Uber agrees to comply with Malaysian transportation laws, service will not be banned – SPAD

uber-black-1

Looks like the cat and mouse game is about to end, peacefully. Uber has agreed to comply with Malaysian transportation laws, therefore its operations will not be banned or suspended, says the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

The Sun quoted a SPAD spokesman as saying that the commission was given the assurance by Uber Asia Pacific head of public policy Jordan Condo. “Based on that assurance we will not have any issue with them,” he told the daily.

The spokesman reiterated that vehicles registered under the hire-and-drive category are not allowed to be used for taxi or limousine services, and drivers without a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) driving licence are not allowed to offer such services under the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and Road Transport Act 1987.

“Although Uber had agreed to comply with transport laws in Malaysia, we still have the enforcement team on the ground to conduct crackdown on individuals who utilised private vehicles or abused their hire-and-drive licence to offer transport services through Uber mobile app,” he added.

uber x car
Private cars and drivers without a Public Service Vehicle licence are not allowed to operate under Uber

The private driver mobile app service was the target of JPJ’s operasi in October, where the department booked private vehicles and commercial hire-and-drive cars that were driving for Uber. Our source – a limo company operator and Uber Partner – tells us that a meeting between Uber and SPAD will happen this month, with hire-and-drive vehicles expected to be allowed to run under the Uber service in the near future.

Uber has been on a collision course with public transport regulators and taxi operators in many cities across the globe – KL isn’t the only roadblock it’s facing. Over in Thailand, the service was recently declared illegal by the country’s Department of Land Transport, the Bangkok Post reports.

The department says that Uber cars are improperly registered, do not have properly licensed drivers and unregulated fare structures, and began a crackdown on Uber drivers last week, the report adds. Drivers stopped by police can be fined 2,000 baht (RM210) for using the wrong vehicle. They can also be fined 1,000 baht (RM105) each for not charging approved fares and for not having a public-vehicle driver’s license.

The arrival of Uber in Bangkok has the city’s taxi drivers up in arms, citing that the service’s rates are undercutting them. The same of course happened in KL some time ago. What do we think of this? Opinion here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Now thailand banning UBER???…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrr on Dec 05, 2014 at 12:22 am

One important question: Does the Public Service License requires you to use the “awesome” built Proton Persona/Saga/Exora?

• Malaysian Teksi Promote Prostitution on Dec 05, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Very simple what has happened. The big boss of UBEr has given a big fat ang pau to the SPAD boss. Now, semua boleh.

To be honest, having UBER is good because our local taxi drivers bring a bad name to our country. Every single cab driver is always promoting Malaysia as a prostitution capital of the world. Any single guy enters out teksi, first thing the driver ask is, “Mau perempuan?”

Every single guy in Malaysia kena this from all the teksi drivers. And tourist also, they always insist on bringing the guys for a kongkek.

I did a bit of digging and found out, the teksi drivers actually get a commission if they bring clients for a kongkek.

So, in other words, nearly every single teksi driver in Malaysia is aiding and abeeting prostitution in Malaysia.

Time to bring Uber in. Bring some clean behaviour into this country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • logical on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:02 pm

This is great news! I have been saying it all along. As long as UBER follows the malaysian law then there is no problem for them to operate. Its great that they complied.

This is a win win situation to all parties, namely SPAD, UBER and especially us the malaysian citizen. Now we can enjoy UBER services without any worries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Ripcord on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Completely agree with you. Different rules must not apply to different people.

I stopped using their service pending solution with the authority. Don’t want to be caught on the wrong side of the law. Now, this is a very welcoming news to all discerning customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • UberDriverNoMore on Dec 05, 2014 at 12:53 am

You have to remember, Uber promotes “slave labor” and has very little regard for establishment and moral standards.
      http://saint-petersburg-florida-taxi.blogspot.com/

ex-uber driver in Clearwater Beach, FL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:24 pm

so what was the sacrifice by uber for this to happen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • change title pls on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:32 pm

“Uber agrees to pay loyalties and fees to SPAD, service will not be banned”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • weeee on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:11 pm

So does that mean the rates will be determined by SPAD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:36 pm

I’ll still choose Uber even if they up the price a bit to follow these ‘regulations’ set by the government…their cars are way way wayyyyy better than the crap & dirty Iswara/Wira taxis of the 90’s.

• Same L0rrr on Dec 05, 2014 at 12:24 am

If the Public Service License require Proton Persona/Saga/Exora?

End up you get an existing “crap & dirty” taxi who just work under Uber as part time. lol

• screwu (Member) on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:41 am

Saw quite a number of cute pink my teksi car with cat ears and tails around kl..also in green but can’t make out what animal is it. Very refreshing sight indeed

• ayooo on Dec 05, 2014 at 8:30 am

UBER is shit, they are in trouble in the US for breaching customers privacy. Apparently, they had been keeping track of where their customers wanted to go. Just google and read the news. Americans are moving away from UBER. Gov should have banned this slimy company from operating in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • thomasNOTmyname on Dec 05, 2014 at 10:46 am

That’s a lie created by the people that wanted to shut them down. Google again and you will see the true. Have you ever try UBER before? or you just google? Why border give a comment if you haven’t try UBER before? Do not compare Malaysia with US! SoHigh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • ayooo on Dec 05, 2014 at 11:56 am

I tried UBER. I was their ardent supporter when they got banned by SPAD. But after reading that one of their GM scaring journalist by telling the whole world that the journalist had been. Imagine what they can do to you as well with all the info of where you’d been. Even UBER US issued a statement that they will investigate. Meanwhile their VP threatened to spend 1mil USD to dig up journalists dirty secret. That is not to mention various cases where UBER driver assaulting their passenger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Don’t take Uber then. More cars during peak times for the rest of us.

• thomasNOTmyname on Dec 05, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Precaution are good for us, but you assuming that it already happen in Malaysia? As far as I know, there’s no report on this. And UBER driver assaulting their passenger? Well that might be true like 1 in a million, because we are human with feeling.

• Regina on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:08 am

Guys – what is the meaning of hire-and-drive category?

• Ganesh on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Whatever la… Uber giving us fantastic service. The drivers so good n polite.
    Actually everyone needs good products with good service… UBER doing that. So, what else you want more? Just click UBER like me la bro….

• Herbert Lye on May 12, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Yay!! Im getting my UBER Partnership (certified driver) soon!!
    Im doing this for the sake of making frenz esp among musicians and ppl who are active in music scene.
    More than happy to drive in any distance as long as if you love quality music to be played along your ride. If you are the audiophiliac UBER Rider, then I will be your UBER Partner.

Will update once my application has approved.

Cheers

• guy dont so happy Gov did said Uber is not banned. but according to the sh*tty law you cant use private vehicle to ferry paying passenger, so in a way uber drivers are fu*cked except they are taxi drivers with taxi car. status quo

• Ahhhh!!! Nonsense… Malaysia and Thailand want more $ kopi. End story