Proton Suprima S Standard introduced – RM70k

Proton Suprima S Standard 1

Proton has introduced another variant to its Suprima S range, and the Suprima S Standard rolls in as the entry-level model in the lineup, which now reads like this: Standard, Executive, Premium and Super Premium.

The Standard is based on the Executive variant, previously the base starting point, and omits certain kit and features to bring its price under the RM70k mark. The omissions also bring the kerb weight down by 10 kg over the Executive, the Standard tipping the scales at 1,365 kg.

There are no changes to the powertrain, and the CamPro 1.6 Turbo continues on as is, the low-pressure turbocharged unit offering the same 138 hp at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm between 2,000 and 4,000 rpm as the rest of the Suprima range.

Compared to the Executive, the Standard loses the engine cover and front fog lamps, and its projector headlight position lamps are of the bulbed variety (on the Executive, LEDs).

Proton Suprima S Standard 22

Other cosmetic changes include the omission of black tape for the B-pillar and door sashes, a move to a Panther Grey finish for the centre panel (on the Executive, in Onyx Black) as well as a minor revision to the floor console design (between the two front seats) – the rear lid has been removed.

The variant also drops the front reactive headrest, driver-side overhead handle grip, anti-trap feature in the front power windows, as well as the seat belt reminder for the front passenger. The Suprima S Standard rides on the 16-inch alloys from the Preve, wrapped with 205/55 profile rubbers.

Elsewhere, the Android-based Proton Infotainment System (seven-inch LCD screen DVD player with GPS navigation and Bluetooth/USB/iPod connectivity) found on the Executive has been replaced by a two-DIN single CD/radio head-unit, though the four speaker count still remains. Also omitted, the steering audio switches as well as Yes 4G connectivity.

Safety equipment for the Suprima S Standard consists of dual front airbags and ABS with EBD – owners will have to make do without ESC, traction control, brake assist, hill-hold assist and side/curtain airbags found in the Executive, which means the variant will not be five-star ANCAP-rated like its siblings up the range. Isofix mount points, however, have been retained.

Five exterior colours are available for the Suprima S Standard, and these are Tranquility Black, Genetic Silver, Atlantic Blue, Solid White and Fire Red, the same colours found on the Suprima S at its launch in August 2013.

As for pricing, the Suprima S Standard goes for RM69,438 (solid) and RM69,888 (metallic), on-the-road with insurance, which makes it RM6,900 cheaper than the Executive (solid), and RM6,800 in the case of the metallic version. Customers in East Malaysia will have to wait until December 18 before they can get up close with the S Standard in showrooms.

You can compare the specifications of all the Suprima S models on Carbase.my, and read our review of the Suprima S here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dafuq on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Failed marketing plan. Should have come out with a Suprima R3, but not this Suprima Kosong! Why downgrade your car??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 26
    • To Proton supporters:

Why Proton remove the safety equipment in Suprima that you are all so proud of?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 19
      • xrossoverxt on Dec 06, 2014 at 5:47 pm

It’s option for those who wants to save 5k for those all safety gadgets. Dun tell me you dun ever read here those who said ESC is not important here.

So there you are OPTIONS. Do you getoprion to have VSC in Vios?

Answer me proud T fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 23
        • Yes, there is no option for VSC in Vios BUT there is also no option for VSC in Saga! Really? You’re comparing a B segment with a C segment? If you compare the same segment, the Corolla has an option for VSC with 7 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 50
          • Where got altis or corolla with VSC at 70k?
            This is Malaysia not thai or indon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
          • kadajawa on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:07 pm

@okok Langkawi not in Malaysia kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • @kadajawa
            Huh? Langkawi? Most bolehland people are not staying there kid. Be mature please. ANd check the price first before you talk. That way your teacher didn’t waste his/her time educating pathetic person like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
          • Suprima Blue on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:46 pm

The blue is very nice. Unfortunate they dont have it in black

• Those Ungrateful Malaysians on Dec 07, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Hoi Kada… tomorrow you move and stay in Langkawi just because you want to buy 70k toyota with VSC ok

Then we got one less idiot tokkok here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • Dua Roda Sahaja on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:06 pm

i sat in one suprima… its very spacious.

thumbs up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Proton is a DISGRACE on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:25 am

No wonder Proton got such a bad name in Malaysia. Compromise on people’s safety just to make more money. How can a Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US cost only US$22,000 and yet have VSC and 8 or 9 airbags?

So for RM60,000 plus, you can get a car with VSC and 9 airbags.

This car, supposed to be made for Malaysians, cost RM70k but all the safety features taken out.
            Totally illogical?

Proton, the rakyat is fed up of your lazy workers. Even after 30 years of Government protecting you and making Proton the “only” choice of car in Malaysia, Proton can still fail to make money.

For 30 years, MITI control other car prices. Told all other car players that they cannot price their cars near Proton pricing. And yet, Proton still cannot make money.

How long must we Malaysians support a company that is sucking so much of money from us?

Look at Hyundai, started just about 10 years earlier than Proton. See where Proton is and where Hyundai is? Hyundai is now the 4th largest car producer in terms of volume of sales.

Honda and Toyota of the US is so scared of Hyundai as Hyundai ate a huge market share from them. Honda and Toyota shivver when they hear Hyundai name.

Proton on the other hand, got no market globally at all. All the countries Proton attempted to penetrate, the Proton cars were rated the most dangerous car ever produced.

And mind you, this is Export quality. Proton export quality is 100x more robust and higher quality than what Proton gives for the local Malaysian market.

And yet, with this Export Quality, Proton can fail big time in every single market they tried to penetrate.

I can only wonder what these countries will say if they were given the non export quality car for them to assess??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Comparing bolehland car price with US again, sigh.

• Only 6K less?! on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Come on.. Removed engine cover, front fog lamps, projector headlight position lamps, front reactive headrest, driver-side overhead handle grip, anti-trap feature in the front power windows, seat belt reminder, Android-based Proton Infotainment System. Ok probably these things cause only RM6K

But also removed ESC, traction control, brake assist, hill-hold assist and side/curtain airbags. Come on these things definitely cost more than RM6K already

If you have RM70K to spend, just buy the Car of the Year 2014, base spec Honda City, save you from all the troubles

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
        • Michel Bay on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Here in Penang really cannot see one single Suprima or Preve on the Mainland and Island and the showroom at Megamall Prai always dead. People only want BLM, Anything P1 and P2 above 50K can Go Fly a Wau (kite).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
          • Penang people smart. Let other states have this rubbish. Next time Proton will extinct in Penang like in Langkawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 43
          • vermin on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:52 am

Dunbe naive. Suprima or preve turbo anytime can tapau 1.5l jap or celup car. No it-s not for racing but drivebility or cruisinwith full load is much more pleasing than puny 1.5l city or vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
          • Passerby on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:03 pm

haha! really bro… i live penang and very agree with u… suprimak and inspira very rare… if can see 1 then means today in bad luck… preve still can spot a few per week… but the new iriz until now cant even see 1 in the road… axia? berlambak even more than any proton on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • epikfel on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:37 pm

p2 SA really desperate to up sales. Axia is more than any proton?

Lololololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • broker on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Huh?
          City 1.5l underpower car
          SS 1.6 T more than 2.0l power

A big NO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • JPJ Director on Dec 07, 2014 at 5:51 am

Eeh.. Semua tak pass Puspakom ni, mana boleh jalan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • karas on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:30 pm

There are guys who dun appreciate ESC and those safety equipments. This is special edition for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Macai on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:09 am

Must be special edition for proton supporters only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
          • Rakyat on Dec 07, 2014 at 5:57 am

“S” = “Supporters” edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • myibn on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:55 am

Of course proton bashers will go for tin milo vios or city with sissy 1.5l undwrpower engine

lolololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • berat nangnang proton…harga 70k tp ape mende ponxde nampok sgt nak nipunya..tp nak beli ke proton..??bg org xtau tin kosong 70k kena kelentong jelah dgn salesman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • Vios lagi teruk. Dah la tin kosong, enjin sakai 1.5l je. SS 1.6 Turbo woi altis civic sylphy senang2 je kena tapau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
          • Kenny Yun on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:28 am

being a proton fanboy is about tapau other car everyday.get a life lah.

• M. Kanniah on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:52 am

I don’t see a reason why is this an issue. If they are to remove a few items to make this car “cheaper” for more people to afford it, why not? It’s just another method of marketing. If R3 set more expensive, still you guys gonna blame is it?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:36 pm

It’s a marketing strategy you idiot. PROTON produce a C-Segment compact car that rakyat could afford. By producing std variant means PROTON is in line with NAP to gradually reduce car up to 30% within 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 85
      • Same L0rrr on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Lol. Reduce 30% car price means the customer had to let go vsc, 7 airbags, projector headlight.

Next time if government announce 50% reduction, the car won’t even have doors?

After all, Suprima S also a Milo tin.

It may not be a moving coffin, but definitely a moving target for the tow truck, and garage’s VIP customer, due to Proton traditional “awesome” build quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 17
        • Albert on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Bradder Same Lorr,Proton at it again.Sales jatuh teruk,tiada option lain ,kecuali turun harga dengan buang ini,buang itu.
          Might as well remove the aircon,cd player,front and rear lampu,battery,fan…kau kau strip down version at 60K..get chinaman suppliers to take orders for these items on the spot n fit them once the car is at the showroom for delivery.
          If still cannot sell,Proton,please dont waste Paultan’s forum contributor’s time.Just close shop and be a Giant AP Holder and bring in exotic cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
          • unitie on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Most people won’t go for this variant. Tin milo? Nah, still light years harder than tin milo Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
          • @unitie Proof that your Tin Milo is harder than Vios or it didn’t happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
          • unitie on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:29 pm

@ayoo
            Please read more, you are staying in cave too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Same Lorr:
            When it comes to Safety, PROTON is more superior than your die hard TOYOTA in Malaysian market. Even PROTON had removed these safety gadget feature, REMEMBER, the body itseld still the same using HPF manufacturing tech which is stronger than your Vios. Even TIN MILOs are more keras than your Vios..Haha..

