Jeep Grand Cherokee launched in M’sia, from RM449k

GrandCherokeeOverland_Ext_02

Yes, folks, after a 15-year absence, Jeep is officially back! We’re at the Malaysian revival of the brand at its swanky new showroom in Glenmarie, where a total of four models and eight variants have been launched.

DRB-Hicom’s subsidiary EON, having been appointed the sole Jeep distributor in Malaysia by Chrysler last June, kicks things off with the Compass Limited, two variants of the Cherokee, two variants of the Grand Cherokee and three variants of the distinctive Wrangler.

We start with the range-topping model – the fourth-gen WK2 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Measuring 4,828 mm long, 1,943 mm wide and 1,802 mm tall, with a 2,915 mm wheelbase, the five-seater sits on a platform derived from the third-gen W166 Mercedes-Benz M-Class, but no one would be the wiser with a striking, masculine body like that.

Available here in Overland and Limited trims, the SUV’s trademark high-set seven-vertical bar front grille is flanked by bi-xenon headlamps with LED DRL signatures. Quite a bit of chrome is to be found – encircling the fog lamps, lower intake and side glass area, as well as on the door handles and tailgate sill.

The vehicle at the event is the top-spec Overland; the lower-trim Limited has a slatted front grille instead of the Overland’s honeycomb item, and no front tow hooks.

Squared-off wheel arches lord over 20-inch five-spoke aluminium wheels wrapped in 265/50 series tyres (18-inch 10-spokers on the Limited), while roof rails, a tailgate spoiler and twin tailpipes round off the exterior elements. Open the power tailgate and you’re confronted with 990 litres of boot space; fold the 60:40-split back seats and you get 1,950 litres.

Interior features include leather seats (front seats are eight-way power adjustable), keyless entry and start, auto dual-zone air-con, auto lights with auto high-beam control, auto wipers and an 8.4-inch Uconnect touch-screen with navigation, voice command, MP3 and USB. You also get parking sensors front and rear, plus a reverse camera with grid lines.

GrandCherokeeOverland_Int_19

Apart from being power tilt- and telescopically-adjustable, the steering wheel is trimmed in wood and leather (just leather on the Limited), and contains audio, cruise control and voice command switches. Steering is electro-hydraulic. Behind the wheel you’ll find shift paddles, and on the centre console is the Selec-Terrain dial, which offers five traction control settings.

The instrument panel contains a wide seven-inch display, and above your head is a dual-pane sunroof. Audiophiles rejoice, for Alpine Premium sound enters the cabin through nine speakers.

Under the bonnet, a 3.6 litre Pentastar VVT V6 sends 284 hp at 6,350 rpm and 347 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm to all four wheels through a Quadra-Trac II full-time 4WD system and an eight-speed auto.

Thanks to a Quadra-Lift air suspension system (only on the Overland), the vehicle’s ground clearance can be raised up to 66 mm higher than the standard ride height, or lowered by 38.1 mm. Park, Aero, Normal Ride Height, Off-Road I and Off-Road II modes are selectable. The Limited makes do with more conventional front double wishbones and rear multi-links.

The safety arsenal comprises seven airbags (including driver’s knee), ESC, Electronic Roll Mitigation, Hill Start Assist and engine immobiliser. A total of nine body colours are offered, including Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl, Maximum Steel Metallic and Cashmere Pearl.

Fully-imported (CBU) from the US, the Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland is priced at RM468,889, OTR without insurance (or RM481,401 with insurance). A lower-trim Cherokee Limited is also available at RM448,889. A five-year/150,000 km warranty is included. See full specifications on CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• After a 15 years of absence I would imagine they would have done their market pricing research homework before returning. Good luck with their next 15 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:57 am

exorbitant pricing…
    Better wait for the volvo xc90 to arrive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Legend (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

quite a not bad pricing strategy…
    Compare to its platform-siblings M-Class, it is consider cheaper than M-Class
    And finally not only Sultan can buy this car anymore!we also can buy a Jeep again!Hope that EON will bring in SRT8 model for this Grand Cherokee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • The Boss on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:41 pm

The SRT would probably be priced at around RM1m which nobody would buy!

• Revival – Today

Close Shop – Tomorrow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • That price!
    Why this over the BMWX3 or RR Evoque or even Audi Q5???

• Abu Sayur on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:33 am

In Australia, the entry level grand Cherokee is Aud45k (Rm125k). Just saying.

• I own one…2012 model GC Limited for $67 :)

Apsal kereta kat malaysia mahal sangat!?? Here GC is just like another car…it’s everywhere.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:42 am

a car that failed the moose test terribly. thanks. i’ll have the xc60.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:01 pm

By far this would have been the only Jeep I would actually buy, the looks are pretty much spot on, interior is not bad, and feels decent…. until the price.

At what is essentially the price of a BMW X5 (yes, I know the GC is as large as the X5) it is very very steep, considering the BMW has a better power train (smaller engine – friendly road tax, turbos help in torque), the X5 is much nicer inside than the GC (based on the GC available in Australia), and would most likely drive better. It’s not to say the GC is a bad car – far from it, it is just, at the 500k price point, you must be really REALLY good, because at that price, don’t forget, the Porsche Macan (about 480k after options), Range Rover Evoque (the cheapest before options in the 400-500k range), X5, Q7 (just above 500k) are all really good and while the Evoque and Macan are smaller, they present more desirable options than the Jeep.

Just a very bad pricing move. I’d have not priced it more than even 380k.

• Bulu ketiak on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Crazy pricing. Nice car. But it’s just insane to price this car so close to a BMW X5!

• better buy land rover evoque

• Anyone saw Audi here?

• The Boss on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:39 pm

To the principal dealership who is selling this brand, if you happen to be reading our comments, the pricing does not appeal at all.

A Jeep Wrangler for about RM300k?? This has to be one of the biggest jokes around. I would take an X3 for such money anyday!

• Abbas Saad on Nov 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Grand cherokee is quite nice. Better than many Japanese SUV. But why charge so expensive? Is DRB Hicom even serious about doing business?

• zulkifli on Nov 30, 2014 at 1:12 pm

the price is super crazy!
    good luck to square off with the LR, Q’s & XC’s!!

• alfaman on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:57 pm

The price touching Discovery territory..fuh…
    Grand Cherokee over a Discovery…the king of the terrain..? Please…

• Simon on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:19 pm

I saw what appeared to be a Jeep GC just the other day. I said to my wife 250K-300K here in MY would be reasonable then I noticed the published price.

There is a sucker born every minute!

• this car just like the grand cheroke. didn’t pass the moose test.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaYFLb8WMGM&spfreload=10