New Honda Civic Type R open for booking in the UK

_D4S0250

The new Honda Civic Type R, due in UK showrooms next year, is now open for booking. Lucky Brits can now place an order with a £3,000 (RM16,214) deposit at their local Honda dealer.

Touted to be the most extreme and high-performing Type R in the 22 year history of the red ‘H’ badge, the CTR will be powered by a new 280 PS 2.0 litre i-VTEC direct-injected turbocharged engine with a 7,000 rpm limit, paired to a six-speed manual gearbox.

The hot hatch will mark the debut of the new ‘+R’ button. Pressing it will bring heightened engine response, with torque-mapping changed to a more aggressive and performance-focused setting. Steering becomes more responsive which, together with the new four-point Adaptive Damper System, delivers the “ultimate handling experience”.

Honda says that the new Civic Type R has been developed and engineered for European drivers. The car will be built at Honda’s plant in Swindon, UK, and will go up against the Renault Megane RS, Volkswagen Golf R and Ford Focus ST in the senior hot hatch class. Honda also wants to break the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R’s front-wheel drive Nurburgring record of 7 min 54.36 seconds.

Honda has teased and tormented enthusiasts twice this year, via a red concept at Geneva in March and with a blue showcar at Paris in October. Not long now!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:49 am

We can only dream of this car. Even Honda Grace also cannot get. Japan sell for RM52,000. Come here, sure become RM100,000.

And Japanese people earn far more than any Malaysian and the YEN is so strong.

We get double or triple the price, Ringgit has no value or purchasing power and our Inflation is rocket high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • GETALIFE on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

FKIN STOP WHINING. IT HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH OUR TAX SINCE BEFORE…. yes i hate it too but you just got to live with it cause you are a malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
    • Henry Leong on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:13 am

btw Yen is weak now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Rally driver on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:12 pm

SHUT UP and enjoy driving this car!!!! Play gamble to buy this car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • antihipokrit on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:32 pm

complaint to your parent for not staying in Japan.

• Fredo on Dec 02, 2014 at 10:16 am

i cant wait!!!
    finally a proper vtec-turbo right from the factory.
    280hp is not at all bad to start with and it will soon be able to breach the 300hp mark easily with aftermarket tuning…bring it on!

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Just get a VW Golf R or Renault Megane.. I’ve test drove for the VW Golf R and it was awesome, the handling of this car was amazing and it also has very comfortable seat. After test drive this car, you’ll fall in love with it.

• Viva Honda on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:22 am

Beautiful!
    When it arrives Malaysia, don’t get shocked if you see its price tagged with RM280,000.00!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • heybadigol (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:39 am

I see that Honda Europe decided on maintaining the 6 speed manual. That, plus the high-ish 7k RPM redline should make the enthusiasts happy.

• droll on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:41 am

all I can say is KUDOS Honda for daring to be different and going back to your racing roots! this new Type-R is a welcome sight in the sea of boring grey cars!

it’s time to go bonkers again!!!!!

• nighttrain on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Probably if it’s JDM then we might be getting it as well. Just as when we were the only(or first) country outside Japan that got the JDM Type R sedan a few years back.

• wawasan on Dec 02, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Yesterday, ringgit just plunged to 4 year low. We can’t afford this car.
    Later no duty also we can’t afford liao.
    Same like petrol, it will come a point where no need to impose duty also Proton price will be competitive, because our ringgit is so weak.

Speaking about the car itself, I still prefer the non-turbo, high-rev Type-R. That’s what Honda does best.
    And Honda’s Manual is always a joy to use compare to those dual-clucth crap.

• TheAnonymous on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Yea..I agree with you, we can’t afford this car.. With that price,i rather go for Golf R as it uses latest technology and has better performance than Honda Civic Tyre R.

• hazamiey on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Manual trans only? Ok I’ll pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Rally driver on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:12 pm

I would book one if there’s grey imported here…..

• govdsfsf on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Malaysian / asia country going to get this car?

• foxtrot on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:53 pm

where’s the spec sheet

• stickshift on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Honda – kereta budak-budak.

• Garfieldliew on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:15 am

almost non-one will interesting this Honda Type R in Uk here… last model unforgiven uncomfortable over firm ride hurting lot of buyer in uk.
    (watch youtube top gear review honda tyre-R)

• Matthew on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:12 pm

In UK, i think they are more prefer Renault Megane RS or VW Golf R rather than Honda Civic Tyre R. As Japanese car is always Japanese car, it can’t fight with continental car. Well.. it’s just my 2 cents.