Khairy proposes First Car scheme for youth – reports

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 001

UMNO youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin has proposed a First Car scheme, where young people earning under RM4,000 a month could buy their first car without paying tax on it, according to reports by Sinar Harian and The Star.

“(Translated) Many young people run into difficulties servicing vehicle loans, which are the second-highest behind property loans. Through a First Car scheme, youth earning under RM4,000 a month could buy their first car without paying tax or excise duties.

“This will reduce car prices especially for youth buying for the first time. The cars included in such a scheme should be moderately-priced and locally-assembled,” Sinar Harian quoted him as saying.

A few years ago, Thailand launched a first-car scheme, under which the buyer had to be at least 21 years of age and own the car for at least five years. The car had to be completely built in Thailand and not be worth over one million baht (RM102k).

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_004

Also, its engine could not displace more than 1.5 litres, and the purchase had to take place between September 16, 2011 and December 31, 2012. Once these conditions were met, the buyer was eligible for tax refunds with a ceiling of 100,000 baht (RM10,200) per unit.

The scheme didn’t quite work as intended, leaving more than 100,000 indebted customers defaulting, Reuters reported. The tax breaks cost the government US$2.5 billion (RM8.37 billion), according to World Bank estimates.

Will a First Car scheme work for Malaysia? Let us know what you think in the comments section.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Why not abolish for all?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 7
    • mr president on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:06 pm

because malaysia will go bankrupt if abolish for all. our country already debt like shit, u know how much tax on cars income meant for our country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 51
      • If so much debt, why still change road signs which cost millions?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 7
        • ProtonGSC on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

@Mr president

Debt or corruption?

Go answer yourself, ministers apply load can reach millions to billions for a “cow firm… and now she still stand tall speech yesterday like nothing happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 10
        • Maserati(Official) on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:10 am

Our Government really cares. This really shows it. BN cares for the people. People here are very stupid. All the time picking on BN. Then how BN want to build the country if car prices are not high?

I hope the stupid people reading PT as well as Malaysians start to realise, we need

1) High car prices
          2) High fuel prices.

Work hard you lazy complainers. So lazy blame BN for everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
          • Lambo on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:29 am

If you know where hugh chunks of money have gone and still going you will not think how you think! Being stupid is bad, being stupid and ignorant is a lot worse!

• @Maserati Yeh, they care by changing road signs to their name

• old dog on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Bolehland Bankrupt due to corruption, not this car tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • zaizaizai on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:44 am

Sarcasm at its best

• Yay, no more buying proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 8
      • Soluna on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

YAHOOUUU… finally can buy Toyota Vios RM55K!!!!!!!!

Can’t wait to tell Proton: Bye bye to whatever global Iriz car!!! BOOOOOOO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 57
        • peyn0 on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:54 pm

why no mention perodua ??

perodua macai???

prrdffffttttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
        • LOL toyota vios hahaha what a rubish taste you have in cars. So happy to buy a vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Do not be too happy.
        1) May be just Talk Kock to impress UMNO youths.
        2) Even if Gomen accept the proposal, we can be quite sure the youths be forced to buy P1 or P2 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Prominence on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:15 am

But I’m going to buy Inspira 1.8 manual if this scheme works. Can you find any other manual transmission new cars under 100k that performs better than Inspira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • To Proton:
        Na Na Na Na
        Na Na Na Na
        Hey Hey Hey
        Goodbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Rakyat on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:15 am

We won’t miss you, proton if you close shop. Proton close shop, rakyat happy. In fact, we may have a 3 days 3 nights festival along with fireworks to celebrate it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Game over for Proton

• Same L0rrr on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:25 pm

When they are launching this project: billions have to be funded. Who pay the bill?

When the youth start to default: extra billions needed to cover the bad debt. Who pay the bill?

End of the days, more tax payer money are sucked, more cars are sold (more taxes are paid), car seller, bank and government happy. Who pay the bill and suffer?

