RON 95 down 4 sen to RM2.26 a litre, RON 97 down 9 sen to RM2.46 a litre, diesel up 3 sen to RM2.23 a litre

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 011

The government has announced that from tomorrow (December 1), the price of RON 95 petrol will drop four sen to RM2.26 a litre, the price of RON 97 petrol will drop nine sen to RM2.46 a litre, while the price of diesel will rise three sen to RM2.23 a litre. Euro 5 diesel which is currently available in Johor has gone up by three sen as well, now retailing at RM2.33 per litre.

The price changes follow the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK) ministry’s announcement about two weeks ago that subsidies for RON 95 petrol and diesel would be no more from December 1, and that their prices would, like RON 97 petrol, be derived based on a managed float system.

Globally, the price of crude oil – which now directly affects RON 95 petrol and diesel prices in Malaysia – is currently at its lowest point since August 2010, hovering around US$70 (RM237) a barrel. If this keeps up, we could see more price drops in the months to come.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• meng meng on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Hope don’t oil price up increase fast, but when oil price drop decrease slow….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
    • So time to remove import duty… and proton to close shop?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 12
      • Shell Sucks on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:38 am

Why pump SHELL ?

Seriously SHell is Crap quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
        • Where is Euro 5 fuel? on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:06 am

Now already become Global prices, Government still give us low grade Euro 2 fuel that is causing so much environmenttal damage and health problems to Malaysians.

Since now Government give us a float system, give us clean fuel please. All our neighbours got clean fuel except us.

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
          All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment. Now increase diesel price, why wait till 2020 for cleaner Euro 5 diesel?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 7
          • Gargantia on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:22 am

Cronies and Gov keep lying and making fool of RAKYAT.

First, S***raKencana that belong to Gov and DrM families and cronies.

Second, P**ronas belong to Gov and DrM familes (again) and cronies.

Third, making your own product selling at a world market price to your own people (Malaysian).

Keep supporting your beloved DrM and cronies.

Cronies and minister getting more and more benefit exp waive taxes on buying (Benz or BMW or Prosche) including properties and lands.

RAKYAT more debts loans and paying taxes (GST 6%).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrr on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:56 am

Remove fuel subsidy, and ABOLISH ALL STUPID TAXES (excise duty, import tax, AP etc).

We are so “grateful” of the 4 sen!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Maserati(Official) on Dec 02, 2014 at 10:02 am

Everyone here is stupid. We don’t need petrol or diesel. Just buy any diesel car and you can use used Cooking Oil to drive the car. In Fifth Gear, they showed that it works.

So I don’t know why everybody here getting angry. Minyak naik, naik lah. Don’t use petrol or diesel from the pumps. Just fill your car with cooking oil. Free. This is how I drive now on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Night on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:52 am

I must say I agree….

• OMG…ya, when i saw the photo shown a guy keep smiling when pumping Shell petrol…Very funny lah, petrol drop 4 sen and smile like tat, petrol naik pun smile like tat…silly kah..

• DriftBelike on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Cooking Oil ?
          Well played man.
          be ready to maintance for your car engine

• Diesel Boleh Naik??? on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:49 am

Harga barang pasti naik. Disel naik 3 sen. Semua lori lori pengangkut pakai diesel. Jadi mesti inflasi.

Kalau harga pasaran global jatuh, bagaimana diesel boleh naik?

Bas balik kampung mesti naik harga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • What a Lying Government. on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:27 am

I have been with Shell for the past 30 years and I am involved with pricing/finance. The exact formulae is as below

Now USD66.00/barrel = RM221.10
      221.10/159 = RM1.39/ltr
      Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.39/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.80 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.39 per litre. The maximum for refining cost is 20 sen to 30 sen per litre. Maximum ceiling is 30 sen per litre. Petrol dealer profit usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. Reducing 4 sen per litre is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat.

Reducing 4 sen per litre is a slap to all Malaysians.

How much can most people save? Most people full tank is 40 litres. That means for a full tank you save ONLY RM1.60

Whilst Ministers wives are buying Birkin handbags costing minimum RM100,000 to RM500,000 each and one particular has about 30 different Birkin handbags, we are told that we are given savings of RM1.60 for each full tank.