• Same L0rrr on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:10 pm

@unitie: Comparing Proton most advanced model with Toyota cheapest model??

You should also do more reading in your cave.

• Same L0rrr on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:07 pm

@Ah Beng If Proton is so superior in safety, why Saga Persona Satria Neo, Exora, Suprima S Standard have no VSC?

And why Proton drivers are still the biggest group of accident fatality on the road?

Again you show everyone Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Sangat Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • samelorstpd on Dec 08, 2014 at 8:21 pm

@Sam Lorrr
            Let me answer you, you want to compare latest Iris with Vios ar? Then Vios dead ady, Iris got VDC all across the range. Vios has old gearbox and engine, only boot size can win over it. FC wise Vios is so so only. LOL

Oh you asked again why old car doesn’t have VDC? Then I can ask you why old altis camry vios also dun have one? LOL

You just make fool of yourself this way. Before I forget:

Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

• Tun Mamak on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:27 pm

@ samelorstpd

Yes, old car no VSC but your Suprima old car ah? Your so called “standard” variant Suprima not even for sale yet! It’s moving a step backwards! Also, you’re making a fool out of your self for comparing a hatch with a sedan. Compare lah Iriz with Prius C, which comes with VSC and 7 airbags! Your Iriz got 7 airbags or not? If you want to compare sedan, compare with the Saga, which has no VSC as well. Wait… You said it’s an old car but why Proton called it the “New Saga”? Maybe they meant Tin Milo Old Saga!

• samelorstpd on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Suprima is not old car and the premium variant is there with ESC? So why so much fuss? New Saga coz it’s first saga successor. You think with your butts?

Prius C is hybrid car, and what’s the price? You can buy it with saga price? You think with butts?

Why Vios no VSC, is that old car?

• proton menipu dgn cara mengekalkan ciri2 exterior nampak spt variant [email protected] dlm ape pon xde..harga rm70k..gila la..bg customer yg jenis angguk je kena kitai dgn salesman..nilah strategi menipu namanya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • Tipulah.. Proton ni

• kakao on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Vios 90k takde VSC lagi penipu, dah la enjin 1.5l je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:32 am

@kakao Your G is the biggest penipu. 50k in Langkawi becomes 90k in Malaysia. If not, Vios is cheaper than your penipu Proton

• kakao on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Still got people tell about Langkawi price. Sigh. You stay in Langkawi ar?

• Minister on Dec 07, 2014 at 12:51 am

Wow. This is the “best” marketing strategy that proton can think off? Really hats off to them for promoting a less safe car for the rakyat that can afford. Oh.. wait, it’s taking out the safety equipments so that it “appears” affordable. So either you’re the idiot that continues to support them or you’re just being ignorant or both

• Marketer on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:57 am

Marketing strategy – Fail
        Comment – Lagi Fail!

• Try to con the rakyat with no safety equipments? Rakyat smart oledi, no one will buy this tin kosong!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
      • viospower on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:29 pm

That cannot beat tin milo Vios, you buy cheap you got no safety, you buy expensive, also no safety. It’s a REAL moving coffin!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • Please lah… Go back to school and learn how to compare the same segment. Your Saga cheap got no safety, expensive also no safety. It’s the BEST in Malaysia and some say the world moving coffin!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
          • voachyer on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:11 am

P2 T SA don’t learn saga is old ady. Iris sedan will come next to replace it. Eh old vios got vsc, no? New one 2014 oso got no vsc. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
          • freker on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:01 am

Toyida moving backward. New vios still no VSC. Proton moving foeward. New iris aka saga hatchback has VDC all across lines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
      • JS LIM on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:04 am

After reading all the comments, most of the people here just sembang tak kenal duit saja.

Talking about tin car or any safety issues, i dont think Myvi got anything better also, and still, people buy it.

So right now people are saying, dumping safety issue is the problem here for Proton? Yeah, it might be a bit of ridiculous for just getting a few K cuts, but the purpose is there, clearly.

Talking about Proton is wasting contributor time in Paultans forum, then why in the reviews are saying that the new Proton Iriz is still worth a try?

If you guys think that you have the chance to drive a better car, appreciate it when you can. There is some other people who cant afford it. And they still hope to drive a bigger car, yet in a more affortable price, its the options they have. Like so many people said it already, rakyat now is not stupid, they are clever enuff to choose for what they can afford. Respect them.

AND, if you think that you can afford it and you deserve a better transport more than any one of them, then get yourself a better car, no 1 is stopping you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
        • Najib on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:51 am

Yes, there is 1. He’s name is Dr. M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • Rakyat on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Yes, got one. He’s name is Dr M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • I’m going to stop you. I’m going to make other cars more expensive so that you buy only proton, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Jason Lim on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:56 pm

If I’m poor and I really need a car for transport, yeah, I will buy Proton or Perodua. You can have all your laughters and whatever makes you happy, then it’s fine.

BUT, there is still another thing. lLike many people has said it already, RAKYAT is not stupid, and I dont think u are stupid enuff to create more angry mobs in the middle-high range income RAKYAT right?

You know what I mean right? I know you are clever enuff larh, PEACE.

• viosthebest on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Yes, Vios J tin milo is miles better than this junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 53
      • pondan vios on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Vios is a pondan car la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
      • At least vios gearbox wont lag and fuel consumption is very good compare with poor suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 19
        • mummy boy on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Vios macam driving your mother car …. yeeech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
        • Lol Vios eats SS smoke. 205nm torque kick in yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Vios Suxxs on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Vios will eat the smoke of anything including a tortoise.

• Yes, Vios will eat the smoke of Suprima when Suprima’s engine or transmission breaks down. Haha

• You misread it as DSG, better check your eyes

• Vios sure eat smoke,but your suprima s eat petrol like drink water,macan racing car.

• Where got SS Preve eat drink fuel like sport car, more or less like n/a 1.7l / 1.8l car in heavy traffic jam.

• Manual Masterace on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Ford Fiesta la,mana boleh compare.
      23k more gt more features and more fun.
      Suprima is dem fat wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Great Hocus on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:40 pm

i test drove the IRIZ yesterday.

I must admit the car handles incredibly well and the interior finishing is impressive.

Good improvement Proton boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 20
    • Yes. Bad marketing plan but you have worst suggestion.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:14 pm

now u all agree that p1 put high safety spec is gud?…pelik la. i tot u guy say no use to have ESP+TC in p1 car? people want cheap car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rr on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:46 am

Who is copying who now? Is Proton copying Toyota due to failing sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:56 pm

copy or not. some prefer gud FC than gud safety spec..for p1 since their FC is not that gud, better they do next best thing reduce safety spec n lower the price for that model..if less spec can sell better so be it.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:55 pm

I don’t get your logic, kzm. You said some people prefer good FC than safety spec. Since P1’s FC no good, now they reduce safety spec, where got people want?

• kzm (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 8:58 am

price..

• Same L0rr on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Who’s copying who? Now Proton is copying Toyota due to failing sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Normal la, Japs car without VSC is ok, when proton no VSC tak boleh pulak.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:57 pm

You guys like to bash Toyota for no safety but now Proton doing the same thing you guys support?

• Same? Vios got variant with VSC kah?

Boooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!

• I don’t get it! this kind of ugly car is still overpriced!

• X celcom on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:35 am

I believe to MOST FAIL factor was not the MARKETING.

That the EXTERIOR DESIGN. UGLY BACK. FAILED.
      + EXPENSIVE.

Nobody will buy expensive UGLY if whole BODY function properly. Like modelling, Massage, Good Cutting with Ugly face will PRICED lower.

Thos arrogant AZLANO should resign or being TERMINATED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Vios almera are much fuglier and overpriced. Why not it, because it’s Japs cars? Ptuih.

• Dafuq2 on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:08 am

Cz the sales were lower than expected due to overpricing? just my 2 cents

• OMG…this ugly kosaong car still need 70K…buy H.city better lah..LOL

• Legend (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:27 pm

memang Standard enough
    70k only gives two airbags, no ESC means no Traction Control,no Cruise Control, no this no that
    Sorry to say that it’s just so hard to support you again Proton
    but you have disappointed rakyat AGAIN
    hope that Khairi’s “First Car plan” will succeed and bring the cost further more down!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 21
    • Macai on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

No VSC! No ANCAP 5 stars! This car is a moving coffin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • antihipokrit on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Wow, VIOS and CITY are 5 STAR NCAP and BMW resemblance.. 20 airbags and Kangaroo bars front, back, left and right..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • alo vios katmalaysia mana ada apa yg ko ckp..ko duk kat negara mana nii??

• toyodol on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Vios is much better with 10 airbags, VSC, traction control and cruise control, only 70K!

Buy Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
    • Som Seng on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Simply buy the more expensive variant, then you’ll have traction Control, cruise Control, several side airbags and ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • kairul abdul on Dec 06, 2014 at 5:31 pm

If choose to buy more expensive spec Rakyat will not choose Proton cars.

Everyone know Proton selling price is compare to after taxes CBU cars. Expensive and cheating Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • Proton base model = Missing safety features
          Proton premium model = Overpriced!

• Som Seng on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:28 pm

The Toyota Vios has two airbags and no ESP too?

But the Vios has 29hp and 63Nm less at higher RPM?

I would call the RM77,313 for the Vios ‘overpriced’.

• @Som Seng You are another one comparing the wrong segment. Are you using C segment to ‘bully’ B segment? Overpriced thanks to your BN protecting Proton cronies as it’s only RM50k in Langkawi as reviled by Paul Tan

• Som Seng on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:11 am

‘B’ or ‘C’: Vios has less power, less torque, no ESP, two airbags only and it’s more expensive than the Suprima S Standard.

If you like to pay more for a less powerful car: Up to you.

