Proton Iriz shows up at Thai Motor Expo, coming soon

Proton Iriz Thailand 2

Sawadee krub from the 2014 Thailand International Motor Expo – we’re here covering it live. Funnily enough, we kick things off with something Malaysian – this Citrus Green Proton Iriz is on display, with a ‘COMING SOON’ sticker on its side windows.

This pretty much confirms the B-segment hatch for the Thai market, replacing (spiritually at least) the Proton Savvy, which business daily The Nation picked as one of its top 10 cars of 2008, citing its affordability.

Will the Proton Iriz be able to take over the mantle, and be competitively priced in an already hugely-competitive market amongst locally-assembled Eco Cars?

Proton is distributed by Phranakorn Auto Sales in the Kingdom. The most recent Thai launch was the Suprima S in November last year – the C-segment hatch is priced at 805,000 baht (RM82,800).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jacksonljs on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Since Toyota and Honda currently dominate the car sales in Thai (dunno what’s the current situation now), my suggestion to Proton is, please highlight the function and importance of stability control and other features over there especially with your Iriz and other new model (it’s not necessary already to get more expensive cars to have stability control with this Proton) where most Toyota and their low spec Honda City are lacking in that area as their main marketing strategies as well as the other selling point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • Jenin on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Proton Iriz vs. Jazz, Vios, City, Yaris in Thailand? Ha ha ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 78
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 131
        • felipe on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Where do you got you 800k baht figure? The article above shows 800k baht price is for Suprima S. You read the article or not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
          • Gargantia on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Typical Proton basher never stop complaining.

He or she should learn to read before comments.

If Proton sell good in Thailand they will all shut up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:49 pm

This is the typical Proton 5S lifestyle I mentioned many times:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Sangat Mahal

Despite its poor build quality, I still hope Proton Iriz could sell good in Thailand. Because if Proton doesn’t sell good, it will just come back beg government give pocket money (latest RM1006mils). I rather the Thai ppl get conned than dump more Malaysian tax money into this hopeless company. Sorry my beloved Thai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 76
          • Manusia on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Pergi marah Proton buat apa kalau mahal? Marah kerajaan Malaysia la. Kereta tempatan pun kena cukai eksais

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • kzm (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:30 pm

thai people always conned by toyota/honda there. they seem just fine being cooned everyday just to get car maker open plant there…just look at the price vs spec..cheap but kosong.. give 1 car in thai price RM50-40k have 2 airbag, ABS, EBD, BA, ESC, TC, HHA, reverse sensor, power windows all door?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Sohai Law on Nov 29, 2014 at 10:54 am

This is the typical Sohai Same Law 5S lifestyle mentioned many times:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Tuduh Local Kereta Rosak
            4. Sales Semakin Lama Semakin Kurang
            5. Sangat Mahal…lah Toyota, Komisen Tinggi ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Nobody give high praise exclude ProtonGSC. PROTON offers better spec cars rather than Vios, Honda and Nissan. Ah Beng hope that Asean people will recognize how important safety is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
          • jimmy on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Safety specs = Yes
            Engine specs = Sucks
            If you wanna sell a car solely on safety specs then sell it to the
            military !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
        • 800k baht for suprima s la bengong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
          • kairul abdul on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Talk kok u can Beng gong yourself. 800k baht or 80k u still not money to buy benggong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
        • Maserati(Official) on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm

This is truly a junk. But Malaysians are stupid, they will fall for Proton marketing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
          • fanofthisite on Nov 29, 2014 at 9:53 pm

This is how you drop an engine block on your feet when you plainly have no idea of what to to contribute to a motoring forum. Sad.

• dude, please make some effort to read the article first before open the mouth. It shows your level of stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • where's motorhead? on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:11 pm

May I teach you..?

S.U.P.R.I.M.A isn’t read as I.R.I.Z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • where's motorhead? on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Please take everyone advice here …. learn to read … this isn’t about u using wrong grammar or what.. u just don’t know how to read a simple word..

• fanofthisite on Nov 29, 2014 at 9:49 pm

This is how you drop an engine block on your feet when you plainly have no idea of what to to contribute to a motoring forum. Sad.

• antihipokrit on Nov 30, 2014 at 12:49 pm

cant you read the right thing before making such a lousy comment. Where the heck you get the 800k baht price for the Iriz?