Boleh beli apa dengan RM1.60?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 14
      • azrai on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:59 am

You forgot about RM0.58 petroleum tax on each litre of petrol/diesel. It is known by Custom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • Why tax us? on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:24 am

This tax is not necessary. All oil producing countries sell tax free (without sales tax) petrol to its people.

We are one of the largest oil and gas producers in the world. The least the Government can do is give tax free petrol to Malaysians as a reward. Why tax something that comes naturally from our own land?

Like that, shall we tax water and even the air we breathe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung! on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:01 am

Wahai orang orang kampung. Sedar lah. Tengok dengan mata sendiri. Musuh bukan kaum lain. Musuh adalah kerajaan anda sendiri.

December ini, harga barang barang akan melambung lagi tinggi kerana diesel naik. GST tahun depan, harga lagi akan melambung.

Gaji Rm8000 pun tidak mencukupi untuk hidup.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 6
        • Anti-Din on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:15 am

Musuh tidak pernah daripada kaum lain. Actually our musuh also not UMNO. I am a Chinese and the main reason I didnt vote for BN is their corruption and unfair treatment. Unfair treatment is whereby taking away our rights that have been given to us. And kampung or BN hardcore supporters. We never ask G to offer more rights and also questions ur Bumi rights.

Never once we qs about 7% disc. for Bumi. Nor we qs the status of bahasa melayu. Yes, chinese speak bahasa in a weird way. This is because Chinese esp. Cantonese is a tonal language and have 9 tone(Mandarin only have 4)while bahasa is not a tonal language.

Furthermore, because of high tax and never ending empty promises which cause the Chinese to sway. So Melayu jgn mudah lupa. Kenang jasa sikit, dulu bila Melayu semua tak sokong BN pada 90an. Cina dan India yg kuat sokong BN supaya BN menang.

Im not saying pembangkang is good. DAP is not better than UMNO. One is ULTRA MALAY and another is ULTRA CHINESE. Both also crony party. The Malay leader i respect the most is YB Azmin, YB Khalid and also Tok Guru Nik Aziz and UMNO’s Adenan. We chinese dont choose race to support. we choose capable leader. I used to support Najib. But in recent years his performance jatuh teruk..

Najib oh Najib, the only way to gain back Chinese hope is leave us alone. Dont ever make us scapegoat. Reduce car tax and duty. Be transparent and reduce corruption (dunnit zero corruption because we are sure you cant manage to do so).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • deathlings on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:14 am

Agree with your calculation. Just to be more specific on the “additional costs” as minister wrote on his FB
        1) refining cost + alpha for oil major (10 cents)
        2) petrol pump operator (12 cents)
        3) transportation of petrol (9 cents)
        4) sales tax on petrol (59 cents) – since 1972
        Hence the price of 1.39 + 0.90 = 2.29, their justification of not shortchanging Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Malaysia Only Tax! on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:07 am

Every single oil producing country gives its rakyat tax free petrol. Only one oil producing country tax the rakyat for its oil. Malaysia!!!

Why can’t we enjoy cheap oil like the other oil producing contries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Why tax us? on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:30 am

If Ron 95 is about RM1.50, we plus the 3 factors below. Campur another 31 sen. It should be RM1.80

We are over paying about 45 sen per litre.

1) refining cost + alpha for oil major
            (10 cents)
            2) petrol pump operator
            (12 cents)
            3) transportation of petrol
            (9 sen)

• zainal on Dec 01, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Our local refinery process local crude which is either Tapis blend, Labuan or Miri crudes which are priced much higher than Brent.

• Jonathan on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Agree with you. The funny part is when the “subsidy” is removed, petrol price “gone down”. Does it make sense? It should be more expensive… So we were charged more expensive than actual for many years and government claimed that we were subsidised?

• azrai on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:49 am

Dear Jpnathan, from the photo it seems like you drive a more than RM100k imported car and still filling your ride with Ron95 ‘minyak kuning’. A full tank of 50l of RON97 ‘minyak hijau’ will only setback you RM10 only maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…Dont be happy bcos RON 95 drop 4sen,but diesel up 3sen..bear in mind most of the transportion involved lorries& boats, all used diesel lah,…so the goods will increase $ soon, end up suffer only rakyat…CHOWCIBAI, damn clever this G.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 01, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Thank you BN for helping us float the petrol prices. Compared to other countries we are considered lucky and oil is relatively cheap. People don’t understand what they have been handed sometimes. I sokong BN selama lamanya. Nobody is perfect. Leave Najib alone. He has done the country proud by making a hard decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • EndBee on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Terima Kasih BN. Beribu-ribu terima kasih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 96
    • Bullshit on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Don’t thank too fast. When world oil price increase later, the increase might be 40 sen, ten times more!