Better abolish ALL STUPID TAXES, lower down the car prices for all. Whoever can afford, go get one him/herself.

The trend now is:
      1. Government trying their best to dig money from tax payers
      2. Government at the other hand trying their best to launch STUPID PROJECTS (e.g. change road names, let prisoner make car plates etc.) to put the money into their own pockets.
      3. Lastly: WHO PAY THE BILL??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
    • Macai on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Can get a M3 at 328i’s price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm

From my friend working in custom for 25 years…taxes on foreign car alone gave gov profit average 7 billion annually..think senang-senang nak abolish ka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Bomoh Kelapa on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:48 pm

let me predict the rakyat choice:

Top 10 Cars Sales under Youth First Car scheme
      1. Toyota Vios
      2. Honda City
      3. Perodua Axia
      4. Honda Jazz
      5. Perodua Myvi
      6. Mazda2
      7. Ford Fiesta
      8. Mitsubishi Mirage
      9. Nissan Almera
      10. Proton Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
      • You underestimated the “power of day dreaming” by our youth..
        Their choice:
        1) BMW M4
        2) Merc CLA 45 AMG
        3) Audi RS5
        4) Audi TT
        5) Golf R
        6) Renault Megane 275
        7) Mini Coupe S
        8) Mitsubishi Evo
        9) Peugeot RCZ
        10) Toyota 86

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Black Dog on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Keep on dreaming. If it happens, most probably for Proton (Saga) and Perodua (Axia) cars only.

• wkaka on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:42 pm

They only abolish for lower than RM4k income and cars below 1.5L, meaning Fiesta Ecoboost could be a good buy?

• Fly me to the moon on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:01 pm

If implemented as suggested and echoing the Thai price ceiling (MYR102k), we’ll be seeing a whole lot more Inspiras on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • a rise in youngsters brankruptcy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
  • naChe on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:09 pm

couldn’t agree more

• medic on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:12 pm

This is a good idea. But must not limit to Malaysian Cars e.g P1/P2. Must include all locally assembled cars below the determined value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Ridiculous…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • taklaotak on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:13 pm

satu lagi menteri talkok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
  • weeee on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:14 pm

One condition, if they don’t use their turn signals, take it back

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
    • No one must know on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Totally agree. And also left side of the road is for heavy transport and slow car while the right side of the road is for fast moving car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sounds good but no necessary excellent idea. The government should find ways to reduce taxes instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Anon86 on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:27 pm

They might as well shut down P1 and P2 before introducing this scheme. Same effect, and would cost the taxpayers less in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Perodua n Proton will sure be happy if this gets green light. But sure got so many geniuses will find ways to manipulate the system for their own benefit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Chris (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:23 pm

I’m not so sure. If rule says only applicable to P1/2, then the price drop is only a few K since these cars don’t get taxed as much and people might not bother.

If applicable to all CKD cars, P1/2 will cry because people will buy City/Jazz/Vios/Almera since there’s up to 20k drop in price, making them similar price to top spec P1/2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Proton also is high taxed lor. Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Chris (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:27 pm

http://www.carbase.my/proton/iriz/p2-30a/1.6-vvt-premium-cvt-2014

o’rly?

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:28 pm

It is a good proprosal, for everyone (low income) purchasing first new car in the whole life, provided that the person is above 21 years old, with no crime record nor major accident record in the past 5 years.

You makan banyak, kasi rakyat biasa sedikit gula-gula, tak apa kan?

Thank you Khairy.

And, sorry, I do not benefit from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • ProtonGSC on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Youth are indeed lucky but at less they get to buy car at a more reasonable price.

So the son of the rice family can buy a toyota or honda 1.5cc with a free taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

As I said, ‘I do not benefit from it’.
      You think I want to let my son drive Toyota Vios G or highest spec City?

And, please ensure that the car cannot be sold with the first 7 years.

