• Pay a lot for cheap quality? better go with BMW or Audi.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:31 am

Hi All,

At lease VW are taking the initiative to improve everything.

What about Honda BS Malaysia? Driving for more than 6 months now and more and more rattling sounds (problems) can be heard. WTFreak is this? EVEN BETTER, power windows problem occurring (MUST BE USING THE SAME SUPPLIER AS PROTON SINCE WE ALL KNOW WHO OWNS HONDA BS MALAYSIA).

Is Honda BS Malaysia doing anything to improve our customer satisfaction? A BIG NO NO.

Freak Honda BS Malaysia.

Be lucky VW is taking the initiative to improve unlike Honda BS Malaysia.

Even freaking Nissan and Toyota also have not so much problem compared to Honda BS Malaysia.

That is why i am waiting for Toyota and Nissan to improve on their specs and design so that they can teach Honda BS Malaysia what is proper BQ and QC.

BE LUCKY VW OWNERS.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:48 am

guess what? UMW is owned by Permodalan nasional Berhad (biggest share holder) – which is the govt itself. and the G wont bother that much.

• fishbuffdragonred on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:27 am

Been having the Golf Mk 7 for 13 months. So far so good on the transmission. Touch wood. Have a funny air horn sound tho that VW yet to diagnose the source.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:54 am

to those getting trouble with their VWs, maybe its because u guys are getting the lower end models with problematic parts

im driving the new GTI also no problem, i have owned a few GTIs before. perhaps its time to reflect your choice of selection, instead of getting tsi, then get GTI la.. if cant afford GTI dont buy VW at all..

• What low end? I’m driving a VW CC which cost me more than 200k and its DSG 7 gearbox need clutch pack & mecha replacement recently due to jerking issues!! If the car cost 50-60k i wont be too furious…damn, shud hv gotten a merc/beemer instead.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:43 pm

i pity ur situation, you should have two cars, one for standby or weekend use. let this be a lesson

• Yup, luckily i have a bullet proof ES250 as a spare but need to share wt my wife when the CC have to stay at the SC for repairs ; (…damn, shud have just stick wt a lexus…yeap, lesson learned if want to try non-jap shud try the proven merc/beemer or to be safe…just stick to a Jap

• So..Is it fixed now?

• CWKen on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:09 pm

The answer to all the DSG reliability problems: stick shift & 3 pedals. Lazy flers don’t complain or just don’t buy. If there’s enough of you walking into the showroom asking if there’s a manual and then walk off not buying just because they don’t have ’em, I’m sure they”re bringing in the manual next.

• I have been using passat for pass 3 years. I will not recommend anyone to buy vw…

• later even their courtesy car break down becos of DSG problem

• Kindness on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Don’t worry about that, they have solved the DSG issue already so they won’t provide you a faulty car..

• Kenny tan on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:04 am

I am supposed to choose between VW Polo, Kia Rio and Peugeot 208 and in the end i prefer Peugeot 208.

VW i have 2 relative driving now and a few times going back to workshop for repair so kinda scare after reading all the comments in VW blogs. Kia famous for it unfamed branding and old fashion interior.

So Peugeot fits my bill and no regret so far.

• I drive Polo 1.4 TSI, so far my car didn’t have any issues.. Those negative comments in VW blogs are just their owns opinions.. You have to test drive first before making any decision.. After that, you will fall in love with Polo 1.4. Peugeot 208 can’t even compare with VW as VW has better horsepower than 208.

• nocourtesycar on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:51 pm

This news is not true. My vw was sent in Tuesday and 3 days later its still in the workshop. No courtesy car provided also.

• Duncan Lim on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Maybe the calulation is: Every day fix 3 hours. 3 days total 9 hours. So repair duration is still below 24 hours. Case solved.

• Chillax on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:50 am

Well..Maybe you don’t have luck.. I’ve sent my Golf to the SC last week for clutch replacement and they have provided me a courtesy car during the repairing period.

• stressedVW on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:20 pm

apparently VW said priority of courtesy car given to those with engine breakdown, compression etc…because my DSG mechatronic failure is not a major breakdown comparatively. so many excuses and unattentive services, calls not returned..the hardship of not having a transport is not being compensated …all they can say sorry, we understand. what to do, buyer remorse!

• suelee on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Holding on to a problematic VW is like holding on to a stock price tat is going down. At some point, you have to cut loss, the trend is clearly down. To hope things can be better, is having blind faith. VW cannot change overnite despite wat they promise. Get out while you still can, there are better cars out there!

• Mikelee on Jul 30, 2015 at 4:54 pm

My Car in TTDI SC – Job No: 10421, on 8th July 2015 till today 29th July 2015. for gear box replacement / warranty – No spare parts. NO COURTESY CAR IS PROVIDED!

VW IS JUST MAKING EMPTY PROMISES ON COURTESTY CAR AFTER 24 HRS, MINE IS IN WORKSHOP FOR MORE THAN 480 HRS!
    SO MY ADVICE IS NEVER EVER BUY A VW CAR IN MALAYSIA!

• kelvin on Sep 24, 2019 at 8:23 pm

4 years after this post, the problem still here , my car is in SC kuantan for more than 2 weeks, because of gearbox and magatronics. the latest news is they need another 1 week. COME ON VW UNTIL WHEN YOU GUYS GOING TO IMPROVE , NO COURTESY CAR AT ALL

• Daniel on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:52 pm

My Polo broke down and required 2 weeks for repair.
    No courtesy car at all. Apparently this programme has been cancelled.
    They told me a memo to cancel this programme has been released.

• kelvin on Sep 24, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Come on VOLKSWAGEN MALAYSIA , Until now 2019 this issue havent been solved, My car have been in the SC for 2 weeks now and all they told me is no more courtesy car!!!! 2 Weeks man , this is not accident, is macatronic issue.
    The SC KUANTAN told me the latest news is my car need to be there for another 1 week.