The Govt is making a very smart move. Free float now when the price is low. When world oil prices increases, which they are definitely hoping, Petronas profits will increase AND our pump prices also increases…double profits!

Meanwhile, any lowering of our car prices? Mimpi lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 11
      • EndBee on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:20 am

Looks like forgetting the sarcasm tag makes me look like an BNTrooper

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
      • RM8000 also tak cukup on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:34 am

Malaysians are going to kena big time. Oil goes up and down. When oil really goes to US$100 and above per barrel, the price of petrol Ron 95 might even go to RM3.50

At that time got GST also. Malaysians gonna suffer big time. Prices of food, groceries and basic living nessesities going to 3 fold.

That is Malaysian style. Everything goes up. Even petrol comes down, everything still remains high in price. Your cabbage, brocolli and Tomato prices just keeps on going higher and higher.

Now, earning RM8000 per month also not enough to sustain a family in KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • benci monopoli ekonomi on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:15 am

That is Malaysian style. Everything goes up. Even petrol comes down, everything still remains high in price. Your cabbage, brocolli and Tomato prices just keeps on going higher

Not malaysian laa weh..org cina je .coz dorg pgg ekonomi..dorg la yg naik kn harga..n plg bising ble naik dorg ni jgk la..same gak psl rasuah..yg nak rasuah tu org dpt business…yg buat business org cina gak..lps tu bising2 lebih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
          • Why this kind of people tidak kena tangkap? 1 malaysia kah? He is a racial discrimination. Kenapa dia cakap orang cina tidak kena tangkap? Dia tiada bukti pun. Dia tak pernah baca sejarah tengok siapa buat malaysia kaya? Kaum lain cakap melayu mahu kena tangkap? Apa slogan itu untuk? Is that fair for us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • And you are reading a Chinese post.

• Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:40 am

Now Government take out petrol subsidy, where is Najib’s promise of reduction in car prices? Last time, MITI arguement was we have high car prices because we get subsidised petrol. Now since no subsidised petrol, should not our car prices come down?

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
  • muhammad naim on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:15 pm

hidup najib for 4 sen!!!.. blorrrrkk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
  • MALAYSIA BOLEH !!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • weeee on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:21 pm

good. no more complaining about subsidy sh*t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • wow 4 cents on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:23 pm

DROP A LOT GUYSS!! Thanks GOV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
    • Toseh is RM1.80 on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:44 am

You can’t even buy a toseh in an Indian restaurant. Plain Toseh is now RM1.80.

• OMG…The G will ask you dont buy toseh, buy roti kosong makan enough…lol…

• Pinky on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Remove subsidy = 3 cents cheaper only.. I will not be surprised if they increase it by 50 cents or so few weeks later.. Again, the G is gonna say “Rakyat Didahulukan” because they don’t charge GST on petrol.. But who needs GST? GST is only 6%, simply increase 20 cents also more than the tiny little 6% liaoo..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
    • deathlings on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:19 am

Please check Khairy’s FB, the petrol pricing mechanism includes a 59 cents sales tax which is effective since 1972. I rather they charge GST and remove the sales tax.

• Malaysia Only Tax! on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:14 am

Khairy does not understand the sufferings of the rakyat. He has billions.

Every single oil producing country gives its rakyat tax free petrol. Only one oil producing country tax the rakyat for its oil. Malaysia!!!

Why can’t we enjoy cheap oil like the other oil producing countries?

Something is very wrong.

• Azure on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Not much, but I’ll take it.
    Global price change is slow, so it will fall more unless someone decides to disturb it (ie. invade oil producing/oil pipeline third world countries)

Will be switching to EV or Hybrid in 3 years. Excited on what my new car will be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • hipopo on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Well, thank you Najib. HATERS GONNA HATE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 100
    • Bodoh Betul! on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:42 am

Most people got 40 litre tank. If you fill up once a week, you save RM1.60 at 4 sen per litre.