• shamx on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:08 am

Aiyah……then sambung bayar sell car will rise!!!
        Many youth nowadays u know la…….

• Eugene on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Why not abolish excise taxes all together or at least lower to 10-15%? Petrol wont be subsidized by the government anymore anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • TeacW7 on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Can’t lah bro… APs are owned by kawan-kawan/sahabat baik. If taken off the excise taxes which will mean cut off pocket money for kawan-kawan. Not possible for now until kawan-kawan are toppled..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • nasi sudah jadi bubur on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Cannot la…imagine all the umno daigor have to sell ramli burger later without AP

• Good for the newbies! Middle income groups are still farked. Better just have no more car tax for all.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Don’t be jealous, think about our next generations. Isn’t it better than letting them ride motocycle or old second-hand unsafe cars?

But, please la, if you don’t know how to drive, don’t be a kura-kura at fast lanes.

• Not a good idea on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I’m afraid of the future if this goes through. A lot of young first time owners in brand new cars? There’s a reason why it’s always advisable for your first car to be a second-hand.

Even if it’s tax free, according to Labuan/Langkawi prices, it’s still a hefty amount to finance.

Not to mention how they will spin this. The Gov will say with such a scheme in place, there is no need to reduce car prices because they have made it affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • VWfanboi on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:39 pm

hmmmmmmmm implement before talk. Where is the fuel price turun and car prices turun perjanjian ?

• No one must know on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:54 pm

The goverment remove oil subsidized so the oil price is depent on the world price. Hope OPEC member and non-OPEC member that export oil will not reduce oil output. If their do not reduce the output, the oil price might be lower than subsidized oil. And as for the car price i think their slowly lower the tax. The new Jazz and Cvic is lower than their predecessor. Though Honda is locally produce.

• Donnie on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

it works..but…how about total price reduction through the reduction of taxes or duties or anything to make all the car cheaper since you don’t have to subsidize the petrol anymore..please think about that Khairy…

• Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Many Thai youths had gone bankrupt because of this shitty policy, you think Malaysian youths will be different?

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Wait till open-minded people like Khairi to become perdana menteri.
      Maybe he woundn’t make it, because there are so many kunos around inside the birthday party. Those pengemis just refuse to work and refuse to earn money using their brains and hands. Pengemis, I repeat.

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

How about vehicles just being tax free? Petrol not subsidised anymore, tolls abound all over KL. Crony masih tak cukup makan ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Chris (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Well, yes and no. Depends on the exact terms and condition.

Assuming similar conditions: Cars fully CKD in Malaysia, under 100k, maximum 1.5L. Data from carbase.my suggest there’s only a few options available. This pretty much just means instead of buying P1/P2, they will be able to afford a City/Jazz/Vios/Almera/Swift/Rio since the price will drop by 10-20k.

If the first time buyer would do whatever they can to get a City as a first car then yes, it’ll save them money; If they have set their eyes on that top spec Iriz, they might think again because they’d thought, hey, I could get a toyota instead, and gets it, they’d just threw away better safety for a badge.

It might also back fired as a plan to lure young voters, causing anger in people who didn’t get the benefits.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:35 pm

As I said, anyone above 21 years with no crime record nor major accident record in the past 5 years. First new car, once in a lifetime for low income group.
      Why jealous and angry? Think about your next generations, ok? I am not angry despite paying multiple 6-figure car taxes.

• What about? on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

What is the definition of youth? I’m all for making cars affordable but since so much money has been put into public transport infrastructure, how about promoting that first?

• Maybe we can use the youth minister’s age as a benchmark

• No one must know on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

I agree with you. The goverment should promote the youth to use public transport cause their spend billions of ringgit just for one of the 3 KVMRT line. But still the first line due to complete and operational in middle of 2017, if not delay. And the second line will be operational in 2020.

• Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Use the age of the oldest UMNO youth member as max ‘qualification age’, ha,ha,ha….

