RON 97 supply should be back to normal this week

gst-petrol-diesel

The nationwide supply of RON 97 petrol is expected to return to normal this week, Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism minister Datuk Seri Hasan Malek has said, according to a Bernama report.

“There is no issue of hoarding here or oil companies reaping hefty profits as technically the disruption in supply is due to spiralling demand,” the national news agency quoted him as saying.

On December 1, the price of RON 97 petrol fell nine sen to RM2.46 a litre, making it only 20 sen more expensive per litre than RON 95 petrol. The price of RON 95 petrol dropped four sen to RM2.26 a litre on the same day, while that of diesel leapt three sen to RM2.23 a litre.

The resultant surge in demand for RON 97 led to a supply shortage, especially in the Klang Valley and East Coast, with some petrol stations reportedly running out of stock.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Thanks BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Say thanks to the Arab countries.

BN does not produce nor she has the power to affect international fuel price.

The fuel price would drop more if you can get their cronies to sapu less from the country.

• No one must know on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Lagi berbaloi ka guna RON97 berbanding RON95? Saja tanya. Cheers :)

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I hope the price continues to spiral down as crude oil price is still heading rock bottom.

• This will effect our ringgit depreciating.. Our ringgit is dropping like mad due to crude oil.. this will effect everyone.

• Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Only malaysian get to caught in between 2 minds.
        Minyak harga naik, kita risau… harga turun, kita risau.
        When is this going to stop…

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:59 pm

where did they get this sudden supply? They hide the supply to create demand but then rakyat power responded by not buying ron 97 so now they give up and return the supply back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • annoymous on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:25 pm

what la u, oil companies supply quickly also let u bash, if slow definitely no need to say already lo.. zzz

• You seriously brain wash kao kao by politics dude.. think b4 you talk mate..

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Proactive, swift and efficient

These are the words I can describe to our up and coming minister Hasan Malek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • alldisc on Dec 08, 2014 at 1:51 pm

i am wondering. since july 2014, the price of brent crude oil had fallen down 40%.

but in malaysia, it rose 20 sen first (about 19%) before dropping 3 sen (abt 2%).

what went wrong with the country??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:59 pm

The ringgit will drop 40% before you see the oil price drop that much…
      This is the rule of the land.

• kelvin on Dec 08, 2014 at 2:07 pm

I think should relink on the previous article on how higher ron not necessarily increaese fc or make ur car combustion cleaner or things like that…av1 is telling me ron97 of coz better la!!!

• Nope, still no stock today.

• screwu (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Location bro?just filled up mine in ulu klang..a week back filled up 97 in bangi…no shortage..

• Sorchai (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:47 pm

I am really sorry. As much as I want to believe that technically my car only needs RON 95 and not RON 97 but reality is that it does not. Ever since the government implemented RON 95, I tried using it.

The car just has problems. Example like rough idling, difficulty in starting in the morning. I sent the car to authorized service centre and they confirmed there is nothing wrong with the car and they change this sensor that sensor and check the ECU. They also claim that some cars (same model and specs) are having this problem (not all) although factory says RON 95 is OK. Then I tried pumping RON97 and after about 2 to 3 minutes, the problem goes away and I no longer have hard starting problems in the morning.

To cut cost, I mix some RON 95 and RON97 in my tank and I have not had any problems since (keeping fingers crossed).

Either we are not getting RON95 or car experts or car manufacturers are lying.

I am not a car expert. I am just a rakyat working and hope to go to work and contribute taxes accordingly. Just hoping that I am not cheated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • you will get ron97 when gov say it is ron101

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:24 am

You see, the problem lies with our aging car population, most of which were sold in the 90s…

Back then it was only RON92 and RON97. Most Protons have a MINIMUM RON95 requirement, which ran fine on 97. But I would hazard a guess they were not properly tested on RON95. Given age and carbon build up, these cars can’t run 95 properly. the old proton megavalves, the newer 4G13 and 4G15 SOHC all have problems with knocking and pinging running 95.

The problem is not so much the fuel itself. The problem is that these cars lack the more sophisticated knock detection (no knock ensors and o2 sensors) that is available on new cars, so they can’t retard timing or change injector pulse timings to compensate for lower RON fuel. New cars have no problem running 95 or even 92, albeit at a lower performance.

Contiuing to run these fuel will eventually lead to shortened engine life. You will eventually end up with worn bearings, eaten up piston rings and burnt head gaskets.

As I said before, my car had to be manually detuned by lowering base inition timing and a bump in fuel pressure to compensate running 95. Not something an average layman will do to his car. Its back to its original specified tune running 97 and given the extra efficiency and mileage, the cost difference of 95 and 97 is not significant (i think its about maybe $10-15/mth more).

• Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:04 pm

the cost difference is 20 sen x 50 litle = RM10/tank.
        Unless you use 1 tank per month….

• I am very agree

• 1najib on Dec 08, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Some cars have ecu can can tune for slightly higher fuel efficiency with diff grades of petrol… You may see slight $$ ‘savings’ with ron97 if price difference is small.. May not be applicable to all cars that we have..

• Keep it to RON95 on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:09 pm

We should all stop wasting our money and keep it to RON95 . Leave the 97 to those who need it. The shortage really caused a lot of inconvenience. Save your wallet at the pump. Use RON95

• From my experience, the only ron 95 problem is from petronas. Maybe its not 95..lower..who knows..?