In a month you save RM6.40. See how stupid you sound?

By buying high car prices, you have prepaid the tax on petrol for the next 20 to 30 years.

• AVH (Member) on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:25 pm

ITS DONW BY 4 Cents!!!

JANJI DITEPATI!! The days of poverty are over, Malaysian government truly understand the dire state and suffering the average Malaysian has to go throu .And throu hours of debates and hard work, throu sleepless night thinking about the citizens, the government has through their honest and most heartfilled effort has brought petrol price down….. by 4 cents.

Now if you excuse me, my stomach needs to rest after all that laughter.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 4
  • Obviously (Member) on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:26 pm

The price of RON97…is only 20 cents more expensive per liter compared to RON95 now. Hm.

• Instead of Gov give subsidy to Rakyat, now rakyat give BN subsidy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
  • ai yo…no eye see…

• dodgviper88 on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Actually on Friday 29th Nov 2014 the Brent oil prices drop about 10% in a day. Quite sure the government has conveniently left that out of their calculation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Ripcord on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:23 pm

USD/MYR also rises. Meaning your RM1 worth a lot lesser. Hope you factor that into your equation too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • LatukBandar on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:46 am

so many people think trading oil is like pasar malam deal. I guess most Malaysians are pasar malam mentality.

Oil price might be USD66 per barrel, but that doesn’t mean our gov is buying it at that price. Usually they do forward buying, usually 6 months ahead. not to mention the time it takes to ship and process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • abc123 on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:35 am

so what u tried to say is, if u r a money changer, the exchange rate of the currency dropped and u still selling the old rate and not the new market rate?

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:04 am

Didn’t know you’re that high class, and I’m abit confused by what you mean trading oil is like pasar malam, if you mean prices goes up and down then yes it does, as most countries in the world experience price fluctuations on a daily basis.

Try broadening your knowledge instead of being so orang atas that you don’t shop in pasar malam

• Ripcord on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Make sense too. That’s why they call it future contract.

• 6 months suffer on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:47 pm

so are you really that sure that not “pasar malam” mentality in the next 6 months, we will enjoy cheaper fuel?

• Alson P on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:03 am

Tapis crude oil is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur…

While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia…

The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI.

US Energy Information Administration
      http://www.eia.gov/countries/cab.cfm?fips=my

ExxonMobil, Platts
      http://www.platts.com/latest-news/oil/singapore/malaysian-tapis-oil-field-eor-project-set-to-27172899

Australian Institute of Petroleum.http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/crude.htm

• slk3879 on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Now who says there is no fuel subsidy come this December?

The RAKYAT are subsidizing the G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Aniki on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:52 pm

took away subsidies and filling up their pockets… All Malaysians should stand up and see how Taiwanese chose their government in style~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:54 pm

So now they are making money frm selling petrol to us… At current oil rices, ron95 definitely should b below rm2…bt hey, we have honest genius ppl working up thr, wat do i kno?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Alson P on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:07 am

Tapis crude oil is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur…

While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia…

The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI.

US Energy Information Administration
      http://www.eia.gov/countries/cab.cfm?fips=my

ExxonMobil, Platts
      http://www.platts.com/latest-news/oil/singapore/malaysian-tapis-oil-field-eor-project-set-to-27172899

Australian Institute of Petroleum.
      http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/crude.htm

• Boy Racer (Member) on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:07 pm

“If this keeps up, we could see more price drops in the months to come.”

Hmmm…

• This kinda drop? on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Ron97 drop more? Wow!

• This kinda drop? on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Ron97 drop more than Ron95!!
    Can please show me the formula to calculate?
    I need this for my Economic class thesis…….. Hope I can convince my lecturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Alson P on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:44 am

MOPS (Tapis) prices are mixed with some other costs:

– Operating costs (9.58 cents / liter)
      – Margin oil companies (5 cents / liter)
      – Margin dealer gas stations (12:19 cent / liter)
      – ‘Alpha’, ie the difference with the actual purchase price of MOPS (5 cents / liter)

So easily:
      MOPS + 9:58 + 5 cents cents cents + 12:19 + 5 sen = actual market price of petrol in Malaysia

The average price of MOPS (tapis) for RON95 from 1 to 19 November was 195.15 cents. Mixed with other costs above = 226.88 cents

• deathlings on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:27 am

Hello, Malaysia exports Tapis, we don’t consume Tapis Oil.
        We import low grade, high sulphur oil for domestic consumption. Why do you think we are still on Euro 2 fuel???

