Nine Ford Quick Lane service centres open in P. M’sia

Ford Quick Lane

Ford and its local partner Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) today announced that nine Quick Lane service centres are now open across Peninsular Malaysia. Four are in the Klang Valley, and one each in Penang, Ipoh, Juru, JB and Muar.

The launch of these nine centres marks the first phase of Quick Lane openings, with more scheduled to open in 2015. The Quick Lane facilities will help support Ford’s growth in Malaysia and form part of the brand’s growing network of 49 dealers nationwide.

Alongside investment in new and existing Ford dealerships, Quick Lane is an important element of Ford and SDAC’s commitment to continue enhance customer ownership experience. Overall, SDAC and its dealers will invest RM140 million over the next two years, as revealed in a media interview last month.

New Mondeo, Everest SUV and sixth-gen Mustang will all arrive in Malaysia next year

Quick Lane acts as an express service centre to accommodate vehicle maintenance and minor repairs including oil and filter changes, brake systems, tyres, minor exhaust system rectifications, free multipoint inspections, tune-ups and alignment. No prior appointments are needed, as Quick Lane is configured to cater for customers on a first-come-first-serve basis, with a turnaround time of two hours or less.

Next year will be a big one for Ford in Malaysia. The brand, which is set for record sales this year, will launch the new Mondeo (a.k.a. Ford Fusion in North America), new Everest SUV (unveiled in production form last month) and sixth-gen Mustang in 2015, the latter available in RHD and officially for the first time here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• NO doubt Ford driving dynamic, features, handling, power are better than most Japan- brand, but not the reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Urzu3 on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:39 pm

which ford car do u mentioned? ford fiesta features cant match even with honda city and jazz (RM90k category) navara and triton also more powerful than ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
      • Power? on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Is power your only criteria for car selection?
        i personally drive a ford Ranger 2.2 XLT 45K km now, my brother drives a 2012 triton 2.5 100k km.

the ranger’s cabin is quieter, electronics 4wd select switch reduces cabin vibration, a very decent car audio, supportive seats front n back, very high loading and towing capacity. at highway speeds, it does not “lose out” to the triton, and much more frugal on my last trip from KL to penang and back.

• Fiesta ecoboost 1.0.
        -lower roadtax
        -much better fuel consumption.
        -much more torque.
        -7 airbags.
        -Ford SYNC™ with voice activation
        -6 speeds dual clutch.
        -Auto headlamp with home safe lighting
        -Rain Sensing Wipers
        -DRL
        -Smart Regenerative Charging (SRC)

^Above you cannot find in a City.

But space is very small compare to city, thats the main disadvantage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Xe145 on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Ya more features on fiesta ‘maybe’..but features doesnt give spacious interior and big trunk space, that car just perfect for people with 4-5 feet tall.. Chill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • RazifGti on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Well Looks like ” well” has not owned a conti brand car before. Another one of those price warriors in cyberspace. If all else fails on the japanese car, always blame the conti’s price and feature mismatch.

• City better than Fiesta?? hahahahaha.. I laugh so hard I peed a little…

• Colin Wong on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Hi “well”, can you quote any tangible evidence or data please. After years of owning Japanese cars (Toyota Camry, Honda Civic, Nissan Cefiro, Nissan Serena), I have no doubt that Japanese cars are reliable. But to say that the reliability loses out to Japanese cars, I am not so sure because so far, our Ford Focus is doing very well. The clutch was replaced under recall but that is a global exercise. Other than that, I’d like to think that the quality of the car is better than Japanese cars that I have owned. The car is ROCK solid, very stable and has a lot of safety features.

• Ford Mustang?! Waahh, even grey import also never have.
    Good timing, oil price is down, we can now have all this Gas sucking muscle car on our road…