Poor roads? Lodge complaints via a smartphone app

Bad road 2

A particular stretch of road in poor condition, and want to report it? Well, you’ll soon be able to do so via a smartphone application – the Works ministry has said that it’ll create a smartphone app to make it easier for the public to lodge complaints on road and infrastructural problems, Bernama reports.

The public can take photos of road or infrastructural damages and send them to the ministry – via the app – for follow-up action, Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said. He however added that that the ministry was only responsible for highways and federal (national) roads and their infrastructure, and not that of state and village roads, which were under the auspices of state governments.

“This is our initiative we will carry out in expressing the ministry’s full commitment to give our best service to all Malaysians,” he stated, adding that the ministry will be engaging the public on a broader front via social media means, using platforms such as Facebook and Twitter to deliver information.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Green on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:57 pm

It is workable with Photo with GPS data.
    Just curious on how to stop the car to take picture instantaneously while driving?

On the other side, What about road with Manhole?
    The Tar road is thicker as new Tar is applied. The Manhole become deeper and deeper, more and more dangerous and annyoing from time to time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 1
    • SkullJuJu on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Probably best for outside near our houses. That’s okay i guess.

• Hugo Andore on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:39 am

Good start but the country needs a phone app to report errant drivers parking / stopping their cars at roadside and yellow lines

• Kangkung Sambal on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:18 am

Look at many road repair job.
      The just “stick” the thin tar less than 2 Inches to fill the hole.
      Then, Job done.
      With such Handy plast job. After 2 days, the road hole comes again.

To be frank, follow basic road build standard.
      Our pothole will be less. And less maintainance.

Nowadays road maintainance, just handy plast job or
      simple cover with a 1-2 inches tar.
      Then it broken within a week, then cover again.
      These cover job never end! Why? You name it.

Motorist drive on risk especially at night and rainy day…
      Pls get your money with moral.
      Get your pocket money, and do basic job.

• Green on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:48 am

If just Pasting with Thin Tar as the Solution to this Potheholes.

Eventually What i See:
      The Government is trying to Create Money for Cronies or MACAI BN.

Thin Tar allow them to keep repairing the same pothehole every month! Allowing a High Constant Cash Flow..

• OMG…Then will be damn a lot of photos waiting for uploading….wasting time and my data plan only…puihhhh…

• OMG…they know all the area of holes…but problem never go study how to prevent it happen again. most of the holes caused by uneven road condition (got air takung). At my area there, after repaired not more than 1 week, the repaired area start eroded, WTF…

• Reported and wait for weeks I think? But it is a good start indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Hasnol Rahman on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Anthony Lim, please also suggest to Works Ministry, when reporting a problem, to add GPS locations (similar to Waze)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • transformer on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Hooray! At least its a good start from Works Ministry!

Not only pot holes, but also those the dangerous route.
    eg: Tree branches, illegal car parked, elevated road that can blocked driver vision driving out to main-road from a juction without trafic-light causing few accidents.

Hope this Apps allow user take photo(tag with GPS co-ordinate) and allow user to write a 320words comment(sms 160×2)

more suggestion please, guys…. let Anthony compile and submit to Works Ministry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • frustated road user on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:13 pm

what if how stretch of road got potholes?i will be busy taking picture of it.it will cause more accident later and slow traffic due to people busy taking pictures
    no kidding some road the condition is so bad that i have to drive super slow to save my absorber

• Then what is your suggestion?

• Sean111 on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:41 am

It should be Govt’s job to monitor our roads & repair. Also, blacklist any Contractors that cannot meet proper road construction qualities. After all, that’s all our tax payers money! Why push the responsibility to public!!!

• hqntu on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:20 pm

I think most of malaysian dont know the federal route number.

• nnajibrazakk on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:20 pm

buat dulu la baru cakap.. i pergi travel indonesia, thailand even to some parts yang pedalaman the roads are better than bangsar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:19 pm

i have been in pendalaman sumatera indo for 2 weeks…most road there no tarmac, if tarmac the road is very bad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • prabowi on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:18 am

Why compare it with pendalaman sumatra? If u compare our federal roads with their equivalent of federal roads, u will find that their road is indeed much better.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:36 pm

actually i agreed with nnajibrazakk..went to Padang Bukit Tinggi back in 2009 before the quake and their road is far better than us..and it a good quality too because lots of lorry use them

• Onetwofour on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:39 pm

will kena saman police when using this app? Holding the phone while driving will give our policeman another ways of Cari makan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Mike L on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Why only fed highways/roads? If you include all roads,I think the server will crash in the first 1hr. 90% of complaints from Sabah/Sarawak.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:06 pm

other road is control n maintain by state govt..oni fund to repair come from federal govt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • prabowi on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:21 am

The problem is when the state FD the fund to boast about having state reserves of rm3b. Yet the state roads are in a dire need of a repair.

• holofanboi on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:51 pm

I see the mobile comment post bug has been fixed. Finally.

Let us all report until the works department runs outta budget!

• shweet on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:55 pm

I have a feeling that this is gonna be another hot air..like someone who made promises to reduce car price before the general election

• RIcoT on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Why not integrate it into Waze?

• policeman on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:41 pm

I’m surprised that nobody is focusing on the “app creation” part of this article.

You guys missed it? No possibilities of ‘songlap’ here?

• Bacapik on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:18 pm

It would definitely be a 1 million project to develop a simple app like. Perhaps, the same thing will happen just like the tourism malaysia facebook songlap case.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Cool but…most of the holes are on roads which are under state governments lol damn!

• ben yap on Dec 02, 2014 at 10:33 pm

trust me, nothing will be done when the public complains.