• Fly me to the moon on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:26 am

Not exactly, we do consume substantial amounts of local crudes (Tapis, Bintulu, etc). Just read Shells Annual Report (about 30%+ is domestic crudes). Same goes with Petron’s and Petronas’ refinery (with the exception of Melaka 2)

• This kinda drop? on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:46 pm

BINGO! Govt gonna provide formula soon.

But why simplified version?
      Msia lotsa world class professional can decipher la…..don’t treat us like this. Give us full version.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014/12/02/Formula-Diesel-RON95/

• SkullJuJu on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:18 pm

… That’s it. I’m going back to 97.

• George Abdul on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Now even without subsidies it price lower.

So there is never a subsidies from before.

Keep on lie and keep the bull shit Gov, until all of them gets richer and richer.

BN care for Rakyat??? Or care for his jobs???
    1 MALAYSIA? until him will never happen.

His buddies Ministers gets richer.
    RAYKAT more paying taxes. (I mean all range include the poor GST 6%)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • das auto on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Now only you know. All this while we have been subsidizing BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Gomen don’t lie to the people, they are ‘bersih,cekap amanah’. Only problem is they are very bad in mathematics. Calculate retail petrol price already make them ‘pening’ already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Gomen don’t lie to the people, they are ‘bersih,cekap amanah’. Only problem is they are very bad in mathematics. Calculate retail petrol price already make them ‘pening’ already

• Nicholas on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:18 pm

After midnight, are Singapore registered cars eligible to pump RON95? Since there is no more government subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:19 pm

that’s good but not good enough

thx but still more pls to drop

• takNakP1 on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:21 pm

i m truly confused (but same happy too ). truly boleh land.

shud they just thrash 95 and maintain only 97?

• Dukemon Crimson Mode on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Im a user of RON97 since the ron97 prices reduced few weeks ago. Again im happy because RON97 price has been reduced. Im a LC user. However RON95 price should reduced 50 cent.

• german car loverr aka Jian on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Well RON 97 had a significant drop whereas RON 95 is still expensive but at least it drop.What car is Jonathan filling up at Pertronas?Nice t-shirt you have Jonathan.

• Black Dog on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:27 pm

If in future prices goes up to the previous levels, we’ll all be taking buses/trains to work!

• blackbox on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:04 pm

If there are any around your area.

• Low Budget on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Go buy one kap chai lah, cannot depend on buses and trains if you live outside town center.

• zuchie on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:28 pm

What’s?!!!! 4 sen? I repeat…down 4 sen for 95 & 9 sen for 97 OMG! This is joke for end of 2014! Well done, I laugh till my eye tear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Damon on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:41 pm

For those who appreciate for the oil subsidies, congratulations, your brain is melted, that genius government rise rm0.30 and drop it for rm0.03, improve your mathematics, dumb asses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • transformer on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:44 pm

How come just drop 4sen???

How many percent global crude dropped?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • nabei on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:47 pm

vote opposition in pru 14. yeah and they get rm 1.7 per litre. can pass and dap sit down together. my feeling the shit is same diff smell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Govt putting up a smoke screen again.

At the end of the day, they just need to generate more money to finance the failed ventures that are currently in total debt of more than 3Billion ringgit

• Observer on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:51 pm

After GST implemented next year, did all these prices will riee up?

• Albert on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:55 pm

What is 4 sen/litre decrease?
    For 40litres,the decrease is only Rm 1.60.
    The last increase is a hefty 20 sen,it works out to Rm8.
    Dont be fooled.Do your maths.World oil glut is good for us.However,watch out.Any war eruption in the Middle east or Korean peninsular will spike global oil prices to USD 120 per barrel easily.
    I wont put too much hope in this matter.Any future increase will be hefty.Any decrease is usually minimal.

• Rover (Member) on Nov 30, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Wow… Government so smart.