• Why bising-bising laaa? Belilah yang Premium tu if you greatly desired the full featured model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • bkn masalah bising tp menipu dgn harga 70k..ko igt skit ke cara proton menipu ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Why should we pay more for the con job done by proton? Base already con, mahu kami beli yang premium tu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Only add 5k ma to get full specs, if you can afford 70k why not add a bit? When translated to monthly installment not more than RM100, you said it’s con?

Think again.

• Allen on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Bad moves to remove safety feature. Clear unsold parts of Preve pre-ancap era?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • Proton supporters say the same thing to Toyota but now Proton do the same thing! Ptui… Proton and their supporters are hypocrite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
      • encaper on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Hypocrite what? What they told?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:30 pm

im think people who bash p1 (eg Same L0rrr) is more hypocrite than p1 fanboy (eg Ah Beng)..u read article when SS first launch n compare with comment in this article..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Rakyat Malaysia mahu jadi org Jepun, Proton please close shop laa…harga turun sampai 25k pun tak ada org nak beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
      • Since you are the speaker for Malaysians? You are the PM ah?

Ptuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • highloo on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Other automakers where got something like this, even discount also dun have!

• Agree. This is clearly to con the rakyat of Malaysia!

To Proton:
        Duit didahulukan, safety last

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • twotwo on Dec 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

Con what? If want ESC go for premium lor, just top up a bit more, unlike C segment T or H or N

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Guan Yin Maa on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:33 pm

So expensive to put ESP ? Cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Whattttttt? on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Another Joke of the Day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 43
  • thgh (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:36 pm

who will buy this one when you can get so much more in the safety aspect for just 5k?

the new rim design looks better though, same to the center console.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • No one must know on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Proton should made this variant available first before introduce more advance variant but better late than never. Hope this variant will draw Malaysian to buy Proton Suprima S. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • Obviously (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:41 pm

So. They took a step backwards. Here comes trouble. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Where is the manual variant ?
    Did dare to sell it to public ?

• DudeNtah on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Topup a bit buy honda city..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Bristol on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Topup a bit buy 308, Focus or Golf or buy Axia better than City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Proton should rebadge honda city..
      Too many on the road,the true rakyat car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Som Seng on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

‘Top up’ to get 33hp less? No, thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • 33hp less? 138hp vs. 119hp…how did you come up with 33?
        The Suprima has a 1.6l, turbocharged engine which somehow only produces an additional 19hp over the iVtec on the City. Quite inefficient if you ask me.

• Som Seng on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:00 pm

‘Only’ 19hp is the equivalent of 2.3 Honda EX5.

119hp is quite inefficient for an iVTEC with that price, if you ask me.

• Lol you never drive more than 200nm torque car?

It’s torque that wins you, hp only for showing off!

• Som Seng on Dec 07, 2014 at 7:59 am

The Honda engine is far from 200Nm, it’s 145Nm@4600rpm.

The Suprima on the other hand has 204Nm@2000rpm.

So what you like to tell me? Spend a bit more for less hp and less torque?

• Hnaidu on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Jazz better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • -____- on Dec 06, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • It should be suprima s sv not standard

• Stupid to the max.. Exclude out so many features especially on the safety portion with minimal price reduce.. Looks like 1 of the efforts to tipu orang kampung again..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
  • Arsengal on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:01 pm

No matter what variant they come out, people will still complain. So I’ll start. Where’s the 6speed manual CFE???!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • zamer on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:02 pm

really really a stupid move..nuff said.
    u drop a lot of things, make it really cheap nevermind..
    this is just save up 5-7k from full spec..

the full spec already infamous, now a bit cheaper with empty spec.

did proton realise that we dont want them already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 44
    • No one must know on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Who is ‘we’? A lot of Malaysian still love and want Proton. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 41
      • I know on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:39 pm

I second that, keep on improving Proton. We need more cars like the Iriz. Haters gonna hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • We know on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:39 am

Yes, we need more unsafe cars from Proton as long as it is affordable

• It is funny that the Suprima S is rarer than my 1990s E36 Coupe in KL/PJ.

As I am writing the comment below, there is a Kia advertisement that says: All new Kia Rio starts from RM73,888. Then there’s the new Jazz, perhaps that’s why.

They should get the non turbo Suprima and priced it RM55k if they’re serious on putting the Preve hatchback on the road. Maybe they’re clearing the old turbo stocks.

Let’s face it, no one wants to pay more than RM60k or RM70k for a Proton. It is time to face reality Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 11
    • policeman on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I paid 79k for my Proton. Best money I’ve ever spent on a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 48
      • Inspector on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:33 am

Got an Evo Policecar you don’t want, you bought a Suprima to chase criminals? Ya, what a “wise” decision, Mr. Policeman

• policeman on Dec 07, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Kebodohan tu simpanlah sikit. Nanti habis kau juga yang susah.

People here know that I’m a big fan of manual transmission. Now which Proton comes with manual transmission and is priced at RM79K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • why reove safety essentials..shouldn’t touch that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Still could not fathom on why they designed d suprima in the first place, its uglier, heavier, stupid name,

The preve badly needs thorough facelift and a new gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Rover (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Seriously? That’s just your view.

I personally find the name beautiful (better than preve) and the design beautiful (although slightly out of proportion, not as bad as the new Jazz though).

However, the transmission is the problem here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Suprimau on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:27 am

Sup Rimau…. What a beautiful name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • shawal on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:11 pm

I bought a preve for my mom
        having previously owned saga, wira, waja, and savvy,
        preve is their best product yet no doubt…

but with suprima, its heavier, and nose heavy awkward looks , plus the boot is smaller than the preve’s by almost 200litres ,
        it doesnt make any sense….
        the name in my opinion is terrible…

the jazz is a pseudo MPV , it looks fine to these eyes, tho not as eye catching as the last one was when it first rolled out…

furthermore, they should name this variant suprima sv, cuz ‘standard’ means the standard norm that we should adhere to , and vithout VSC, ESC, …their standard is pretty bad…its like lowering the standard of safety where proton is finally about to do good…

• So this is a less safe version compare Iriz and Preve. 2 airbags and standard ABS, that’s Saga, Exora and Persona standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • better get Proton Preve Premium

• mehhhhhh on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Mannnnn…. I though they will at least introduce a manual version+ turbo :/ what happen to the 6 speed manual we saw at the 1st part of the year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • weeee on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

For a few grand less I’d get the top spec Iriz, I lose a bit of space yes, but I also gain better safety equipment & more kit as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • standardize the safety equipment la…
    proton should be helping malaysian…

• could proton develop a manual transmission for suprima? it is such a waste for this model to not have manual transmission.

• Iso_Aire on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Honestly, I am fan of Proton Suprima. But seriously, “…without ESC, traction control, brake assist, hill-hold assist and side/curtain airbags found in the Executive,” and still above RM69k?
    I don’t mind the bland exterior/interior than the Exec variant but there’s too much safety feature were compromised imho. The key selling point of Suprima is “five-star ANCAP-rated” but this variant doesn’t looks like it supposed to be like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Morgan on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:30 pm

clearing old stock obviously as nobody buys…

Suprima SS as rare as Lamborghini on the road…

Proton makes 1000 suprima a month but sell 3 units a month.. the rest will soon be lelong and sell as dirt cheap and still nobody will buy.. just wait and see..

pathetic really… even the new IRIS more rarer.. as rare as HUMMER or an airbus A380

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
    • At least I could saw 3 Hummer at 1 month at Sabah but Suprima and Iriz is like grey import….Sure they’re just nobody’s collector toys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • The premium version is not selling well cuz it is expensive, sluggish, ugly and low quality.

Now introduce this empty version at almost 70k.. who’s gonna buy this p.o.s..? 70k? Spec like persona but 20k more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • No one must know on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:27 pm

The premium version is not that expensive for a 5 star ANCAP. Im somewhat agree with the design but low quality? Im 100% disagree with that. How bout you compare Suprima with other hacthback car. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Spec like persona and sluggish?
        LOL it can tarpau those 2.0l sylphy civic altis anytime anyday, too easy. 1.6 Turbo is not a joke, eventhough lesser torque than those Prince engine/ problematic TSI cars.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Apparently they demonstrated that ESC is a vital feature for a car. But they removed it from this variant. Eehh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:22 pm

They took out a lot of stuff and the price didn’t get much cheaper either…bad move after launching a good car called Iriz and speaking of the Iriz I noticed more Axias on the road instead of the Iriz which I’m struggling to get a glimpse of.

• Ceplos on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:33 pm

70k? WTF

• No engine plastic cover? YES!!! More weight reduction!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • M/T is KING on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:00 pm

ESC is a must. Come on laaaa.
      After all this still 70k.
      Manual?

• Yea its not really worthy to buy. Better buy secondhand Proton Wira+ mod

• jojoe on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Vios is much better, only 1.5l but you can feel like those 1.6 turbo (2.0l) engine.

Feel Toyota engine, only 1.5l can tarpau those big 2.0l cars.

• At least Vios got give engine cover

• ayoosarker on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:30 am

Lol engine cover you can buy cheap anywhere, engine you can buy for RM10 meh?

• nabill (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:38 pm

id rather get the top spec which retails for around rm79k..bt end of year promotion u can easily get rm5k-rm6k off the RRP…and i get all spec…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Still waiting for manual version

• mamatwhyla on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Rm70k for this??? … better buy a good used ford focus, mazda 3 or something better value for money …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • lucky5 on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Later you vomit blood when stalled coz warranty finishes and spare part hard and long time to get.

Good luck!

• dr.terror on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:59 pm

not really impress with the spec and the price, the price should be a bit lower because a lot of thing has been throw out compare to executive spec. Proton preve full spec its rm70k rite? so preve should be a better choice rather than this suprima standard.

• kairys on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Furthermore you can get discount up to RM8k for Preve Premium.
      So it’s cheaper.
      Where’s the logic in that Proton???

• JB_KIA on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:00 pm

shouldn’t they study why ppl dun like suprima s and come up with some corrective actions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • adullah on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:06 pm

I will not buy a car from this old man.
    He set Malaysia car industry back 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • Ahmad Imran Naufal on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:14 pm

No LED ! Oh no!!!

