Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe: Stuttgart’s X6 rival debuts

Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupé (2014)

Like it or not, the BMW X6 has carved out a comfortable “coupé SUV” niche for itself, finding a surprising amount of buyers who enjoy its controversial style. It’s taken six years and two generations for one of BMW’s Teutonic rivals to spring a competitor, and it’s from Stuttgart – the Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe.

Based on the W166 ML, the GLE Coupe was previewed by the Concept Coupe that debuted at the Beijing Auto Show earlier this year. The front fascia is quite a bit different from the current ML, with W205 C-Class-esque headlights and a rounder grille (with a large three-pointed star inset) – we’re expecting the look to be transferred to the facelifted ML, which will carry the GLE moniker when it launches next year.

The low-slung roofline is the most striking aspect, with a fast windscreen rake and a sloping rear hatch. And while one can certainly see shades of the X6’s design, there are also clear references to other Mercedes coupés. The rear end in particular has been inspired by the new S-Class Coupe – there are slim tail lights joined together by a chrome bar, while the rear number plate recess has been moved to the bumper.

Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupé (2014)

Owners of the current ML will feel right at home inside – almost everything has been ported over, with the exception of the new three-spoke steering wheel (also taken from the W205 C-Class), the new tablet-style screen for the COMAND infotainment system, flatter face buttons as seen on the facelifted B-Class as well as a rotary controller to select the driving mode on the new Dynamic Select. Again, these changes should make it to the regular GLE as well.

All GLE Coupe models come with Mercedes’ new 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission as well as 4Matic all-wheel drive. There are three engine choices from launch – at the base of the range sits the GLE 350 d diesel, delivering 258 hp and 620 Nm of torque from 1,600 rpm, while stepping up to the GLE 400 nets you a direct-injected biturbo V6 that generates 333 hp and 480 Nm of torque from 1,400 rpm.

The current range-topper is the GLE 450 AMG, the first of Mercedes-AMG’s new “sports models” to take on the mid-range BMW M Performance and Audi S models. Power comes from another biturbo V6, but uprated to 367 hp and 500 Nm, sent through a performance-oriented 4Matic with a 40:60 front-to-rear power split. Standard on this variant is AMG body styling, sports seats, a flat-bottomed sports steering wheel, Airmatic air suspension with variable ADS Plus damping as well as an extra Sport+ mode for the Dynamic Select system.

Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe: Stuttgart’s X6 rival debuts

For the rest of the range, the GLE Coupe comes fitted with the Easy-Pack powered tailgate, a reverse camera, LED Intelligent Light System headlights, Collision Prevention Assist Plus, ESP with Curve Dynamic Assist and Crosswind Assist as well as BAS Plus. The long options list, on the other hand includes a Driving Assistance package, COMAND Online with a larger eight-inch screen and touchpad, a rear-seat entertainment system, a Bang & Olufsen sound system and 21- and 22-inch wheels.

For now, it is unclear where the GLE Coupe will be making its world premiere, but we’re placing our bets on next month’s North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• JoeRadzif on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:27 pm

so close to X6…

• My opinion is that Mercedes Benz has got it right this time to take BMW X6 head on. Look sexy with proportionate body design… The tail lamp look similar to its S-Class coupe too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
  • dr.terror on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:05 pm

i think its a bit good looking compare to bmw x6, can’t wait to watch Top gear test drive this GLE since Jeremy clarkson said that X6 is rubbish. So how about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Black Dog on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Some motoring critics even said the X6 is one of the most ugly cars.

IMHO they know shit about marketing and what the public wants.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:15 am

in fact, the rich hokkien people with no taste in klang love outrageous cars like the bmw x6….just go setia ecopark and see how many bmw x6’s are there over there….no wonder bmw opened a showroom near there

• No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:22 pm

How about you go Europe and see how many X6 are there?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 13, 2014 at 9:34 pm

almost none actually….x5 and cayenne sell better

• Jimmy on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:02 pm

J C was probably expecting a Nicole kidman with PhDs and Noble prize.
      A lot of fairly rich people have X6 in their garages, and S-class.

