Volkswagen Golf GTE – coming to Malaysia in 2015

Volkswagen_Golf_GTE_Malaysia_ 008

The Volkswagen Golf GTE is coming to Malaysia next year. The announcement of the Golf Mk 7 plug-in hybrid’s impending arrival here was made by Weiming Soh, president of commercial operations, Greater China and ASEAN, at the Volkswagen Das Event showcase today.

No mention was made about pricing or exactly when the car – which premiered in Geneva in March – will make its debut next year. All that has been said for now is that it will be sold here.

The GTE is powered by a turbocharged, direct-injected 1.4 TSI engine offering 148 hp, and the mill is paired with a 101 hp electric motor. Total combined output is 201 hp and 350 Nm, and power is channeled to the wheels through a six-speed DSG designed specifically for hybrid applications.

Volkswagen_Golf_GTE_Malaysia_ 001

Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 7.6 seconds and a 217 km/h top speed. Not bad numbers, considering that the GTE weighs 1,520 kg, nearly 170 kg more than its hot hatch sibling, the GTI.

The GTE can operate in pure electric mode at up to 130 km/h, and can travel 50 km on a single charge – this can be saved up for later use, for example while driving on a highway towards a city. The 8.8 kWh lithium-ion battery takes about three and a half hours to charge from a domestic socket, or about an hour less through a wall-mounted charging station.

Of note is the fuel consumption and operating range of the GTE – based on a NEDC test cycle, the combined fuel consumption is a claimed 67 km per litre, good enough to give the GTE a 933 km running range. Expect less in real world conditions, of course, but it should still be quite an eco warrior.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• weeee on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Can’t wait to test drive this. It’s probably the first hybrid that I’m excited about. Not including the hypercar-hybrid like the P1 & 918 of course

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • towservice on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:29 pm

So after 1km it breaks down, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
      • Sam Tow Truck (Tak Ori) on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:46 am

Sila dial 1-800-11969
        or speed dial 1-800-VWTOWTRUCK

24 hrs, 7 days a week, best in KL, JB, Singapore and Batam.

Special discount for Maserati or MasakRoti member.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Tow Truck on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Jangan bodolah. This is 6 speed DSG, not the normal 7 speed DSG. Why need your non-original(fake) tow truck service?

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:51 pm

VW still has not sorted their DSG issues. Better to have a car that works and does not breakdown with your child stuck in the car waiting for the tow truck to come.

VW in Germany already in black and white admitted that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia or countries where there is bad traffic jam (like Malaysia).

Please VGM, please sort your DSG before coming out with all sorts of initiatives and new models.

VGM Facebook does not lie. So many complaints even from 2014 models VW cars with DSG errors and breakdowns.

• Madness on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:28 am

Are you working for the car tow service company?

• ProtonGSC on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:01 am

Great to heard hybrid…. but in bolehland is cost how much after 100% taxes???

Lousy system by bolehland ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • To protect the P brand from going extinct mah

• Khairy on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Ok lah, i give this car 100% tax free for first time car buyer just to shut the arrogant P1 supporters up about how their cars can smoke this, smoke that but in the end get smoked by GTE!

• Suprima is doomed! With 201hp and 350Nm torque compared to Suprima’s puny 200Nm torque, this car can easily smoke it Suprima… it is using a 6 DSG, which means there is no DSG problem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 27
      • Chris (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

If this car sells at the same price as the Suprima, every car out there is doomed.

• Should qualify for “EEV”

• Suprima is not in same segment with GTE, even altis camry 2.0l cannot smoke those 205nm torquey engine!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:39 am

Well done VW, although Toyota Hybrid has dominated the world market for more than a decade.

Where is Proton hybrid? Still testing it at the north pole due to the battery is extremely heat-sensitive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • reall on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Who gives a rat’s arse about toyota’s hybrids. They look like old people’s shoes and goes like one too.

• Pak Lah on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Who cares about Proton? Proton only knows how to remove safety equipments for Suprima to make it “look” affordable. They don’t know how to progress. This car will smoke Suprima kaw-kaw while saving more fuel at the same time!

• Of course any german-made cars will make any malaysian-made car look like a push-cart…

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 1:54 am

Obviously reall doesn’t sit or drive a Toyota Hybrids before and then talk nonsense.

Because Toyota Hybrids are so fuel saving, you can floor the pedal all time and still get 19km/l fuel consumption. There are a lot of drivers who achieve 30km/l with their hypermiling techniques (RM69 for 900km mileage).

You know what is the 0-100km/h for Prius C? It is 10.5s, only 0.9s slower than the Preve turbo (9.6s). Or 0.6s slower than the Suprima S Premium (9.9s). Faster than the Iriz 1.6 (11.1s).

Toyota Hybrids are slow?? hahahaha…

If you can’t afford one, don’t talkok.

• belld on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Both this car and prius C are junks when arrive n bolehland coz its prices. Iriz or coming saga times better in saving money. Can pay for house, fuel too for many years!

Btw prius C is crampy car and the puny torque will drag it to a driving of a loser!

Hahahahahahaha

• belld on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Oh before you say about protection, korean and japs protect their auto industries too!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 12, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Toyota hybrids are expensive thanks to the Proton high tax protection.

Why don’t you get one when it was tax free? Then you can save your money from car, petrol (RM50 for 500km) and maintenance (maintenance is same as Myvi) for your house??