Earlier raise 20 sen, now reduce 4 sen.
    “Kami turunkan empat sen, Rakyat Didahulukan!!”

Nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • tricycle on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Good thing, now G’ment cannot complain about the “subsidy” given to the rakyat. Remember it is market price for petrol now. G’ment can save a lot of billion on “subsidy”, now please make full use of the “subsidy” money for the benefit of the rakyat. Public transport, education, health care and etc.

We are also hoping for the G’ment to let the car prices to “float” as well. No more of excessive excise duty or any other tax. Just have a Sale tax or GST on car prices. Other than home loan debt, auto loan debt is among the biggest percentage of debt burdening the rakyat.

Please be a fair G’ment. Rakyat is watching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Old dog on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Day dream bro, the AG report already shown more money to burn and waste only through corruption…

• Old dog on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Boleh ~~~ Boleh Boleh Boleh……Boleh …boleh …

• scionkai on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:40 pm

stupid people who say thanks Najib or BN are dumb..they increased xx cents and reduce x cents and u thank him..patutlah bodoh sangat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • GoodFella on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Harga minyak sudah jatuh. Kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Rakyat diutamakan. Inflasi turun besok.

• Diesel Naik 3 sen - Inflasi on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:46 am

Tapi diesel naik 3 sen. Jadi barang barang mesti naik kerana semua pengangkut lori pakai diesel

• sparcov on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:25 pm

God also you say, Ghost also you say.
    What choice do we have?

You say increase, I make noise you also don’t care
    Now you decrease also we don’t appreciate, a tank of petrol save Rm 1-2 ringgit for use to buy teh-tarik is it ?

• myPetrol on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:54 pm

The people watching closely by now until the next pru14.

• Nightmare just beginning, the drop just 4 sen make you happy (being trapped) to have extra teh Tarik… After short period of time u need to pay for Starbucks but without drinks! Hopeless for the… Don’t wan to comment…

• Drop just 4 cents compared to 97 9 cents.. lower should be due to 95 include tax & 97 tax exempted.. so 95 user should be happy to pay tax.. from Subsidy now turn to Income… TQ very2 much Mr Najib..

• Bulu Ketiak on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:09 am

Naik banyak tapi turun sikit.

• economic on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:13 am

Wow… Im impress, there was so many economist in Malaysia, why dont Other third world country hire them to develop their nation..

• Pisang tanduk on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Because Malaysia needs more economists than the rest of the world to save our ailing economy!

• Decreased 4 cents… We still paying subsidies for government…

Well done. That’s why I love Malaysia – not referring to our govt thou..

• Marse9 on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:47 am

kenapa kerajaan masih lg menentukan harga minyak? Tetapkan harga siling dan biarkan pengusaha stesen minyak bersaing secara sihat. Cthnya hari ni harga minyak murah di shell berbanding Petronas, jom semua serbu shell. Esok pulak lain. Mcm di uk & us.

• honest on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:22 am

Bro
      Refer to akta kawalan harga for basic necessities
      ingat ni jual goreng pisang ke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Marse9 on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:31 am

Ayat aku salah ke bro? Harga siling tu harga kawalan kerajaan la. Klau kerajaan dah tetapkan RM2.34 sen seliter sbg harga siling maknanya harga paling tinggi pengusaha stesen minyak boleh letak RM2.34. Klau stesen minyak nak letak RM2.30 seliter itu terpulang kpd diorg janji tak melebihi RM2.34. Ko faham ke tak faham ni? Kurangkan sikit makan pisang goreng tu.

• ayooo on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:18 am

dont want la. Later must go survey sume petrol pump to find the cheapest. I remember while living in UK, have to drive around to find cheapest which is surprisingly sold by Tesco.

• Diesel went up?? U kidding me? Everything we have revolves with diesel, how did we get the things from the hypermarket and supermarket? The construction of houses, vegetation? U think the lorries are petrol powered? Seriously? And this is the good news? Made things from bad to worst….. I wonder will logistics go up “again”?

• Alson P on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:55 am

Tapis crude oil is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur.

While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia.

sources of
    -US Energy Information Administration
    -ExxonMobil, Platts
    -Australian Institute of Petroleum.

