Cadillac ATS-V – M3/M4 fighter with 455 hp biturbo V6

2016 Cadillac ATS-V Sedan

The super sedan battle looks to be heating up immensely. We already have the BMW M3/M4 and the Mercedes-AMG C 63 squaring up for a fight, and now the Americans have joined in on the action with the Cadillac ATS-V, a fire-breathing version of its new compact executive competitor.

Available in both sedan and coupé forms, the ATS-V looks brasher, more in-your-face than its Teutonic rivals, all pulled wheel arches, enormous scoops, vented carbon fibre bonnet and chrome mesh grilles

A Carbon Fibre package adds a more aggressive front splitter, composite side sill extensions and a taller rear spoiler. Also available is a Track package that includes all the items of the former pack but adds a Performance Data Recorder, a lightweight battery as well as the deletion of floor mats and the tyre repair kit.

Cadillac ATS-V – M3/M4 fighter with 455 hp biturbo V6

The interior, on the other hand, is mostly unchanged from the regular ATS, save for optional heavily-bolstered 16-way power-adjustable Recaro front buckets, upholstered in Mulan leather with sueded microfibre on the inserts and seat backs, as well as new V-Series graphics on the 5.7-inch instrument cluster display.

Instead, it’s under the bonnet where you’ll find the biggest change. Strangely for an American high-performance car, there’s no V8 – taking its place is a 3.6 litre twin-turbocharged and direct-injected V6 developing 455 hp and a whopping 603 Nm of torque.

As such, the ATS-V sprints to 100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds, hitting a top speed of over 297 km/h. Putting the power to the 18-inch forged aluminium wheels – wrapped in bespoke Michelin Pilot Super Sport rubber – is a choice of either a six-speed manual – with Active Rev Match and no-lift shifting – or an eight-speed automatic with paddle shifters. Whichever you pick, launch control is standard.

2016 Cadillac ATS-V Coupe

Under the skin, additional bracing has resulted in a 25% stiffer body structure compared to the stock ATS. There’s also a wider track, stiffer springs, bushings and anti-roll bars, revised variable-ratio steering, larger propshafts, six-piston Brembo brakes, third-generation Magnetic Ride Control and a standard electronic limited-slip differential.

Production of the Cadillac ATS-V will begin in the spring, with sales set to begin soon after. So, choose a side for this battle – Bavarian brawn, Stuttgart sinew or Detroit muscle?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:52 pm

My BMW Z5 Quad Turbo 0-100 3 sec Brembo 10 pot brake is more gorgeous and will smoke this oversteer american muscle like no tomorrow .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Aerodynamic bro on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:39 pm

You forget to put “American cars cannot steer”

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:46 pm

you don’t know about the american cars of today.

• jay8393 on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:29 pm

“American cars cannot steer”? Dodge disagrees with your statement because the Viper ACR has lapped the Nurburgring faster than a M3. You might want to get your facts right.

• what the fck is a bmw Z5?

• BLT_Club on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:30 am

Congrats on your UPSR exams results bro jackchaivoonchoon. Your parents must have got you a new PS4 to drive your BMW Z5 in Drive Club. Happy Holidays!

• jay8393 on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:26 pm

You’ve been smoking weed, man?

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:27 pm

because beeend this car is sold at 500k in bolehland. Without tax, this car is only 60k.

Vote Lim Guan Eng as PM and see what happen. We can all drive sports car instead of crappy protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • keep on dreaming.

• BLT_Club on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:31 am

You think LGE gonna remove car tax with all the debt he’ll inherit even if he is PM? Please la, same crap, smell different only…

• Mr Right on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Shutdup!…. Go to political web lah bro…. this web for cars men… Uweekkkkkkk….

• shawal on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:30 pm

That coupe looks awesome…
    motorheads worldwide welcomes the American auto industry renaissance ,

The ensuing battle is a must watch

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:14 pm

My great leader had showed how to buy cheap mercedes without gomen help or AP. If we support him, we can also get cheap mercedes as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Really on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:25 pm

LOL almighty tokong. Whether you are being sarcastic or not, even in Germany and USA not all their citizens are driving Mercs and Cadillacs.

• I would rather go for the RC-F. This American-M4 killer still needs time to prove itself, and in the mean time, V8 sounds better.