Proton to set up car plant in Bangladesh – reports

Proton_Saga_SV_002

Proton is planning to set up a car plant in Bangladesh “soon” according to reports by the Bangladeshi media. This was revealed after Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad met Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, who is in town for a three-day official visit.

This may come as a surprise to many, although it’s not the first time a Proton factory in Bangladesh has been mooted. In September, Dhaka Tribune reported that Proton expressed keen interest in setting up a joint venture car manufacturing plant in Bangladesh.

The report quoted commerce ministry officials as saying that a two-member Proton delegation held meetings with the top government officials and Bangladeshi conglomerate PHP Group, the supposed local partner in the proposed JV. “We are visiting Bangladesh to meet the potential stakeholders in car manufacturing industry for assessing the car demand as per the survey,” the Malaysians were quoted as saying.

In 2009, it was reported that Malaysian company Agate Group expressed interest to build a JV car plant with local company Walton High Tech Industries, although not much came out of that. It seems like things move pretty slowly there – Indian giant Tata launched its low-cost Nano in Bangladesh this August, three years after the initial planned introduction.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Henry Tang on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Banglasia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
    • Can’t sell to Malaysian now sell to Bangla?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
      • Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Bangla buy proton by using money frm wrkng in Msia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
        • ProtonGSC on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Can’t sell in own country.
          No market at neighbours country. Even DrM brother Indo not interest in P1.

Now Proton Global market to Bangladesh.
          As DrM “promise to Global market” and Gov pay R&D 1.7 billions to Proton to set Bangladesh market. Yeah for Malaysian that live in Bangladesh.

Good job DrM.
          Next Global market will be where???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:28 am

PROTON plans to expand market to South Asia. Anyway, it’s a good start for global business. They will cheaper labor, material cost and low tax there. Good luck PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
          • Maserati(Official) on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Proton already so bad in quality. Everybody confirm quality stinks like crazy. Now, you give Bangla to build.

Going to make it worse. Banglas are stupid to the core. Why do you think their country is doing so badly and they export manual labour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Same L0rrr on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:52 pm

What the hell you test the Iriz in Europe snowing ground, equip it with VSC 7 airbags TRC EBD etc if you gonna sell it in Bangladesh??

Money burnt, poor sales, can’t even penetrate local market, and end up everygthing for Bangla.

• They are warga malaysia mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 45
        • Najib on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:30 pm

We give IC and they vote for us. Win-win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
          • Same L0rrr on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Not all Malaysian local can’t afford Iriz ridiculous price (RM42k ~ RM60k), why you think Bangla can buy the car?

If they could, they don’t even need to come Malaysia to work at the first place.

Or you gonna sell cheaper Iriz (maybe RM28k?) in Bangladesh? Like what you did for Protons in Australia, UK and Arabs?

• shamx on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:34 am

Future “earthprince” to be more exact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • beng..Read the news…it has said proton to setup plant not only to sell. and countries like india and bangladesh has higher population and a good market for a mass market products always. and with the setup they can cover the south east asia market…we should support proton as they are growing and its not easy..cmmon at least malaysia have own car manufacturing and getting better…we cant expect proton become toyota in small time of course

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Low Budget on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Just wait and see if Proton can make it big in South Asia, just give them benefit of doubts lah, my bet is Proton won’t be able to make it big there, Hyundai and Tata will wreck havoc to Proton there.

• More like a rebadging/repackaging… Like putting up a lego parts than actually “manufacturing”

• This Proton people cell otak tak berhubung.

Bangladeshis are half Malaysian already. If Malaysians doesn’t want to buy this brand, what makes them think the Bangla want it.

• Bristol on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Ya…like Toyota Vios can’t sell in own country then sell to Malaysia. Now Japanese make money and had occupied Malaysia. Malaysians have become slaves to the Japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Three Pedals on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Towards low-cost cars or what? Come on, last time Tun M said that Proton wants to be a high value carmaker, producing world-standard cars.
      And now this? I don’t know if Proton wants to built a hub there, exporting cars to India and Middle East, but their direction is quite blur now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:51 pm

He promise Global high standard and RIVAL korean automotive market.

Now Global to Bangladesh…. and ask billions R&D from Malaysia Government to set market in Bangla.

DrM the true brilliant behind P1 and his cronies buddies. Keep support fanboys. Bangladesh people will love your donations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • Low Budget on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Proton already presence in Bangla for some years, though no factory there, the sales figures is just minimal, you mean having a factory there can increase sales dramatically?

