Volkswagen unveils transformation plan for brand in Malaysia, new “Always by your side” tagline

Volkswagen Das Event 2014

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) kicked off a three-day, by-invitation-only showcase called Das Event earlier this evening. The showcase aims to highlight both technology and innovation, as well as a set of transformative actions planned by the brand for the country.

Also unveiled today was a new tagline for the brand – Always by your side is expected to be company’s motto here for the next few years. The company also announced the adoption of a new torque-based engine labelling convention for Asian markets, as highlighted in our earlier story.

Present at the event’s opening was Weiming Soh, president of commercial operations, Greater China and ASEAN. “Volkswagen’s promise of Always by your side also means a responsibility for tomorrow’s mobility. Our products are designed and built with an aim to meet tomorrow’s demands,” he said.

Volkswagen_Das_Event_ 001

“They are more fuel-efficient, more powerful, provide greater driving pleasure, and are more comfortable to drive, that too with lesser emissions. Be it our award winning TSI engines or our visionary electric vehicles, sustainable mobility is of prime importance to us,” he added.

The transformative actions, meanwhile, are in the area of sales and aftersales, with a set of new initiatives to follow on the recently-introduced Volkswagen Expert and Mobility Guarantee programmes. We’ll have a story on these developments and other bits from the showcase, so stay tuned for more.

Aside from underlining its pledge to redefine ownership and brand experience for its Malaysian customers, VGM also unveiled a CSR programme to raise awareness on child safety. The campaign will involve a child safety training module for 280 child-care centres nationwide and the education of using proper child car seats.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• weeee on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:42 pm

I’m just interested in the Golf GTE.Heard that’s gonna be available soon

• Shitty Tag Lines on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:11 pm

“Always by your side ” ?

Meaning VW cars remain unreliable that they need to be your shadow ?

Seriously… who writes these

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • lipotmag on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:13 pm

“I’ll always by your side,” said the tow trucker, VW’s best friend.

Lelelelelel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm

VW still has not sorted their DSG issues. Better to have a car that works and does not breakdown with your child stuck in the car waiting for the tow truck to come.

VW in Germany already in black and white admitted that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia or countries where there is bad traffic jam (like Malaysia).

Please VGM, please sort your DSG before coming out with all sorts of initiatives and new models.

VGM Facebook does not lie. So many complaints even from 2014 models VW cars with DSG errors and breakdowns.

• Split on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Yea.. they already admitted that the DSG can’t be used in hot countries and heavy traffic countries. It’s because of the gearbox oil that used in the 7 speed DSG wasn’t suitable in the hot countries and VW already recall all the affected cars for the gearbox oil replacement. Hence, the DSG issue should be fixed already.

• trollmaster3000 on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:56 am

meanwhile proton iriz’s new tagline is “Nowhere To Be Found”.. there’s hardly any on the road at the moment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 40
        • Kenasai on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:13 am

Whats with you and Proton ? A Proton hit you and you lost your balls in the accident ? Or your girlfriend dumped you fat ass because you drove a Proton ? Which is it ?

Stop being a broken record , go get a life and write more meaningful stuffs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
  • Tomboy Alice on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:50 pm

DSG failure always by my side…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:54 pm

I must say, bold move. VW finally realises how big of an issue it has become….

In a way, it is a good move though, while they may have fixed the whole TSI DSG fiasco, considering how badly they handled it since 2010 till 2014 (a good 4 years), a lot of us are very scared to buy the VW models now. VW cars, besides the reliability issues are really quite good, they are nice to drive, efficient and safe. But when you have poor aftersales, well….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Lolol on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Mind you taht 2010 – 2013 they were so arrogant they didnt care. Effectively, actions started to happen in Q3 2014. Where they cannot take the it anymore cos their cars just piled up and as a last resort converted them into courtesy cars.

Otherwise they dont care one bit about their customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:19 pm

I have to agree, in 2010-2013, VW lost their direction, instead of nice, people’s car, they were positioning themselves as a rival for the big 3 Germans. And how they were saying that the power of German Engineering without the price got everyone excited. Exponential unsustained growth is what happened at the end basically, with the SCs not being able to keep up with volume.

The main issue however was the DSG issues that came in right smack in that exponential growth period = lots of cars shipped with the faulty DSG + SCs that can’t keep up + staff that can’t give a toss = disaster.

For once, at least, I got decent service from a sales guy at a VW showroom – surprised me a lot considering how VW’s service was bad compared to the rest, not on par with the service at my BMW place, but it’s a start.

• Daman on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:05 pm

See I also got pretty good service from the one in Cheras. So I’m glad that you said this. I think they have taken a hit. But at the same time how can you expect them to not power through? The show must go on.

They’ve got to continue doing what their doing. I don’t think they would release cars now without checking for faults and such.

They will. I sincerely doubt they can afford another hit to their rep. Give them the chance y’alls. Don’t be complete haters.

• True, as an owner of VW, I didn’t believe ppl said how bad VW were back in DEC 2012… but after countless of “masuk kilang” experience…

I’m worried right now… especially manufacturer warranty is ending… real soon…

• TeddyInTheHouse on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:53 am

What happened to your car? Which service center you sent to?

• Good move. Keep your promise and don’t disappoint me.

• GTIbrokedown on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Ady too many buyers got dissapointed
      Even myvi cn tarpau those problematic VW DSG equipped cars

• Powerlogic on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Ya ya…we’ve heard it all. MyVi the best lah. Proton the best lah. Godcar the best lah. Let’s just see what VW has to offer!

Give it time wei, I still see a lot of VWs on the road so they have still retained their fair share of committed people.

