Toyota to debut new Safety Sense technology in 2015

toyota-safety-sense-1

Toyota is set to roll out a raft of new safety features for new models under its Integrated Safety Management umbrella from 2015 onwards. In addition, Toyota will also introduce its Safety Sense active safety packages in which it aims to make available worldwide come 2017.

Two layouts of said packages are available – C for compact vehicles and P for larger ones. The package unites existing technologies such as Pre-Crash Safety system, Lane Departure Alert and auto high beams. A laser radar system is featured in the C package with the P option receiving a millimetre-wave radar.

The range of Toyota’s new safety tech include the addition of a vehicle-to-infrastructure and vehicle-to-vehicle communications system. Utilising a wireless frequency reserved for Integrated Traffic System (ITS) services, the car will basically “talk” to surrounding cars and ITS-enabled infrastructure.

toyota-safety-sense-2

As a result, sensors from the driver’s own car, the surrounding cars and the ones above the road will correlate between one another. The system then sends out visual and audio signals should the driver fail to detect a pedestrian crossing or if another vehicle is approaching from the other way at a junction.

Another benefit of employing the vehicle-to-vehicle relay system comes in the form of Toyota’s Communicating Radar Cruise Control. With the aim of improving traffic congestion, the system uses a forward-facing millimetre-wave radar to keep track of the car ahead.

The next-gen LED Array Adaptive High Beam is also set to arrive with a wider field of illumination via multiple, independently-controlled LEDs. As well as being able to light up specific gaps between the vehicle ahead and oncoming ones, the system is linked to steering wheel, enabling a form of directional lighting.

Click to enlarge diagrams

Along with Toyota, Lexus will introduce its take on the safety package with the Lexus Safety System+, which includes a new Road Sign Assist function. The system is designed to recognise almost all globally-recognised speed limits as well as road signs.

Toyota has yet to reveal exactly which of its models are set to receive the first wave of safety upgrades, but with one of the aforementioned packages destined for the compact class, can we expect our future Toyota Corolla Altis to arrive with an arsenal of safety features?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• What will happen when come to Malaysia, we all know la……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • vosscammer on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Same Lorrr why dun you list all Vios/Altis/Camry gens here, a lot on road from all to new but safety?

Like shiate! Conned people!

• Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Altis and Camry have good safety, Prius, Prius C and 86 come with 7 airbags also. Soon Vios will have VSC and more airbags too, be patient a bit.

The safety sense technology will come soon also. Just be patient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Its existed in today or maybe few years back in conti-car… to be honest, what the point to shout about or i guess its just Toyota marketing strategy. just like the vti, vvti, dual vvti…bla bla… end of the day its just a evolution of the technology and its really nothing to surprise really.

• truman6 on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:11 pm

radar bcome kuali, camera bcome handphone holder so dat u can hang your phone & capture video like the camera…LOL

• dugongx on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:41 am

here ah beng and rempit don’t need all this radar and laser camera. they need teh tarik hook and tissue box holder.

• akoo (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:56 pm

when i come to boleh land it still comes with TSS – “Tak Safety Sangat”

• carazy on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:31 pm

This news is irrelevant to us because UMW will never bring this to future toyota line up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • luqae on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:26 pm

You have to know that all models in Malaysia are not determine by UMW Toyota Malaysia but instead TMAP and TMC, they can request but it depends on TMAP Singapore and TMC Japan to approve. So stop blaming UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 40
      • Jimmy on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Your are just defensing, trying to mask the truth and mislead people?
        Our friends, please read his sentences carefully and you will understand.

• Jayden Koo on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:07 pm

This is the first time your comment is related to the topic and post. We are glad to see that.

• dugongx on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:42 am

I am surprised got ppl with negative IQ

• Toyota Owner on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:59 pm

TMAP in Singapore have no “kuku” idea what is happening out of that tiny little island. Toyota couln’t even sell more than 10,000 units this year in Singapore. What are they doing there deciding for the rest of the ASEAN and AP region?