• kzm (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:38 am

I see many butthurt people commenting..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 23
  • Justin on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Good to hear. Hope it works out well..! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
  • Proton… Now with Indian curry flavour. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • I just checked my calendar. It’s not 1st April!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • nowhat on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:28 pm

So now what?! We pay high duties for our cars to protect Proton so that the Bangla has work??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
    • nowhat…dont use stupid comments..read first…why high duties for malaysians? Proton has own plant in malaysia for malaysian market and bangladesh plant will be used for totally different region in order for them to expand

• so rude on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Oh Sam, why need to be so rude? Everyone is entitle to their point.
        He/she has a point to say that we should try to bring in the investment, create more job opportunities in Malaysia. This will only increase our export, which helps the ringgit.
        We didn’t endure all the high duties to protect proton so that Bangla has another industry to work on. Proton volume is still no where near to expand it plants outside. They should work on the product… and export it for now. Unless the demand in Bangladesh can justify for it.
        Don’t be rude remember if you are Malaysian.

• There goes my hard earned monies I paid to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • AVH (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Not the most promising automotive market but its something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:59 pm

something to loose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

It is one of the poorest countries if not the poorest, so don’t expect to sell thousands of units per year there, however it can be used as a platform to conquer the Indian market.

• No one must know on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:06 pm

I think its not a very wise move from Proton but if there really want to build an assembly plant there then Proton Saga and Exora probably a good choice cause Saga is a budget car and in average family in bangladesh is huge so Exora is a good choice. I just hope there will achive there goal of selling 500k car in 2017. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:59 pm

maybe 600k cars in 2017..

• No one must know on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:50 pm

The more the better but dont give high expection. I think 500k is good enough and i optimus it will reach it cause the quality and safety has been fix. Having a plant in Bangladesh will open the door to sale it at South Asia,Central Asia and Middle East. Maybe its part of Proton plan to achive 500k sale in 2017. I hope people dont judge it too fast base on what their feel. Lets see a couple of year after the plant start manufacturing then you can judge wether the plan is work or backfire. Cheers :)

• Bangla on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:33 pm

You think we don’t know Saga no VSC meh?

• Death Man on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:11 pm

BIG DEAL…. so what?

• Newcomer on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Huh? Then no more bangla here to work

• kzm (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:21 pm

boleh lose FDI to bangla…now p1 set up plant in bangladesh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • No one must know on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:31 pm

FDI means company from other country want to invest or do buisness here, so we not losing anything. Proton is probably just building a small plant there for south asia market to boost it sale and profit just like Toyota when their built plant in Thailand but still maintaned its biggest factory in Japan. Proton is still going to operate its plant in Tanjung Malim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • tiger on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:33 pm

The biggest joke of 2014…own market losing market share and want to sell in 3rd world countries…look like Hyundai Kia, they conquered the toughest market in the world USA…and pls spend money to come out wit NEW SAGA PERSONA instead of wasting time and money on slow models like Supima etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • Macai on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Third world mentality + Syiok sendiri attitude = Proton downfall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
      • Jenglot on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Proton downfall? Anyone care to point out when did they reach the peak? (hint: never)

• Low Budget on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Nothing wrong in trying, the worst is not trying at all. Proton must keep trying for foreign market as the local market for them ‘cannot jalan already’

• kamaruddin on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:40 pm

I told you already nobody wants Saga
    even local market sick & tired of seeing this
    car. Promised rakyat as a fuel saver but turned
    out to be a fuel guzzler instead.
    Massive stockpile at the garage due to over
    capacity and practically snail’s pace sales.
    So the only way to get rid of this 2013-14
    stock is to dump it to a third world country
    at any cost.
    This is how Proton plans to go global.
    Syabas Proton !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
    • Albert on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:54 pm

After Bangla,export the Exora,Saga,persona to Ebola stricken countries in Africa.

• Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:56 pm

at least they got work. Somebdy got tranfer there like exchange workers.. hehe

• Bangla on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Don’t push your junk to our country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Rangers on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:12 am

seriously, i want to see how long the Loafti roti can last also, maybe should bring back to bangla also…all staff is talking and joking among themselves, and empty now mostly…

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:57 pm

So we bangga la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Paul Si on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:01 pm

P1 is a caring employer. Now, their workers don’t have to travel so far to get to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • bagus utk survival proton..patut dh lama buat kilang di negara nak membangun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Dah lama dia buat. Sblm ni bukak kilang kat Indon… bungkus..

• Bangla on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Just for the sake of proton’s survival? Why sell cars with no safety features for us?