• Anti-Establishment on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

The Suprima is not their bread & butter car so why bother with the Standard version. In fact, why even bother with the Suprima? Just sell the Preve is more than enough.

They should focus on converting the Iriz to become a Saga replacement instead.

• Proton will never grow or going anywhere near international product.
    If they want to compete, get someone who is capable of doing the job. Just look at the Korean, they mean business and their car sale globally. And for Malaysia, corruption is the main priority not the product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • symustafa on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:44 pm

On one hand, I do want Proton to succeed. It would be nice to have a real player in the automative industry represent Malaysia. At least Proton seems to be trying with the last few models compared with Perodua, which is sticking to the local market with mediocre vehicles.

But as much as Proton is trying, they are really not there yet. Its obvious the Suprima S is not selling well because of the price. Look at the Preve. How many top of the line Preves are sold compared to their low end models? The truth is, no matter how good the spec is (and the Suprima S Premium is fairly well equiped for what it is) nobody is going to buy a Proton for that price because its a Proton. Doesn’t matter that its cheaper than its competition, its still an RM80,000 Proton. Heck, look at the Inspira, which is more expensive. Only the government themselves uses it in bulk. Its pretty rare anywhere outside Putrajaya.

Of course, to really show the locals that Proton cars aren’t shit, they really have to be able to sustain themselves by making a profit internationally. Australia is a start. But it seems as though the cost of this to happen, if it ever will, for the taxpayer is too high. While Proton have to sell crappy cars like this to the taxpayer for R&D money, all the taxpayer sees is “this is the shit the government is funding?” instead of the much rarer high end Protons that no one buys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Proton should join venture with honda….no more self rnd with heavily platform,wash machine sound and thirsty engine…and that laggy punch cvt…

• Som Seng on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Can you show me a car company which is allowed to use recent Honda engines?

No? How come you think that Honda will ‘joint venture’ with Proton?

• Who cares about sound when it can tabao kao kao those common Jap cars?

• entahlalabu on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:48 pm

cover enjin pun tak bg…mahal sgt ke…saga blm pun ada cover enjin…ridiculous

• cendol (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Other countries progress through time.
    Malaysia Regress over time.
    Soon we shall go back to Stone Age

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • I know on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Yup. Soon we shall be like Mordor. And Cendol can call this home

• corei7 on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Yeah with this is kind of comment, I have no doubt with it.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Sadly to say, it is hard to see one on the road on each day. The car priced a bit higher and the interior is terrible.

Should be updated as what I told you Proton. Coming to 2nd year after launched. Can not make profit and spend too much to develop.

Anyway, how’s your Saga Gen-3?

• buyvios on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:57 pm

True, Vios interior is much better, better than S klasse Merc!

Buy Vios!

• Amei (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 3:37 pm

fail

• konotour on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Fail comment

• Amei (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:38 pm

I have nothing to see at the time. it’s a stupid thing to sell a spec kosong car at 70k. for that kind of money. A base spec kia rio is a better buy. Hell, even any 70k secondhand car is better than this base suprima. Atleast Proton should have the decency to keep the safety feature while removing other gadgets. Surely, this thing is a failure.

• What 2nd hand car is that? Buy it later you can be tow truck best friend, lol.

No warranty summore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Amei (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:48 pm

there are others alternatives than buying this new spec kosong cars. Surely when I meant secondhand cars is not only VW. (since your comment mentioned tow truck best friend). Heck, all the cars in my household are secondhand cars. Sure it have a few small niggles and faults. All cars are not perfect. I get what I payed.

• Sam Tow Truck on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Proton is my best friend

• bishk on Dec 08, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Ironically so less Proton being towed but so many recalls of Japs cars all over the world.

Go figure.

• first, it is failure. if you cannot get the sale volume within a year of launch, you wont get any better after that.coz other makes are coming out with better car and nobody will be excited to buy your product.

second, price is not a main factor here people dont want to buy this car.it is the quality. you just dont feel like you want to sit inside this car everyday.

third, cutting just mere 7k will not affect much on the monthly installment. people decided to buy this car will go for the top spec, people decided not to buy this car will not buy this car just because it is now cheaper for that 7k. this variant is dead on first launch.

lastly, people who plan to get one might worry they are getting really really old stock that can be problematic if not properly maintained by proton in their garage. are they properly taking care of those back log car? like a shop produced 2000 pack nasi lemak perday, but sell only 20, you dare to buy nasi lemak from this shop or not?

sometimes really pity these people so desperate to hard sell their car but no one bother.

• iii34 on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Some people say ESC/VSC is nothing, they say they are still alive until today what.

• jacksonljs on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm

If manual cars, got ESC or not doesn’t matter although it’s always good to have ESC in manual since there’s some sort of engine braking that enable us to control the vehicle speed accordingly (of course correct gear usage is important). But if auto/CVT, since there’s almost non-existance of engine braking which is part of the vehicle speed control (most of the automatic car drivers just know how to press throttle and brake, but very few can control their vehicles in case of emergency), therefore ESC is a MUST have since there’s high chance of accident/lost control in automatic cars without ESC even if drive like an apek.

• smokey on Dec 06, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Proton u can cut cost by introducing manual variant and not this stupid empty car!

• jacksonljs on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Echoed that, and to Proton, don’t learn from the motherf**k*r UMW that like to strip all essential safety features especially ESC (leaving only 2 airbags and ABS, that one doesn’t matter to ‘sendiri syok’ carbuyers that simply buy their ‘T’ brand, not cars) and also quality (if you scroll through internet, lately brand new Vios built quality is worse than even old Proton Wira/Waja and Perodua Kelisa/Myvi, that’s why don’t simply said all local made car ‘sentiasa rosak’). Worst, increase selling price somemore (terlampau sangat mahal) and when sales fall below expectations, lot’s of ‘Attractive’ or ‘Fantastic’ downpayment rebate or other ‘fabulous’ offer promotion (don’t think only Proton do sales carnival) from their so-called ‘friendly’ sales advisors that have too much free time to slack around and surf internet including paultan site to badmouth local and Korean cars.

• rm70k? lbh baik jer beli Proton Preve Premium at RM72K. suprima s standard buang mcm2 safety/ gadget/ cosmetic mcm kereta tin kosong pulak. stering pun x da audio control apa kebenda la Proton ni. baik better Saga lg. lainlah jual RM55K.

better downgrade engine jer kepada 1.6NA, manual transmission, rim besi, HU. Yg penting kekalkan safety sedia ada.

• kairys on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:18 pm

This is the first comment I saw mentioned Preve.
      Preve having discount up to RM8k.
      You can simply get Preve Premium at RM65k. Better than this Suprima.
      Sometimes I can’t brain their pricing.

• Good marketing strategy… Launch new model and remove those make SS unique and hope executive & premium model to sell better..but rakyat not so dumb anymore..Good luck selling your new variant Proton. Wait till end of next year and can get crazy discounts. And why can’t Proton get over their ego and just launch the manual version?

• hysenn on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Sometimes it takes ridiculous effort to make people thinking!

• kirito on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:03 pm

As a poor guy with a lot of taxes burden, i only have option to have this living coffin.. thanks malaysian smart-ass politician

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Stupidity at its best.

Take a step back a few months ago when the Iriz was launched, they were promoting how ESP is a standard feature.

Now, look what they did. Please, slap yourselves with a halibut.

• berkata benar on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:19 am

tun mamak memang stupid… tgk putrajaya dia… buat bangunan baru besar2 tinggi2 tapi tak buat basement parking… di situ pun dah nampak betapa stupidnya Tun Mamak….. masjid putra besar… tapi di mana nak parking kereta?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • benarhotakko on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:35 am

Since when he penned down Putrajaya plan?
        He is neither engineer nor architect!

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:31 am

He hired stupid crony company to design the building. So he is grandmaster of all stupid lor.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Proton supporters are equally stupid in defending the car

• Muggle on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:25 pm

padan muka model tak laku. siapa suruh jual mahal-mahal? sekarang, baru terhegeh-hegeh nak buat standard version. lepas ini, jangan lupa buat basic version pula…

boo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • pnwhy on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:47 pm

SS is not targeted for local, why padan muka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Then who is SS targeted for? Bangla?

• ayoosarker on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:36 am

Go and read more, get out from your ‘cave’

• Read more and jump out of your ‘tempurung’

http://paultan.org/2014/12/03/proton-bangladesh-car-plant/

• ayoosarker on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Comprehension = 0

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Not target local?? Target expatriate earning minimum RM20k a month??? Or Bangla with RM1k a month??

• Another butthurt basher, lol
          Proton sold only for local, bash
          Proton go for internatioanl, bash

Even bangla works harder than you, wasting time giving comment during working hour.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Proton has already proven that they can make a proper 5-star ANCAP rated car, first with the Prevé and Suprima S and probably the Iriz too, which hasn’t been tested yet.

So why are people STILL mindless bashing Proton as a tin milo producer ? You think Proton is the ONLY company doing this ‘you want more, you pay more’ attitude is it ? Well let’s see;

Every knows that the Honda City and Jazz have six airbags, ESC and TRC…. but that’s only for the top-spec V variants. The Honda City S and S+ only have 2 airbags and no ESC/TRC. The Honda City E spec is still 2 airbags only, but you get ESC and TRC. The same is true for the Honda Jazz.

The Toyota Vios has no ESC or TRC whatsoever, not even on the TRD Sportivo spec. Airbags are just 2 all the way.

The same is true with the Almera, no ESC or TRC, but the Almera E Spec only has 1 airbag. The Almera V and VL Spec have 2 airbags.

So when Proton introduces a ‘bajet spec’ for their Suprima S, which isn’t selling because some Malaysians are just too stupid to realize the importance of car safety… you all take it as a cue to bash Proton for ‘moving backward’ ? Please lah, I give you my dua tangan middle finger if you think Proton is ‘moving backward’. What Proton is doing is simply appealing to the market’s demands…. since so few Malaysians seem to care about safety, why should Proton stay at a disadvantage by maintaining world class safety standards in all of their models, making them more expensive and unaffordable as a result ? And it’s not like Proton no longer makes the Prevé and Suprima S with 6 airbags, ESC and VSC, they still do, but everything has its price.