• Lololo on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Talk is cheap. All this talk still not much results.

What amazes me is that vw willing to spend all this money on lavish events, marketing and also csr but unable to use the money to fix the issues of current owners whose cars are stuck in their workshops. Goes to show that they rather target new unsuspecting potential owners then to help current owners resolve their current pains and concerns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • LLembu on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:45 am

VW organisation
      Marketing: Branding by brainwash effect.
      Sales: increase sale through discount = RV drop.
      Engineering: Cost cutting = reliability failure.
      Maintenance: Wear & tear item not under warranty.
      Consumer: Never peace of mind.
      Used car dealer: Trade in VW? own selling better.

• service centre on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:13 pm

lol at tagline. trying too hard there VW.. should be more subtle.

• Louis Cho on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:15 pm

good to hear “Always by your side”

But in terms of?
    There are more bla bla bla bla, so?

Why they miss out something call “reliability”?
    Especially on the TSI and DSG which is the core of a car?

• problematicVW on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Who needs reliability for RM150k car?
      If they dun break down, there is no things to be shown off to people, example:

Haiya my CC needs some upgrade, have to go SC this weekends

Haiya my GTI DSG broke down on road yesterday liao, needs new gearbox

Haiya my Passat need to change spare part, dun know the name but need to change, if not I will lose to Myvi on highway, where to put face?

And the stories go on and on….

• Godcar on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:56 am

Now you know why most VW club members every weekend have to ditch their gfs and partners so that they can do bonding with their cars at the workshop or mechanics. Even weekday at night also they need to have bonding coz DSG breakdown, all the vw owners come to rescue.

Together with the tow trucks. So, for those who are lonely and no friends, buy VW. It’s much more interesting life than going to some mlm talk.

• Burden31 on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:02 am

Hey bro, i haven’t seen any GTI break down before.
        As i know, GTI is reliable, it doesn’t have any issue.

• Congratulations,Volkswagen.But still,Proton is beside me!Go Go Proton!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • veedud on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:23 pm

always by your side my butt!! …always at the service centre is more likely! fix ur stopid gearbox & provide at least curtesy car when owner hv to leave the stopid vw at the serbis centre….damn, so far i hv to take public transport almost 3-4 times for the past 3 years…das autar btul!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • iComment on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Did you ask them to give you the replacement car? Why not find out first about this since you have so many problems. And what problems did you even have in the first place?

• Lolol on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Always by your cars side… cos they are always in the service center… Lol. So they are always there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Always by your side to make claims difficult and give you excuses on why you are all driving your cars the wrong way! ahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • darkermarker on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Too late, Too little was done. Damaged already done.

this “transformation” aint gonna heal the frustration and disapointment of many VW owners…

VW, have you heard about “once bitten, twice shy”?

• contiworst on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:25 pm

No, it’s 100x bitten, no shy at all!
      If you dare to use conti, then prepare for the bloody cost!

• WhatHappenedtoYou on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:06 am

Too little was done?
      VW had sent 10 technicians from Germany to Malaysia to solve all the technical issue and train all the local VW staff to improve local after sales quality.
      BTW, there are still a lot of improvement had done by VW.

• Jenny on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Yea.. I also got heard about that.. My cousin’s Golf GTI had sent to the service center last month and the SA told him that there are 10 technicians are currently helping our local staffs to solve all the technical issue and improvising their after sales quality.

• Energy Analyst on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:25 pm

This reminds me of a quote…

“I’m not upset that you lied to me, I’m upset that from now on I can’t believe you.”
    ~
    Friedrich Nietzsche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Josh Ling on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:59 pm

“always by your side” will not always be free though. more “by your side” may mean more miscellaneous charges as well because of all the extra services provided……lol……

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Lol so they follow Digi with their ‘I will follow you’ but then Digi is all talk no action so will VGM be like that too? Only time will tell…

• Always by the roadside more likely.

• how about 10 years manufacturer warranty, then we talking

• Wolfsburg on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:41 am

Always by the side of the road…. broken down.

• romzee on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:34 am

Very tactical!
    Tactical plan to swallow Proton management in 5 years. Najib will like it! Tun M will shocking…he3.

• zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz….

• cedyy on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:09 am

Don’t worry…we’re Always By Your Side…should your VW breakdown

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:18 am

Instead of forcing everyone to drive they crappy DSG, change all to manual…problem solved. If you want to truly feel & drive a VW, it has to be manual.

• Numberone on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:57 am

Nowadays, less percentages of people want to drive a manual car because already got DSG,DCT and tiptronic control, no reason for us to choose a manual transmission. Live in a heavy traffic country,it’s better not to drive a Manual car.

• other car companies can do reliable dsg why vw cannot? piston crack etc. Germans are one of the most overpaid auto workers, low product quality with high price.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:20 pm

why should VGM call this Weiming Soh? sendiri punya orang manyak takut nak cakap ka? syndrome of fear of previous failures

• iluvcar on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

“Always by your side” – means always need to send to workshop? sounds scary…

• VWForeman on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:50 pm

VW is a global car manufacturer that is known for its efficient car and quality. VW Malaysia is trying hard to improve their service here so buy VW with confident, since VW took over the whole co. things are moving to the right direction. Cheers !

• Porsche guy on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Girls in the club will ask you … What car do you drive? If you saw VW , they leave you straight away… They know you already got a wife. Her name is SC

• Das Failure on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Always by road side sounds more like it. Corporate wizardry doesn’t change the fact that not enough care was given to product testing and customer complains. Lousy handling of SC just adds fuel. Prevention is better than cure.. German Proton!