• NIEKO on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Hum well I think the reason Proton has decided to open a small factory in Bangladesh is because of its very close proximity to India and Protons X market Pakistan …hum come to think of it Nepal is even nearer but you have to remember that Nepal is not a landed state ie its is a mountain nation ………so the next best think is Bangladesh…and the best models that can really make a great impact is the Exora and Saga FLX SV models and maybe even the old Persona SV.Yes I know that the Persona is an old model but there are people in India,Pakistan and The Middle East that finds the Persona a great car …

• Pondan on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Tanjong malim is not even running at full capacity, now wanted to setup new plant oversea.

This is what rakyat pay for.. Misery, feeding the cronies and own pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • pondan pondan haha…well they are doing a JV and not using thproton cost to setup the plant…haish

• Low Budget on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:11 pm

The crystal ball says, “In the next 5 years, Shah Alam Plant will be sold to property developers to build commercial/shopping complex, part of Tanjung Mailim Proton City will be leased to foreign car manufacturers”.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:38 pm

giving them back in return after supporting a certain party so well during the last election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Classified on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:57 pm

*Hint – Project IC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Neh, you wrong already. Actually is use this plan to send Bangla back because P1 create job opportunities there. So you intention is want Bangla stay here right?

• NIEKO on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Oh have you noticed the kinds of cars that are available in Bangladesh are older cars sold by company like Tata ,Maruti ,Ford and Chevrolet with their Indigo , alto 860(1998),Fiesta(2005) and Aveo (2006) so to them a 2014 Persona SV might look like a luxury car to them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Wilson on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Finally… Banglaton

• Kruel on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:45 pm

His idea of Proton should stop producing cheap car.

So manufacture in Bangladesh, then import into Malaysia, so that can sell at ‘harga yg setaraf dengan harga kereta import’.

• Super on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:54 pm

I think they will send ‘pee noo’ to become their spokeman there.. thats so long not in radar..

• darkermarker on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:07 pm

i scared bangla ppl oso look down at proton….

kesian proton….donno where and sell the car anymore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Botol on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Whats so funny? It makes sense for proton to setup in bangladesh…. Nobody wants their cars in malaysia plus the banglas are would benefit from lotus ride and handling and 5 star ancap safety… After all they upgrading from bicycles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • ah chai on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Let’s see when they r going to produce their first car.
    All the best to u proton.
    I hope u can compete in an unprotected market successfully.

• gopsvana on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Now bangla got the rights to Undi…from Phantom to Proton voters..

• No more Value on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Finally, we are getting money from Bangladesh.

• sallehin on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Spend hundred of millions on R&D then
    export to Bangladesh.
    Wow what a brilliant idea.
    In a dog eat dog market lets see
    if P1 can compete with the boy boys there!!

• boleh la on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Until today cars produced by Proton in Malaysia are still sub standard in terms of quality.

I can’t imagine the quality of those cars produced in the bangla plant

• Lmfao.

• Good idea, cheaper larbour n new market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • old dog on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:08 am

The semi bangla bring his kiddo back to bangla…

• Ah La La La La La, Ah Bang Ga La, Ah La La La, Proton Bangla.

• Can P1 stand rough road and water?

• NCAP 0 star on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:42 am

2016 SAGA made in Bangladesh – NCAP test: 0 STAR
    2016 EXORA made in Bangladesh – NCAP test: 0 STAR
    2016 PERSONA made in Bangladesh – NCAP test: 0 STAR
    2016 IRIZ made in Bangladesh – NCAP test: 1 STAR

Hey, DATSUN GO and Suzuki SWIFT! You just got new friends in 2016!

• Iris tak laku on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:51 am

Why no comment from Ah Beng(Member)?
    Tun export him to Bangladesh as expatriate there.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:55 am

this is another effort to bring in more phantom voters in the next PRU. All the phantom voters will be smuggled inside proton cars to be sold here in Malaysia. You see!! You see!!

Last time they transport 40k bangla using flights too expensive. Now they reduce cost so that can transport more.

• What a joke.

Cannot complete in Malaysia and trying to complete overseas?

• John X on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:46 am

A lot of racism in this thread here. Also, by having a JV, the other party has to fork out the investment to set up the plant, and Proton sells them the IP and lets them use the name. And to be frank, Proton has always tried to penetrate the south asian market. But has always been unsuccessful. South Asia(india/pakistan/bangladesh/srilanka) have very high tax for foreign cars, and the work around for that would be to produce a car in that region, just like how the ASEAN do it. Instead of just typing out what come first to your head, why not take the time to think on what you are saying?
    Some of the arguments here are uneducated and ignorant. How will the govt progress if the rakyat itself doesn’t progress.
    Keep the racism out, and base your arguments on the economic facts. The Chinese Vs Malays Vs Indians Vs the rest of the world has to stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • we all talk like we can be the next DRB HICOM CEO…anything relates to government and there we go jump to the end. Guys..its JV with PHP group who is one of the largest Bangladeshi conglomarates. They will setup the plant and expand slowly from the bangladesh market to the regional. Its a very good step for proton as well.

