Volvo V40 Sports Edition – T5 gets RM10k add-on pack

Volvo V40 Sports Edition 2

Volvo Car Malaysia has begun selling the Volvo V40 Sports Edition, which is a V40 T5 with an add-on accessory package. No running gear changes – the 213 hp and 300 Nm 2.0 litre turbocharged five-cylinder engine and six-speed Geartronic torque converter auto ‘box remains in place, as does the performance figures for the model (6.9 seconds for the century sprint and a 230 km/h top speed).

The regular V40 T5 Sports Edition gets an exterior vinyl wrap in Passion Red, as well as R-Design elements – the kit in this case consists of mirror covers, diffusers and tail pipes. Also plonked on are 17-inch five-spoke Ixion Wheels, in place of the regular, identically-sized Segomo unit.

The total cost of the add-on pack is RM20k, but VCM is offering the kit at 50% off the listed price, if you opt for the kit when you buy your V40. The V40 T5 currently goes for RM190,888 (originally RM188,888 when the car was launched in August last year), so RM200,888 gets you the dressed-up model.

Current V40 owners wishing to retrofit this package on their ride can do so – the SE kit is available at a promotional price of RM15,733, which is a discount of roughly 21% or so off the retail price.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 5 cylinder? Gotta love its engine sound its make!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • This is what i call a quality car, unlike Suprima. This has 5 stars safety and can smoke all those Suprima S, SS, SSS owners at the same time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • finding one is hard enough.finding one with ‘ekjos bikin’ is almost impossible.

• najib on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:21 pm

volvo needs a refreshment, not impressed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • Passerby on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:24 pm

damn! i thought preve dashboard is the ugliest i have ever seen… this 1 repeat the cycle again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
  • For RM200,888 without insurance price and with the not so good geartronic autobox only… do u honestly think its a good deal?
    I think we need a bit more if spending over 200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Its a good deal with its strong chasis and good handling. Totally worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:48 pm

what exactly r u getting for 10k extra?????
    what a load crock of shhh

• kittfoxx on Dec 08, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Huh? Why?

• voDevil on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:06 pm

exterior vinyl wrap???
    what’s the life-span of the wrap?
    does that mean that whoever owns this car will have to spend some $$$ to get the wrap fixed couple of years later?

• gaviny on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:11 pm

215bhp, good enough to smoke all 320i, 316i,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t get all this “smoke” or “tapau” talk. What’s the point besides egoistic bragging rights? It’s not like you’re going to drag race or see who can die at the fastest speed on the highway. At above 120-150km/h it’s not who has the most hp, it’s who has the more confidence to handle a pothole or shredded-off lorry tire or some motorcycle who veer into your path.

And prob should be more concerned about torque, not hp.

And also reliability, so what if you have 20 hp more, but have to wait 1-3 months for parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:33 am

Agree.
        One should really be looking at Subaru WRX if ‘Smoking’ is all you want.
        In the luxury car segment, you need to be more refine in every angle, including customer service.
        You see anyone lining up for this car? On the contrary, the Merc basic CLA has a 9 month waiting list.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 08, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Did Volvo “cut budget” by spraying outer car RED but the origin colour is gold???? If yes tthen I don’t think is the right thing to treat customers!!!! A bit cheapo method to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Francis on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Its wrapped in Red.. Not paint spray.. I wonder how does this vehicle examined in JPJ and Puspakom inspection for the vehicle color.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:52 pm

But for 200K car why wrap? Is kind of odd, outside red then open door, bonnet, boot ALL gold “origin” colour of the car. Don’t tell me save few thousand ringgit, since customer who bought this price range, don’t mind paying. Francis JPJ it not worry since sold by manufactured but wonder why Volvo Malaysia did it this method, really PUZZLE????

• Boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Was the color of the car originally not red?, but repainted over??
    How can?! If true, Volvo Malaysia is like selling a color-faded second hand car left in the hot sun too long, and now repainted again as new.
    Incredible!

• cendol (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Volvo = uncle, period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:47 pm

just came back from volvo…can get the add on kit without paying extra

• R-Design on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Can you tell me which dealer and salesman?

The Glenmarie guys all say have to pay RM10,000 more

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:22 pm

i went to the one near mid valley….i think if u really try hard u can get the discount…personally it was because i was not interested in buying the car and i preferred the non sports style…..besides that it is not a secret volvo malaysia is struggling to sell cars i think even if you can’t get a free upgrade you can get a good discount….just have to try hard

• Samlok on Dec 08, 2014 at 5:56 pm

No worry, it won’t sell.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Vinyl wrap? weird move i must say… should’ve just brought in proper painted models in the trademark Polestar blue.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I’ll buy a Volvo anytime….a Volvo SUV that is when I start to grow grey hair and my reflexes aren’t as quick as it used to be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Star Lord on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Dei, have you tried the 300hp XC60 T6? That one kicks all the collective German backsides in its class here in Malaysia.

• sohai is a sohai on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

seancorr you gaylord. at least volvo dont have to masuk workshop all the time like your pussy bmw

• Ya,I won’t take this shit Volvo.I will wait for the R3 family from Proton.It’s gorgeous!With six speed manual,Badass engine,angrier face!Who want the pics of it,the engine,gearbox of the Gorgeous upcoming R3 car,leave me your email

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • a little bits on Dec 08, 2014 at 7:03 pm

With just a little bits of this and a little bits of that “the kit in this case consists of mirror covers, diffusers and tail pipes” plus a set of new design rims…extra RM20K!! C’mon please don’t try to con consumers. At most RM5K at any accessory shop.

• R-Design on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I was told the wheel alone is RM10,000 while the wrapping is RM5,000. The diffuser and others make up the remaining RM5,000.

• therealmaserati on Dec 08, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Freaking high FC due to it having a 5 cylinder engine.

Handling is average at best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Dec 08, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Vinyl wrap, really Volvo? Can’t you just mix a batch of Passion Red paint? Not impossible….

• R-Design on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Apparently the senile senior management at Volvo don’t believe exciting colors such as red and blue will sell. They are still clinging on the “Volvo for retirees” motto.

• Three Pedals on Dec 08, 2014 at 10:20 pm

I’ve always love a Volvo wagon! In fact, Volvo wagon is loved all around the world.
    Would buy a V40 or XC60 if I had the money. But I think this extra 10k package is not really the deal. Plus the stripe from 997 Mk2 GT3 RS makes it look cheap and too mainstream, even a lot of sticker shop already have this design in their catalog.

• Hoodini on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:29 am

Vinyl wrap???
    Where’s the Volvo quality gone to if cannot even give a decent paint job for a over RM200k car??!
    What’s really underneath the vinyl wrap? A paintwork full of scratches all covered up? A faded paintwork due to car cannot sell being too long under the sun at the storage yard?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:40 am

another thing guys, the malaysian v40 has lost the very cool looking glass gearshifter…

• apalutau on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:57 am

the very “cool” gear shifter has issues with it’s design unfortunately. cant get to view the indictation properly under daylight or something. its a design flaw rather than cut cost.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:24 pm

salesman told u that ah? there’s no such issue in other countries la bro

• Swedish delight on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:38 am

Always have a soft spot for Volvo.
    Once I was a boy, I always day dream of a Scandinavian blonde driving a volvo waiting in front of my school…Speaking with a very strong swedish accent…
    “boy… want to take a ride in my vuulva…”
    aaahhh… sweet car.