Hyundai i40 Facelift – new 7-speed DCT introduced

hyundai-i40-tourer-facelift

Along with the new i20 Coupe and refreshed i30 range, Hyundai has also revealed the facelifted i40 Sedan and Tourer, which was spied testing in June. The i40 made its debut in 2011 as a flagship for Hyundai’s European range, and has achieved sales of 100,000 units. This facelift introduces new powertrains, improvements in ride and handling and new tech.

The i40 facelift is available with an enhanced engine line-up of two Euro 6-compliant 1.7 litre turbodiesel engines making 115 PS/280 Nm and 141 PS/340 Nm. Both ‘U-II’ oil burners have been re-engineered for better response and efficiency.

A new seven-speed dual-clutch transmission is available for the higher powered 1.7 CRDi (the 115 PS variant is six-speed manual only). It provides improved fuel efficiency, and manual gear changes through paddles on the steering wheel. Tech included are Integrated Stop & Go (engine stop-start), alternator management system, and active front flaps to further reduce emissions and fuel consumption.

hyundai-i40-sedan-facelift

Hyundai says that the new i40 corners better and is more agile, thanks to the available Advanced Traction Cornering Control. ATCC uses electronic sensors to emulate the behaviour of a limited-slip differential during cornering for better grip.

In addition, a new Rear Electronic Damping Control System (ECS) is fitted to the rear axle of the Tourer, the more popular body style. Selecting this in Drive Mode will also influence the car’s steering, and in automatic cars, the transmission logic and throttle response.

Tech wise, the i40 is now available with Smart High Beam from the Genesis, and a Speed Limit Identification Function system that checks roadside signs and displays a current speed limit alert to the driver. This is a first for Hyundai. Also in is the company’s latest navigation system with enhanced touch-screen functionality and updated visuals.

New i40 (4)

Exterior enhancements include a new design for both front and rear lamp clusters, a new hexagonal grille with horizontal slats, a new front bumper and LED fog lamps. New design 16- and 18-inch alloys complete the smart-looking package.

The Euro-flavoured Hyundai i40 made its debut here at last year’s KLIMS13 show, with a direct injection 2.0 litre GDI engine and two bodystyles – sedan and wagon. It was one of the better cars we tested in 2013, appearing twice in the paultan.org 2013 Top Five cars list.

GALLERY: Pre-facelift Hyundai i40 Sedan

GALLERY: Pre-facelift Hyundai i40 Tourer

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Kimchi cars could be good, but bad RV here. No one wants to touch a second hand kimchi car. No one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
    • Abang on Dec 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Ah Beng still prefer actual Honda Accord than acting Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Kenny on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Wake up, Dude! u already paid the higher price when u purchase the car from T and H. So the higher RV is not that you really actual earned, it was the higher price u paid since the beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • whatever on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Agreed. Sam Lorr paid RM160k for Camry and his friend paid RM130k for Sonata. After 5 years, Sam Lorr is so happy that his Cambry sold at RM100k while his friend sold the Elantra at RM70k only. Sam Lorr is not aware that he had paid the the dif of RM30k since day 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • It uses Dry Dual Clutch.

ALERT: It’s problematic in Malaysia Weather.
      End up= Paying Loan, let your car sit @ Workshop.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Their new grille…I think that’s gonna set them on a collision course with Audi.

• weeee on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:12 pm

why in the world would I pay 160k for a Korean sedan? It’s just too expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm

looks like the new peugeot 508…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • “the i40 is now available with Smart High Beam from the Genesis, and a Speed Limit Identification Function system that checks roadside signs and displays a current speed limit alert to the driver.”

Well, good bye i40 Tourer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • ss427 on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Wow this new facelift really made the highly desirable i40 into something even more desirable.
    The front end looks even more Euro than ever.

The new taillights is nice too.

That’s the beauty of Korean facelift. They really make substantial changes to their cars.

For Toyota… putting new wheels and their marketing dept will label the car as all new already. Or if they have abit more time, they will put more chrome on the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Why using 7 speed DSG from VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Read before comment, typical humans, it is dual clutch, not dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • ss427 on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Please tell me which word in the article said that Hyundai used the 7speed DSG from VW?

Why must it be from VW? You mean the Koreans cant build their own version of DSG? Chances are the i40 DSG reliability and efficiency will be significantly better than VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • lolol on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:15 am

Lol… People can’t detect sarcasm

• Matthew on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:52 am

It’s using 7 Speed DCT la bro.. See properly lah.. don’t simply comment..

• Matthew on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:52 am

It’s using 7 Speed DCT la bro.. See properly lah.. don’t simply comment..

• So pretty….

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:32 pm

The i40 looks even nicer now, it is a good car no doubt, though the 2.0GDi is not enough, it needs a turbo diesel, cause it is pretty heavy and really needs more torque to get going. Also, its a pity we don’t get the Euro market satnav (we get some locally made rubbish) and the leather used in ours are cheap feeling, a disappointment considering the space and design is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • ss427 on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:05 am

Well if you want to sample how great Hyundai turbo diesel are, make a trip to SG when you are free.

Our new i40 taxis are all running on that 1.7L CRDi, you need to take a ride to believe what the i40 can offer :)

• This looks better than the new Sonata.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:34 am

damn..Really good looking..I might bought this car if I still in my mid 30’s…