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:38 pm

A good public transport is a must.
      But we should not be thinking about KL alone. There are so many other people in whole Malaysia that need own transport for various reasons.

• Sugar Glider on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:48 pm

G will definitely reject this proposal as thier cronies pocket will deflated if this scheme approved.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I think it is more likely that they will announce it on the year of next pilihanraya umum: we will implement it within the next five years. Khairy is not full of influence/power and he is not perdana mentery.

• Henry on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:51 pm

What nonsense!

Improve the public transport and they won’t need a car. Some current owners may even sell their cars. Car ownership here is expensive. The money saved can be used to buy good food and better accomodation.

Many fresh graduates are already burdened by study loan repayments. You want them to add a car loan? If there is a choice who would want to be a slave to a seven or nine year car loan?

• TeacW7 on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:02 pm

IMO the current govt should fix the maximum loan tenure to 5 years with a 30-50% down payment, in order to curb better spendings and hutang keliling pingang.. Car is mandatory in a country like Msia since public transport is no longer in context..

• Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Sell their cars? Just wondering how the 2nd hand market dealers determine the 2nd price with cars of the same model but with greatly different prices when new.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Everyone above 21 years, once in a lifetime.
      Do not think about KL alone, widen your vision.
      Is it more good than bad?

• VWfanboi on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:55 pm

improve your public transportation system rather than promoting youngsters to get a car. We do have enough cars on the road. FYI, public transportation is not only important to KL but other states too… What about Sarawak ? Penang ? Ipoh ? Terrengganu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • No one must know on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:04 pm

I agre. The goverment should instead build more public transport in heavy density city such as George Town.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Improving public transport should go parallel with any good policies for the rakyats.

• erwinkarim on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:55 pm

i love cars like the next person around here but….

better start teaching our youth to use public transport and invest in assets like property/stocks/etc than a spending a large chuck of money in a depreciating assets like a car….

car for mean to be enjoyed, not commute…

• This guy is buying vote.

He has suggested no one should question the malay right under the constitution but did not question the right for cronies to abuse their power and make more money at the expense of the majority poor malay.

Only the “bodoh” Malay will trust him that the non muslim is questioning their right.

His statement is protecting the cronies instead of majority poor malay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Trying to be populist in fornt of UMNO’s crowd from today till this week end.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:56 pm

If that is truely, word by word, his words, then there is nothing wrong: nobody, including me, would be so free or want to question the Malay’s rights, may be except you, according to your wordings. We certainly want to protect our legal rights also.
      The cronies make money at the expense of all Malaysians including chinese and indians, janganlah anda menghasut saying ‘the majority poor Malays’.
      If I become the perdana menteri one day, which I don’t want to, I cannot guarantee that I will not eat nor feed when I am offered 70 billion ringgit. Can you?
      Every person has a price. How high is yours?

• political gimmick. Tempting the young to vote for them like BRIM.

End up we the tax payer foot the bill for them.

• lolzdfdzsf on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:16 pm

fuhh…time for mat rempits to upgrade to car

• smokey on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm

will not work because most fresh grad want vios or City as their first car…

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:19 pm

This is a definately no-no for youth!!

Because this will encourage them to be materialistic!!

For youth, they just start working, it is better for them to live within budget, not asking them spend first save later attitude..

If this is implemented, i bliv bankrupcy rate among the youth will definately soar!!!

For the benefit of the nation:
    1. Reduce wastage at gment level
    2. Increase and enhance public transport
    3. Reduce or abolish tax for private cars
    4. Float the fuel price, use it for the good of nation!
    5. Reduce house price, built more lower to medium range home.
    6. Remove toll!
    7. Built more bike lane!!
    8. Delay GST to year 2020, coz now the nation is not ready to this…(system/culture/income/attitude all not ready)
    9. Create more jobs, limit foreign labour!!
    10. Built more schools/uni/hospital…

Anything else? ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Abu Sayur on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:58 pm

You are being very unrealistic. If they abolish the tax for cars who would want to use public transport? If the government meet all your demands they will go bankrupt. They cannot remove the toll because they have a concession contracts with the stakeholders. If they were to terminate this deal. They would have to pay them upfront losing them more money.