• Oh great i already know the government is deaf but i guess he is blind now as well, need road users to tell him where got a gigantic pothole and where there isnt.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:05 pm

with the recent subsidy rationalisation (removal), JPJ upgrading their system, and now the implementation of this reporting system, i see great future to come for motorists and our citizen alike

how many country is this world can proudly claim that we have the best roads, best agency overseeing the road transport, and the lowest oil price not subsidized by the government?

i cant think of any really, this show the wisdom in the current government’s championing of right leadership, transparency and progressive thinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
    • Yep, not to mention our currency got smaller 1 day ago. Great work government!

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:57 am

weaker currency boosts our export trades, smartass… no export, no income.. get it? bersangka baik….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
        • 4G63T DSM on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:49 am

Right.

If only all your raw materials are sourced locally.

How about foreign technology? machinery? imported raw materials?

That extra cost go where?

• slk3879 on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:01 am

Please refrain yourself from posting any comment after smoking pot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Maserati(Official) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:58 am

only thing i smoke is your poverty car when i drive my continental sports car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
        • slk3879 on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:54 am

Again? you just never listen,… just listen to your papa for once la

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:59 pm

No respect and balls la play papa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • slk3879 on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:56 am

No ball? where do you think you come from? … shuuu, just never listen and never learn..

• OMG..If i treat it as ‘sarcastic’, i will give u a like…LOL…nah…a like to u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • darkermarker on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:20 pm

This is just gimmick.

Remember those telephone no. that are seen posted at the rear of a bus/lorry, to report of wrong-doing of the driver?? dangerous driving, etc

All tarak boleh pakai…..just for show oni…

On the another note, just pick a telephone number of any govt dept posted on their official website. Call the number and prepare to wait, and wait, and wait…..and more wait.

Get the idea??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • OK … Works Ministry get ready to receive tons of photos and OT claims!

• Abdullah bin Lazim on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:11 am

Deteriorating road condition in KL City obviously a neglected responsibility. The authority should send teams patrolling evey day to look for it and immediately call for repair. The federal govt of the day/ authority hold the responsibility first not the Rakyat.

• Beng Beng on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:33 am

Talk kok lah… If the gov is serious about this, they would have set-up a team to monitor the road conditions. How many ppl r they in the Works ministry dept? What r they doing? Goyang kaki and makan roti izit ? Even if we sent the pictures, they wont give a damn about it.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:27 am

later someone looks into the details , the works ministry paid rm100 million for this app!!

anyway its a good start , lets hope thy do sting..even if they do only 20% of the holes im happy , this rainy season makes roads like landmines …stimes i really wish i had a big fat 4×4 truck

• Good job on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:29 am

I think it’s a good direction our minister is heading to. Please don’t try to be haters and start giving stupid comments. The problem is the execution of the ideas our government practice talk only and flip flop management. Idea and concept is very good and if only able to run smoothly like our immigration department.. Then 2 thumbs up for the government…

• Velluvellu on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:40 am

I suggest a chat room with semi value to discuss which area needs repairing or places with semi value construction. Suggest also icons with pictures of roti canai and teh tarik.

• Road_Transport on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:53 am

Complain for Poor road, OK la. How about complain for poor management? What abt Gov making us poor? hah…
    Where to complain? How to complain? Who will respond to the complain?

The rakyat have made zillions of complaints. Unfortunately, all of them fall on deaf ears.

• malaysian has standard car like suprima s with 17 inch wheel 215 45 series. this spec should in line with malaysian road condition.

malaysian for batter car spec, should relevent with malaysian road spec.

• Only highway & federal road???!!!
    Double Stand!!!
    Ini 1 Malaysia kah???!!!
    Apa ni Najib??
    Baik buang aje “apps sampah” ni !!!!

• bubbaonsteroids on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:33 am

errrr.. apps to complaint on gomen’s janji2 yg belum dicapati?

• The initiatives should be comparable and not lesser than what already been done and available at ‘seeclickfix.com’……

• Is a positive initiative, so don’t lah criticize too hard before it even take off. Do our part when the app is out, and hopefully they will do theirs.

One suggestion, since the app is already done or doing, it won’t be too much effort to extend the scope to cover all roads? And let the complaint route to the respective department that responsible for it. This will help save the money of the rakyat then to have one app for each state.

• LODGE COMPLAIN IN MALAYSIA??? USING APPS?! ON POTHOLES?!?!?!?! I NEVER THOUGHT I’LL BE SEEING SUCH FUNNY THINGS IN MY LIFE. NO DUDE, ITS NOT GONNA WORK HERE IN MALAYSIA.

• can't stop laughing on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:43 pm

as i drove through some kampung road in selangor, from klang to tg sepat and moving on, i found that the road condition is much better compared to our highway and federal road.
    given that Ministry of Works responsible for the highways and federal road maintenance, i am so surprised why they never take serious measure on the hole and really bad road condition on these roads. E.g., on bukit jalil highway itself (remember, is a highway!) there are plenty of holes along the way. and it caused the massive jam everyday. it is so obvious and i wonder why they didn’t take initiative to repair the road?? even the construction of the LRT extension is on going, it is their responsibility to overlook on the road condition there.

hope they could see this comment and act fast.

• v-power on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:09 pm

‘The public can take photos of road or infrastructural damages and send them to the ministry – via the app – for follow-up action…’

‘Follow-up action’ in this case is an initiative or promise to provide remedial work/action within 1 hour or a day…or infinity!

• Tan kuang han on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:18 am

How to complain the poor road, make my car two tyres broken! Can I claim my two tyres to relevant government departments?