PAS calls on gov’t to impose ceiling price on fuel

diesel pump

Political party PAS is asking the government to bring about a ceiling price on fuel, for both petrol and diesel, which will allow petrol station operators to compete with each other, The Sun reports.

Vehicle owners can then have the option to shop around and fill up at stations that offer the cheapest fuel, said Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad, the party’s research centre executive director. He added that the government should consider looking into this proposal – in which the mechanism would mirror that as implemented in the United Kingdom – for the benefit of the rakyat.

“The rakyat must benefit and a healthy competition on the price of petrol and diesel will be good. Currently in Malaysia, Petronas has 1,000 stations, Petron 500 and Shell has more than 1,000 outlets. Consumers can choose their stations if the mechanism on pricing is in place,” he told the publication.

petrol11

Dzulkefly also suggested that the MOPS (Mean of Platts Singapore) index – which defines the cost of product at the start of the Automatic Pricing Mechanism (APM) system in place – be replaced with another benchmark, since the country has its own infrastructure to produce and filter crude oil for the nation’s consumption.

The APM is the formula used to calculate the price of fuel, and has been in place since 1983. Its function is to stabilise the price of petrol and diesel in the country to a certain extent via a variable amount sales tax and subsidy. With it, the retail price only has to be changed if the difference in price exceeds the threshold of the tax and subsidy, at the discretion of the government.

Read our detailed story on the APM and how fuel prices are calculated in Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Guan Yin Maa on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 130
    • San Miguell on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Open competition bukan budaya kita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 13
      • Who cares about budaya,its just make you more primitive than ever, now we need is THINK! Its all about result…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • maniam on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Penduduk luar bandar yg kurang pilihan stesen minyak akan merana…percayalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
          • Real Motorhead on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Dzul memang bangang. Mana boleh nak bandingkan kemudahan di Msia dgn UK & Singapura! Hancur le Msia kalau dia ni jadi Menteri Kewangan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 61
          • Mr.Nami on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:27 pm

open lah

• Rangers on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:57 pm

You mean economics of the cronies pocket? St Migel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Green on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Good About Ceiling Price:

1. Allow all Domestic Player to use the ceiling price as the judgement to Set the Selling Cost.

– Ultimately, NO EXCUSE for anybody to increase Product Item when there is a fuel price increasing.
        It’s still below the Ceiling Price.

2. Eventually, Less Inflation in the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:58 pm

the idea is not bad actually..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • carazy on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Good move form PAS..this kind of fuel price mechanism has been implemented in other country like USA.. and the ceiling price on fuel is good idea.. for those bashing the idea should go back form 3 to learn basic economic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
      • lilytan on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Anything that comes from politician is fishy and corrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
        • A poh on Dec 05, 2014 at 6:26 pm

There is no way someone without any position in this country to voice his or her comments and hope to reach the Rakyat. Imagine, mr and mrs. Xxx commented. Who cares! Also where to comment?
          Irregardless of Pas or Bn any good or beneficial ideas will be accepted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • This logic works great in lots of countries. Dun believe me, go stay in the US. Electric bill, water bill, local phone bill, cars prices, fuel prices, alcohol, beer, even sales tax are all different depending on cities/ states you stay.

• Dr. Doom on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Everyone please buy oil in bursa malaysia. Sure will goes up after CYN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • old dog on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:56 pm

(not so) long long time ago…when oil price subsidy started to cut due to oil price rise, we were told..

“Those subsidy will used to build house, MRT, and help the poor”

Now the oil price drop..

“We subsidized too much earlier, so now need tax”

If talk economy? Dont just talk about subsidize, the car tax, the GST, the monopolize all effect the economy (of the cronies apparently).

What country level of economy the G has concert? There is no other industries being boosted by the G for productivity.

The problem is, majority just want the fish to be given instead of learn to do fishing (where we can fish outside the world instead of this small market)

Its just that simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 139
    • almighty tokong idiot on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:19 pm

u r the idiot one. he want G to set ceiling price for oil. if all oil companies work together to set high price, obviously the price MUST be within the ceiling price. I doubt all oil company will set the same price if they want to compete. example, BHP may sell their oil 2 cent cheaper. next time pls read thoroughly before making idiot comment, idiot!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 6
    • hang la super duper retards. we got MYCC what??
      dunno?? double duper retards.. ouch hhehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Excuse me? PAS is asking oil companies to compete with each other, which is good for consumers. The Competition Act would prohibit the oil companies from entering any anti-competitive agreement e.g. to fix price or to collude in any other ways that would hamper competition, and carries hefty penalties on those who do so.

Now you tell me who is the village idiot?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
      • Brainiac on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:56 pm

MyCC Competition Act also said cannot reveal car model individual sales figure by MAA. Only total sales allowed.

The reason is? Being anti competitive in nature.

WTF.

