Infiniti QX80 now in Malaysia, 5.6 V8 SUV on sale 2015

Infiniti QX80 Malaysia 1

Would you not make way if the above image appeared in your mirrors? Even if you discount the unconventional styling, the sheer size of the Infiniti QX80 (and its shiny grille) demands attention.

This hulk of an SUV is over two metres wide and towers over everything but the lorries at 1,940 mm. The near 2.8-tonne beast has a wheelbase that’s longer than a SWB W222 S-Class’ and makes an Audi Q7, as well as rivals Lexus LX, Range Rover and Mercedes-Benz GL look small.

We’re surprised that the QX80, designed for America and the Middle East, is now available in right-hand drive. Not only that, the beast is currently in Malaysia and will go on sale here early next year – this unit is a prototype of the RHD version, which will also go to Australia and Indonesia.

Infiniti QX80 Malaysia 3

We were tipped off by reader William who works in the buliding that houses Infiniti Center KL – the good man told us that “a very big SUV” is in the showroom, and we popped by for a jaw dropping photo session.

Everything screams big. The QX80 is powered by a 5.6 litre V8 engine (‘5.6’ badge on the side) with 405 hp and 560 Nm. The direct-injection VK56VD is paired to a seven-speed automatic gearbox and power is laid down via the All-Mode 4WD system with computer controlled transfer case (Auto, 4H and 4L modes). The big dial behind the gear lever also has Snow, Sand and Rocky terrain modes.

Those large wheels are 22-inch forged aluminum alloys wrapped with 275/50 Bridgestone Dueler H/T (road) rubber, by the way. How much per piece, we wonder…

Infiniti QX80 Malaysia 20

Climb onboard the eight-seater (thank you, side steps and pillar grab handles) and you’ll find lots of leather and wood, plus triple-zone Plasmacluster climate control, a 13-speaker Bose sound system, two seven-inch screens for the rear passengers (with wireless headphones, we were told), and the brand’s “Safety Shield” suite of driver assistance systems.

The latter, also available in the Q50, includes Distance Control Assist, Forward Emergency Braking, Predictive Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Blind Spot Intervention and Backup Collision Intervention.

How much do you think the Infiniti QX80 will sell for? The Mercedes-Benz GL 500 (4.6 V8) goes for RM913k while the Range Rover 5.0 V8 Supercharged breaks the million dollar mark at RM1,089,888. Not very pretty, but surely there aren’t many better ways to stand out than in this beast.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Something is not right about the headlights… Macam mata cepet. And do something with the wood trim inside the vehicle… Color doesn’t go too well with the interior.’ Maybe it just me lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Ali Babba on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Those earning salary RM3K no need to comment here lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
      • ali babba... when someone think he so damn rich people! on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:50 pm

hahahah this one funny… why no need comment here? because we who earning RM3K not afford to buy this car…. bro for this ugly design… if we can afford oso dont want to buy lor… and one more thing… if you think you so damd rich… i suggest.. get new glasses for your eyes lor… so you can see clearly… cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • The first time i saw it in US was WOW…it really has wow factor

• forrest the tree on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

the exterior like the fish “hua luo han”. Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • EaTmYsMoKe on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm

it’s make me remembered to “flower horn” fish. hikhikhikhik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Exterior looks odd… Just… odd…

the wood doesn’t cut it too…

Range Rover or a Cayenne anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:52 pm

The front fascia reminds me of a rhinoceros. Headlights too low and narrow for the amount of metal tapering upwards above it. It might not even make a ripple in the market…

• policeman on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:58 pm

If the badges were removed, I would have guessed it to be a SsangYong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • exact thoughts of mine too.. i thought initially it was a Ssang Yong !

• Lizio on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:03 pm

the look reminds me a dog, a bulky dog maybe like Bulldog? or Flower Horn Fish?, whatever…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Gajen on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:06 pm

too ugly. looks like ssangyong

• don’t like the front design… reminds me of ssangyong

• holy cow!!! i wouldn’t drive it even though if it is given to me free…

• carazy on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Land Rover, Ford and even Toyota make good looking SUV, why Nissan can’t. Fungly in and out.

• weeee on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:17 pm

the wood trim is hurting my eyes

• the faux wood… don’t look good…

• VWfanboi on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

SSangyong Stavic japanese brother…. ugly like….

• exterior and interior design are awful..but i must say, with piano black exterior color it looks menacing and bestial.

• Jimmy on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Usually people will trade in luxurious brand for size and space and at a slightly lower price. So I guess it will be slightly cheaper than Q7 or X5 at RM568 888.
    This price is 240k more than the more beautiful CX-9.

• best looking car of the year!

• bvc100 on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Dunno whether the design is due to platform sharing (hence the weird headlamp and bits and pieces), or Infinity went bonkers.

• Another road brick!!!

• erwinkarim on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:00 pm

the overly large engine seems to overcompensate for something…. :)

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:05 pm

it’s over inflated Q50 meh..