• heartbreak on Dec 01, 2014 at 7:11 am

Dont dream the oil prices will drop futher this only gimmick by stupid lousy umno bn government tipu rakyat dont ever trust this umno bn politician ever and forever forget them we all must change during PRU 14.

• When is the last time price of diesel is higher ron95? All goods transportation use diesel!

• Painter on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:06 am

The guy filling up the petrol is all smiling. This article is before price drop. How can he be so happy?

• VWfanboi on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:14 am

they announced price petrol rise for 20 cents and after two weeks announced price decreased for 4 cents so everyone will only remember the price of the petrol rise 20 cents for 2 weeks and now everyone think the petrol is cheaper than before / plot twisted.

• Subsidy? What subsidy?! on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:16 am

Daylight robbery at its best

And don’t forget, those are Euro2 quality

• Hope market price increase. I wanna watch the world burn while I ride my bicycle, muahahaha

• VWfanboi on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:15 am

later ur bicycle hit pothole and there’s GST for you to fix it.

• zaizaizai on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:47 am

Anyone subscribed to the MOPS prices?

• orang minyak on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:58 am

as long “the G” control the fuel price, don’t dream la the price will drop until what it should be…

• Shahrir Samad on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:04 am

http://paultan.org/2008/10/11/shahrir-12-sen-drop-for-fuel-prices-possible-in-november-2008/

“Datuk Shahrir mentioned that at current exchange rate prices, oil per barrel has to be US$72 for a RM1.92 petrol price”

RM1.92… not RM2.26 in which the rakyat subsidize government for RM0.34

please take my blood too…

• ayooo on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:15 am

you go buy the 1.92 per barrel put inside your car, can work or not? if working please let me know ah so that i can try myself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:17 am

Now what you want petrol smugglers to do??
    No more job d la
    They will sue you soon

• BNaik on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:25 am

Below count base on formula
    1Barrel(158.9873Liters) = US70.15
    US1 = RM3.4251
    1Liter = RM1.5113
    RM2.26 – RM1.5113 = Tax + Processing fee + masuk pocket!!??

• HyundaiKiaLaJunk on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Lol… you fill your car with cruel oil ?

No need to refine the cruel oil into Petrol or Diesel is it ?

Which car can run on cruel oil, i am interested..lol..

• BNaik on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Understand the Formula carefully
        RM2.26 – RM1.5113 = RM0.7487(cruel oil)
        Question is how did GV count it processing(refine + include Tax) to Petrol/Diesel?
        if RM0.75 per litre (Petrol/Diesel) is not right!!!

• IrizX on Dec 01, 2014 at 2:09 pm

WTF is CRUEL OIL??? MINYAK KEJAM??? Only from BN!! MINYAK KEJAM DAN ZALIM!!! YAHHH!!!

• PakAdi on Dec 01, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Haha, not only you Malaysian cannot count, your English also bad. Just swallow the 4 SEN reduction and ask no question please. We are going to overtake you bozo in no time.

• panjang on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:06 am

When they say ‘float the price according to market price’,the gov should stay out from the pricing process.let the petroleum company price their product instead of floating it but having another set of rule or act to regulate it again.

Go ahead and float it properly,let the people decide.at that time if Petronas is the cheapest then people will pump it regardless of political stance.They have been selling our higher quality petroleum and buying lower quality petroleum to processed and sell locally.

Its like the euro 4 diesel.its like a slap in the fave to the gomen when bhp start selling euro 4 diesel at some area in Johor.Maybe there are some special arrangement with the gomen but the point is that,it can be done now and let the people choose themselves.

Remember last time when Mercedes Malaysia brought in 4 barrel of euro 4 diesel to showcase the tech and capability of euro 4 diesel in a merc with euro 4 engine.The trip from Johor to Perlis and back only consume less than half a tank.Wonder why the news is not widespread.

• JoeRadzif on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:06 am

Time bagi subsidi harga 2.30
    bila tarik sabsidi jatuh lak 2.26

kalau macam tu, tarik je lah semua sabsidi yang ada
    sure harga barang jadi lagi rendah…

kan?

• siapa bayar siapa? on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:45 pm

bro… masih tak sedar ke? subsidi sekarang “kepada” kerajaan, bukan “daripada” kerajaan…

• thedarkside on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:25 am

looks like jonathan so happy filling up the petrol to his vios. why not try the red colour v power?