• barridom on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:28 pm

that’s why they said ceiling price, idiot. the idea is that the current/set price is the max, and then petrol companies have the option of lowering it if they want.

sheesh.. this is why they say the best argument against democracy is a conversation with the average person on the street

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • wassini on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Bodoh bangang bahlol…

Aku bagi contoh supaya orang bodoh macam ko mudah faham. Katalah kerajaan tetap harga daging ayam adalah RM7/kilo. Kalo ikut sistem macam minyak skang adalah setiap penjual ayam wajib menjual ayam RM7/kilo dan sama sekali tidak boleh menjual RM6.90/sekilo. Tetapi apa yang berlaku sekarang adalah pejual daging ayam boleh menjual bawah RM7/kilo tetapi tidak boleh menjual lebih dari harga syiling. Ini tujuannya menwujudkan persaingan.

Apa yang PAS cadangkan adalah supaya kerajaan menetapkan harga syiling untuk minyak contoh RON95 dalam RM2.40/liter. Maka syarikat minyak antara Petronas, Shell, Petron, BHP, Caltex dan sebagainya boleh menjual mengikut harga syiling ataupun menjual lebih murah supaya mereka dapat menarik pelanggan untuk membeli minyak mereka.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • Ripcord on Dec 05, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Simplistic assumption. What makes you think they will not operate like a cartel? Anti competition act is at its most efficient when there are many players in the same industry. There are Shell, Petronas, BHP, ExxonMobil and Caltex. All of them can have a gentleman’s understanding to sell at a specific price.

I hope Dr Dzul sticks to what PAS knows best – deciding which arm or leg to chop in Hudud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 70
    • almighty your mom on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:58 pm

what the heck u talking about? there’s a ceiling price la. otak letak kat lutut ke apa?? mesti econ failed ni..ntah2 upsr pun xde a..wakakakakaka

• bangabg jgn ditunjuk on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:06 pm

competition dan anti profiteering act kan ada, kalau syarikat minyak buat mcm tu dah jadi kartel…..

• Exactly an idiot. Politics above everything. No room for use your head at all cost?

• 14 year old on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Mangkuk ayun punya cibai, barua anjing punya guan eng

• Have you seen McD works with Burgerking and other burgers company to increase burgers prices all together arr..? If they work together, thats called Monopoly.

• kemosabe on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:01 pm

If you control the economy, you will have control of the country.
    By then nobody would care about who or what party is running the government.

• Alex Chan on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:49 pm

another idiot idea from old man party, should listen up to DAP because they have more brain power than this old man party…stupid, even kelantan oso poor..look at Selangor and Penang..that how u manage a state!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 85
  • thedarkside on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:53 pm

can…why not..put the ceiling price at rm1.50 and let the rest compete who is selling cheaper.

• mr1031 on Dec 05, 2014 at 2:55 pm

macam la G want to hear any ideas from opponent..

they will leave the idea for several months too cool down..then suddenly..boom, G has a new idea!! (which was proposed earlier)..rakyat should thank G!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Cannot maa, this idea will bring tough competition for Petronas. And do you know how many umno members have Petronas station?

• haa haa…

Fuel price = UK
    Car price = US
    Education = Finland
    Tax/GST = Middle East

So what next?. WTH, like compared own wife with several women.. Body (UK), Face (US), Chest (Finland), Butt (Middle East) & etc…

• honest on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:25 pm

compete?
    petronas,shell & exxon only

can’t agree to this

• What they meant is, even two Shell Stations have different fuel prices..

• pathfinder on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:28 pm

no one has ever been jailed for selling lower than current/subsidized price…ape la dr dzul ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • Shaekey on Dec 05, 2014 at 4:53 pm

I remember about 15 years ago, Caltex if I’m not mistaken we’re selling a few sen per litre below the rest. A lot of people were switching to Caltex but it didn’t last long. The government stepped in and the price went back to the original price similar to the rest of the brands.

If petrol companies are allowed to offer different prices, it will definitely benefit the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • ayooo on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:24 pm

I prefer the comfort of knowing that every petrol pump is priced the same cause I’ll spend no time thinking about which pump station is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Can you all for once in your lifetime let free market prevail??
    Let market force determine prices
    Stop living in artificial aquarium.

• susukotak on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Sure paka area will be cheapest.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:48 pm

I dont get why the opposition is always opposing whatever the government is doing, be it good or very good matters… please let the government handle this fuel mechanism with their wisdom and from the talents that they have, i do not doubt that we are heading towards the right direction

please la pakatan rakyat, be sensible and dont make the rakyat suffer with your challenges

whats next? rally?

ptuii!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
    • cendol (Member) on Dec 05, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Rafizi already promised there will be a rally come Dec 31

• kzm (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:53 am

U say above “Stop living in artificial aquarium”..rafizi say opposite of u he want subsidy how?

• ben yap on Dec 05, 2014 at 7:27 pm

when this is being enforced, later those who don’t follow the price will be punished with Hudud!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Nobody bother you to idolize or make your LGE a tokong BUT your idiot fingers faster than your racist retard brain.

Please control your “stupigidity” of too much politics in your head and illheart thinking.

Read about ceiling price first DAP dude. This is automative blog not political one.

• well i believe thailand they have different fuel price from each brand kan?

if control put same price i bet petronas gonna win all time