Limit foreign labour? In your dreams. You think Malaysians want to be construction worker? NO. Besides Malaysia’s unemployment rate is currently at a low 2.7%. Already more than enough jobs. What they need is to create more high-income jobs.

You think the opposition will all this implement this? NO. Because it makes no economic sense. Please stop making stupid demands and face the harsh reality.

Though i do agree on 1,5 and 7.

• ProtonGSC on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:20 pm

The unemployed rate is shiting lie.

2.7% does is included house wife and others(many fresh grade suffer finding jobs) in whole m’sia???

Gov research is shitting lie !!!!!!!

• Abu Sayur on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:24 pm

The definition of unemployment is when people are without work and is actively seeking employment. Therefore a house wife is not considered as unemployed as she is not actively seeking employment.

The issue with fresh grads not being employed is prevalent especially in Malaysia as fresh grads in Malaysia lack relevant skills such as good command of English and a myriad of reasons to long to explain here.

• ProtonGSC on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:02 am

That’s your explanation !!!

Gov research bases on your explanation???
            Newspaper never mention any of above….

Gov is just making lies to public. Wake up kids !!!

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Most if not all of your suggestions are good, some I afraid cannot be done even if I become the perdana menteri + Agung at the same time.
      But, if something good is proposed, take your stand: is it good or bad, you support or not. I support only if it is for everyone above the age of 21 years with no highest age limit.
      Why not you give good suggestions to polish up Khairy’s proposal?
      He is not saying: please stop improving public transport, we want to divert the money to subsidise this policy, ya.

• AcerMan on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Thailand failed but Malaysia will succeed with this scheme because Malaysia BOLEH…….
    I MUST have gone KOKOOOOOOOO……..
    IMHO Thailand set the ceiling price a tad too high. Since G intend to do away with the tax for this scheme, keep it to the single cheapest model in each of the national car producer. The defaulter list can be minimized as the instalment will be low enough to discourage from doing so…. :-)

• Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:26 pm

P1 Axia E model. now @ RM24.5K, for the youths the price will be RM15K?

• Dr Mmm on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm

idea bagus!
    hanya sah untuk pembelian kereta Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:23 pm

what’s stopping them from buying then selling to other ppl who offer to purchase their lower priced car?

i admire KJ and his rise from the most well balanced party of UMNO, he’s a visionary, an MP for all races from all backgrounds, but he needs to be more comprehensive in dishing out policies which are not thoroughly considered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Please on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Please don’t make me laugh at MP for all races.

Kindly refresh your memory for what he said barely 24 hours ago and i quote this article: Bukan Melayu jangan cabar ‘hak istimewa’ kami, kata Khairy

Now you may go back and jadi katak di bawah tempurung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • ayooo on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:33 pm

what is wrong with that statement? It is constitutionally correct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • George Abdul on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:27 pm

If others races speak like the same statement….

Immediate seduction act for them… Does this even fair???

Ask yourself kid !!!
          Dare to abolish bumi and non-bumi law?!!!!!
          Racial anot go ask yourself.

• Michel Bay on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:58 pm

“If others races speak like the same statement…

…Immediate seduction act for them…”

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL ROFL

BEST AUTOCORRECT ERROR IN PAUL TAN HISTORY ROFL !!

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Why do you want to cabar hak istimewa of Malays? I don’t want to.
        I just want to protect my legal rights.
        You are still young, read between the lines, and understand the motives.

