Volkswagen to adopt new torque-based engine labelling system for Asian markets, including Malaysia

Volkswagen_new_engine 005

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) managing director, Armin Keller, has announced that the carmaker as a whole will adopt a new torque-based engine labelling convention for Asian markets. This will gradually replace the existing power-based system that is currently used globally.

“In addition to horsepower, torque is a crucial factor that tells the car’s performance – high torque offers better acceleration, better performance, better drivability, more driving fun as well as a more convenient driving experience,” said Keller at the on-going Volkswagen Das Event in Shah Alam.

The new naming structure will highlight the capabilities of VW’s TSI engine family more prominently. For example, the current system pegs both the Polo 1.6 MPI and Polo 1.2 TSI as having the same output of 105 PS, though clearly the latter has a torque advantage (175 Nm plays 153 Nm). Following the new arrangement, the pair will carry 153 MPI and 175 TSI badges, respectively.

For the Malaysian market, the CC and Passat will be the first two models to adopt this new engine labelling system (as per the CC with a 280 TSI badge above), though no timeline has been mentioned by VGM. So, what do you think of this move?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 09, 2014 at 7:26 pm

What difference does it make…? More torque, more power to cucuk (ass-rape) here and there, more VW road bullies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • jkong on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

No need torque or power, light Japs or celup tin milo cars are enogh to be road bullies

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:53 pm

VW still has not sorted their DSG issues. Better to have a car that works and does not breakdown with your child stuck in the car waiting for the tow truck to come.

VW in Germany already in black and white admitted that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia or countries where there is bad traffic jam (like Malaysia).

Please VGM, please sort your DSG before coming out with all sorts of initiatives and new models.

VGM Facebook does not lie. So many complaints even from 2014 models VW cars with DSG errors and breakdowns.

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:06 am

BMW and Merc had done this.

for example, the 2004 E60 523i and 525i both have same 2500cc engine but different tuning.

same goes to 530i and 535i, both 3000cc but 535i power is similar to a 3.5 from the previous model.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:45 am

I rather the cucuk VW than the racing-car wannabe Protons on the roads. So noisy (with mod exhaust pipe) but so slow.

What they want to do? Deafening other drivers around them?

Or actually wanna tell everyone: “I want drive a race car but I couldn’t afford it. I can only afford the sound of a race car.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • theanswer on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:48 am

nway proton did win a track even. beating hondas.

• at least proton tak breakdown plus BS 2 year vw warranty, cant imagine those guys approaching end of warranty. soon end up as aquarium at home.

• K.S. Lee on Dec 09, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Good move VGM. Err, while you’re at it, please do add ‘K’ suffix to models that easily ‘kaput’!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Tow Truck on Dec 09, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Torque or Horse power…same same. DSG will still breakdown. That’s why with mobility guaranteed, my tow truck business had increased tremendously. Thank you VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • SunnyLow on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:25 am

The DSG issue has been resolved by changing mineral oil. I think it won’t have any issue now.

• gary gary on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:05 pm

I think we don’t have to care because VGA already lost the confidence of Malaysians thanks to the problems with the DSG, quality problems and bad after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:08 am

bad, bad aftersales.

• LokKee on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Well.. i still can see a lot of people are going to own VW as there are many VW on the road nowadays.
      If you worried about the DSG issue, you can always go for a Polo Sedan because it won’t have any issue.

• 205Nm in Suprima/ Preve doesnt sound bad at all… :p

of course it is a good move to VGM since only Polo Sedan/ Polo 1.6 are the only models with NA engines…

• Kuli Boy on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:37 am

Seriously, VW should stop selling the polo sedan and their NA engine. It just brings down the whole image. If they really want to compete for below 100k, put in the tsi engine. VW without TSI engine is a no-no.

If buuyer opt for NA, they are better off with the Jap or Koreans or even Pug. Looks and much more value for money than the indian made polo.

• No difference on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:29 pm

they should change their DSG gearbox name instead…

• Dsg... The best... on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:39 pm

They should label their cars by the gearbox they use in their models… Easier to know which one to buy…. :)

• verdud on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:04 pm

hahaha agreed….label according to gearbox DSG7 dry “buy at your owned risk” premature clutch pack & mecha failure…..DSG6 wet “better reliability” type gearbox…aisin “proven torque convertor/buy this if you want bttr reliabilty” …

something along that line of name shud be better..hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • OpenMinded on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Even the DSG 7 also no problem already since they had change the gearbox oil and update system.
        I think it should be fine now because my friend doesn’t complain anything so far.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:55 pm

So that means…
    Golf 350 GTI
    Golf 380 R
    Right?

