List of 23 new UN regulations gazetted by next year

un-regulations-malaysian-standards-fmvss 707

At a seminar in October, Road Transport Department (JPJ) automotive engineering director Ir Haji Mohamad Dalib revealed that 22 new UN regulations, under the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (WP29), were set to be gazetted next year in Malaysia.

We’ve just come back from a Malaysia Automotive Institute-Society of Automotive Engineers technical talk on UN regulations for vehicle pneumatic tyres, where JPJ automotive engineering assistant director Arif Fahmi Abdul Wahab revealed the new regulations themselves – and there are 23 of them.

Along with the 78 UN regulations already in force, these standards will be mandated for new vehicle type approvals (VTA) in 2015. Of interest is R101 Passenger Car Fuel Consumption and CO2 Emissions – this means that officially, fuel economy and carbon emissions will be measured according to the UN ECE R101 standard in Malaysia. It is already an Energy-Efficient Vehicle (EEV) pre-requisite, albeit only for fuel economy currently.

Additionally, a further 19 UN regulations are set to be gazetted in 2017 and two more by 2020, making a grand total of 126 UN regulations incorporated into Malaysian law, Mohamad Dalib said previously.

Among the technologies future gazetted regulations will cover are Autonomous Emergency Braking, Lane Departure Warning, Adaptive Front Lighting and Enhanced Child Restraint System.

Malaysia was accepted by the UN on April 4, 2006 as a signatory to the 1958 Agreement on Reciprocal Recognition and 1998 Agreement on Global Technical Regulations, under WP29. As a result, Malaysia may test and certify an automotive product and export that product to 51 contracting nations without the need for further testing. These products will bear the stamp ‘E52’, which can be issued by JPJ.

Arif revealed today that there are plans for Malaysia to sign the 1997 Agreement Concerning the Adoption of Uniform Conditions for Periodical Technical Inspections, which could pave the way for standardised periodic vehicle inspections, such as the Voluntary Vehicle Inspection proposed in NAP 2014. You’ll also find some information on vehicle type approval procedures in the slides below.

Note that these UN regulations only apply where that component or system is on the vehicle in question, to ensure they adhere to specification – it does not mean new vehicles must have cornering lamps, headlamp washers, speed limiters or a spare tyre (for instance!) in order to be type-approved in Malaysia.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:46 pm

another new way for bloodsucking gomen to make money by making spare tyre compulsory and saman here and there. I tell you, no need spare tyre if you reduce car tax and let people buy better car. Have you seen ferrari with punctured tyre? No right! That is because higher quality cars no need spare tyre. Only protong uses spare tyre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 101
    • Gargantia on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Due to BN brilliant protection policy.

Rakyat keep on suffer, look at the result that they been make so far… is all failure and M’sia market currency exchange fall record low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 48
    • I believe new hybrids will not have spare tire as the “spare” space can be used by the batteries. And there’s new tire technology call “run flats”.

Malaysia Automotive Institute-Society of Automotive Engineers better disband if they cannot make an exception to these cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • anakjambi on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Yup..agree!!!
      when you are using run flat tires normally found in BMW and Mercedes which can run for more than 50 km at 80 km/h even when flat, then you dont need spare tires. How come the list of UN gazettes shown doesn’t mention about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • ho tong on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:47 pm

I wonder which kampung you came from?? I bet you just dont see ferreri everyday like i do. You watch too much youtube kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Bodoh tu simpan sikit.

A spare tyre is always handy. Tyre repair kit is not as convenient, run flats are shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • MoFaz (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:47 pm

read the last paragraph… all those are not compulsory but will only be checked if the features are included in the car. you’re not required to install them, unlike the rear passenger seat belts issue long time ago

“Note that these UN regulations only apply where that component or system is on the vehicle in question, to ensure they adhere to specification – it does not mean new vehicles must have cornering lamps, headlamp washers, speed limiters or a spare tyre (for instance!) in order to be type-approved in Malaysia.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Anti-Establishment on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:50 pm

“Note that these UN regulations only apply where that component or system is on the vehicle in question, to ensure they adhere to specification – it does not mean new vehicles must have cornering lamps, headlamp washers, speed limiters or a spare tyre (for instance!) in order to be type-approved in Malaysia.”