• 1Malaysia on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Who wants to cabar their rights? Ever heard of “Freedom of Speech”? Is is they that are afraid of people speaking up about the real issues in Malaysia. Want to use the law to shut people up? What kind of country is this? Even Obama asked the PM to consider abolishing the sedition act

• Baymax on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Khairy is having puberty. Emotion not stable

• Low Budget on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Belum matang lagi, kena tunggu lagi 10 tahun.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

As I said, make good suggestions to polish up a proposed policy.

• azrai on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:32 pm

1st time buyer is the youth. They need to repay their PTPTN first lor Mr.Khairy. Car is an option. Better give waiver for PTPTN loan than waiver for the excise duty on car. Benjamin Franklin said the best return of investment is in education.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

You pinjam, you bayar. Is there anything wrong?
      Are they charging you 18% per annum?

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Hahaha.. Before PRU13 cakap nak reduce car prices, but until now habuk pun tak de. And then suddenly came out with this idea. Later different idea pulak keluar, until one month before PRU14, harga reduce by 5% to pancing voters.

• abahko on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

if wanna propose, apply for all. ptui, double standard. this bozo got no brain.

• Minah on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

As if the road need to be filled with more cars.
    Improve public transport is better la…

• Invest your hard-earned money on a property rather than a vehicle. Well, everybody knows why and needs no explanation anymore.

• motor upgrade to car on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Put a price cap at 40k should work

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:36 pm

I am gonna buy a BMW using my brother’n name, get a huge discount and i will cover the tax for his Iriz..

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

I disagree as its stand only for youth…how about gold citizen (like me) also want to taste owning S-class before die..

• albag on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

kasi don’t tax let everyone can afford cars.. forget about jam shit… make all cars affordable la..

• bubbaonsteroids on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:56 pm

I support 1Msia No bullshit scheme!!

• Aero (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

As a youth myself, all I can say is ‘not yet’. No matter how good the ‘grand vision’ is, no matter how much sense it makes, so long as it’s being executed under BN jurisdiction, there will be a margin for corruption and abuse.

If you ask me, all youth should start with a cheap, under RM20k second-hand car (purchased with full cash, not a bank loan) as their first car, and not new cars. Until the youth can demonstrate that they are capable of sustaining a stable income of above RM6k in the Klang Valley (trust me, RM4k is not enough), it is better if they don’t buy a new car, even if they could. In most developed countries, youth often get second hand cars as their first cars… in my opinion, this is the best approach, because it will teach kids to value their possessions, and work harder to get their dream car. Our youth will be stronger and more independent this way. If parents spoil their kids with expensive new cars from the start, kids will never learn until it’s too late. Just my dua sen lah. I’m 20 and I drive my mom’s former car, a 2007 Saga LMST only (which is worth about RM10k used) … and I’m lucky, some of my friends drive Kancils or worse (trust me, even a Kancil is God-like compared to a Chery or Kia Sephia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • IrizX on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:16 pm

I see all the fools here so happy…TOK KOK only.

Even if it does happen, it will only applies to P1 and P2…and you can only buy 1.3 Saga or Iriz or Axia or Mawi and maybe Alza….LOL.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Maybe you are just too young.
      Do you even know why people like me are here?

This is to educate you: do not see things from only your own perspective.

• Now his actions n nonsense suggestion to b next pm by impressing so call young generation .but in reality this type of suggestions lead to youngers with no money,no savings in future.keep it with urself.

• That’s easy. Just get any of your family member earning below 4K to buy a car.

• thomasNOTmyname on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

They (you know who) will always keep their promise. With unreasonable rule and regulation. Their parents spend so much money on their education and this is what they can come out with? Encourage new generation spend their 1st gold on cars?

Should i concern for my children?

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Can I assume you are the cacing inside his usus or brain.

Do you know what the real things are inside Khairy’s mind. You seems to be pretty naive.

Maybe you are not, and instead very clever. Sometimes the very clevers just want to mislead the unthoughtful readers, purposefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • thomasNOTmyname on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:37 am

It seem you have been replay to most of the comment we all post with positive support for them. Ether you’re one of them for Khairy himself.

