Lamborghini Veneno makes an appearance at Sepang

lamborghini-veneno-3

Now this is definitely something you don’t see everyday. During the race weekend of the 2014 Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo World Finals, Lamborghini thought that it would be a great idea to ship its ultra-exclusive Veneno model in and parade it around, much to the delight of those in attendance.

In fact, taxi rides were even offered in Sant’Agata’s finest under one condition – you had to own a Lamborghini yourself. Fair enough when you consider that the Lamborghini Veneno LP750-4 costs in the region of three million euro (RM12.52 million) a pop. Not that it mattered since only four were built.

Three units were meant for customers – each in red, white and green – with the grey one you see here owned by Lamborghini itself. First unveiled at the 2013 Geneva motor show, the Veneno is based on the Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 and was conceived to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the company.

More than an Aventador with a bodykit, the Veneno – Spanish for venom – sports a retuned 6.5 litre V12 engine producing 750 hp and 690 Nm of torque. The power gets transferred to all four wheels via a seven-speed ISR single-clutch gearbox. Top speed is rated at 355 km/h with a 0-100 km/h time of 2.8 seconds.

The numbers only play half the part, though. Nothing – except for the Super Trofeo cars themselves – could come close to matching the sheer aesthetic and aural drama of the Lamborghini Veneno LP750-4. Unfortunately, pictures cannot capture sound because if they could, they’d be worth two thousand words.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Mr. Practical on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:48 am

Sorry that I might come across as a green-eyed monster but with a price tag like that, I could easily buy myself A FEW luxury cars, a house and a few apartments for keeps. Indeed an exotic masterpiece but it’s just too impractical to be driven on our Malaysian roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Missing the point on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:09 am

Of course it’s impractical. The Veneno is meant for people who could buy acres of land in Malaysia, build a private road/track/highway on it, and drive like mad whenever they want. Our Malaysian roads are unworthy to have the Venono on it. The Veneno “mencemar duli” when it’s engine had to suck in Malaysia’s air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:30 am

Obviously it’s for somebody who don’t care about practicality, just to show off he can waste his money and still already have MORE than FEW luxury cars, houses, apartments maybe aircraft carrier and jet fighters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Mr. HantamSaja on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Malaysian road are the best road among Asean country, I think you are like a frog sitting under the coconut shell.. even our ‘good’ neighbor test their car on Malaysian road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
      • GT3 (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Nope. Thailand has better road quality than ours, very smooth and paved using concrete layers before asphalt. Not to mention Singaporean roads, even better. I think we know who’s been living like frog under coconut shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • weeee on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:20 pm

I don’t know who the 3 people who bought the Veneno but I’m sure they already have more than ‘a few’ luxury cars, more than 1 house. Heck even if they have their own private island I wouldn’t be surprised.

• Dear Mr. Practical.
      I think anyone who can afford this car would already have all that you mentioned in your comment.

• jibam on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:59 am

see how low their SgRP for driver

• No gopro videos?

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:27 am

OHHHH LALALAAAA !!

• mamatwhyla on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:30 am

So ugly, lambo engineer really run out of idea. Look like it came out from some 3rd year university project or some proton design competition.

No where near those hybrid hypercar P1, 918 and laferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
    • said people that cannot afford it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • mamatwhyla on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:50 am

This amuse me. So people who bash, comment negatively or giving their thought should afford it 1st before commenting. Then should just close this comment section. Geez

• venven81 on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:35 am

OMFG! that event was over and i doubt i will ever get a chance to see one in flesh in my lifetime. can only go on youtube and catch a glimpse of its action and some sound that will never come close to the actual sound! sigh…

• No Money Guy on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

I was there, the veneno was infront of me with the doors unlock but I didn’t even dare to touch it. Too expensive to touch… -_-“

• niterunner99 on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

if this belongs to a Malaysian…he/she sure won’t need fuel subsidies.

• weeee on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:29 am

well if you read properly this car belongs to Lamborghini themselves. The other 3 which are red, white & green are the ones sold to customers.

• Eye candy. Dream stuff. Nothing more. Best enjoyed looking at and forgotten as fast as it goes.

• Hemi 426 on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:17 am

Now this a real bona fide show stopper of a ride if i ever saw one.

Look at those outrageous lines!! But it’s not and never will be a practical application for a hyper car,especially here with our corrupted and ridiculous taxes and new car prices.

And look at our roads!!The only place a lucky owner of one of these will get to truly enjoy and exploit it’s real potential and savage performance would be at a racetrack,such as Sepang.

But for the ultimate sense of occasion,few rides would be able to top this mutha.

Cheers.

• spongewai on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:43 am

Ichibang this car

• Ong Chee Boon on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:04 pm

What a sharp-edge looking beast with some serious punch!

For anyone think it is too expensive, think again. Only less than 10 units are being produced. It is very rare and unique, and that’s what a rich man (very very rich) is looking for: Exclusiveness.

Well of course in our perspective, we will compare the cars based on price and segment. They don’t even give a damn. They just want it.

Putting the price tag aside, i prefer Gallardo or Aventador based on design alone. (Futuristic yet balanced)

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I’m sorry Lambo. To these eyes, the car is ugly. I’d take the Sesto Elemento anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • The diff:-
      Sesto Elemento – For Track Only
      Veneno – For Road & Track…

• GT3 (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Correction, the Sesto Elemento is road-legal and track-ready as well, so in same category as the Veneno.
        The difference is just the Sesto Elemento was based on Gallardo chassis while the Veneno based on Aventador’s.

• They should bring Egoista as well

• nabill (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Where on earth u gotta put a number plate….?! Hehe..

• livinter on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:10 pm

I can imagine to keeping this car… How much RV in the future. Maybe more than double the price.

• I came

• Beng Beng on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:22 am

Mahathir’s son new TOY.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Nov 29, 2014 at 4:01 pm

My BMW Z5 Quad Turbo 0-100 3 sec 10 Pot Brembo Brake look hell alot better and can smoke this like no tomorrow.

• Ashraf RageBB on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:36 pm

ohhh, kerete ni memang unik dan ‘cutting edge’ tapi lebih baik beli gallardo atau aventador. Dengan harga 12 juta pastinya kita boleh beli berpuluh-puluh ekar tanah, rumah, haji, derma pelarian gaza dan hidup mewah. So worthless…

• Afiq Avacador on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:53 am

Trust me beb,before you berduit. Memang you boleh kata macam tu. Tapi bila you dah berduit nanti,you tau lah feeling macam mana.