SPYSHOTS: F20 BMW 1 Series LCI spotted again

BMW-1-facelift-6

BMW is preparing the mid-life “LCI” facelift for the last rear wheel drive 1-Series it will be building. There’s still lots of camo on parts of the body where the changes are, but the naked headlamps of the car in these spyshots reveal an update headlamp design.

The pre-facelift 1-Series had this odd looking headlamp where the inner corona ring was significantly smaller and was aligned to the top of the outer corona ring. As for the outer ring, BMW made it a full circle instead of being cut off flat at the bottom like it usually is. This gave the face of the car a clumsy, surprised look.

This appears to be fixed with the LCI, with the dual corona rings being closer in size to each other, and the standard flat-bottom look maintained. To fit the new corona rings, the overall shape of the headlamps appear to have been changed as well.

On the rear, we don’t expect much changes to the shape of the tail lamp but the internal graphics have been updated with thinner glowing light bars. There should also be minor changes to the shape of the rear bumper.

There could also be changes to the interior as our spy managed to get a shot showing most of the centre dashboard area covered up.

The next generation 1-Series will no longer be rear wheel drive. It will share the front wheel drive platform of the 2-Series Active Tourer along with the next generation BMW X1.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kiddd on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:50 pm

BMW 1siries..

The expensive ugly car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Also its Wrong Wheel Drive (FWD) So no point to buy it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • fthis on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Want to poyo about FWD vs RWD also at least get the configuration right la.

• applegreen on Dec 05, 2014 at 4:29 pm

1 by 1 bmw models turn to front wheel drive. Why not go to AWD?

• It would be weird there was another AWD BMW than their SUVs

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 05, 2014 at 5:34 pm

There AWD models in the form of xDrive available in their core models too but not available here in Bolehland since BMW Malaysia thinks we do not need it.

Back to the topic…kinda surprised they actually doing something to the interior too…BMW has been in the past…rather lazy when doing LCI for some of their models. Try spotting the difference between the pre and post LCI F10 and you’ll know what I mean.

I guess with all the criticism directed to the F20, BMW decided to work harder to address its flaws. I guess we will be seeing LCI models for both the F20 and F30 next year followed by a local intro the year after!

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 05, 2014 at 4:35 pm

What is LCI? Lick Cibai Ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • tippycar on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:32 pm

WTF MAN.LCI STANDS FOR LIFE CYCLE IMPULSE FOR BMW .

• Maserati, please act like Maserati, not Proton

• Proton is not that bad. VW is much worse with problematic DSG and T with all those massive safety recalls.

• VW is better just hear at VW Golf VR6 noise!!!

• TheAnonymous on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:27 am

DSG issue has resolved already. It’s good to have safety recalls, not only VW, other car’s manufacturer also have such safety recalls. Even Toyota and Honda also have recalls..

• Matthew on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Even though VW has a lot of technical issues previously but it still far better than Proton.
          Currently,I’m deciding to get a new Polo 1.2 TSI, it’s more fuel efficient and also has great horsepower.

• 1sillykid on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:46 pm

I agree the current 1 series is like an ugly duckling car. From certain angle it look yucky. Some angle it looks nice. I am still scratching my head why i bought it in the first place. Somehow my other half find it nice looking.

Once behind the wheels, your perspective changed. The 8 speed ZF automatic is much smoother than the problematic dsg. Even though it’s using the same prince engine as the pug, but the transmission and tuning of the bimmer give it a much better experience than the frenchie.

One thing that i hated most about the current bimmer series is with the implementation of the start/stop technology. I find it pretty irritating during start and stop traffic as the engine will cut off and restart once your foot is off the brake. I suspect this will escalate to higher wear and tear. Thanksfully, it can be disabled just by a press of a button.

Overall, 1 series is a pretty niche market although most folks would have opted for the A3 sedan instead as the pricing is similiar. It is a pity that the next gen of 1 series will be fwd. Bye bye rwd configuration.