Ether way this is free country. Welcome to the community.

• Olio benzina on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Make it one model program.
    Proton Iriz.
    Have a lease progarm so minimal downpayment, reduce risk of default, ensure the cars are not modded and safety features not disabled.

• Olio benzina on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:14 pm

And you also have to be married with a child at least to be eligible. I worry when I see couple with child riding motor bike.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Thank you for making suggestion, instead of bashing.
      We don’t want membangkang for the sake of membangkang.

I am not kawan of Mr KZM.

I want anything/everything that is good for rakyats, although 99% of it will not benefit me.

• BlurBlur on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:21 pm

If this were to be implemented. I won’t be surprised if the condition for such cars are:
    – Locally assembled
    – Current Retail Priced below RM65k
    – Minimum Equipment : ABS, 2 Airbags, Traction Control
    – First Time Car Buyer (Never own any car before)
    – Salary Below RM4k a month
    – First Car in Household (Possible)

• C.P.Mohan on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I know KJ is the UMNO Youth Wing President but is this a youth issue per se or a Malaysian issue. BTW instead of telling youths to be financially savvy with their income we are telling them to have more debts from a depreciating asset.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Did he encourage anything?

Did he promote any good habits or bad habits?

Or are we just presume or extrapolate?

• Henry Ford the XII on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:52 am

Err.. KJ is also our Minister of Youth and Sports?

• Pokli Seluang (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm

not many choice la.many dream car import from indonesia and thailand.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:05 pm

This policy is supposed the help low-income people in needs.

Not for dream car.

• Azahari on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:26 am

Khairy is just doing his job. And I think it is a good idea. Its not going to benefit me but it is a good idea. I just don’t understand why we all bashing this idea. Is it just because this idea is coming from BN rep? Why we are so full of negativity? Most of us have too much to complain about ourself because we cannot afford to buy our dream car and then we blame the country? Is it?

• Will take effect in 2088..

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:12 pm

You have to ask Mr N first.

Khairy is not PM. He just thought about a small welfare/help for low-income rakyat.

He is better than a lot of MPs who just like kepala and bottle thinking about their own pockets only. You can at times think about your pockets asalkan jangan keterlaluan, but you must work hard for a better Malaysia with well-fed rakyats.
      Also, please, no membangkang for the sake of membangkang; if a policy is good, you just keep quiet if you don’t want to make good/constructive suggestions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • troller on Nov 27, 2014 at 7:38 pm

i would suggest it to expand it (tax removal) to all people but will be limited:
    1. One car per person
    2. Car under certain value / locally made
    3. eligible for one car for a period of 10 yrs. After 10 yrs can apply for new cars which satisfy above two requirements.

• cck_clan on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:18 am

Student will get very rich. Why? buy BMW X6 and rent it to those car rental, and these student will get free education. Our umno youth leader never use head to think, i guess only use a$$ to think.

• sgbuloh on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:50 am

just wonder if come to RV then how? You purchase the car with much lower price but if resales back? Dont tell me resales only can be done to the youth group

• khairulattan on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:58 am

KJ KJ just bcos he is UMNO youth chief ,
    he is trying to be a populist.
    Dare u bring this up in Parliament and
    demand Miti incorporate this in the NAP.
    Sadly we only hear this in UMNO gen assembly
    but in Parliament he chooses to be a lame duck.
    Yes everyone wants to own a car
    but we don’t want youth to be slaves to the banks
    for the next 9 years.
    So please Mr Oxford trained , think b4 u speak
    why youth earning less than 4k only entitled when the
    majority of Working adults also earn less than 4k ?

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Sorry, your intelligence and wisdom are just average.
      You have not reached that level of thinking, and I wouldn’t elaborate further.

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:58 am

That means can I buy Nissan 300ZX Z32 third hand under Iriz price?

• Hi.. Great! May i know..How to apply this scheme? when it start? the car seller say they dont know this promotion