• Painter on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Your house cat and your grandmother’s foot will not stand a chance being rolled over by one of these beasts.

• Ash Crimson on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:20 pm

What is this monstrosity?! Looks like it can swallow children.

• Syafiq on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Chrome at side panel look cheap. Exterior like china brand car.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:57 pm

what to do…nowadays most japs made all sub-quality one including lexus

• UAEdriver on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:25 pm

In the United Arab Emirates, the full spec version of the QX80 is approx RM250,000.
    If this car is about RM1m, then Malaysians are paying RM750k in taxes.

• Saw plenty of this in dubai. Bad ass car indeed.

• biggbro on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Same here in doha…getting more popular with the locals than the ubiquitous land cruiser. I’ll give way to this monster as soon as I see one behind.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Ahmat Mustlan surely will visit the showroom to know more about this car. Next year pergi parlimen, west coast style.

• too big, too thirsty, we dont need this kinda monsters otr..

• From Doha on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:42 pm

This is the premium version of Nissan Patrol, sold in the Gulf as a direct competitor against Toyota’s Land Cruiser. I prefer Patrol over QX80 with the basic entry model’s price of RM 170k here.

• gaviny on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

It’s ugly as sin, i would only make way simply to see the face of who would spend that money on that

• nabill (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Wait til u see one on the road, as imposing as the Hulk… And trust me, that v8 has one hell of a burble….. Ive seen few in Dubai n thy look awesome… The r not pretty bt very very unique

• lolipop on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:05 pm

this lorry should use diesel!!

• Na. Jeep, Harga minyak bila turun on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:58 pm

It seem like Truck without trailer to me, not SUV. Ugly monster, which kids see the size will cry out!!

• Na. Jeep, Harga minyak bila turun on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:59 pm

why no see sebastian vettel standing next to it?too ugly,isn’t it,Vet?

• hahaha on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

This vehicle makes SsangYong look miles nicer!
    Huhuhu

• german car lovver aka Jian on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Eventhough my name says “German Car Lover” and i’ve been using german cars for past 10 years now (Excluding my wife’s cars which are all French) i would say the QX80 looks fairly reasonable on the outside but the inside is an absolute eyesore with its Cherry Wood Trim and green digital gauges.It would be better if it was replaced by “Brushed Aluminium”or Piano Black trim.

• anai anai would love to chew this car

• adamj on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:05 pm

wow loving the new Chery!

• TheDean on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:06 pm

It’s infinity, unfortunately, they opted for a design that is infinitely, ugly!

• reall on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

this is infinitely ugly. If you look at it from the front it looks like a flowerhorn

• torque on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:30 pm

It’s like when you get inside the car,”Argghhhhh!!! My eyes…it’s gone blind. I can’t see…arghhhhh!!” Seriously Infinity?! Didn’t you learn anything from Lexus? OMG!

• Abah Ko on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:49 pm

so damn ugly!!!!!!!!

• rear looks like casket truck….

• QX70 looks far more better than this ugly QX80

• not nice on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:47 pm

what kind of design is this ? even the old lorries you see on the roads look better.

• Head Hunter on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Lexus, your turn to bring in the LX570.

This version is a facelift, much nicer than the one in Dubai, much meaner. I love it because of the bonkers design. Interior? Maybe poplar or cherrywood if in the options list. Oh, and in black please, badass monster. Frankenstein if you ask me. Crazy, but awesome..

• truely malaysian on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Ahh, it hurts my eye looking at this piece of crap!

• gooner86 on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:33 pm

is it bigger than hummer h2??

• gooner86 on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:33 pm

is it bigger than a hummer h2???

• hello on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:09 am

did they just hired Ssangyong’s designers?

• Sammy No Value on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:21 am

Our local vehicle tax would surely slaughter the buyer of this vehicle with such big cc.

Don’t understand what is the point of bringing in such a car.

Bolehland’s tax policy has made such vehicles irrelevant.

• Sharuddin on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:57 am

For the cronies and the elites. Ask where are their monies coming from? Rakyat of course.

• Sammy No Value on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:23 am

I expect this car to cost around Rm900k- 1m!

• Will probably see a lot of these monsters in Sarawak. Sarawakian towkays love em..

• offerint on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:14 am

since when Infiniti produced trucks? Hino has a luxury challenger now..hmmm

• I drove a nissan armada in the US. 5.7L and that thing really goes. Smooth and powerful. Bonnet is almost chest height.

• Adlan on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Bigger than average Fortuner, Sorento and such!

Good option for multi-millionaire construction-family man though.

• AbsolutKev86 on Nov 29, 2014 at 6:00 pm

the nissan Patrol that it was based on looks much better

• This is excellent vehicle I drive in Middle East; those don’t know about brand and quality of Infiniti dot not comment unnecessary , its beautiful vehicle