SPYSHOTS: G11 BMW 7 Series mule reveals details

BMW-7-6

Prototypes of the next-generation G11 BMW 7 Series have been shedding some camo. For one, the area surrounding the exhaust tail pipes is now completely free of camo.

The twirly camo on the car looks a bit thinner now – it’s either that or we now have photos that are of higher resolution, so we can now make out some of the details such as the shape of the headlamps and tail lamps.

We’ve traced the lines around the lamps. On the front, you can see that the headlamps meet the edges of the kidney grilles just like all the recently launched BMW cars. Overall, both the front and rear lamps are much slimmer than the fat ones on the current car, which should give the new G11 a sportier look.

We also notice that the G11’s bonnet shut line have been moved forward to meet the kidney grilles (similiar to the F15 X5), instead of being a few inches aft of the grilles like they are on cars like the F01 7 Series, F30 3 Series and F10 5 Series.

BMW-7-series-1

Previous spyshots also gave us a look at the interior of the new 7er, but you’ll have to ignore the surface texture as they’re probably not final. We see a new UI for the iDrive infotainment system as well as metallic finish on the buttons and OLED touch panels.

Word is that the new 7er will debut in the second half of 2015 with big weight reductions of up to 200 kg, thanks to learnings from the BMW i project. The new ‘5up’ chassis is rumoured to incorporate aluminium, magnesium and carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP).

COMPARED: G11 BMW 7 Series vs.  F02 BMW 7 Series LWB

BMW-7-3
F02-7-1

BMW-7-8
BMW-F02-22

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sammy on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:37 pm

By the look of the spy photo for the interior, very similar to the current model and not impressive.
    BMW better buckle up as the S-Class is so much more desirable then the 7 series.
    Bring back Chris Bangle. That’s the only recent era that I recall BMW has the edge over its colleagues (read competitor).

• Bangle the King on Dec 01, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Yes Chris Bangle the designer of the E65 7 series was the Father or Idrive and box-styled key access.

Everyone condemn his idea of Idrive

Now MB, Audi, and all major makes gotta eat their own words and follow obediently

and Yes the new S Class is way ahead in design

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:48 pm

BMW ain’t gonna win any awards for this new 7 and they never did…its as if they are making the 7 just because others are also making similar models to poke the S-class but the 7 does have its own loyal following even here in Bolehland.

I’m also all in for lighter weight cars…

• german car loverr aka Jian on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:27 pm

How is your F30 seancorr? Is it going fine?Are there any problems with it?By the way i am just asking.

• Rally driver on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Windows paints save the day!!!

• gaviny on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:06 pm

man i would love to be test driver for BMW

• Dashboard remains Ugly

• german car loverr aka Jian on Dec 01, 2014 at 8:34 pm

This car looks really nice from the spyshots alone though the front and dashboard is a bit awkward and is very similiar to the F02.By the way whose 740i is that in the F02 pictures? I like the plate number on it!