• Annoy_namous on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Ini komen daripada org yg pengecut. Belum masuk gelanggang dah kata kalah… Ptuiii…. Takde keyakinan langsung.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
        • Hellhole on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I totally agree with you. If the Proton GSC is to be asked to compete for the job market at a global level I am sure that he himself will fail miserably; judging from his poor command of English.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
          • ProtonGSCC on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Japaneses have poorer English command. Not all Italian can speak English; German generally don’t speak English. So for you, Nissan GTR, Ferrari Enzo, BMW M5 are craps?????

India indian can speak good english, please go get a Tata Nano.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • Gargantia on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

ProtonGSC or GSC

Wonder why basher never fell wrong when making wrong statements???

All their now is bashering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • ProtonGSC on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm

I study English under Tun DrM that’s why my English level is in this standard.

Tun DrM children’s never study under him that why they are millionaire and billionaier now.

Same goes to u study under him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • Perason kot? No one said about winning or losing.

• Som Seng on Nov 29, 2014 at 3:20 am

The Iriz won’t send metal shrapnels into the passengers faces when the airbags inflate?

• Axia cannot compete, hahahahaha

• RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:07 pm

You have no pride and keep belittling our people and what they can do. I bet you’d rather be a Thai national or chinaman and let a superior race comes and step on you and order you to produce car for them. This is how much you worth. You’re born to produce for others not make your own.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Malaysia is a disgrace. Malaysian car but instead of having the show here, they show in Thailand pulak. Bodoh betul lah the Proton guys. So so stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 48
      • Amei (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:41 pm

you sir a disgrace. Why the hell do you need to blame someone for trying. Atleast they have an initiative that they are trying to make better cars. I do understand many people that are frustated with Proton. Heck even I’m one of those people. But instead of whining in front of your computer, acting all troll-ish whining on how proton used to screw you. I just hope for the best of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Everybody, next time all give a “like” to this maserati guy. Maybe this will stop him from talking nonsense. Pity him.

• fanofthisite on Nov 29, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Good grief. Are you on medication or something? You are frothing from your mouth.

• After 3 months… Axia is dominating the road while Iriz is nowhere to be found.
      Sad Sad situation.
      Congrats Perodua

• mugen on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Thai people like the Savvy. Hope this Iriz can succeed the Savvy in Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • JB_KIA on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:08 pm

I like sawi too..

• Same L0rrr on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Proton Iriz the fuel hunger beast to compete with the Japanese Eco cars?

OMG OMG OMG…

You can mention of interior design, flowery Lotus handling, 7 airbags, VSC etc… Just not fuel saving. Is like asking a comb from a monk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
      • Sohai Law on Nov 29, 2014 at 10:46 am

U dunno Iriz is more fuel save than ur car? Sohai

• RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I don’t think European cars are that fuel saving too. I don’t see a reason to go monkey about it like “OMG OMG OMG”. If you can’t be happy with what Malaysians can do, why not you live where you can be truly proud of? Spare the embarrassment living in Malaysia, we can’t do anything to please you.

• Albert on Nov 30, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Same Lorr,have you seen Sylvestor Stallone running away from the thermobaric bomb in expendables 3?
        The more I look at cheapscape Iriz,especially the pasar malam quality air con knobs,I think mr Stonebanks should finish them off with thermobaric bombs.

• Unstable on Nov 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Looks like a whack job

• Who cares about iriz selling at Thai ?
    Ugly back design means ugly.It wouldn’t change to pretty even if sell to oversea market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 76
    • No one must know on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:44 pm

How bout Honda Civic? For me the most impresive part is the colour. Look like Proton use some really high quallty paint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrr on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:02 pm

kaki, please think further. If Proton can’t sell good, it will just ask more money from government only.

You think government money is from Najib’s private bank account? It is our hard-earned tax money bro.

If Proton beg more next year, government has to increase GST to 10%, you think you will be safe? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Wow great story! Why don’t you email us the rest of the story?

• RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Sir it’s not the car you’re looking at, it’s the mirror.

• Rover (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Malaysian Pride~!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • KangKung Tokok on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Potong, PKFZ, MAS, Cow stay in singapore orchard road, etc are not Malaysian pride dude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
  • Hedges on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Looks good in green. Can’t deny that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • GT3 (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 9:40 am

And the blue colour, I love it. Good come up from Proton, it’s just I doubt that the “Coming Soon” sticker is necessary. Of course most cars previewed in autoshow are coming soon.