I’ll reiterate, no, I don’t think the solution to Proton’s problems is to introduce ‘bajet spec’ / SV / Standard spec models which are less equipped but cheaper. Proton is just saying ”Look, if you want a cheap Prevé or Suprima S without all the fancy airbags and electronics, this is what you’ll have to pay. If you want the full enchilada, you can always pony up the extra few thousand ringgit to buy the Executive or Premium spec. You see, the Suprima S and Prevé are not overpriced, when we specify them with similar levels of safety equipment as your favourite Japanese B-segment sedans ( City, Vios, Almera ), you still pay less. And when we specify the Suprima S and Prevé to their maximum levels, they end up costing the same as your favourite Japanese B-segment cars. If you want a well-equipped car, you better be prepared to pay the price. You can’t expect to get a Bentley with Kancil money. Everything has its price.”

Sorry, I had to say this, not because I’m trying to defend Proton, but rather to uphold common sense and courtesy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 23
    • Aero (Member) on Dec 06, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Although, if I might add, I am a bit disappointed that there’s no ESC in the Suprima S Standard. It can make do with 2 airbags thanks to the hot-pressed body frame, but Proton shouldn’t have removed the ESC as well. Hope they can reconsider adding it sometime in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 7:40 pm

That is exactly the reason why I say they’re taking a step backwards. AVH outlined the reason for my saying so below.

Most of us still remember that they’ve stated the priorities for the future development of their cars very clearly: safety, performance, ride-and-handling; in that order. This move clearly doesn’t have safety at the top of the list. So what is their priority now? I had expected Proton to uphold the value of safety more thoroughly. Had they maintained the ESP in this variant but removed all but 2 airbags, then it’s still acceptable. Let me just say that I find it unlikely that the Suprima S’s sales would be helped much by a bare-bones model. It might do slightly better but it still won’t be a hit.

The problem, for the most part, is still brand perception. Some people have preconceptions to stay away from Proton no matter what, that Proton can only produce junk and can never, ever improve – even in the face of Proton clearly improving. Others just stay away from Proton in hopes that once it runs out of business, car prices will drop, but we all know that this is impossible for reasons needing another topic to discuss.

Then here we have Proton showing inconsistency in their development. It certainly doesn’t help the brand’s image but actually tarnishes the image they’re trying to build from prioritizing safety since in Europe, ESC is said to be the most important safety feature after safety belts. The Japanese omitting safety features in their cars doesn’t justify Proton doing the same. The Japanese don’t have safety at the top of their lists, you see. Except Subaru. They’re on a quest to dethrone Volvo, or at least share their safety throne. Naza Kia making a low safety variant of their Cerato also doesn’t justify Proton for doing the same because “but they did it too!” is not a valid excuse. Heck, the only logical reason that I can think of for their apparent backtracking is that they want to lower the starting price of the SuprimaS so that it looks more affordable on price lists and newspaper ads, as well as, like you said, just showing people that without all the do-dads, the Suprima would cost this much and that it doesn’t cost that much more to upgrade to a safer, better-equipped variant.

Sometimes truth is hard to swallow, man.

• Same L0rr on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Yes, Proton and it’s supporters don’t like the truth because the truth hurts. Rather, they live in their fantasy land and continue to syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
        • Aero (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 6:29 am

@Obviously & AVH :

Hey Obviously and AVH, I had planned on replying to both of your comments much earlier, but I’ve not been able to keep up with things for the last 2 weeks due to unrelenting exams and assignments. But never mind that, I’m not here to give excuses, I’m only going to clarify my stance earlier.

I can still recall the statement Proton made about their priorities, that felt like mere months ago. Come to think of it, this whole safety thing being Proton’s best USP (unique selling proposition) is very new, hardly a year or two old. Compared with Proton’s age old ‘Lotus Ride & Handling’ USP, it is nowhere near as established. The whole safety thing only really started with the Prevé, and even so, it took until the Australian launch of the Prevé in 2013 and a ton of complaints from Malaysians on why Proton fitted 6 airbags to the exported Prevé but just 2 or 4 to ours. The subsequent 5-Star ANCAP award only added fuel to the fire. But it was then and there that Proton realized the untapped potential in the safety aspect of the Prevé. Back then, the new Honda City had not launched yet, and the Suprima S launched in mid 2013 with 6 airbags, ESC and the lot as one of the safest cars on the market in the B/C-segment. Then just a few months later, Proton updated the Prevé with the full safety enchilada for 2014, at no price increment. On January 2014, Proton made that statement where they prioritized in order; safety, performance and ride & handling. By now, it’s clear that this newest prioritization has not been helping sales as much as Proton would’ve hoped, because Proton has produced far less Prevés in 2014 than they did in 2012 (that was before they ‘cared’ about safety). It was an expensive gamble, and I’m very sure Proton loses money with each and every Prevé sold; they only profit from aftersales. The Suprima S is a different story, it was never meant for sedan-preferring Malaysia, it was a failure in Malaysia from day one and Proton knew it. The Suprima was really all for the export markets, and true enough, around 10% of all Suprimas have been sold in Indonesia and around 5% in Thailand. In comparison, less than 2% of all Prevés have been exported. However, Proton also made a lot more Prevés than Suprimas, 10 or 11 times more in fact. The problem isn’t the car, the Suprima S is very decent, and would be great with a better gearbox and engine, maybe a new dashboard, the problem was that Proton didn’t export the Suprima to more countries, especially China. They utterly failed in that respect. Now, it’s too late, the competitors have matched most of the Prevé’s and Suprima’s USPs, more affordable cars in 2014 today come with ESC than in 2012. If Proton wants to make up their Suprima’s return-on-investment, they better do it fast because it is becoming more and more obsolete by the day. The Prevé on the other hand is safe, because it’s a sedan, Malaysians will buy it, even if it’s crap ( hint hint Vios, Almera etc. ).

Now Proton has added one more problem to their already long list. They can either stick with their words, and risk losing even more money due to their own misjudgements, or lose some face (and ego?) by eating their own words to feed their hungry stomachs (profits). With the Suprima S Standard, it’s clear that they’ve gone down with the latter.

But, if Proton made this Suprima S Standard from the start in 2013, I would bet far less people would’ve complained, and this wouldn’t have caused as much damage to their image. The exclusion of ESC made this situation even worse. With the long story told, I’d say that making a bajet version of the Suprima will indeed cost Proton some respect and accountability, but it may give them another chance (some profit and capital) to perfect their upcoming Saga. But to most Malaysians, this is Proton being Proton again; always making bold statements, but failing to deliver, or contradicting their own statements.

By the way, Obviously, my statement in my first comment ”…you all take it as a cue to bash Proton for ‘moving backward’ ? Please lah, I give you my dua tangan middle finger if you think Proton is ‘moving backward’.”, that came before I read your comment above. I was quite pissed at the time I wrote it after reading the (unreasonable) Facebook comments on the article. But after I posted my comment here, I read yours moments later and realized that I may have accidentally offended you. I did feel very bad for writing that part, I don’t think any debate is worth costing a friend or relationship. I hope you didn’t take my comment personally, and if you did, I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 2:07 am

…and probably less blokes would read this but for the curious who might follow the link you posted, hello to you, lurkers!

The statement of their priorities were mere months ago, I believe, haha. But it did a great deal to cement what Proton was going to be about in my mind. It was a noble effort by them and I applaud them for the guts to do what they did but I believe not standing by their values are likely gonna hurt them in image rebuilding in the long run.

Your write-up has a lot of insight that I didn’t think of before, about how Proton needs to regain some capital on their investment into the SuprimaS, but it is really a bummer that things turned out the way they did.

I still don’t think the Suprima Standard would be much of a help to the cause because, like you said, the Preve is a much better proposition at this price, having the full suite of safety features and both don’t come with reverse cameras. Perhaps every bit of revenue would help. Who knows.

We both know (more or less) what it is that is hindering Proton at the moment, besides their bad track record on build quality and perceived quality. It is the distrust of the people, built up over about 2 decades of internal corruption and incompetency. If there is one company that people love to hate, if there is one company people would designate as the hated symbol of crony-ism and ministers sucking money, it is Proton; never mind all the parts vendors that operate behind the scenes that are also or even more so plugged-in. The previous caretakers of the company brought this upon them. A friend, who used to own a Satria GTi before it was hijacked from his own house (scary, I know) recounted to me some conversations with Proton engineers about how the Satria GTi would have had a successor that would kick things up a notch. Alas, things were not meant to be as greedy hands and minds replaced the good parts for low-quality parts in order to maximize profit. Witnessing the fall of Proton after that, now this man can’t even bring himself to believe anything good can come from Proton – can’t get him to be even remotely interested in the Iriz. And I don’t blame him.

As for me, I truly wish to see Proton succeed but I prefer to be neutral in my observation and critiques. I try hard to, it doesn’t mean I am perfectly neutral. If Proton does something genuinely good, I will call it that, if Proton does something that seems bad to my eyes, I would call it that too. This is one of the instances where I see they’re breaking down some of what they have made. And if you are able to correct me with your certainly more intimate knowledge of Proton’s inner workings and analysis, please do so. I welcome it.

Hmmm…wonder if we can take this conversation off-site. I still have your Flickr…

• AVH (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 7:55 am

Hard to find a decent comment to reply, nor find the right words for a comment. So took the liberty and waited for yours.

Its not much of the fact weather or not they skimped the specs, the Cerato EX(I think, the RM90k one), also went throu one hell of a sh*tstorm in the comment section with the omission of the once excellent safety spec in the Cerato. Same goes for the new City, if not for the introduction of the El-Cheapo S specs, it was an improvement over the 3rd generation City when you compare the price and specs of the two gens. The problem here is that Proton previously went all gung-ho about safety, so at least we can expect future models to have an improvement in that department. So the Suprima Std is a huge and appaling disaster in the marketing and product standpoint.