You want cheap and speed? Get a kapchai. Honda EX5 is your best bet. No one will think you are a loser.

There is no winner and loser in driving cars, but there are big difference between Syok Sendiri and Everyone Around You Happy.

• kruger on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Why dont u bring ur diesel car here instead of hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • screwu (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:05 pm

For obvious reasons la bro….questionable diesel quality..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • RicoT on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:24 pm

France is banning diesel.

• weeee on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:04 am

FIY, countries in Europe are phasing out Diesel engines. It may be efficient & produce fewer CO2/km compared to petrol, but it also produces Nitrogen dioxide which can be a potential health risk.

• So, what’s the difference…same old design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • newold on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:39 pm

If you want new skin old engine old transmission old chassis old safety gadgets choose T / p2

If you want new skin new engine new transmission new chassis new safety gadgets choose p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Choose Suprima if you want to get smoke by this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Arnold on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Choose Suprima if you want to die

• coins on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Suprima premium got ESC lor, get your fact right. Your car must be smoked badly by suprima so you are butthurt, lol

• salgoodguy on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:43 pm

hahaha…read dude, read..

• Silly person f on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:02 am

You’re a knob.

• Rakyat on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm

If you can’t tell the difference, then this car is not for you

• agogo on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:45 pm

WANT… !!!

• Any guesstimates on pricing?
    Saving the environment is all good but if the purchase price hurts the wallet + high electricity tariffs (higher next year?), it makes more financial sense to take the KTM / LRT to work still…

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:59 am

Government be like…

“Wow, so hitech so much power..only really rich people can use this..lets slap 400k price tag on this thing”

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Wow… that was unexpected. Seriously looking forward to it, though it would be interesting to see how many EV stations we’ll get out first… and the price.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Dei VGM still have their hands tied sorting out all the problems with their existing cars and now they wanna bring in more complicated tech….at least start bringing in diesel models la since we’re getting better diesel fuel in a year’s time.

If wanna go for hybrid also at least bring in normal hybrid and not the plug-in types. Dare I say all condos here in Bolehland do not have charging stations and its the same for most shopping malls too.

• so many VW posts in one go… VW sales must be impacted by the reputation they get from the scandalous DSG gear box issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Why? Proton salesman butthurt that they can sell the “downgraded” Suprima?

• fluiogh on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Why butthurt? The price won’t be even close. Different buyers altogether.

• Mandy Law on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:18 pm

No la.. DSG issue had resolved already, i think it’s because they really want to improve their after sales quality and increase their sales volume.

• Numberone on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Agree with you, i can see they are trying hard to solve everything and improvising their after sales quality. Last time, my friend’s Polo 1.2 TSI has gearbox issue and he had sent it to service center to fix it. After that, his car didn’t have any issue.

• another warranty claim waiting to happen

• Regina on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:13 am

Pretty cool, though I wonder what the lifespan is on the battery and how much it costs to replace it.

The good ol’ GTI will last for decades without any major maintenance costs but I suspect a battery replacement on this GTE might not be as friendly on the wallet.

• driver on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:40 am

it should qualify for gov’s EEV’s incentive then.

• ipoh lad on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:29 am

RM200k minimum?

• malassia samua boleh on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:39 am

dont expect below 250k

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:19 am

No more tax relief for hybrid cars

if civic and crz hybrids are priced at 180k, golf would be at least 250k

unfortunately, but can’t blame the government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • ThePolygon on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:27 am

What makes this kinda nice is it’s actually a “plug-in hybrid” rather than the none plug in types offered currently by Toyota and Honda or the full electric ones offered by Mitsu and Nissan. I will just wait a few month after launching for them to iron out the issues… which I hope won’t be much.

• Radical on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm

But see… Is the electricity enough to power a car?! Power out then how?

• Mamak Gang on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:43 am

Kanasai…no wonder my kain pelapik got stolen. All went to golf seat.

• vwowner on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:55 am

To VGM,

I am worried about your after sales service. We are not even talk about hybrid here yet.

• Radical on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I think along with this they will be looking to fix their after sales as well. It;s just not mentioned here cz its all about the hybrid.

• They are trying to fix their after sales as well…
      But just because they are having other problems doesn’t mean they can’t continue innovating. I’m sure they have people in R&D working on several things at once right?

• Ini baru R&D, not R&D of Proton which takes out more safety equipments

• Kancil Hybrid on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:26 am

Wow. Battery capacity is bigger than 918 Spyder’s. 8.8 kWh vs 6.8 kWh.

• 1.4hp engine = 148hp
    electric motor = 101hp
    combined hp = 201hp

Epic fail..

• apongman on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit…

• How to calculate? Tolong ajar

• Justice Char Siew Bao on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:51 am

148 + 101 = 249 hp

but somewhere along the line from exiting the car factory to the showroom, the hp got songlap by you know who, along with the prices

so the hp that comes with the car is now 201 hp and the price is now 2 times higher

faham?

• VW owner on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:08 pm

VGM, back to the basic before step in Plug in Hybrid.
    Most of your SC and your technician not familliar to VW car and how to fix!.

MOst people will not buy VW again due to terrify after sales service!

• OpenMinded on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Well.. At least VW dare to try something new and finally i can see a hybrid version of Golf. Give VW a chance!

• VGM EXEC on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:07 pm

More problems, more money four us… Dey machia…

• I’m excited to see this, even though it’s a plug-in. Can give the other brands in the segment some competition.