• BLT_Club on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:21 am

I marvel at the incredulity of your comments. So what you’re saying is that the Japanese and Singaporeans determine what would be the specs of Malaysian car? So they are to blame and UMW is scot-free? Then tell me why did UMW reverse their decision to reinstate VSC in the Camry? What did they have to do, sell a pound flesh to the Singaporeans and Japanese? Look, UMW Toyota models are crappy. They better buck up, cause really that badge doesn’t carry the same mileage it used to have.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Will this feature be installed in bolehland toyot? Definately not because UMW is a corrupt crony company and will suck our blood dry.

Enough of this cronism, time we malaysia say no to buying car and start walking and cycling. Then, the car cronies and the public transport cronies will cry to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Aerodynamic bro on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:47 pm

UMW sure remove all of this equipment,any more to say? Bye amd cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:05 pm

UMW ….” ssafety…? “…..

• make stability control as standard pun tak mampu takkan la umw nak install this new tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • The Lidar and camera sensor module is from Continental.

• tapper on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:36 pm

What the hell??? Why the demo car look like Civic???

• Blue-traveler on Dec 03, 2014 at 5:42 pm

By the time it come to bolaland……, UMW, says:- naaaaaa, malaysian lives not worth that much. Our own profits/personal pockets more important. Take off all. And put it under premium option buy.
    That’s why, to Sam loo, I’m sorry, but the current company fleet of Toyotas will be the last, I won’t recommend anymore. so too my go-visit-factories use car: Camry. It’s not you toyota, good car,…… It’s your local partner UMW. shit company that doesn’t take into account of toyota owners lives safety. Vampire company.

• UMW gonna strips it all off la

• noreasonwhy on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Toyota to omit new Safety Sense technology in 2015… again!

• noreasonwhy on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:20 pm

UMW to omit new Safety Sense technology in 2015… once again!

• kington on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:47 pm

To answer Gregory’s question, yes, perhaps the Altis will come with all these tech, probably at a premium that would scare even ISIS militants.

• malaysia lane pon xde???nak detect ape????

• Umw should fix those safety features on their models. Some of their vehicles are selling higher than its competitors but not having those features are not good. Although sounds like not important, but in emergency situation which require immediate actions, it is life saving features.

• Steve Jobs on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Once reach UMW…all been stripped out.LEL

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Volvo already have this, tak kecoh pun.

Toyota have this, riuh satu kampung, pastu datang sini, UMW buang semua, and jack up price simply because it’s Godcar, jangan persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • BLT_Club on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:23 am

Godcar? I hardly think a Toyota is a godcar bro. More like cars for ah bengs/apeks…

• driverjb on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Make VSC, 6 airbag standard across all your cars first. Then we start to talk about lane assist, pedestrian alert, front collision etc..

• jacksonljs on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Honestly, UMW’s dealership seriously need to be STRIPPED OUT and KICKED OUT from selling any Toyota cars in Malaysia. If even VSC can be stripped off where even ‘local’ Proton can include stability control for their sub-RM50k new car across the range (like it or not, latest move by Proton in their Iriz should be applauded where UMW need to be booted out from selling any cars in Malaysia), most probably one day all seatbelts inside Toyota will be removed as well. To all Toyota supporters, please convene this message and send a memorandum to Toyota Japan HQ if you care about your family’s well being.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Zzzzzzz…

• Jimmy on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Our eyes must be wide open.
    Pulau also has to open his eyes, or theirs got 9 airbags?

• dugongx on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:46 am

UMW shoud be Renamed to UMS. Ultimate Motorcar Stripper.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:54 am

UMW gonna strip it all and sell it premium then laughing on malaysian toyota worshiper stupidity for paying to it on its way to the bank

• droll on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:34 am

These features are being driven by EU regulations and don’t apply to Malaysia. UMW may decide to put some of these in the higher end models but the lower end ones will not get it – not unless competition is killing them.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:32 pm

They are also being driven by EU customers who prefer cars that have these features.

• roxas on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:55 am

lol.. so late

• P- premium
    C- cheap

Safety sense or non sense

• jtiou on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:04 pm

come to malaysia, UMW will help you to remove all these safety thing. then giv u bigger touch screen. then top sales. don expect this la, if they can giv u all the vsc to all variant then consider very good already. =D

• No more Value on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:50 pm

If I am not mistaken, this is a honda car with toyota badge