Previously in the comments, we get people saying that safety is something that should be compulsory and should’t be an value added option, so in the way of how Paultan commentors do things, defending this is in a way wrong. I’am appalled by Proton’s decision, I do agree that 6 airbags isnt a absolute necessity in my list, but ESC is and removing this is a huge suprise for a company that praised its inherent pursuit of safety. Its like Rolex suddenly making a digital watch or Lamborghini suddenly making D-segment sedans…that looks like a Camry. Its irony at its finest.

I personally have driven a Suprima and sat in a Preve, there a sense that the cars weighs more than a tank which puts me off slighly, in the brakes and engine responds. It has its advantages over the contemporary Japanese B-C segments,, straight-line speed and R&H being one of them. but you will be a true die hard to looks pass its disadvantages, its not the most spacious nor the best interior, nor is it the most frugal. Its safety is its ultimate trump card for th average family and taking it away….what does it have over a Vios? and why Suprima? when there are boat-loads of more desirable booted Preve for even cheaper and better specs, RM5k extra for the top-spec Preve, given Malaysian preference for sedans. In all I believe the Suprima is a gemble that Proton took and somewhat lost. You don’t see many of them these days, even after one year in the market, too little to differentiate from the booted sibling, too expensive for the badge. And is ad but some of the comments are right, this is Proton’s desperate move to roll them out of the sstore house, given Proton’s nature of preserverence, they wont discontinue the model so fast and will do what it takes for it to succeed, even if it will cost the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • kairys on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Furthermore you can Preve Premium at discounted price up to RM8k.
        So basically Preve Premium is cheaper than this Suprima kosong.
        Now where’s the logic in that Proton?

• Proton and it’s supporters always has no logic, don’t bother to talk logic with them. They only like to reply nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Obviously (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:19 am

Don’t generalize.

• Generalize what?

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 14, 2014 at 7:13 am

Not every Proton supporter is an illogical buffoon. It’s just that the ones that are have very loud voices.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 14, 2014 at 7:14 am

It’s just that some of the ones that are have very loud voices.

• Bosch esc only cost 100usd …and abs combine esc cost 600usd. Fot the car got abs,only need to top up 100usd get esc. Proton memang kedekut

• Why Axia dun put VDC for all variants? Lagi kedekut!

• Axia is economy box…people wan it cheaper…proton is premium brand…

• Lol Axia highest variant is tad cheaper than lowest variant Iriz, but Axia still no VSC!

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:16 pm

You forgot one thing….70k vs 70k B-segment Japanese cars…Japanese cars have crazy tax, so in reality, they are only RM50K. Suprima only has a few thousand ringgit of tax….so it’s price is RM65k or so.

Why does this junk car have to cost more than a Japanese car? Pls dun give me B vs C segment rubbish here. Japanese B-segment has crazy legrooms and space nowadays, more than a lot of B-segment.

See the problem?? 65k vs 50k….and 50k has better engine and gearbox and reliability.

Go figure.

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:17 pm

typo. I meant the Japanese B-Segment has a lot of space and legrooms more than a lot of C-segment.

• chamber on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Sampan handling is boring

• Yes, more boring compare to Suprima which has more break down

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:40 pm

You didn’t read my other comment?? What good is R&H is car always break down and cannot move? Cannot Ride, Cannot handle.

Mass market wants a reliable boring car. Not a racing car. Which is why the gazillion of Mawi on the road.

Proton always make syiok sendiri car, angkat bakul sendiri, so go beli the car sendiri lor. See who buy. There’s less Suprima on the road than Savvy!!! :x

• chamber on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Another guy misread proton as VW!
            Better go to optometrist.

• Medic on Dec 06, 2014 at 7:08 pm

After much hoohaaa about his appointment as adviser and the amount of money paid and politics played, Dr M can only come up wit this idea???? Duh….

• eddiezaidi on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Wadepap?! Replacing the unsold compartment from preve to suprima s. Ahh proton is being proton again.

Still remember those day, proton introduced special edition. But the special was replaxing wira bumper from arena bumper. Thats it.

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Normal pratice. Over ordered components from crony’s supplier. What to do? Build new car with all the parts lor. Remember the LMST? Gen2->Persona?

• Jazz -> City? Vios -> Yaris? ALtis -> Auris? Etc
        Learn to read kid

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:11 am

There’s a difference with sharing platform then simply reusing the parts because they have overstock of it.

Hey, Proton CEO said it themselves. Who am i small fry to argue??? LOL.

• Dr.M better start digging your Proton’s grave… lousy improvement after taking billions from government.

• Diesel Power!!! on Dec 06, 2014 at 8:25 pm

The truth is, for proton to succeed, they need to sell wat ppl want, not wat they want!!..

Y want to create a hatchback tht sell rm70k in the first place, since they plan to launch iriz?

Where is the SUV? Where is the Exora replacement?

Now the global trend is selling compact-suv, proton can come out a suprima’s platform suv…to fight with the B segment suv tht going to launch such as HRV, CX-3, etc..and price it reasonable at rm60-70k, majority of your potential customer is below the range of rm70k, so plz built something within that range!!

No need those fancy-fancy item such as push start, left side signal stalk(come on we arent europe), DRL,R3 bodykit, etc..just build a reliable and logic product..

Proton has been doing well in the design, the ride&handling, now just need to improve the engine, gearbox, quality & reliability..and understand wat the market want!!

I really hope you to success, but plz progess in a faster rate….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Easiear said than done. Engine and gearbox are the most critical components of a car.

Engine – Proton forever stuck with Campro due to lack of technology/funds to develop better engine. The “new” Iriz VVT is nothing more than a modified Campro.

Gearbox – Proton don’t even have one….which is actually a good thing because they can source for the best…unfortunately, they source some pariah hopeless CVT from this Belgian company called Punch, instead of more reliable Japanese companies like Jatco, Aisin etc.

So in this respect, Proton will NEVER BE ABLE TO IMPROVE.

• i suggest if proton want to make it standard, be it like exora turbo standard with plastic hub cab.

if SS standard put steel wheel it will further save up nearly 2k and the final price will be at 67k.
    67k is a reasonable enough to be called a budget suprima.

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Bad move, lost important safety equipments.

The most expensive Suprima variant.

• Dr. Doom on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Hey Guys GST is just around the corner! Get ready to celebrate! hahhaha…… we all have to face it.

• To Proton Haters,if you guys complaining about the expensive price,because of the Auto manual transmission.I want to tell you guys,this car gear got two mode,manual and auto.If you don’t like to shift,you can put in auto mode.But if you want you to race,more power,you can put in manual mode.Proton do this because they don’t want to save time,money.To Proton Haters,please accept the fact that Proton is three best among the other car manufacturers.No need to say that Proton cheap,tin kosong just because you want to defend your Fucking luxurious,expensive Honda,Toyota,Audi,Mercedes and e.t.c.And to people who is not satisfy with no TC,VSC,HHA.I want to tell you guys the Suprima S Standard also achieve 5 star for Ancap test without those safety things thanks to Proton New body technology that don’t have in other car like the Vios,Jazz and Axia.If you don’t believe me,go to Ancap.com and search for Proton Suprima S.Cheers Proton Haters!.Go Go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 48
    • IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Kebodohan Proton fanboys….Stepped CVT is still a CVT. It’s not a “Manual” at all. It just makes the CVT goes to a certain gear ratio manually instead of automatically.

No wonder tak boleh maju….Bodoh!!!

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Forgot to add…Suprima Standard 5 stars ANCAP??? Please lar….no VSC/ESC, dun dream 5 stars. That was the Suprima S. Not Suprima Standard,

S stands for Stupid, just like you.

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:57 am

RESS?? Yawn. Another syiok sendiri marketing hype with no real technology. Only Proton fanboys believe all this crap.

• nhili on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Yes please say other tech like VSA/VSC/ESC BA EBD also seatbelt are not important and don’t give better safety too.

• I am a fan of proton but seriously this move is pretty bad. 70k for a less safe suprima? I think there are a lot more option at that price. Proton should just make the suprima hotter, twincharge it or something and put in a manual. There is a lot of market for a 200hp hot hatch. The cheapest one right now is the peugeot gti at 138k. If proton could make an R3 version and price it around 100k to 110k, I’ll be the first buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Proton Fanboy on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:30 am

Apalah? Tak support proton just because no VSC? Tak patriotic lah ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • 100k is still expensive. RM90k for 200HP campro turbo manual is realistic. I ll be one of the first to buy..

• Som Seng on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Now bring the ‘Suprima SDi’ with a turbo diesel sourced from Peugeot, Dr.M!

I guess the 2.0HDi with 180hp and 400Nm@2000rpm would be sufficent. It’s used by Peugeot, Citroen and Ford in Europe already.

Consumption: 22.3km/l

• Bring it come the hdi engine yeah….after one year or 2 year driving…engine rosak coz by euro 2 junk diesel here.use balik wira engine lagi baik

• Henry on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:30 pm

The Suprima is a good platform to build a crossover vehicle. There are no local Xovers. Proton should build one.

• old dog on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:38 pm

can those P1 fan boys bought more of this Suprima on the road please? we need your support!!

• Rakyat on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:25 am

Yes, we need more fanboys to support this variant of Suprima. Come on, show some support

• Your money my money on Dec 07, 2014 at 10:00 am

Support…will support if i get it for free, I buy you pay. TQ

• No fanboys support oso ok what? Preve are too many on road now compare with new zvios and Altis combined

• Low Budget on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Unfortunately, all the support and loud cheers by Proton supporters in Paul Tan web site do not translate to better sales figure for Proton.

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:16 am

The Proton fanboys tok here..later go out buy Axia and Mawi, then comeback here tok somemore, never buy Suprima pun.

• Rangers on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:42 pm

can the DR family drive more Suprima, Iriz on the road instead of Porsche, Merc, Ferarri…?

