SPIED: Registered Hyundai Genesis 3.8 on the move

GENESIS-2

Recently we showed you a gallery of a left-hand drive example that was previewed in Malaysia; now the Hyundai Genesis has been spotted on the move wearing a familiar number plate – the same number was on the i40 Sedan we featured in our 2013 Top Five list.

There’s a faint glimpse of what looks to be a dashboard bulge and steering wheel right-side in the frontal shot of the car, suggesting that the example is a right-hand drive version. The previous-gen was never offered in RHD form, but the second-gen is being sold in markets such as Australia.

Under the expansive bonnet lurks a direct-injected 3.8 litre V6 GDI engine that sends 315 PS at 6,000 rpm and 397 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm to the rear wheels via an eight-speed auto. It’s 4,990 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,480 mm tall, and its 3,010 mm wheelbase places it between the 2,874 mm of the Mercedes-Benz E-Class and 3,165 mm S-Class, while being 215 mm longer than the YF Sonata‘s.

GENESIS-1

A spec sheet provided by Hyundai-Sime Darby (see gallery below) lists 18-inch wheels, Electronic Control Suspension, Smart Cruise Control, xenon headlamps, keyless entry and a panoramic roof. Also included are Around View Monitor, Smart Park Assist System, tyre pressure monitoring system, head-up display and a 14-speaker Lexicon sound system.

On the safety front, the Hyundai Genesis boasts ESP, Advanced Traction Cornering Control, Pre-safety Belt, blind-spot detection and nine airbags (including rear side bags). Just recently, it achieved the highest score in ANCAP’s 21-year history (36.88 points out of a possible 37), along with a maximum five-star crash safety rating.

See Hyundai’s creative design manager Casey Hyun discuss the ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0’ design concept portrayed by the Genesis in the clip below:

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:26 am

apart from the grill, it’s actually look nice OTR !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…yucks…the rear look normal, the front look like Peugeot 508. Overall look is soso only…

• weeee on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Still better than what Toyota & Honda are offering here. I’m not a fan of asian cars but I won’t mind owning this. It’s leather as far as the eye can see & lots of driving aids. It’s no BMW but theres a reason why it’s doing well in the US.

But of course Sam Loo will just say this is sh*t and tells you to buy a Camry instead

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:29 am

I like the angle from the front. Very imposing. Will make you look different from the seas of 5 Series & E Classes out there. Is this Genesis right hand drive?

Only problem is that engine capacity. 3.8 is a pretty big engine, thus pretty high road tax. Even though someone who can afford luxury cars will not find that burdensome, its still more money compared to a similar rival, the Mercedes E400 which uses a smaller 3.0 litre turbocharged engine, yet has slightly more power & torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • ss427 on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:40 am

Well the Genesis is already on sale in SG…
    Saw 2 on the roads just last week

Hey Sam Loo, this Piece of s**t cant compared with Camry 2.0 right? No RV and cant move.. Korean 8 speed AT cant compared with Toyota 14 yr old 4AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
  • a mazda 6 look a like!! another kimchi copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
  • thgh (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:21 am

People keep saying this car is copying aston martin, but nothing is actually alike other than the badge which they have been using since last generation.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/83/20110619_hyundai_genesis_002.jpg

And let’s see side by side comparison

Hyundai – http://image.automobilemag.com/f/62180074+q100+re0/2015-hyundai-genesis-front-three-quarter-02.jpg

Aston – http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0c/Aston_Martin_DB9_coupe_02.jpg

And Ford –
    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/ce/Ford_Mondeo_-_Mondial_de_l’Automobile_de_Paris_2012_-_001.jpg

• roxas on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:33 am

it looks alot premium on the road !

• I think it is BGS 80 instead of the i40 BGB 80.

• Josh Ling on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:38 am

the rear of this car is just disappointing. why hyundai wants to “remind” people that this is still a hyundai despite a post RM200k or even RM300k price tag is beyond me. no offense to hyundai, but when you wanna demand such a high price, the last thing you want to give to your potential buyer is any reference (look wise) to your butter-and-bread models, let alone those red-on-top-white-on-bottom signature hyundai rear lamps.

there’s a reason why vw phaeton never took off in sales after all these years, despite having like the world’s best quality materials, designs and even technologies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • thgh (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:05 am

the 600k sclass looks identical to the 200k cclass.

• Josh Ling on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:24 pm

it’s still a c-class, and not an elantra. unless you can’t see the difference between a c-class and an elantra.

• nice car but how much?

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:01 pm

I am guessing slightly lower than the BMW 528i, which costs RM420k. It must sell in between RM300-400k cos at RM400k, people would be buying German already. If it goes below RM300k, then its a crazy bargain. But bit difficult cos the Genesis is probably CBU. But you’ll never know.