I fear for the next generation of Malaysians. Too much hate until they can’t think properly – no wonder they’re easily taken for a ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • I am appalled by the level of intelligence of some of the people in the forum. I sometimes wonder is this the product of our education system or they are plain stupid.

• ayooo on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:45 am

Not sure but I think he is being sarcastic after reading a few of his comments in previous articles

• this comment is so stupid , it makes me wonder if it is sarcasm

• fazron on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:53 pm

wow comparing to ferrari? How much safety is a ferrari? Ferrari no punctured tyre? You must be from another planet. Planet ferrari. In planet earth ferrari tyre also punctured. In planet ferrari also only proton uses spare tyre. In planet earth, other car manufacturers uses spare tyre. U just pass upsr isnt.

• applegreen on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Car manufacturer must accept this order and for sure it will make it hard to lower down car prices. Futhermore, ringgit value has went down and US dollar skyrocketed also will make car prices cant go down despite of GST.

• old dog on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:06 am

USA cars not very sellable here.

JPY is record low now, and the UMW is earning heavily.

• isengard12 on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:15 pm

what about UN regulations for car safety features?

• money on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:25 pm

money settle everything, who care ?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Spare Tyre?

As much as I hate RFTs, how do they expect cars to come with spare tyres when where is no space to store them?

• i think on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:51 pm

don’t think spare tyre is mandatory. think its more of if there’s a spare tyre, it must conform to the specs.

• Aerodynamic bro on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Don’t need this rule,weight reduction is everything!!!!

• LLembu on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:17 pm

WTF! Come out all the nonsenses to make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Bung Mahtar on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:24 pm

saman!! bayar saja ma

• RicoT on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Temporary spare tyre? Tan Chong Nissan and Honda Malaysia will have to add on replacement tyre for existing CBU Serena S-Hybrid and Honda Jazz Hybrid respectively.

• Blue-traveler on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Johnathan tan, I am a bit confused, by your last paragraph, last sentence , it can also means that malaysia car make for local use, non exports, CAN don’t need to follow the rules……? ie the spare wheels and etc….?

• brazbuz on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:09 pm

A good way to ensure all this high tech features come with high standard

• Ken Young on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Nowadays you don’t need a spare tyre. Buy a 12 VOLT ELECTRIC AIR PUMP w/GAUGE like what I have. When your tyre is flat, just connect it to the cigarette lighter socket, and it will have power to inflate your flat tyre. Then you drive to the nearest tyre shop.

To know what this product looks like, come here:

• gaviny on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:31 pm

temporary spares are great, i still don’t believe in those patch kits, yeah sure they take you home but then the tyre needs to be cleaned out and patched again plus the cost of the patch kit refill again.

one spare tyre is the best, use and use only rm5 to patch and whatever service from roadside asssist

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Good job government, I applaud your efforts into bringing this sorry state of our country into a first world one

• Jenglot on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Ayyo people, read first please, as pointed by a few smart gentlemen above, this article is talking about regulating the features should the manufacturer decide to include them in their package.

Please do not shout to the whole world of how stupid you are :|

• Rangers on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:18 am

you need to need to have finance background to be in finance department, you dont need to have education to be at the post, and this is what JPJ can come out with lately, tint regulations (again), change road name (again), …what else? those Reverse gear strategy has no productivity to the country at all but SPENDING to their cronies, simple, thats all G minister job.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:13 am

OMG, Our beloved new Proton Iriz car is not EEV ready. So does that mean we will see a new engine soon ?

• bro feez on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:27 am

it is better if JPJ manufacture their own cars/vehicles on their own brand for public…no need merc, bmw, proton etc…

• Mark Chong on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Bermaz Malaysia, please take note the item number 16. TQ!