They should lead by example so others will follow..

• Car_fan on Dec 06, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Good luck Proton…

• Anyone on Dec 07, 2014 at 12:43 am

To hater out there, u dont have money thats why u keep saying shit about proton. Wise people will prefer action than keep saying shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • A.T.Sylvester on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:16 am

Since suprima S is the present standard ( 5 STARS ) car for proton, up grading the car must be the best option to maintain its supreme 0f the national car, a good example is the suprima R3 hatchback, keep in mind to reduce the running cost is another added value of the present supremacy, NO / NEVER TAKE AWAY ANY SAFETY features that has put the trade mark that has been trusted. There are many other affordable models for buyers to choose from, now the proud owner the original excutive, premium and super premium are strip off – the privilege ones – WHY ? HOW TO PROGRESS ! As from now NO PRIDE IN DRIVING SUPRIMA ! Please improve the car NO TO DOWN GRADING. MISTAKES AFTER MISTAKES EVEN AFTER ALMOST THIRTHY YEARS ON THE ROAD. BUSINESS IS ABOUT PRIDE TOO. Many proud proton drivers are slowly turning away since 1995, how to attract them back ? Is not about ‘proton’ it is about proton lovers, these are the people who keep proton alive. RTA death on Malaysian roads is one of the highest, road worthy vehicles must be full safety features, gradually Malaysia must go for this standard as soon as possible 2020 is just round the corner. Life is precious, money cannot buy.

• Low Budget on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Agree Proton should not down spec the Suprima. The word Suprima sound like suprime which means the highest quality!
      If they still insist of giving less spec than they should remove the name ‘suprima’.

• Everything strip off, how to maju? Better rename to Sup Rimau

• notso on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Everything? Got full specs premium variant lor
          get your fact right

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:05 pm

All stripped down…left Sup Tulang only.

• coloss on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Turbo engine anytime anyday smokes those cheapo Japs cars.

• IrizX on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:08 am

@Coloss: Smoke yah…engine come out smoke, car break down. Like your nick…KOLOS!!!! LOL.

• Mohd Hassan on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:31 am

69++++ for this piece of crap ?
    Definitely overpriced and Tun should sack
    His team of non performers and failed marketing
    Strategist
    This Sub Std range has brought the P1 branding
    To a lower level.
    No use beating a dead donkey !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • blada on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:45 am

Your mind is full of crap too, didn’t think to add a tad more to get premium specs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • kolejeon on Dec 07, 2014 at 7:40 am

Where is suprima s manual?

• sup rimau on Dec 07, 2014 at 10:38 am

Please modify manual yourself…wait until 2020 wont launch also.
      Proton rnd is damn slow like snail

• berkata benar on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:02 pm

kadang2 aku terfikir… Tun Mamak ada beli kereta proton tak?

• moles on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Entah, penting sangat ke sampai kena beli pulak?

• MooHeedeen on Dec 13, 2014 at 11:11 am

Lead by example. Otherwise cakap kosong. A leader must lead by example, not cakap jer. Suruh you beli Proton, sendiri pulak beli Benz.

• BLMer on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:12 am

It should be RM45,000+++ only…i’d rather buy a smaller Alza Advanced for my goods…hmmm

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:00 am

I don’t support Proton, but isn’t Alza Advance RM 6xk?? Where got 45k for Alza Advanced mang, even after discount.

• catnium (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:28 am

For this price RM70K, i better get Ford Ranger RM70,937.80 (2.2L XL 4×2 Double Cab Manual) that is much bigger and also with all safety feature like ABS, Electronic Stability Control (ESC) / Electronic Stability Program (ESP), dual airbag, Load Sensing Proportionate Valve (LSPV) etc. people will say this is different segment but for me both vehicle will have same function (bring you from point A to B). I don’t compare vehicle by segment but i will compare by price as this what i mean we choose by affordability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Brilliant choice,braddder.Can go fishing,camping,carry bicycle,taruh barang2…lots of options,even shifting small furniture items etc.
      The ugliest car Proton,has produced..the Suprima.At least my Saga SV is not too bad,looks wise.

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:00 am

Wow. Didn’t know Ford Ranger so cheap! Must go Ford website check it out. Thanks for sharing! :thumbs:

• Fuel guzzler truck, no thanks

• c.p.mohan on Dec 07, 2014 at 12:50 pm

The core of any auto industry is technical aspect followed closely by the selling aspect where design and pricing is important. To be successful, all three must be present 1) Technical competency, 2) Design capability and 3) Competitive pricing. Unfortunately, Proton seems to be focusing on pricing for the local/regional market only unlike many of their peers.

• Ong Chee Boon on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Seeing so many comments here, looks like no matter the comments are good or bad, we still care for Proton.

Ok Proton has decided to dish out the “cheaper car” strategy, so we put the R3 argument aside first shall we?

There are a few ways of making existing model priced cheaper, one of them is as stated: taking out some of the stuff and thus making it cheaper.

Luxury items should be considered first, such as infotainment, rim size, any sophisticated features and technology. Leather upholstery and start stop system are also included.

If possible, under any circumstances, carmaker prefer not to compromise on the driving dynamics, and SAFETY features.

First Suprima = 6 Airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC, traction control, brake assist, hill-hold assist.

Cheaper Suprima = 2 airbags, ABS EBD, ESC.

That’s is way too overboard. You might argue taking out ESC is controversial, but TC, ABS, Hill-hold assist, and brake assist is BASIC necessities contributing to a car’s overall safety and stability. I would not say Proton is being retarded here, but this time they certainly lack some common sense.

Prior to this comment, I saw the review of the Iriz. Most commonly complained is its lousy CVT. Which leads me to think:

Since Proton wanna dish out a cheaper car, why not they just DITCH the Punch CVT and put out a manual transmission while removing the luxury stuff to achieve RM70k price tag? Simple right? Safety and basic features still intact, and people are happy also because given Suprima S’s torque and output, Manual is the most suitable transmission to bring out the gnarl within.

Proton, We love you, but at the same time, we hate you for doing so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Ong Chee Boon on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:27 am

My bad. Correction: Suprima S Standard doesn’t have ESC, just a typo.

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:20 pm

would be better is the line is like this

1. Suprima N – 2 airbags, ABS, BA, EBD, single CD player 2 DIN.16″ alloys
      2. Suprima E – 4 airbags, ABS, BA, EBD, 7 inch touch screen HU with android OS, reverse camera, front & rear park sensors
      3. Suprima P – 6 airbags, ABS, BA, EBD, ESC, 7 inch touch screen HU with android OS, 17 inch alloys, push start, auto headlamp, auto wiper, cruise control, leather seats
      4. Suprima Knight – Suprima E, with 5 speed manual.
      5. Suprima R3 – Suprima P with 6 speed manual. bodykit.

• guykl75 on Dec 07, 2014 at 1:47 pm

patut kekal suprima s yg asal.. dan buat satu lagi model body sama engine baru eco taip. baru bagus. nk power ambik turbo.. nk save ambik yg eco. kami nk model jimat petrol kLau boleh lebih jimat dari vios.

• gearbok on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Vios takdenye jimat, cam saga, city je.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:56 pm

who said Vios is jimat ?

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:23 pm

nak jimat mcm vios, first… body kena diet… sekitar 1000kg. atau lebih2 pun 1.1 tan. rim 14 inci saja.

suprima berat hampir 1.4 tan. rim 17 inci. kalau highway merasalah myk save… dlm trefik jem… merana.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 07, 2014 at 2:58 pm

This cow weights 1365 kg.
    How to move lah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • wintercat on Dec 07, 2014 at 3:08 pm

I see more R35 GTR on the road than Iris hahaha

• fischer on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Hahaha pity you live in so remote area, you must see a small scale GTR toy car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Ong Chee Boon on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:31 am

Seriously, i agree with wintercat.

I live in a city at the southern region, and i really see more R35 GTR (different color, not the same) than this Suprima S.

Too bad really. Suprima S if properly specced and configured, it can be a mean beast.

• Proton, I hope you take heed on what the people commented here. Reducing safety is a no no. I mean you guys are Proton, not UMW Toyota or Perodua who dont give a rat’s ass about their passenger safety.

As for you guys who keep on bashing proton without ever owning a Proton, get a life or go see a psychiatrist because clearly you have a sickness. If you have a Proton and you think it failed you, go ahead and spew hatred cause that is your right.

• sam lor on Dec 07, 2014 at 7:39 pm

stupid proton, wan sell a kosong car oso make the price reasonable la, 70k for a kosong car like dis?? and i add 6k i cn get full specs, wat for i buy dis kosong car?? i might as well pay 6k more to get the better version

70k is too much for dis junk, max price shuld b arnd 63-64k, then mayb still cn sell, if 70k then bye bye la proton

• Haha then what so big deal?
      Add a bit and buy premium variant
      No need to bash here and there.

• Why we need to pay more to get a safe car?

• hahaha on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Why Vios no VSC at first place? No option is available?

• Why Saga also no VSC? No option is available?

• hahaha on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Saga old ady, Iris will become Saga sedan. Iris all variants got VDC what

Vios got what? Old gearbox old engine, reliability and quality are not as old gen!

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:04 am

Idiot….yes, VIOS gb and engine are nothing to shout about in terms of performance. But one thing you can’t deny is it’s reliability and refinement still better than any car Proton has dished out…(Except Inspira…which is use a Mitsu engine and Nissan GB).

• Manusia on Dec 07, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Proton Preve 1.6 in Asutralia with 5 star ANCAP price at RM55k only.