• ayooo on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:59 pm

let me start the typical bashing ceremony.

Proton tak laku bla bla bla

Proton take all my tax money bla bla bla

Thai people no like proton bla bla bla

The Nation choose savvy because Proton bribed them bla bla bla

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
  • Mr Nice on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Just don’t condemn only bro, with the quality level and price adjust, will hit in Thai. Sawadeecup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • KangKung Tokok on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Dude..
      Because of Potong.
      All malaysian suffer to buy high price car!
      Pay expensive, but get kangkung spec in safety, material, poor service, etc.\

Because of Potong
      Malaysian lose thousands job oppoturnity.

Because of Potong
      Malaysian tax payers’ money go to small bunch of animal cronies.

Because of Potong
      EPF use your money DONATE to them.

Dude, Thailand is an open market…
      It’s a fat2 hope IRIZ can gain even small market share.

Sorry to Potong fan boys, supporter.
      I m reveal the truth.
      Hope Potong supporter understand the truth and how it erode all Malaysian life quality, safety, job opportunity, purchase power, education,etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 65
      • almighty tokong lim guan eng on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:11 pm

you speak the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • Hellhole on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Kangkong Tokok is pretending to be an intellectual when he is obviously is not.

Because of Potong. All malaysian suffer to buy high price car!
        Pay expensive, but get kangkung spec in safety, material, poor service, etc.
        Perodua is still cheap. If you want the prestige of a foreign car work harder bro. Besides if today government closes Proton, everyone will buy imported cars, the outflow of Ringgit will cause it to plunge to 5:1 to the dollar and the foreign cars will still be expensive in Ringgit terms

Because of Potong
        Malaysian lose thousands job oppoturnity.
        100,000 people depend on Proton on their livelihood.

Because of Potong
        Malaysian tax payers’ money go to small bunch of animal cronies.
        It is a public listed company, and if you think they make so much money, go and buy their shares.

Because of Potong
        EPF use your money DONATE to them.
        What the FXXX are you talking about?

Dude, Thailand is an open market…
        It’s a fat2 hope IRIZ can gain even small market share.
        Open my foot! They are closed to their own car industry albeit not exactly Thai brands. Do you think if we close Proton, Isuzu, GM, Honda etc will come to Malaysia. Yes people like you are willing to work on RM1000 salary per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
        • Anti CO2 on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Potong buy steel coil from sushi and kimchi land. Gearbox also from oversea. RM flow out also la. Pls understand this fact! If potong were to be bought over by, say VW or Ford or Cherry or whatever, they will find parts locally also… Unless of cos, the quality is not up to par…

• Super duperman on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Seems 13 people thumb down sokong cronism.
        9 smarter people knows the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • No one must know on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

First of all, what is Potong? If you refer Potong as Proton than Proton offer a lot of joh for Malaysian (over 10k). I dont know how ‘Potong’ cause a lot of Malaysian lose their job. Yes the tax for car is really expensive but how bout you compare to S.Korea. You can say that S.Korea almost ban foreign car. Thats why theres a lot of local car there. How bout we consider Proton an invesment. Yes the goverment spend a lot of money for Proton but if Proton succeed not only in Malaysia but the world the Malaysian will get the benefit. Proton Iriz is still new even in Malaysia so you cant judge too early and said Proton will probably control small share. Proton now is not the same as the old one. QC and safety in Proton is realy over the top. Please test drive it. Please be open-minded when test drive it. Chears :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • Low Budget on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Proton new in Malaysia? 30 years is not new lah bradder! It should be at its peak right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • fanofthisite on Nov 29, 2014 at 10:04 pm

again,another fella who speed reads based on emotions. He said Proton Iriz. Cant read or pronounce Iriz? Hope you dont run over any pedestrians when you drive.

• RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm

I see your life revolves around this piece of metal on 4 wheels a lot. Do yourself a favor, instead of watching Malay dramas at home, why don’t you make yourself more productive and formulate ways to earn extra penny. Whining surely won’t give you a cent. Quit blaming others on the unfortunate events in your life.

• Low Budget on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm

There are simply too many choices for the Thais, so be realistic lah. If Proton can sell 200 Iriz per year is consider a great success.

