New Viva fully revealed, city car to go on sale in 2015

vauxhall-viva-opel-karl-6

After the tantalising teaser in September, Vauxhall/Opel have let loose pictures of their new low-cost city car. In a homage to its successful 1963-1979 family car series, Vauxhall has called it the Viva, while Opel has named it Karl, after founder Adam Opel’s eldest son.

Effectively replacing the Agila and sitting below the Adam, the 3,680 mm long five-door A-segmenter is motivated by a 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine (yes, just like another Viva we know!) that feeds 75 PS to the front wheels through a five-speed manual.

Wheels measuring 14-16 inches in diameter are offered, while occupants are entertained by the IntelliLink infotainment system, which features “seamless” iOS and Android integration.

Standard safety equipment includes ESP, traction control, hill start assist and ABS with EBD, while options include heated front seats and steering wheel, fog lamps, a sunroof, cruise control, park assist and lane departure warning. There’s also a City mode that reduces steering effort at the push of a button.

The Vauxhall Viva/Opel Karl is set to go up against the likes of the Renault Twingo, Smart forfour, Peugeot 108, Citroen C1 and Toyota Aygo when it goes on sale next year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:14 pm

look at the improvement made by Perodua with new Viva? Protong got this level or not? After 30 years still doing nothing but designing bumper and faceliftting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 103
    • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Are you on weeds brah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Rid the Insect on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Dont waste the Weed !! … they will get high on Baygon alone

Thats how you rid society’s pest

• hei, read it the article first dummy head.. nothing to do with perodua.. why your mom have son like you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • ninjauser on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:29 pm

You are the great 1st ranking dummest guy

• dumb and dumberer people do exist!! on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:20 am

*facepalm* *facepalm*

• Ph4nT0m Sh4d0w on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:54 am

Obviously this fella know nothing about cars.

• weeee on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:25 pm

alright, who else thought it was P2’s Viva?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 3
    • vivon on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Same Lorr ioma p2 SA dun want to sell this car?

• I also thought this is new P2’s Viva at first, but then remembered it was replaced with Aziah. This new Viva looks better than the other Viva :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Jihad on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Dang. .tipah tertipu

• Jason Lim on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:25 pm

damn at first i thought is perodua viva *facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • If would be a bless if our P2’s new VIVA/AXIA is like this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • jacklyn on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Why? In my opinion i think the Axia looks better than this, with regards to the difference in price range though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Low Budget on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Price should be more than double the P2 version.

• Heskey on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:44 pm

The headline is misleading

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:45 pm

the name viva is not new to all you youngsters here. vauxhall used that name some 50 years ago.

never heard of vauxhall brand too? also not new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • thedarkside on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:56 pm

dear perodua..kindly sue Opel for using the same name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Lanafi on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Amazing if Perodua could come up wt this…and so quickly too…

• Abu Sayur on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Keep dreaming Malaysians. You will forever drive rubish tin milo

• Nueur on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:37 pm

This is far far better in all aspect compare to P2 viva

• LLLLLOOOOOLLLLL on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Around 10k

• Passerby on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:30 pm

got fooled… wasting bandwidth click into this news…

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I thought axia already viva replacement
    I thought P2 only rebadge Daihatsu now they gonna rebadge Opel tu..

pardon me, just an old folks..doesn’t really care what happened around, only want to enjoy what’s left of life before die..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Savanna Celeste on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Memories of Vauxhall Viva sedan late 1970’s..

• Joker on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:04 pm

OK i wonder will Naza bring pug 108 here???

• realll on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:02 pm

I think the Aygo would be a better choice. Based on UK prices, its cheaper to buy than the 108 & C1. It’ll most likely hold its value better

• tak ada value on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:22 pm

My first thought is what about Axia? Getting abandon by perodua so fast?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Not the kind of Viva i was expecting for but hey at least this one looks much more sophisticated than our outgoing Viva …

• bruce viva on Dec 08, 2014 at 7:48 pm

It’s the viva Malaysian need, not the Viva Malaysian deserved

• BuRaIaN on Dec 08, 2014 at 8:58 pm

This is how a low cost car should be, fully equipped, not some tin kosong.

• It would be better if the title was “New Vauxhall/Opel Viva…” rather than “New Viva” as the latter can be pretty misleading. For a moment there, the lot of us here were thinking ” Oh, a new Perodua Viva? ” *reads on* nah~ its a Viva from Europe.

• Haha, Opel not P2.

• Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:03 am

What’s the big fuss about confusion??
    Just look at the Picture you know is not possible to me a P2 product lah… This is only year 2014, not yet 2020.

• Jei Han on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Misleading headline is misleading.

• Kenny tan on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Vauxhall had been churning out Viva since the 1970s. And if not mistaken still maintaining the name VIVA. Nothing to do with Perodua.