Bangladesh is already prodcing heavy duty motorcycles and Toyota’s (some models) body locally and exporting to some regional markets. Its a market where cost goes much lower then malaysia or any other countries with a equal or better quality products although we see them with a low attitude of ours while they are becoming a production hub of the world slowly.

Also for proton, we should be supportive instead of negetive. It takes time for such a glocal company becoming global..Common VW …Renault…Ford…Nissan all had their bad times like proton when they have started also…

• Agreed of what you said. But only after 20yrs in automobile industry?

• truely malaysian on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:06 am

He Sam, it is still Bangla whoever this PHP is. Perhaps you want to go there to over see the production… he he

• Ah … Proton, macam ini la betul. Tie up with country like Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Somalia …etc. Next time no more testing car (read holiday) in UK, Sweden, Ireland…..

• chinaman on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:31 am

Promoting child labor at Bangladesh? I don’t want my car to be installed by children. Made in Malaysia standard already low..now want to be made in Bangladesh instead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • After set up plant, you juz go there to monitor whether is children assembly the car, lol

• bootupjoe on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:26 am

Easy to cheat..

• so many liars here.. gave comments out of hatred not facts.. stupidos.

• That’s why Malaysia is filled with talented poor people

• To cut cost, Proton Iriz made in Bangladesh soon. RM25K price full specs. “Fully imported CBU”. Heheheh

• Aero (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Honestly, I’m so disappointed with some of the comments from you guys. You want Proton to improve right ? For that to happen, they need money, and they need to sell cars.

Proton is doing exactly what Japan did in Southeast Asia in the 1960s ’till the 1990s; they invested in our industries. Today, EVERY Southeast Asian country except Malaysia and Singapore is dominated by Japanese car companies. What we see today is a long, very well executed business plan that is decades in the making. The Japanese were smart, they started early and followed through. By the time the Koreans arrived here in the 90s, it was too late, they didn’t stand a chance.

What Proton is doing now in Bangladesh, and to an extent South Asia, is what Japan did here in Southeast Asia a few decades back. Honestly, I’m surprised it took this long. Bangladesh is one of Proton’s best export markets, the first Proton Saga was exported to Bangladesh in the 1980s. By building a car plant in Bangladesh, Proton will be able to produce cars that are more affordable for the people of Bangladesh, and Proton will sell more cars. If it’s successful enough, Proton can export the models made in Bangladesh to nearby countries like India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Burma and Pakistan (just like how Thailand exports Japanese cars to their ASEAN neighbours today), at lower prices and less import tax. Maybe Perodua can consider setting up a plant there as well in the near future.

By the way, most Malaysians have no idea how much potential exists in Bangladesh. Most of us only see labourers and low-skilled workers from Bangladesh, but some of us have had the chance to meet the more privileged, well-to-do Bangladeshis who come here as students. I know many smart and intelligent Bangladeshis, and I’m convinced that in time, Bangladesh will develop well. Today Bangladesh may not be much to Malaysia, but one day, they will be an invaluable ally to us, provided that we maintain our good image in their eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • No, we want proton to close shop… and stop wasting our money! They can sell bicycles or underwears if they want but please stop selling cars. Malaysians don’t want, neither do Banglas. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • How many money you have invest in?

• ayooo on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:14 am

stop speaking on behalf of malaysians. I want a proton. I owned 3 proton in my lifetime and now eventhough I can afford more expensive cars, I still buy a preve because I rather give 72k to a malaysian than 90k to a japanese. All my protons served me well. My only grief with proton is that they dont make a proper performance car yet, something along the line of type-r, gtr, gti etc.

• We want Proton to succeed not close shop. We want Proton to succeed not close shop. We want Proton to succeed not close shop.

• Good news…Proton close shop soon. Later we will get best quality import products because Bangla is more intelligent than Malaysian in building a car

• alfaman on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:40 pm

I think some of them here gave their comments based on common sense and factsand events that had happenned. Why cant Proton just look at Hyundai and Kia and copy their business model. See their growth and their mentallity. They recruited the best designers from top European carmakers and now they at the top…their sales are fantastic and look at their model lineup …Proton,… please open your eyes ..

• Proton want 100% built by local but unfortunately Malaysian are not capable. Malaysian only know criticisms

• alfaman on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Actually, Malaysia is a good market for cars, just look at how many grey importers in the country ….
    Proton should be wise enough to understand the need of the people (drivers) and current trends .
    Looked like Proton has been blind all these while …or just keeping their eyes closed ?