• truely malaysian on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:25 pm

This is similar to the story of “朝三暮四”, listen up Government we are not monkey

• Diesel Power!!! on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:30 pm

I really confused and cant understanding abt this oil thingy.
    1. Since we sell high grade oil (assume is higher price) & import low grade oil(assume is cheaper), then we should earn the different rite? High price-low price=diferent. If the high grade oil we export has the same value as the low grade oil we imported, then y we dun just use oil own produce?? So the logic must be higher grade =higher price!!
    2. When our price rm2.3 per liter, crude price was usd90+ per barrel, but now usd70+ per barrel, we just drop 4cents? 20% of crude price drop= 4cents decrease? Cant understand..!!
    3. Is diesel not following crude oil price? If yes, y it still raised price when world price down 20%?

I really cant understand the logic at all? Can the blindsupporter enlighten me?

• IrizX on Dec 01, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Simple. When the price rise, they untung export lebih..BUT they don’t want to subsidy for the higher import of low-grade oil, so go cry gov tadak duit blah. When turun, then export profit of high grade oil reduced, but they still want the rakyat to pay the previous higher price (hence, rakyat susidy balik gov). Win-win for UMNO.

• Subsidy? What subsidy?! on Dec 01, 2014 at 6:40 pm

In Malaysia, one does not simply understand the Goverment logic.

• truely malaysian on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:35 pm

59 cents sales tax is 0.59/2.26 = 26.1% tax!!! Just give us the GST 6%, then price of petrol drop another 20% = RM1.81!!!

• kenix tim mun chong on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:35 pm

GSC cinema also increase combo 4 price increase from rm 8 to rm 8.10. so what is the significance 4 cents reducing. please la government.. if you agnorance to our life difficulty, we will ignorance to your sorry pledge in next GE.

• kenix tim mun chong on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:37 pm

what happen to previous price.. are we subsidize you? the more think the more not logic it get.. remove subsidy, price reduce??? o.O

• lembu jinni on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:09 pm

our southern neighbor lion city going to implement euroVI gasoline by 2017 september soon…
    maybe BHP at JB too can starts selling the same fuel.

• 4 cents down only??!! BN Down & outlah next PRU!!!!

• happy to see the 9 sen drop for ron 97

• Sammy on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Without subsidy harga minyak turun 4 cents somemore??
    So who pocket the 4 cents last month when we were paying above market?

• Hybrid on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Price cheaper without subsidy??
    You mean to say WE have been paying for the subsidy for the government?
    If like that we should have imposed more tax on the hybrid because they use less fuel… hence subsidise the country less then normal car.
    Less duty for ferrari and lambo…
    Gosh, we have been doing it all wrong.

• Senyum on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Drop 4 cent need to smile so big meh? Aiyo.
    If drop 40 sen then ketawa sampai kencing keluar lah…

• Pisang tanduk on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Only drop 4 sen??

Every increment in the past was at least 10-20sen.

Pls be kind to us.

• Diesel Power!!! on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:23 pm

If they really sincere enuff, plz show us how to calculate the petrol price per liter. Show us ur transparency. We hv rights to know!! Stop “pusing” us!!! I dun mind pay actual unsubsidize price, but i want to know how it calculated!!

• azizcheah on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Now in ipoh all the petro station not selling ron97 , they say all finished. Maybe they hold the 97 to clear 95 stock.

• The 2015 budget (petronas revenue) is based on USD 105 per barrel and now RM 70 per barrel will short of RM 25 billion.

So, The G will use their intellingence to suck the rakyat money by saying that they are following the market rate during the lowest petrol pricing now and up RM 0.50 when the oil hit USD 100.00 per barrel.

They are using this oppurtunity to follow the market rate.

undilah Bn and get suck by them.

• does this subsidy removal means i can fill up my singapore registered car RON 95?

• lionking on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:49 am

Adui.. Talk until the tougue bleeding saying how to stop those singaporean from enjoying cheap petrol because of our subsidy. Sekali now without subsidy somemore the price cheaper. Bette let some singaporean subsidise our country lah ini macam?!
    Government should really share how they compute the price for the float. What’s so secretive about it if there is nothing to hide from the rakyat?