• Albert on Dec 07, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Proton will end 2014 with another big loss.
    Why? At Rm500 juta for Iriz development cost,say spread over 5 years,each year you need to recover RM100 juta to break even.
    If you sell 30,000 units of Iriz at gross profit of Rm3,333 per unit ,you just break even in year 1.
    Then we have ailing Suprimas,Lotus that will drag proton into more losses.
    The Saga SV is only making RM 500 per car sold.If you sell 20.000 units ,you only collect rm10 juta in revenue.
    With dwindling sales of personas,and Preves(5k discount now to clear stocks),tell me how can Proton make NETT PROFITS ,say from Jan-Dec 2014,alto their financial year ends in March 2015.
    Easily,Proton would have lost Rm 120-180 juta for the last quarter of 2014.
    Proton fanboys and girls, as much as you wish proton could survive,look at the above grim facts and be prepared for Proton going under.
    Paultan’s Gregory has already driven the Iriz 1.6 auto and given negative comments on the CVT gearbox which is noisy at ALL SPEEDS.
    Proton’s marketing trick wont work this time.At 70K,we might as well get the new Honda City and Vios or even the Almeira.Unless you price it at 55k for the Suprima,sales wont improve any sooner.
    The sales of Iriz is slowing cos of long waiting delivery time and the bad cvt gear box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Other car makers end the year with a profit while proton end the year with a big loss lol

• Got government unlimited topup for proton,they still profit
        Proton make car just for hobby,dont really care how much they earn.

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:59 am

I can confirmed the Iriz with CVT is damn noisy…tested and proven. Piece of junk. So dissapointed with this “game changer”.

• vekuveku on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Buy Vios, you cannot hear anything inside
        Subject to test hearsay, Lol

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Dunno what you’re trying to say, but i can confirm Vios, City, Almera all queiter than this junk Iriz.And yes, i have drive all of them. And have all these cars in the family.

• yourmom on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:56 pm

My brother mother father cousin newphew neighbour maid stories.

Lel

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:47 am

Well said. But Proton will not go under as long as Mahathir is alive. He will force Najib to subsidize Proton with more tax payer’s money.

The simplest solution is actually to get rid of the PUNCH CVT….they should have done it years ago, yet they still continue to use it. It is the cause of many problems in all of Proton cars. There’s good gearbox from Jatco, Aisin etc to source from. The only reason i can think of is the Punch is selling either damn cheap (hence, cheap stuff no good, good stuff no cheap) or there’s a lots of cronies profiting from the deal….use your imagination.

• Jimmy on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Proton where got face to use the transmission Toyota is using? Supporters also tak ada muka

• What? Ancient 4 speed gearbox?
          That’s dino era transmission!

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:08 am

Yes, dino era. But still more reliable and quieter than crap PUNCH CVT. Just like old Sandybridge Intel i7. Still performs better than latest Haswell Intel Pentium Duo Core.

Malu betul.

• Yes, ancient 4 box, but how come less lag than “new” Punch CVT and people asking to get rid of it?

• It’s too old for the price. Should be much cheaper.

• Ong Chee Boon on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:36 am

See this Proton? You do not need big maths and lofty dreams to properly run a carmaking business. Just be practical, and listen to the consumers.

What we want:

1) Average FC engine would be good for now for proton.
      2) Reliable and proven transmission (hate to bring toyota but their transmission is rock solid and durable)
      3) Basic but high quality interior including fit and finish.
      4) Fair pricing since Proton is our national car maker.

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:21 am

Unfortunately, Proton fanboys here will say how good their car with the Ride and Handling and Turbo engine want to smoke-smoke here and there.

I have a feeling all the Proton fanboys are rempits and Ah Bengs only….LOL.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:33 pm

I have still yet to see even ONE Iriz on the road, but the parking lot is full of new unplated Iriz. (I drive past Proton’s Glenmarie outlet everyday). I even thick the Iriz is a fairly good car, and I am waiting for the manual version for a test drive before deciding.

That is sure bad news for Proton.

People are sure giving Proton a cold shoulder.

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:24 am

The excuse was they made mostly 1.6 CVTs, most people ordered 1.3, so need to wait to deliver.

Not sure true or not. If it’s true, then they have failed to read the market (as usual), thinking they can sell junk at premium price. If it’s not true, even worst….nobody’s buying them!!!

• darkermarker on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Suprima S…S means songlap.

• malaysian,
    given the price 70k
    what will malaysian opt to.
    i think every one has the answer.

• eventhough suprima drives batter.

• MooHeedeen on Dec 13, 2014 at 11:07 am

See the English level of Mareisha? Can’t even tell the difference between ‘batter’ and ‘better’. Only people with low-level education buy a Proton.

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:57 am

Suprima Roti Kosong. Also RM 70k???

I better buy Jazz Kosong at this price. Superior FC, more boot space,more headroom/legrooms, Flexible Ultra Seats and sure fire resale value, unlike Suprima Kosong, Resale value also Kosong.

Should call this Suprima ‘K’ instead.

• jaggy on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Full load SS wins hands down, 1.6 turbo engine gives much better drivebility on highway pickup and cruising. Add several K, preve wins hands down over Jazz (except FC).

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Drivability?? LOL. That’s the only thing Proton fanboys keep yelping everyday….yeah, it has superior R&H, no doubt, but majority of people no give 2 fcuk about that. They want a spacious, reliable car wth good RV. Not a syiok sendiri car to boost Mahathir’s ego. What’s the use of R&H when your car breaks down?? Cannot Ride, Cannot Handle!!! LOL.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:46 am

it just a marketing strategy meh…so people gonna think to top up 6-7k and buy premium one…but people who don’t care gonna buy this one and proton still can makes mooney..

• FailedMktgStrategy on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Another failed marketing strategy.

• This is not the way to clearing the old stocks or to make the car cheaper.. i’ll agree if they make the manual transmission version instead of this standard version.. with manual gearbox also can reduce the car’s price about 3k ~ 4k.. to reduce other 2k ~ 3k they can change the infotainment unit to normal one, & they just remove the reverse camera and front parking sensor..

• getdrag on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Suprima s sale volume terlalu kurang…if launch manual version ,only 10% ppl will buy,they will rugi more if take the getdrag gearbox in big volume

• IrizX on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:12 am

Suprima is a failed project. Failed design. Failed marketing. Failed pricing strategy.

Even if they come out with manual now, sales will not improve. Manual cars has very little market in Malaysia. The impact and interest on this car alredy lost. People heard the name already wants to run away. Might as well discontinue it.

• ctrtr on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Fail worker surfing internet during working hours!! Tell other thing people are failure but himself?

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:32 am

Err…i am the boss, i work when i want. You butthurt?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Nuked safety spec on the Suprima Standard or the Fully Loaded Preve Premium.

Must be a little soft in the head to choose the Suprima.

• PunchCVT on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:45 pm

I has been hearing one side of story of PUNCH CVT issues, what PUNCH’s teams has to say on this issue? I’m sure they have a solutions to this problems or is this a signature of sound for all cars (beside Proton) installed with PUNCH CVT or this issue only for Protons cars. Let see who wants to put their reputation on the line?..

Always question everything..

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:58 pm

YOu have brought up a very valid question which i doubt you will find an answer, unless there are people who has experience with cars using the same Punch CVT models used by Proton.

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:02 pm

anthony, if not mistaken Dr M was also there to give away the prizes to proton design contest – am i right?

it is saddening to learn that a singaporean won that contest. that says something abt something.

• I think this is a very bad move and a step backward for Proton. They have been in the right path by emphasizing on quality and safety since Iriz, until now.

Proton need to decide. Cheap car or safe, quality car. One day they say their car cannot be cheap due to quality and safety upgrade and another day the dump the security feature (that they have been barging) to sell cheaper car.

Yes Malaysians will buy the cheaper Suprima but Proton should not take advantage of these “not so smart” people.

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Mahathir mudah lupa…anyway, he always cakap tak serupa bikin. Not a man of honour.

• firdaus on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Why would you buy a Suprima Premium at 80k when you can get the Inspira 1.8 at about the same price.FUrthermore, the MIVEC engine is smoother than this ‘tipu’ CPS rough engine….wrong strategy Proton.

Time to tapau and become an assembler!AGAIN!!

• mildy on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:31 pm

CPS engine?
      Come on you are staying too long in cave. Get out for your life. Campro turbo engine got flat torque 2000-4000RPM. Can feel the powah!!!

• IrizX on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Yep…my cousin has an Inspira 2.0, no problems at all and no jerking problems and CVT noise like my other cousin who drives a Preve. He so regret getting that piece of crap…LOL.

• korazz on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:12 am

Inspira old fashion car, like most Japs cars, have to push the pedal to get power.

Preve only slight push will deliver fun!

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:19 am

Lol. With that Punch CVT…still think your Proton is Ferrari….syiok sendiri fanboys never drive any better cars…sad.

• Buy this crap and upgrade to Suprima S R3 bodykit (available from RM1,017). How’s that sound? WoW 138HP plus R3 sure smoke anything on the road…

Tumbs up!
    http://paultan.org/2014/09/21/proton-suprima-s-r3-bodykit/#ixzz3LIPFYBrm

• catnium (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Drive safe please… if you don’t care your own life but other will do care for their life please… please don’t smoke here and there please…

• frankor on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:35 pm

I remember few months ago our Dr Mahathir said Proton will be selling quality cars only and less than 6 months it now evident that Proton is offering “bargain car” i.e Suprima S – Dr Mahathir is the best person to comment on this issue. The original Suprima S with full specs of course will always be known as Suprima “S”port but the bargain version I propose it to be called Suprima “S”ale.

• Whether it is Suprima “S”tupid, “S”upporters, “S”ucks or “S”onglap edition, it’s still a Suprima

And no, i don’t drive one

• Giving it bad names dun reduce the torquey engine, much torquey than Civic Altis Sylphy!

LEL

• Mukhriz on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:14 am

Ooi…old man, jangan bising sini…nanti kami punya secret semua terbongkar! Nyanyuk ker you???

• they don’t stop previous variant. What to bash?

• Org kampung on Dec 13, 2014 at 9:28 am

Wonder how come proton vendor is making good money while proton herself is not making money… Is this smell fishy?

• Kastard on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:01 am

Wah so little love for suprima s over here. Reason is no-brainer. Pls la proton if you want to sell a tin kosong car make sure the price is fit for tin kosong car. What’s the fair price anyway eh?