• Trade in my Swift and get this one..yeahhh

• Matrix on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I have raced with X6 before.
    Good in look only. no performance.

City cornering more sharper than X6.
    power wise loses to my inspira
    RV worth than my old savvy

I think this GLE Coupe same as X6.
    one word : JUNK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 62
    • Rover (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:28 pm

“I think”

Malaysian readers all pro liao la, no need test drive also know it’s a junk.

City rolls like a barrel when pushed hard btw.

• No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:04 pm

seriously, the RV is really worth than your savvy.

I think you are same as Sam Loo

one word: JUNK!

• Since 1990s I would prefer the looks of BMW over Benz. But in this generation, the Stuttgarten look better and more modern starting with the A-Class and finally this. Am I getting older falling for Benz now, oh no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mean machine !!! Love it !!!

• Proton answer to X6 and GLE Coupe will be a jack-up Gen-2.

• weeee on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:03 pm

An X6 with a mercedes logo?

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:07 pm

MenSuLi is much worse than the China car maker in term of pirate copy !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Proton Maniac on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:09 pm

MB or not, its UGLY. and a Copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Sammy on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:24 pm

I think this is one of the recent model that Merc got it wrong. That back view… I don’t know, it look terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • venven81 on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:29 pm

why la wanna compete in this segment? don’t wish to see more ugly “X6” roaming on the street! to other marque, please do not follow their footsteps.

• Josh Ling on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:54 pm

not sure if this look will grow on me or not, but for now is no. this is not a look i like, especially the rear part. that rear design looks very elegant on S-Class coupe, but it looks weird here, and it does make the whole car looks too skinny and tall. it’s really 4-door coupe on stilts to me this time.

• Jimmy on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:07 pm

You are right, I have the same feeling. Should be wider, or put sidesteps or things like that to make it look wider like a high sportscar.

• shawal on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:08 pm

better never than late…

• No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:07 pm

X6 is ugly??
    And the body shape looks similar then it is copycat.
    Malaysian logic

You have a eyes,nose,mouth,ear, I think you are copying me

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Wow, just as I thought the X6 was ugly, this takes the cake.

• shawal on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:12 pm

MB has found new uses for the 3 year old ML-class switch gears and mouldings

• hazamiey on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Gorgeous bodywork. It will look solid and immense on the road just like the X6. Especially with the wide low profile tyres. Visually stunning. You will amazed with its sheer proportion and size and when it moves on the road. Chicks are more interested in X6 than the functional X5. So-called-enthusiasts will say whatever they want to say; ugly, pointless, just like those crappy old folks at Topgear. The truth is, this concept sells.

• Mercedes-Benz is seriously getting better and better nowadays!
    Well done I must say!

• zamer on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:29 pm

hahahaha..anyone notice the 3rd picture, it is using a normal key slot to start like 90’s proton saga..

anyway, i love the interior more than X6..X6 is a bit common nowadays therefore getting bored with the design.

hope we have similar model from Audi and Volvo..

• Why do Merc & BMW create a coupe SUV in the first place? To me it doesn’t serve a purpose of an SUV with that sloping roof line. If I could afford to have a full size SUV it will just be a Q7, X5 or even Range Rover.

• aww come on merc…be more original!

• trollolol on Dec 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm

aww come on BMW designer !
      you can use any merc body to design how you want, but one thing for sure it will looks like the rest of the BMW. that’s boring.

merc: i can make use of your close to 8 years body, just the body will do… to create a futuristic ride, nothing like the rest. plus the truly luxuries feel.

• mamatwhyla on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:00 am

Too near too near mr merc. They should design far abit from x6.

• nicholas on Dec 11, 2014 at 1:14 pm

When will it debut in malaysia¿¿??

• matt 100 on Dec 12, 2014 at 2:34 am

Merc is too late in catching up
    Bmw is ahead
    Looks like x6’s sissy

• Richard Kimble on Oct 11, 2015 at 8:10 am

I’m late in knowing about Mercedes-Benz look-alike BMW X-6! I’m very impressed with this development. Mercedes-Benz has finally turned the corner in the right direction! Congrats guys!!!!