• No one must know on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Good luck Proton. Make the Malaysian proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • KangKung Tokok on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:05 pm

“Sawhigh”!
      “Bluebird”!
      Potong is created to fill cronies’ pocket.
      Not to make you proud.

“Boleh” slogan is very successful now!
      What Boleh beneficial to us?
      Boleh, ape pun boleh.
      macam macam pun boleh.
      Boleh dirompak, dirogol, diusik, dibuang, diejek,etc

Boleh means you can choose follow or not to follow the rules, rights, justice, procedure etc.
      Is it good for our next generation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
      • Super duperman on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

honest speaking,
        Malaysia need more job oppoturnity instead of pride.

Look at others country nearby.
        Japan,Korea,Singapore,Taiwan,China…
        Citizen annual income increase, better economy, that’s country’s pride.

Honest speaking,agree with you, we dont need potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
        • Low Budget on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Ah Jib promised, Malaysia high income country in 7 year time (2020), all can afford Toyota Camry and Honda Accord by then.

• RoadRage (Member) on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:55 pm

We can never be on par with the Koreans and Japanese. They are inventors, innovators, we can’t even come close to inventing anything before our people come to attack it with full might trying to bring it down. When we speak of Korean/Japanese, we know what they produce. What do we produce? Whiners and losers. Plus china don’t even sit on the same level as Korean/japs, they don’t invent, they’re a photocopy machine that offers cheap labors. Perhaps we can be like china, just nothing great like the Japanese.

• MM (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Good luck Iriz!

Make Malaysian proud~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:11 pm

There’s extra tax for b segment 1.6 litre. Iriz maybe have to reduce to 1.3 or 1.5. This is why ford fiesta has reduce its engine size from 1.6 to 1.5. Maybe Iriz can stand high among its competitors but if the engine at 1.3 or 1.5, what will it be?

• Same L0rrr on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Mari mari… Come come… Lai lai our beloved neighbor Thais.

Please buy the Iriz and try out what we Malaysians have experienced (some say “suffered”) with Proton’s quality for decades.

You will be surprised we guarantee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • No one must know on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Test drive it first before judging it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • almighty tokong lim guan eng on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

so true…

Last time I saw somebody want to start his Iriz at a car park near my office. When that guy push the start button ah, the car explode one!!

Poor guy have to go hospital

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 37
      • Low Budget on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Don’t be like that lah bradder. I think give you free Iriz, you sure take one.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:44 pm

why keep trying ah proton? Just give up already.

Work hard no result what point?

30 years no result give up la. No need to test foreign market one, sure fail, sure fail!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • almighty tokong lim guan eng on Nov 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

iriz list of problem:

1. Rim bended when go thru pothole
    2. Air cond too cold can freeze water
    3. Plate number always come off so have to glue back
    4. seat too soft can cause driver to fall sleep
    5. seatbelt alarm annoying so have to always wear seatbelt

Better buy vios or myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 38
  • Excuses on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:31 pm

stupid excuses ever and the one sharing is even more stupid…all bashers are stupid bastards..

• Abah Ko on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:44 pm

ALL I CAN SAY IS ALL THE BEST PROTON!

• Rakyat on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:47 pm

I can see is Iriz is a very beautiful hence a good car… If I earn RM3,500.00 per month I will buy it. But im earning RM2,500.00 have no choice to choose Axia G…

• olio benzina on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Steady on Proton.
    Don’t give up Thailand, one day you too may design and build your own car instead of building cars for others.

• Plotong no good, service also no good.
    Iriz become smaller and smaller..then become zzzZZZZ.

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:34 am

I wonder why I want to fap Iriz when I saw it……..

• azure on Nov 30, 2014 at 7:43 pm

People will hate you when you are successful,
    keep the bashers coming!
    People will always say you can’t do it,
    prove them wrong!
    Congratulations Proton. Work hard and keep up the good work!

• triple h (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:42 am

Nowadays so many pariah sport cars on the the road like ijora saga sona rim ahbeng16 inspirated jawaja wira celop lancer aswara mitsubasi iris satayria race rally recycled prebe sup rima.they want 2 be friends wth lancer ori but unfortunately they r not our mitsu’s family.boooooo pity u shok sndiri

• triple h (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:47 am

Inspirated evox celop?Mg confirm xlaku.only the stupid guys in mysia get it