• Do they even have an eye?
      I doubt they r born with a brain either…

• Good luck to Proton

• JoeRadzif on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Hm…

Let see if they can sell cheaper car there…

• IrizX on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Good move.

Now become Bangladesh National car. Please don’t sell Proton to Malaysians anymore!

• thedarkside on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:34 pm

now every bangla can drive…..

• goodfriends on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Good start proton try at third world country that is our neighbour and good friend in need during election. Maybe after that proton and umno bn can survive he…he…he.

• semua komen negative . Kalau orang jual Merc , BMW & others in Malaysia takde nak cakap apa2 . Pemikiran taik -.-

• darkermarker on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:02 pm

komen negative becoz the car has NOTHING but negative things…..

Simple enuf for you to understand??

You mau sendiri masuk bakul, sendiri angkat sendiri ka?

• potong on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Wow… you start comparing proton with merc and BMW?
      Do you know how long the waiting list is for the merc s class ckd? And do you know how long the stock pile is for the saga? If proton still doesn’t get his strategy right, the tanjung malim plant will be lease out to make rice cooker lah.
      Still want to build plant in Bangladesh? Kalau sale pickup baru lah cakap. Export lah dulu.

• truper on Dec 05, 2014 at 7:44 am

Almost all major powerhouse of auto industry such as BMW, Merc, Hyundai, Ford etc choose India for assembly plant. But Proton prefer Bangladesh…sigh

• Carbon meh on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:08 pm

For those guys are mocking you need to know that Bangladesh already have some car manufacturing company. They have been producing automobiles since 1964 (pragati Industries).Proton is seeking a strategy partner which is good move. Some big players like TATA,Hino,Mitshubishi JV with Pragati,Honda (started with Motorcycle manufacturing),Hyundai with HNS enterprise and some others already there. Some local companies also coming out with Electrical and gasoline based vehicles.Proton sole purpose to reduce manufacturing cost and tap a market.

• potong on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:46 am

So what’s your point? They have a history of making car so? And why is seeking a partner a good move? Because you say it is?
      Don’t you know that JV means sharing profit as well? Even if u your cost is lower?
      Don’t you know that the problem with proton is nobody wants their product, regardless the cost? They have a product that issue, not just a cost issue.
      All those car manufacturers that you mentioned has established customer based. Proton already has a market in Bangladesh? Can’t they just test the product first with the export and get the pricing right? Hyundai started selling to oversea with a lost in each unit just to test the market.
      No point do the JV and then realise nobody wants your iris right?

• So that you could buy cbu proton now..

• SHOVON on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Labor cost is extremely low here in Bangladesh. So, if Proton manufactures their car in Bangladesh, they will have a great chance to keep a great profit margin in their cars. Bangladeshis will get cheaper Proton brand cars for their everyday use, also will get opportunity to get recruited by that company. Penetration in Indian market will also be easier from here in Bangladesh. So, it’ll surely be a win-win situation.

• Rabiya on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:22 am

To Same Lorr,,, U are mistaken about Bangladesh or Indian subcontinent , actually u have no knowledge about other countries , u r less educated , no business and socio economic knowledge. U think if any country export labour to Malyasia that country is poorer than u, but u don’t get one thing that as Malaysia u take Gov grant for education. Ur children r educated by Gov money, but in Bangladesh, people do not take Gov grant , they find it disrespectful or shameful or against Islam. So in Bangladesh people work hard to get their children educated , they do not live on Gov grant. Only beggars take grant there. The cheap labour that u dislike or tease as “Bangladeshi Labour” they come here as ur gov policy allows them to work here , they come here to work but not take any grant for their children’s education or anything. Bangladeshi market is occupied by Toyota mainly , and it’s favorite there , if u had little business knowledge u could not say this about your Proton. Proton can make money there also.

• shipon on Mar 22, 2015 at 6:14 pm

I hope bangladesh very soon make car.

• shipon on Mar 22, 2015 at 6:17 pm

We regarding for bangladesh won car.

• Sajjad Pak on Sep 05, 2015 at 9:12 pm

World can not compare Bengali and Malaysian People because Bengals are highly educated talented, and business class people according to the history.This is true that in subcontinent there are some Bengali labors but in the country of 180 million people its nothing…they earn money by their hard work.They dont know what is Gov. loan or subsidy.
    Malaysian are racist ….And honestly they are jealous of Bengal….thats why they make fun with some poor bengals…if they have balls they should face some original Bengals..