• I saw this car few times in Mont Kiara and driver was an older Korean gentleman who I am sure is attached to HNMC Malaysia. I looked at the interior and it looks very solid. the car looks and feels expensive and quality is very good. I pity why Proton would never ever be able to do this work!!! Koreans have done it this time very well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • mohsin on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Duh!
      you compare this with Saga? Persona? Preve? Perdana?
      Even Proton don’t have big engine with 3.8L V6
      please make an Apple to Apple comparison lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • I did not mention about the engine at all my friend. I was talking about interior only as I just saw the interior and the very god built quality.

• Low Budget on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Even if Proton can make this kind of car, who gonna buy it? I doubt even our Minsters and their family members would. The Proton brand is just too much a taboo for the rich Tan Sris and Datuks.

• I think Proton should consider to rebadge this model…:P

• blacky on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:43 am

well done copying innova grille lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • harry on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:02 pm

do u mean mazda 3 and 6 are copy from hyundai elantra too?

• lifeless dude on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:19 pm

I think this car won’t sale well in Malaysia.
    High road lax, probably higher fuel consumption than rivals, and low resell value.

• TheDean on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:12 pm

While the design looks decent, I think it will age faster because nothing in the design is groundbreaking or timeless. Give it 2 years and it will look ‘very yesterday’.

• Josh Ling on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:27 pm

totally agree. i think the fluidic sculpture 2.0 will not age as well as the 1.0 version, though 1.0 version does not really age that well too.

• Ha Gnih on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:24 pm

The Koreans are really stepping up their game, steadily and surely. Like when I was in the states a couple of months back, curiosity brought me to one of their US showrooms and my god! The fleet of other models that we don’t get here is amazing. Some of them are the Azera, Equus or also known as Centennial, Santa Fe FE and they even have their Sonata hybrid in the range. These are some of the models that are giving the Japanese brands a run for their money and looks like they are doing very, VERY well in that sense. But if one sweats over resale value, please, with all due respect, buy a property.

• joeazrul on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:44 pm

In us they priced it at $38,000… wonder how will it priced here after the tax..

Sigh….. poor malaysian

• gaviny on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:01 pm

bring this flagship in but no one buy,

launch new sonata but don’t give new engines

logic?

• christopher samuel chow on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:09 pm

I JUST SAW THAT CAR IN IKEA

• auntylala on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:44 pm

They will launch this car and sonata.But,where is lower segement like Elantra facelift(already assemble in bolehland),i20,accent and i10….This make me weird!!

• Nenek Kau on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:18 pm

I read one review somewhere and it mentioned the interior quality is as good or if not better then audi!

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:42 pm

This is actually the big boss of Hyundai Malaysia’s car la, they brought in this RHD unit for the management to run in, and so they can do some of the training with it.

Please be prepared for the price though, starting will be expected to be in excess of 400k, however from the Hyundai people I spoke to, the specs are nearly the same as the LHD unit brought in, only differences being the lack of the adaptive cruise control and one more thing which the person I spoke to forgot about.

I was shocked at the price though.

• MeriPridgen on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Insulation is so cost-effective, it is unrivaled in bang-for-the-buck performance, and this strategy is key to achieving net-zero, or better, energy goals. Your home’s high level of efficiency will eventually cover up for what you have paid for when you bought the spray foam as you will cut your electric bills and in the long run enjoy the many financial and aesthetic benefits that your spray foam has to offer. All these moves will help you reduce your energy bill and help defeat the elements delivered by Mother Nature.

• MariAYNzyirz on Dec 05, 2014 at 10:36 am

Regardless of what many men and women feel, conserving cash on the value of airline tickets is achievable. Even so, you have a much better possibility when you use the net.

• I think this car have better interior design than vw, protong, p2, and bmw cars..looks elegant…

• yo, you see VW interior design before? For me i love it. Especially black color interior. It looks very nice and decent. Won’t easily get dirt as well.

• Aspol on Dec 05, 2014 at 4:22 pm

i prefer the interior has black color because I am a lazy person hahahaha. If it has light color, then every time have to clean it. I dun have time lo. I checked the gallery in the VW website, mostly have black color interior and the design really caught my eyes attention. Fell in love with it <3

• LelandDaughtry on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:59 pm

At a seminar some years ago we were discussing exactly what makes people buy a certain brand of car above another. One has to consider all such things for real palm reading. While in some cases the AL and UL being in mutual Kendras (Quadrants) might have been interpreted as favorable, here due to the afflictions already studied and some yet to be delved into, it shows opposition.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:17 am

This big kimchi cannot even fetch 25% of its new value after 6 months