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:57 pm

No. Just no. One thing that was nice about the continental cars was the lack of badges, unlike the Asian brands, which have Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V Dual VVTI written all over the back. Or Inokom-Hyundai Licensed Product i10 1.25 Dual CVVT or Hyundai Santa Fe CRDI Executive.

Its like writing an essay on the car’s boot lid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • toyofan on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Dual VVTI can smoke those Golf R you know?
      Badges add some hp and torque to the car

• can read while waiting for tow truck as jap cars pass by ur broken vw junk..semua kena tipu

• There is nothing to shout about on the torque figure, unless it is 350 and above…

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:53 am

You are right. The Suprima S also claims to have more torque but they all are slow on the road too.

Most probably when they go faster, the fuel consumption is killing.

On Malaysian roads, no points to have more torque, better look for comfort, reliability and RV.

• Carsimin on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:38 pm

But isn’t it higher torque equal to higher fuel consumption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • logical on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:44 pm

There is no such thing man..i think you got it backwards. A HIGHER torque at a lower RPM will make the engine work less but gives the a bigger ‘push’. So you get more working power in less RPM, and that equals lower fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • viose on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Vios is powerful enough to smoke those low torquey cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Vios’s engine is not torque…but it feels so due to the setup of gearbox…feel the urgency…

i drive Polo Sedan (higher torque on paper than vios engine) and it lacks that urgency (torquey feeling due to long ratio 6-speed gearbox) compared to my father’s vios and my second car Myvi…

• GregY on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:09 am

Long (tall) ratio of a 6-speed box? On the contrary, a 6-sp box has shorter, narrower ratios. Totally opposite of what you’re saying! Anyway, the reason that you feel the “urgency” of a 4-sp slushmatic is due to an unlocked torque converter between gears 1 to 3. This is how engineers designed the TC to overcome the lack of forward ratios in a 4-sp setup.

• GregY on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:04 am

Err, how about no? You got it wrong too bud. You can’t make torque out of thin air. You want more torque? You burn fuel. You want more hp? You burn fuel. Most people don’t understand the relationship between hp and torque and think these two parameters are mutually exclusive when in fact they’re both actually tied together. Torque by itself means nothing. HP is a measure of work done as a result of Torque multiplied by RPM. Understand that relationship and you will understand that this so-called new definition for VW’s engines is not going to make a difference, i.e., you won’t be able to tell a car’s performance based on one parameter alone. A total exercise in futility.

• logical on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I think its a great move…for enthusiasts. Because frankly the general public dont know jack about torque and what it does. What the AVERAGE car buyers knows about a car performance is their HP, HP and more HP.

But still this is a move in the right direction. I guess with this people that are buying cars would do their research more and not just be blinded by pure HP figures.

• toyola on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:35 pm

I dun see how torque is important. Vios and Altis has low torque but the performance is very good, almost like turbo car already,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • GregY on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:12 am

So I guess you know what torque really means? As in, torque drives the car during pickup, and horsepower takes over for the top end? Sheesh!

• Josh Ling on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:55 pm

ehm….as far as i know, most of the asian countries are having road tax system based on the cc of the engine and not the torque number of the engine, so i don’t think that’s something very practical for us here, coz many people care more about the cc of the engine rather than the torque number. and by changing to torque number as naming policy, i guess there’s a question bound to be thrown at the salespersons more frequently: what is the cc of the engine ah?

it’s a redundant move for me. the cc naming is just nice. sorry.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Lol good move the label will let others know whether they can smoke them or not but then here in Bolehland owners like to change their labels to make them feel better…

• The new Passat and CC sitting at KLIA Cargo. Only a matter of days !

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:13 am

what is the point? at least for malaysia market what ppl want is peace of mind, which includes reliability and resale value. this is perhaps, car price is too high. 25-40 times of a manager salary.

unlike countries like UK when its only 3-4 times salary of a similar manager.

it doesnt matter.

• panjang on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:43 am

They should also state at what rpm does the torque sits. for example Golf GTI 250@2000rpm.
    Much more informative..

• sure or not alldisc? 40 times? I got my new GTi for only 9 times my salary

• IrizX on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:41 am

I thought they finally replaced all DSG with a Torque Converter!!! :x

Damn…kena tipu.

• kumar on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:58 am

some of us prefer to remove those long essays at the back of the car.

• VW the game changer. Watchout 2.5NA car

• High torque doesn’t mean fast. High torque only good for low speed hill climb or carrying loads. You need high HP to go blistering fast. Just look at those turbodiesel who think they are driving sport car wanna race with my GTi but they cant even outrun the MYVi 1.3

• A sign of the times. Malaysian drivers are, to be honest, obsessed with power and speed. This contributes to the 20000 yearly accident figures. VW is just adapting the what Malaysians want. Everybody out here wants wants to own a European car, its shame you can’t drive like the Europeans.